Police stop dying snake bite victim’s vehicle -tells them speeding not a good excuse

A Guyanese man heroically rushed a dying snakebite victim through winding jungle roads to a hospital – only for police to refuse to let him off for speeding.
Kevin Rodrigues and his friends, Lizzy and Nikhel, were hunting in isolated jungle and left camp late at night to check on their boat.
Suddenly, Lizzy, 19, felt something bit her leg and Kevin turned his torch on the undergrowth to reveal a deadly labaria snake.
‘I knew instantly she had very little time to live and we had to get the poison out of her and get her to hospital,’ he told MailOnline.
He and Nikhel dragged her to the 4WD and after pulling a zip-tie around her leg, cut open the area around the bite and massaged out the ‘bad blood’.
Kevin then sped to the nearest medical centre about an hour away in Mabura Hill, but was turned away, there because the guard didn’t want to wake the nurses.
After having no luck in the next settlement, they drove five hours through the jungle to a hospital in Linden.
‘I’m racing through the horrible roads to get her out and all she’s doing is crying and screaming so it’s making me nervous and I’m just praying to get her out,’ Kevin said.
Doctors in Linden gave Lizzy first aid but did not have the right anti-venom to properly treat the deadly snakebite.
The trio got back in the car and rushed towards the capital Georgetown, another 108km away, but were pulled over by police when speeding around a bend.
‘I explained to the officer what happened and that she needs the anti-venom; he then said, “that’s not my problem and no excuse to break the law”,’ Kevin said.
‘Guyana Police Force can hire some real a**holes without common sense or care for a person’s well-being. Isn’t the public safety supposed to be first?’
He said the officer refused to let them go while Lizzy lay dying in the back seat, and threatened to search the jeep and look for extra things to fine him for.
‘Be happy, it’s only one charge I’m giving you because your vehicle has too much mud on it and I cant make out the number plates,’ Kevin said the officer told him.

The group eventually made it to Georgetown and doctors managed to save Lizzy’s life with anti-venom and she is now on the mend.
Kevin said they told him she would have died if they hadn’t cut open the bite area and then rushed her to hospital.
He said he would appear in court next Wednesday and planned to fight the speeding ticket.

Source:

Thankfully, the woman's life is saved. But there is a 20/20 catch on when police are supposed to use common sense vs following the law. Speeding can also cause an accident and put more lives in danger trying to save one. 

Right away we find faults with the police, but not to the hospital that didn't have anti-venom to treat the victim. The first aid treatment by putting compression on the foot and cut open the affected area probably sustain the woman's life until she reaches Georgetown. So, who is at fault here?

First, I think the police was looking for a bribe. The police should have escorted the jeep at high speed to the hospital knowing the seriousness of the snake bite. Only in Guyana.

First, we need to eliminate the garbage out of the way. I agree with the second part of your response. 

Thankfully, the woman's life is saved. But there is a 20/20 catch on when police are supposed to use common sense vs following the law. Speeding can also cause an accident and put more lives in danger trying to save one. 

Right away we find faults with the police, but not to the hospital that didn't have anti-venom to treat the victim. The first aid treatment by putting compression on the foot and cut open the affected area probably sustain the woman's life until she reaches Georgetown. So, who is at fault here?

Sometimes I wonder if you have a brain or it's been never used. You sure about this treatment?

First, I think the police was looking for a bribe. The police should have escorted the jeep at high speed to the hospital knowing the seriousness of the snake bite. Only in Guyana.

First, we need to eliminate the garbage out of the way. I agree with the second part of your response. 

Your opinion does not count. I am talking about first hand experience in Guyana, what is your GARBAGE.

Bribery is a way of life in Guyana because of people like you who look for an easy way out. That said, the driver in question never reported that the police demanded a bribe. This story is not about your unfortunate experience.

What is garbage about the first part of the statement? Its what the GPF does. And a speeding car is a prime candidate for them to make a raise. Naturally, u Dont go to guyana or know how things work down there so your idiotic response is no surprise.

Yes. Conduct an escort after knowing the condition.

You do not live in Guyana and do not know how these things work. That is the expectation in all the stops I have had, the request sometimes being direct, at other times subtle. I have passed motorists on the side of the road paying policeman who stopped him. In open view!

Z
Zed posted:

You do not live in Guyana and do not know how these things work. That is the expectation in all the stops I have had, the request sometimes being direct, at other times subtle. I have passed motorists on the side of the road paying policeman who stopped him. In open view!

It matters not whether I lives in Guyana. In this particular case, the driver did not mention anything about bribery. I am not taking anyone's personal experience into consideration on bribery either. 

This story is not about you or me. What's wrong with you fellas today? Are we still in nursery school? 

Zed posted:

It matters not whether I lives in Guyana. In this particular case, the driver did not mention anything about bribery. I am not taking anyone's personal experience into consideration on bribery either. 

This story is not about you or me. What's wrong with you fellas today? Are we still in nursery school? 

Bhaiji, I think you are really out of touch with how things work in Guyana. Read the article again and you may see what the driver is insinuating. I have first hand of experience of a police stop. Dem looking for fried rice raise.

Zed posted:

Bhaiji, I think you are really out of touch with how things work in Guyana. Read the article again and you may see what the driver is insinuating. I have first hand of experience of a police stop. Dem looking for fried rice raise.

All of you men seems to be getting hot flashes at the same time. Let's jump ahead of the police. Should we blame the hospital for not having anti-venom to treat the snakebite victim? Snakebite is a life-threatening situation. Please note that the first aid treatment she received is what actually save her life according to the doctor. How many people with life-threatening injuries died on arrival at hospitals in Berbice because they are not equipped like Georgetown Hospital? And, by the time a sick person reached the equipped hospital in Georgetown, he/she died on arrival because it took hours between transferring from Skeldon, to Port-Maurant, to New Amsterdam and finally, (Georgetown.) Can you imagine putting a sick person through all that tormenting movement on a minibus ambulance? So, can we cut the shit about police and bribery and talk about unequipped hospitals? 

Hush you rass, go play with youith

Zed posted:

All of you men seems to be getting hot flashes at the same time. Let's jump ahead of the police. Should we blame the hospital for not having anti-venom to treat the snakebite victim? Snakebite is a life-threatening situation. Please note that the first aid treatment she received is what actually save her life according to the doctor. How many people with life-threatening injuries died on arrival at hospitals in Berbice because they are not equipped like Georgetown Hospital? And, by the time a sick person reached the equipped hospital in Georgetown, he/she died on arrival because it took hours between transferring from Skeldon, to Port-Maurant, to New Amsterdam and finally, (Georgetown.) Can you imagine putting a sick person through all that tormenting movement on a minibus ambulance? So, can we cut the shit about police and bribery and talk about unequipped hospitals? 

Hush you rass go play with your pickney,today is Father's Day . Do something exciting with the family and  see what is more important.