Guyana purchases 200,000 doses of Sputnik-V vaccine for US$4M

– to also get 24000 doses of AstraZeneca from COVAX

As the Government of Guyana continues to explore avenues to access COVID-19 vaccines, President Irfaan Ali on Friday disclosed that the country is buying some 200,000 doses of the Russian manufactured Sputnik V vaccines to the tune of a whopping US$4 million.
“We have been able to secure the purchase of 200,000 of the Component One of the Sputnik V vaccine… and 200,000 of the Component Two… Through the UAE (United Arab Emirates), we’ve been able to secure these 200,000 vaccines. Right now, they’re finalising the logics to bring that 200,000 in…,” the Head of State told reporters on the sidelines of an event at State House on Friday.
President Ali explained that Guyana is paying US$20 per dose for the Russian vaccine, amounting to some US$4 million for this batch of the Component 1 dose alone.
According to the President, Government cannot put a price tag on the health of the citizenry.
“It’s very expensive but it is an expense that we can’t spare. The health of the population is very critical. This will call for some adjustments in the budget and so on, but, as I said we are not sparing any expenses on this. We are working on making the resources available to ensure every single Guyanese are vaccinated,” the Guyanese leader asserted.
In addition to the 200,000 Sputnik doses, Guyana is also expecting its first tranche from the COVAX facility next week.
“We are now told by COVAX that we should get 24,000 AstraZeneca on Monday from the COVAX mechanism,” he revealed.
Initially, Guyana was slated to receive 100,800 vaccines in its first collection from COVAX – a body of organisations including the World Health Organisation (WHO) that was established to ensure there is equal access to and distribution of COVID-19 vaccines. However, Health Minister Dr Frank Anthony disclosed on Monday that COVAX has significantly reduced that figure to now 24,000 doses for several countries in the region including Guyana.
However, the Pan American Health Organisation (PAHO) has said that the remainder of the initial 100,000-plus vaccines will arrive here in May.
Unlike the massive bill for the Sputnik jabs, the COVAX batch will be given to Guyana free of cost.
With these 224,000 COVID-19 vaccines expecting to arrive in days, they will be used to roll out the expanded vaccination campaign to persons 40 years and over.
President Ali further told reporters on Friday that the Government has already established a supply chain and storage facility in anticipation of the arrival of these vaccines next week. In fact, Government has also engaged the Private Sector to add to its current storage capacity.
“Once the scheduling which we have, that is, the 24,000 and the first set of the 200,000 coming by Monday/Tuesday, we’ll be able to roll out early next week – by Wednesday definitely – the 40 and above in a massive way,” he posited.
To date, Guyana has received a total of 103,000 doses of vaccines as donations from allies. Of these, 3000 doses of AstraZeneca were from Barbados and another 80,000 doses of the same jab were from India. China also donated 20,000 of its locally manufactured Sinopharm vaccines.
The vaccination campaign started with frontline health workers and then extended to persons 60 years and over. Over 25,000 persons in Guyana have been vaccinated to date. However, with Government aiming to vaccinate 10,000 persons daily, additional vaccines will be needed.
As such, President Ali posited that Government is working aggressively to secure more COVID-19 jabs so that the country can achieve herd immunity.
However, he disclosed that apart from the batches coming in next week, Guyana has been told by major manufacturers such as Pfizer and Moderna that it cannot access the jabs until next year.
“We have explored the Pfizer vaccines. We had great discussions with the company directly and then we were told that this could only be available in 2022. Same with the Moderna… The production lines are being stressed globally,” he related.
Earlier this week, the President said they also reached out to the manufacturers of AstraZeneca in India but hit a stumbling block there as well. However, he had indicated that Guyana is looking at another India-manufactured COVID-19 jab – COVAXIN, which was the vaccine taken by Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi.
It was reported that Guyana is looking to obtain some 400,000 doses of the COVAXIN, which has an 81 per cent efficacy.
However, during a recent interview with <<<Guyana Times>>>, Indian High Commissioner Dr KJ Srinivasa explained that discussions are ongoing for a tranche of 100,000 doses of this jab.
“We have put the Health Ministry in touch with the producers of COVAXIN, Bharat Biotech… As I understand now, Guyana is actually going through its internal processes of approving the proposal by Bharrat Biotech and once they give the go-ahead, Bharrat Biotech will go through the formalities on the Indian side because they also have to take permission from the various regulators before they export the vaccine,” the Indian diplomat told this newspaper.
In the meanwhile, President Ali on Friday reassured that his Government will spare no expense in ensuring that its citizens are protected against the novel coronavirus. But in the same breath, he implored citizens to continues to adhere to the COVID-19 guidelines especially after getting vaccinated.
“A lot of people think that after they’re vaccinated, you can take off the mask and walk around the place. But you can still be infected and you can pass that on… Together we have to get through this. You have my personal commitment and the commitment of the Government in doing what we can do scientifically and medically. But you have individual responsibility too and I’m asking you in the interest of family, your neighbours, your community to exercise your individual responsibility in a disciplined manner,” the Head of State urged.

https://guyanatimesgy.com/guya...-sputnik-5-vaccines/

Maybe I.should have.charged for.telling how I cured.myself 8.times! I never believed.before.this pandemic, how.many stupid people there are.on.earth! All believing whatever the medical.profession professes to know! Sh*t!

Are you one of the  WITCH doctors?

Fk u.and beieve whatever you.like! My list.of.cures was wiped.out finally.after.endless correctioms because.of.intrferemce!

But.maybe the moderator is dloing the interruptions! If he is, them he.is both a hypocrite and.a.fing.coward! Just ban.me, if it is, you.fk!

@Ramakant-P posted:

You are indeed a WITCH doctor.  You can cure anything with Obeah.

Obeah is for frightened, superstitious people, afraid of dying! Like Jews, Christians and.Muslims! Some Hindus, too! Those are.called.dalits!

I was about to give Fat Man some credit for going out and buying faccines until I saw how much he paid for them and going thru an intermediary (UAE). This mofo paid FIVE TIMES as much as the regular price with ZERO explanation as to why.

There is NOTHING, absolutely NOTHING in Guyana that takes precedence over corruption and fleecing the people and the state. Not even a pandemic. The PNC may have been inefficient, slothful and incompetent with the vaccine rollout. But this....SMFH.

did you see the spammer who posted a thread about  PMP certificates for sale? Makes one wonder......

These idiots have decided that they need titles so they are busy buying them online.  Irfaan is the leader of the pack. 

Pfizer: $20 per dose. Free for early recipients.

Pfizer will likely be the first COVID-19 to reach the market. The company submitted the FDA application for emergency use authorization on Friday.

Earlier this month, Pfizer CEO assured consumers that the vaccine will be free for all U.S. citizens. He was likely referring to the first 100 million doses pre-ordered by the U.S. government under Operation Warp Speed. Pfizer has promised to deliver that batch before the end of the year, with the possibility of expanding the government contract for an additional 500 million doses in 2021.

After that, it’s unclear how much Pfizer will ask for the vaccine. The wholesale price negotiated in the government contract is $20 per dose.

Pfizer’s vaccine requires two doses, given three weeks apart. The company estimates that about 15 million to 20 million people will be vaccinated in the first six months once delivery begins.

Moderna: $10 to $50 per dose. Free for early recipients.

Like Pfizer, Moderna’s first vaccine batch will be covered by government contracts. But pricing will depend on the amount ordered. On Sunday, Moderna CEO Stephen Bancel told German newspaper Welt am Sonntag that the company will charge governments between $10 and $50 per dose.

The U.S. has secured 100 million doses for Americans at the cost of $15 per dose. (Moderna received nearly $1 billion of U.S. government funding in developing the vaccine.) The European Union is reportedly negotiating a deal to keep the per-dose price under $25.

This vaccine will likely be pricier for retail customers after government programs phase out. In its most recent quarterly earnings, Moderna said the vaccine will be sold for $32 to $37 per dose for some customers.

Also like Pfizer, Moderna’s vaccine also requires two doses.

See Also: Here Are All the Side Effects of Every Top COVID-19 Vaccine in the US

AstraZeneca: under $4 per dose. Free for early recipients.

AstraZeneca has a $1.2 billion agreement with the U.S. government to supply up to 300 million doses to Americans. That funding also included the money used in the vaccine’s phase 3 trials. So the per-dose price at which the U.S. government has agreed to purchase the vaccine is under $4.

On Monday, AstraZeneca said it will provide vaccines at cost “in perpetuity” to low- and middle-income countries in the developing world.

AstraZeneca is a member of Covax, a global initiative aiming to distribute two billion vaccine doses to 92 low- and middle-income countries at no more than $3 a dose. Neither Pfizer nor Moderna has joined the initiative.

It’s unclear yet how many doses a person will need from AstraZeneca. The company’s phase 3 trials have shown interesting results: two full doses appeared to be only 62 percent effective, while a half dose, followed by a full dose, was 90 percent effective.

Dat price ain’t right

Mar 28, 2021 Dem Boys Seh, Features / Columnists, Source - Kaieteur News Online - https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...at-price-aint-right/

Dem boys Seh…

Kaieteur News – Dem boy watching closely wah going on with dis vaccination campaign. De government bin begging all around fuh vaccines. Dem get a donation of 20,000 doses from China and 80,000 from India. And Prezze bin talk how dem ask de United Arab Emirates fuh vaccines.

Now dem boys reading how we buying vaccines at US$20 a dose from de UAE. Dem boys read how we paying US$4 fuh 200,000 doses. Dat works out to US$20 per dose or double de price wah dem other country paying fuh de vaccine. So it look as if somebody mekking a huge profit pun we and dem boys getting suspicious.

De African Union bin buy de same vaccine from Russia fuh US$9.75 per dose. Dem bin buy de AstraZeneca fuh US$3 per dose and US$6.75 fuh de Pfizer vaccine. De Johnson and Johnson vaccine is likely to sell fuh US$10 per shot – but dat is a single shot vaccine.

So dem boys shock when dem read how Guyana paying US$20 per dose fuh vaccine wah selling fuh US$10 per dose. Dem boys wan know why we buying from middle man (UAE) and not from Russia itself.

Dem boys know dat some of de possible side effects of de vaccine do mimic de side effects of de virus – fever, chills and headaches. Dem boys asking whether it does give ‘runnings’ too.

Dem boys asking de government to provide mo details as to who dem paying fuh dis vaccine because de price is not right!

Talk half and leff half for later!