Firemen accused of looting Fly Jamaica plane on $100,000 bail

Aubrey Frank Jamie Kingston Roiden Kennedy Collis Williams

Four firemen accused of pilfering items from the site of Fly Jamaica’s recent crash landing,  were yesterday taken before the Georgetown Magistrates’ court to answer to charges of theft.

The first charge read yesterday alleged that Aubrey Frank, 30, of Kuru Kururu, Linden-Soesdyke Highway; Jamie Kingston, 30, of D’Urban Street, Lodge and Roiden Kennedy, 27, of Timehri, on November 9, at the Cheddi Jagan International Airport, Timehri had under their control articles reasonably suspected to have been stolen.

They all denied the allegation.

A fourth fireman, Collis Williams, 37, of Coverden, East Bank Demerara, faced a separate charge, which alleged that he, on November 9, at the Cheddi Jagan International Airport, stole from Fly Jamaica Airlines flight 256, one iPhone 5, valued USD $350, equivalent to GYD $70,000 and a Samsung Galaxy S4 cellphone, valued at USD $380, equivalent to GYD $76,000; property of Basil Ferguson.

Williams pleaded not guilty to the charge. Frank’s attorney, Clyde Forde, made an application for reasonable bail for his client, stating that he has been serving as a fireman for four years, and was previously released on station bail and is willing to comply with any conditions set by the court.  Attorney Eusi Anderson, who represented Kingston, also made an application for bail and told the court that his client was placed on $100,000 station bail and has been a fireman for about 11 years. Kennedy’s attorney, George Thomas, in his application, told the court that nothing was found on his client’s person and that his client gave a caution statement to the police denying the allegation. Thomas stated that Kennedy has been serving as a fireman for four years.

Police prosecutor Gordon Mansfield, objected to bail being granted to all of the accused based on the serious nature of the allegations and the circumstances under which the alleged offence was committed.

Chief Magistrate Ann McLennan released all four men on $100,000 bail each, on the condition that they lodge their passports and report to the Providence Police Station every Friday, until the completion of the trial. The matters were adjourned until December 13, when they will be called at the Providence Magistrate’s Court.

“Thiefing” is indeed the culture of some in our midst

Dear Editor,
Just when we thought we were about getting over that disgraceful hurdle of our fire fighters stealing items from a downed aircraft, we are now in for another shocker in our Policemen stealing model planes from an International Aviation air-show meeting held here recently.
There seems to be no end to this barefaced, shameless, conduct of our “Disciplined” Services. It is beyond comprehension what these guys have done and I am registering my sternest rebuke to their actions with the firm view that strict disciplinary action is taken. My recommendation is that these guys be dismissed from their post as officers in the service as well as have them serve some jail time. This nonsense has to stop and this is the only way we can send that message.
Guyana has to purge itself of this scourge and this has to be done now, not sometime in the future. For too long we have been plagued by these instances of theft and rampant corruption in the Guyana Police Force. No wonder the public has lost confidence in the Disciplined Services. To think those who swore to protect and serve us are the ones doing these dastardly things is enough to send you over the edge. Again, I say this nonsense has to stop, now!
Now I love to delve back into history sometimes because the information gleaned, gives you a solid background and a clear picture as to the real cause for the course of action taken by some in our midst. Having said that, I reference you back to one of the programmes formulated by the People’s National Congress (PNC) Government called “Self Help Projects”. These projects were placed under the direct supervision of known party hacks and their corrupt associates which made it a recipe for disaster right from the very start.
Burnham’s “Self Help Projects” rebranded “help yourself projects” became a bastion for thievery and corruption and a place for every greed and avarice you can imagine. Building materials meant for those purposes saw wholesale removal in broad daylight with no one being brought to justice for such barefaced thievery. Further to our misery, those who dared to question their actions were met with humiliating punishments such as branding them thieves and saboteurs.
To think of it, the corrupt ones were calling the opposers to their corrupt actions “thieves.” Incidentally, that very same word “saboteur” was used by Minister Harmon to defend the corrupt actions of his very own PNC hacks in some of these Neighbourhood Councils. Very revealing how history repeats itself.
I painstakingly took the time to go through the rudiments of these “Self Help Projects” and how it worked to give you a clear understanding as to the reasons behind present day behaviour of some in society, including lawmen. Some in society today are still mired in that gene pool of corrupt mentality, and once you are of that mode of thinking, things the likes of fire fighters, even coming out of their vacation to “help themselves,” would be the order of the day.
My point is if stern action is not taken now, that is firm, decisive, corrective action (not token words like we are going to do something about these guys or any such generalities. I am talking about firm action oriented measures, otherwise we are going to suffer further shame down the road once this mode of thinking prevails.

Respectfully,
Neil Adams

Absolutely lock them up if found guilty. I do have to point one thing out because there are some here who like to push the theory that everything changed overnight. These men all have 4 years plus service which means they were hired under someone else's watch.

Hammie took most of the materials and build his Mansion!! PNc PNC  No wonder Django and Cribj and strong supporters!!1

The problem is when you have a bigger house then people conclude that you thief. The coalition can build big houses, but they shipping their money overseas. PPP built Mansions, the PNC built Big houses, they are the same only the labeling different for prosecution .

Absolutely lock them up if found guilty. I do have to point one thing out because there are some here who like to push the theory that everything changed overnight. These men all have 4 years plus service which means they were hired under someone else's watch.

They were good when hired, it tells you things are getting desperate now or they figure they will get pardon.

Hammie took most of the materials and build his Mansion!! PNc PNC  No wonder Django and Cribj and strong supporters!!1

I heard that the man mansion has a basement bunker where he can go in and hide then exist the building.

Guyanese people really stupid. It is the responsibility of the plane insurance to replace missing items. Why charge the firemen when insurance will replace your missing items with new items.

Prosecution of thieves and Insurance claims are two entirely different things.

It is unfortunate that these misfits are casting a negative image of firemen in Guyana

I am pretty sure that in the midst of the first responders of Guyana, there are men/women of higher moral standing...to those individuals... 

Given their race, wouldn't it be safe to assume that they were originally hired as PNc supporters and continued to be PNC supporters up to the time of the crime?  The only difference is that they performed this dastardly act under the watch of the PNC where this type of slackness is encouraged. 

Firemen accused of looting Fly Jamaica plane on $100,000 bail

Aubrey Frank Jamie Kingston Roiden Kennedy Collis Williams

Four firemen accused of pilfering items from the site of Fly Jamaica’s recent crash landing,  were yesterday taken before the Georgetown Magistrates’ court to answer to charges of theft.

The first charge read yesterday alleged that Aubrey Frank, 30, of Kuru Kururu, Linden-Soesdyke Highway; Jamie Kingston, 30, of D’Urban Street, Lodge and Roiden Kennedy, 27, of Timehri, on November 9, at the Cheddi Jagan International Airport, Timehri had under their control articles reasonably suspected to have been stolen.

They all denied the allegation.

A fourth fireman, Collis Williams, 37, of Coverden, East Bank Demerara, faced a separate charge, which alleged that he, on November 9, at the Cheddi Jagan International Airport, stole from Fly Jamaica Airlines flight 256, one iPhone 5, valued USD $350, equivalent to GYD $70,000 and a Samsung Galaxy S4 cellphone, valued at USD $380, equivalent to GYD $76,000; property of Basil Ferguson.

Williams pleaded not guilty to the charge. Frank’s attorney, Clyde Forde, made an application for reasonable bail for his client, stating that he has been serving as a fireman for four years, and was previously released on station bail and is willing to comply with any conditions set by the court.  Attorney Eusi Anderson, who represented Kingston, also made an application for bail and told the court that his client was placed on $100,000 station bail and has been a fireman for about 11 years. Kennedy’s attorney, George Thomas, in his application, told the court that nothing was found on his client’s person and that his client gave a caution statement to the police denying the allegation. Thomas stated that Kennedy has been serving as a fireman for four years.

Police prosecutor Gordon Mansfield, objected to bail being granted to all of the accused based on the serious nature of the allegations and the circumstances under which the alleged offence was committed.

Chief Magistrate Ann McLennan released all four men on $100,000 bail each, on the condition that they lodge their passports and report to the Providence Police Station every Friday, until the completion of the trial. The matters were adjourned until December 13, when they will be called at the Providence Magistrate’s Court.

This is such a shame...unbelievable story

Explain to me again how you arrive at the conclusion that the administration of the PPP caused this.  How do you conclude that three and a half years into the PNC govt that these firemen stole items because of the PPP?

He made it sound these fellas were frequent Plane Robbers and now the PNC caught them. What should be said this government is tolerating thieving even in the Police force and Fire Department, They are to Serve & Protect.

How is the government tolerating teefing when the very govt. ARRESTED the firemen who did the teefing, eh? Y'all duz talk some real shit.

Bannas like you been living in a cave or what? The pnc had no choice in the matter as it became an international embarrassment, the jackasses in govt had to react. Imagine a plane crash and these low lives rob the victims.  

The PPP was an international embarassment. Imagine objecting to the DEA getting involved in a drug ravaged nation, screaming bawling and crying to hand over drug lord Khan. Banna, guh eat yuh sandwich fuh dinner and ress yuhself!

I dont know when stealing will stop being attributed to the Govt. In power. In guyana, when someone steals or robs it all because the govt allows or sanctions this behaviour. This is bullshit. A thief is a thief. Whether they wear a uniform or not. Some people are just designed that way. And when the oppurtunity present itself.....

When I first joined GNI I wrote about this. The biggest problem is the people. They are corrupt since colonial days, some speculate it is because they had to steal from massa to get theirs, hence the practice. I don't know. Regardless of administration, they will steal. And any politican who curbs the theft will be dealt with.

Same with cleanliness. They need govt. to tell them to sweep their yard and stop throwing shit in the trench? Rhetorical question of course.

The dumb fire men were thieving in the presence  of security and other airport personnel  some were off duty came in to thief. If they were satisfied with their job and life was not hard they would never thief. International  Shame.

Absolute nonsense and loutish reasoning. America, Canada, Europe, all with high standard of living have teefing. And in the government and first responder ranks too. It is human nature. You see government as the solution to everything and dismiss the importance of personal integrity and character. You are to be forgiven, you were raised under the communist Jagan.

Lindon Forbes Sampson Burnham.

if you blame Burnham for the way you are, they you weak....those leaders were crap, and I always saw them as crap...I would not let them change my thinking of black folks or indian folks....all races got their bad eggs, to let one person infect your mind tells more of a weakness than a strength

I did not blame anyone, Guana mentioned  communist  Jagan and I want him to know I also lived through Burnham era.

Yuh rass gatt nuff mouth now behind datt key board.  When you wuzz in Guyana, yuh rass run fuh covva when LFSB send in his GDF and HOI goons fuh buss up meetings!

Coolies nah deh down hey!

Yuh rass gatt nuff mouth now behind datt key board.  When you wuzz in Guyana, yuh rass run fuh covva when LFSB send in his GDF and HOI goons fuh buss up meetings!

Base, yuh ever see a meeting geh bruk up during dem time? I had a front row seat. Not pleasant at all. D'urban street.

I saw a meeting brukup in Skeldon. It was not a pleasant sight. Broken legs and busted heads, blood all over the place. Police had to use tear gas to disperse the crowd.

I was lil. But I remembered well. Perched on my kero can at the Esso gas station on D'urban and louisa rowe. Waiting my turn to fill up. evening time. Across the street a bunch of indian bannas. Tight shirts. Bell bottoms pants. And they were very passionate in their pleas. Being very animated and so on. And then, couple car loads of guys shows up  and the licks start. Bannas run and left their vauxhal vivas still park up there.  But i have to give them credit tho. They could run. And regardless how I write this,  it's not a joke.

Sheik, It was terror, Black Power Terror like the world has not seen. I am not even taking you to McKenzie so use your imagination. It was rawanda on a smaller scale plain and simple. I have seen monsters, Donkeys, wild animals of all sorts behave 1000 times better than the PNC goons!!!  Now sat is FACT!!!

I was lil. But I remembered well. Perched on my kero can at the Esso gas station on D'urban and louisa rowe. Waiting my turn to fill up. evening time. Across the street a bunch of indian bannas. Tight shirts. Bell bottoms pants. And they were very passionate in their pleas. Being very animated and so on. And then, couple car loads of guys shows up  and the licks start. Bannas run and left their vauxhal vivas still park up there.  But i have to give them credit tho. They could run. And regardless how I write this,  it's not a joke.

It was what was said that started the riot in Skeldon. There were shouting and insults on both sides. Innocent people got hurt real bad.

I have seen monsters, Donkeys, wild animals of all sorts behave 1000 times better !!!

...you've actually spent so much time among monsters, donkeys and wild animals of all sorts that you can make this comparison. Interesting company you keep. Dunce.

I have seen monsters, Donkeys, wild animals of all sorts behave 1000 times better !!!

...you've actually spent so much time among monsters, donkeys and wild animals of all sorts that you can make this comparison. Interesting company you keep. Dunce.

Well, unfortunately I was forced to spend time with you since you were allowed access You have a way of describing yourself perfectly

The PPP was an international embarassment. Imagine objecting to the DEA getting involved in a drug ravaged nation, screaming bawling and crying to hand over drug lord Khan. Banna, guh eat yuh sandwich fuh dinner and ress yuhself!

Drug ravaged nation? Has this changed under the PNC? And if so, which credible international  source has indicated this to be true? We are still hearing stories of drugs coming out of Guyana and how it ravageS the nation evidenced by the amount of junkies and proliferation of drugs in the schools.

Well, unfortunately I was forced to spend time with you since you were allowed access You have a way of describing yourself perfectly

"spend time" with me. I don't associate with flea bitten curs. Closest I come to anyone like you is when I post hay. Would never tolerate a lowlife maggot like you around me.