Despite an 1899 ruling by a court of arbitration which awarded much of the disputed territory to British Guiana, Venezuela in the 1960s reasserted its claim to Guyana's present territory west of the Essequibo river.

So we all know Prime Minister Burnham in 1970, signed a protocol declaring a 12-year moratorium on the border issue, which has nevertheless remained a source of friction between the two countries.  So in 1982 we has NOT A BLADE OF GRASS.

What few people are aware of is that in 1899, the British did ced over 10,000  sq miles of land to Venezuela to secure the current border.

Before 1899, the British had claim to the drainage basin of the Cuyuni river (in the eastern part of what is now Bolivar state, Venezuela) up to within a few miles of the Orinoco and Caroni rivers.

But Venezuela is acting very greedy here.

VERY!

REMEMBER:

In 2000 Guyana incurred direct costs when the U.S. firm Beal Aerospace Technologies canceled its planned development project because of Venezuelan threats on Guyana.

Guyana can you imagine the number of science related jobs if BEAL was in Guyana today?

Now Beal Aero space has closed down - number of reason - the recession but more importantly, they could not find an ideal location like Guyana that allowed them to circumvent the  

(1) federal laws mandating their potential liability for pre-existing environmental contamination,

and (2) could not secure state department approval to launch from Guyana.

Why did the State Department not support Guyana on this issue in 2000?

Hmmmm!

Sourced from Beal website.

I say, make Essequibo a province with an Amerindian government, Demerara an Afro government and Berbice an Indo government.

One hundred and twenty years has passed and the Venezuelans haven't let up. That is like two generations. One day, expect them to come across the border and stay fuh good.

Interesting though, why has the Granger government met with this serious threat. Before, it was like jokingly seying, "Essequibo is ours."

I would suggest Carl Greenidge, take up the matter with the Vatican. In 1492, they created the problem when they divided the world between Spain and Portugal.

The Amerindians have a legitimate claim to Essequibo. It is their land from since creation. God's looking in. 

I say, make Essequibo a province with an Amerindian government, Demerara an Afro government and Berbice an Indo government.

One hundred and twenty years has passed and the Venezuelans haven't let up. That is like two generations. One day, expect them to come across the border and stay fuh good.

Interesting though, why has the Granger government met with this serious threat. Before, it was like jokingly seying, "Essequibo is ours."

I would suggest Carl Greenidge, take up the matter with the Vatican. In 1492, they created the problem when they divided the world between Spain and Portugal.

The Amerindians have a legitimate claim to Essequibo. It is their land from since creation. God's looking in. 

______

This makes so much sense - the Vatician. The majority of the people in Venezuela are catholic.  I always said, the catholic church is Guyana is a REAL DEVELOPMENT Partner.

______

This makes so much sense - the Vatician. The majority of the people in Venezuela are catholic.  I always said, the catholic church is Guyana is a REAL DEVELOPMENT Partner.

Only the AFC Coolies would think that focusing Guyanese diplomacy on the Vatican is some kinda genius move for our territorial and development issues

God save us all from the AFC Coolie "Brian Trust"

The PPP has to drop its pettiness and focus since we all will lose corn and husk if they continue to reject the APNUAFC GOvernment.

They can put themselves in good light by moving to the front on this border issue.

Bullshyte!  They can make a unilateral declaration and it would very legal.

Last edited by Ramakant-P