Guyana Times, Evening News win 6 journalism awards

Guyana Times and Evening News won six journalism awards on Saturday at the annual Guyana Press Association (GPA) Awards ceremony, which was held at the Pegasus Hotel.

Guyana Times Evening News winners Devina Samaroo and Lakhram Bhagirat

The GPA recognised journalists, photographers and videographers for their work in areas such as sports, agriculture, business, politics, environment, human rights, finance, and arts and culture, among others.
Three journalists from Guyana Times and Evening News were among the winners.
Lakhram Bhagirat, a journalist with Guyana Times, won third for best newspaper feature and second for his story on arts and culture.
Utamu Belle, Guyana Times’ correspondent from Linden, Region 10 (Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo), copped two third places in the business and arts and culture categories.
Devina Samaroo won second place for best television feature for a story aired on Evening News/Television Guyana Inc (TVG).
She also came in second for best online feature and first for best article highlighting LGBT rights for stories she produced whilst a journalist in another section of the media.

Guyana Times and Evening News Linden correspondent, Utamu Belle

Richard Jagdeo, a videographer, came in third for the best news videography award for his work done at TVG.
For this year’s awards, there were 18 categories, however, one was eventually dropped due to the poor quality of entries submitted.
Some 35 journalists entered the competition with almost 260 entries in total.
There was an underwhelming participation in the sports categories.
The most prestigious award of the evening for the young journalist of the year went to 19-year-old Vishani Ragobeer of the State newspaper.
Judging was done by Reuters photographer Andrea, Desilva, Australian journalist and author James Massola, now living in Indonesia, Argentine journalist Nicolas Luca, UWI lecturer and communications consultant Steffon Campbell, Honorary Guyanese and Trinidad journalist Wesley Gibbings, Barbadian journalist and radio veteran Julius Gittens, Trinidadian columnist and advocate Afra Raymond, UWI Climate Scientist Dale Rankin, sport journalist Lasana Liburd and Serbian investigative journalist Gordana Bjeletic.
Meanwhile, Denis Chabrol, Andrea Joseph and Emmerson Campbell were recipients of special awards for their contributions to the profession over the years.
Chabrol had in 2009 launched the country’s first online media entity; Joseph is a veteran broadcaster and a senior sport journalist; while Campbell was recognised for his contributions to the sport fraternity, not only in media coverage but his achievements in bodybuilding.
In light of the submissions this year, the GPA underscored the need for more media training.
The GPA hopes that in areas where they saw low or no entries, journalists can improve over the next couple of years with the requisite training.
In opening remarks, GPA Executive, Chabrol, who has been in the media since 1986, encouraged journalists to stay true to the profession as he made reference to the many challenges they face.
“Since last December, we have seen one of the tensest, busy and demanding periods in our journalistic careers in recent times,” he highlighted, with clear reference to the events following the historic passage of a No-Confidence Motion against the Government on December 21, 2018.
“They have challenged the way we gather news, the way we disseminate news and most of all, have tested us as true practitioners of journalism.”
“It is going to be an even testier period in the not so near future. With Guyana on the cusp of new economic wealth, possible paradigm shifts and political twist and turns, we encourage you to stay true to the profession,” Chabrol stated.

https://guyanatimesgy.com/guya...6-journalism-awards/

"Judging was done by Reuters photographer Andrea, Desilva, Australian journalist and author James Massola, now living in Indonesia, Argentine journalist Nicolas Luca, UWI lecturer and communications consultant Steffon Campbell, Honorary Guyanese and Trinidad journalist Wesley Gibbings, Barbadian journalist and radio veteran Julius Gittens, Trinidadian columnist and advocate Afra Raymond, UWI Climate Scientist Dale Rankin, sport journalist Lasana Liburd and Serbian investigative journalist Gordana Bjeletic."

"Judging was done by Reuters photographer Andrea, Desilva, Australian journalist and author James Massola, now living in Indonesia, Argentine journalist Nicolas Luca, UWI lecturer and communications consultant Steffon Campbell,"

"Trinidad journalist Wesley Gibbings, Barbadian journalist and radio veteran Julius Gittens, Trinidadian columnist and advocate Afra Raymond, UWI Climate Scientist Dale Rankin, sport journalist Lasana Liburd and Serbian investigative journalist Gordana Bjeletic."

on a ‘serious’ note, de Chranicle win most of the top awards

lol

Honorary Guyanese and Trinidad journalist

lil chirren story

the whole thing like a

3rd form exercise

lol

Where is DJ award. 

Well, he bruk up relations with SN. So none fun he. Moses and him are paddling their canoe towards the Kaieteur falls.

DJ knows what’s going down!  He just putting on a brave face!

Ayuh leave mi jine fambly alone!

Ha...ha..ha.. 3rd  rated Journalist , nothing to boast about from the rag Guyana Times.

Luckily the free lancer TV Journalist cop a 2nd place for the TV Station,owned by the  owner if the rag.

Ha...ha..ha.. 3rd  rated Journalist , nothing to boast about from the rag Guyana Times.

Luckily the free lancer TV Journalist cop a 2nd place for the TV Station,owned by the  owner if the rag.

DJ bai mi know things looking ruff!  I say take a foot out that sinking dinghy ⛵️!

Dont take dem bais too serious, dem cranking yuh, me wid yuh!  Remember blood thicker than water!  Even if yuh wid PNC!

Very very interesting, the praise for a Afro working for a Indian. Bhai you deserve a special award. 

DJ bai mi know things looking ruff!  I say take a foot out that sinking dinghy ⛵️!

Dont take dem bais too serious, dem cranking yuh, me wid yuh!  Remember blood thicker than water!  Even if yuh wid PNC!

By the way nothing ain't rough with the , Coalition of Six  Political Parties , there is a possibility it will be Seven.

Tough days ahead for  the fearless leader and puppet who stinks of fraud, most of the East-Indians will still follow the crooks , some will hold their noses and vote, that the mindset.

Sixty one percent of the population will show them, come 2020 who are the bosses.

By the way nothing ain't rough with the , Coalition of Six  Political Parties , there is a possibility it will be Seven.

Tough days ahead for  the fearless leader and puppet who stinks of fraud, most of the East-Indians will still follow the crooks , some will hold their noses and vote, that the mindset.

Sixty one percent of the population will show them, come 2020 who are the bosses.

Does this mean ALL NON COOLIES coolies will vote for the hapless APNU? Think again. This is profiling and very illogical.

Very very interesting, the praise for a Afro working for a Indian. Bhai you deserve a special award. 

Since when Devina Samaroo is an Afro ? confirm here https://youtu.be/d-7EdW7sIhM

Devina Samaroo won second place for best television feature for a story aired on Evening News/Television Guyana Inc (TVG).

Does this mean ALL NON COOLIES coolies will vote for the hapless APNU? Think again.

This is profiling and very illogical.

Ninety plus percentage of East-Indians voters ,holding their noses voting for the PPP.

Need not say more , you surely know that's a fact.

Does this mean ALL NON COOLIES coolies will vote for the hapless APNU? Think again.

Ninety plus percentage of East-Indians voters ,holding their noses voting for the PPP.

Better than voting for a Black Ian Smith. Granger wants to starve the coolies to death. Little does he realize that without the coolies, negroes will be eating grass in Guyana just as they do in Africa now.
The coolies have had their experience with the Prejudice, Nepotism, and Crime party. Only the dunces will vote for the PNC. Wonder why they are oiling the Burnham's rigging machine?

What percentage of the Afros vote for the PNC???? 99.99%

skeldon_man posted:.
without the coolies, negroes will be eating grass in Guyana just as they do in Africa now.

getting wan heavy oral workout pan yuh knees unzipping dem redneck bais fly under de white sheet nuh

lessee how yuh mini-me klansman co-applicant Ksazma can top dat wan deh

but, oh wait . . . he gat de ’manifesto’ and you ain’t gat wan yet you know

hmmmmm?

without the coolies, negroes will be eating grass in Guyana just as they do in Africa now.

getting wan heavy oral workout pan yuh knees unzipping dem redneck bais fly under de white sheet nuh

hmmmmm?

You skoant can't handle de heat and you turn to your professional experience. You always about battie and lolo. The authorities should track you as a being a sexual deviant.

hmmmmm?

You skoant can't handle de heat and you turn to your professional experience. You always about battie and lolo. The authorities should track you as a being a sexual deviant.

lol

Whah meh tell y’all. The dumb antiman cyant get his mind off sucking men c ocks. It’s like he relives his everyday occupation all the time. If he is not talking about sucking men c ocks, he is talking about taking c ocks up his sorey ass. Such a scourged life.

nice try senor blackskin suck man

i can just imagine the ‘other’ spectacle . . . you bleaching tarass

now, swallow, wash yuh mouth and leh abie talk lil bout yuh “blacks are the scourge of the world” manifesto

nah run away bai, it’s not manly . . . arite?

See how he been begging fuh me put me dick up he sorey ass. I fvck pussies so he is out of luck. But he should have already known that he is out of luck when he look around him and sadly come to the realization that he belongs to the scourged group.

classic

skeldon_man and his mini-me hugging each other tite tite as they spiral down into arid vulgarity . . . as shelter!

lol

Tola posted:

Vulgarity never win debate, only show degrade of person and lose. 

Vulgarity and indecency are trademarks of the AFC. Remember Moses admitting to cussing up his grandchildren ? 

Well, it was many posters who supported the AFC and displayed that vulgarity here. Should I dig up the AFC Bu* plug comments made about Jagdeo ? 
The late Jalil and anti PPP supporters like Mitwah were the master of vulgarity. 

Na bai Tola, the AFC and their supporters started the nastiest attacks and vulgarity here at GNI. 

Granger give them good and prappa now