The National Assembly on Friday honoured convicted terrorist Abdul Kadir as a “great man.”

Kadir died in a U.S. prison last year June while serving a life sentence after he was found guilty in 2010 of plotting to blow up fuel tanks at New York’s Kennedy International Airport.

“There can be no doubt whatsoever that the offenses for which Mr. Kadir was convicted are about as serious as they come, short of murder,” said Judge Dora L. Irizarry of Federal District Court in Brooklyn, in handing down the sentence.

She said that he had taken part in “a plan that would clearly cause devastation unimaginable.”

The motion passed in the National Assembly, with only the government Parliamentarians present read: “Be it resolved, that this National Assembly records its deep regret on the death of Mr. Abdul Kadir, on 28th June, 2018, and pays tribute to his dedicated service to the Parliament of Guyana as a Member of Parliament where he served in the Eighth Parliament, from 17th April, 2001 to 2nd May, 2006, and to the people of Guyana.”

“The people of Linden and Guyana have lost a great man, a stalwart, a bold and courageous man,” said Valerie Patterson-Yearwood, Minister within the Ministry of Communities as she presented a motion.

Members of Abdul Kadir’s family in the National Assembly on Friday

Minister Patterson-Yearwood said Kadir was a “fruitful man” who had nine children and 43 grandchildren.

She quoted one of his grandchildren as saying “it did not matter how persons saw our grandfather” and that he was a “hero” who tried to “pass on his knowledge” to them in the best way he could.

The Minister quoted the same grandchild as saying Kadir was a very religious and independent individual.

Kadir had maintained his innocence and had told the court: “The God that created us all and knows our inner thoughts knows I’m innocent,” he said. “At no time did I ever pose a threat to any person or property in this country (USA).”

Kadir was born on December 8, 1961, in the village of Buxton, East Coast Demerara, as Michael Seaforth.

He converted to Islam in 1974 and changed his name. In his political career, he served as Mayor of Linden.

He was a chemical engineer by profession.

Minister Patterson-Yearwood noted that “being a man who travelled extensively, throughout the Caribbean, South America, Canada, England and the Middle East, Abdul Kadir was fluent in English, Spanish, French and Arabic.”

The motion was passed with the resolution that the Parliament directs an expression of its sympathy to his sorrowing widow, children and relatives.

Some of Kadir’s relatives were in attendance for the passage of the motion.

• mceclip0

extraordinary, extraordinary . . .

these PNC people in government are ignorant and beyond imbecilic

chemo surely must have fried Granger's brain cells or senility taking over

Kadir is a DISGRACE and an enormous stain on Guyana, not just PNC

right thinking members of that party, abroad and in the diaspora, have an obligation to craft and direct a public rebuke to President Granger and his government for this travesty

i still digesting incoming . . .

beggars belief

The man was a convicted convict. This hardcore racist anti-koolie government got no shame. I would not be surprised to learn that it was the Pakistani spin bowler that they were talking about. That AK was a great cricketer.

noting that it is Valerie Patterson-Yearwood, the DUNCE, lying and corrupt junior minista who introduced this ridiculous resolution:

“Be it resolved that this National Assembly records its deep regret on the death of Mr Abdul Kadir on 28th June, 2018, and pays tribute to his dedicated service to the Parliament of Guyana as a Member of Parliament, where he served in the Eighth Parliament, from 17th April, 2001 to 2nd May, 2006, and to the people of Guyana."

and noting that the resolution DID NOT celebrate terrorist Kadir as a "great man" . . . the contortions of Jagdeo Media notwithstanding

i am coming to the ineluctable conclusion that ignoramuses and infants have taken over leadership of the PNC

. . . right thinking members of that party, abroad at home and in the diaspora, have an obligation to craft and direct a public rebuke to President Granger and his government for this travesty

correction

Thank god us Guyana East Indians got a leader in President Jagdeo. If it was someone else then it probably would have been Rwandan genocide conditions that we East Indians would be experiencing in Guyana.

'random' man, isn't there somewhere else you can indulge your compulsion to race bait and demagogue-for-sport on things Guyana?

smfh

Is this now equal to the PNC version of Priya cussing out the US ambassador?😏

nope

not directed at the US . . . sop to stupid people in Linden who believe Kadir innocent

The PNC being stupid as usual. They give the republican PR firm hired by the PPP a useful tool to excoriate the PNC as misguided and dangerous as a party to head our state.

What imbecilic nonsense. They dishonored our parliament. This fellow, however much he contributed in the past, participated in a scheme that could have murdered thousands.

He has not brought our nation any honor. He instead linked the nationality "Guyanese" to terrorism. A pox on their houses!

We have to step back and reflect on what has said about Kadir's life. He wasn't born a terrorist. He is a family man. He spoke many languages. He is a chemical engineer by profession. He converted to Islam and he was convicted for conspiring to commit a terrorist act. Kadir was an intelligent man in real life. He also maintains his innocent all through his court proceedings. How many people are convicted and proven to be innocent after 15 years or so? Kadir is a dead man now, but we can't convict his children and grandchildren for what he may have done. We shouldn't hold the PNC accountable for saying good things about Kadir either. Of course, he lived a good life, isn't he?

He was caught, tried and convicted in the American court of law and was serving LIFE sentence, what so good about him, maybe he should have blown up the fuel tanks at JFK and killed many. You would have called him a HERO.

We have to step back and reflect on what has said about Kadir's life. He wasn't born a terrorist. He is a family man. He spoke many languages. He is a chemical engineer by profession. He converted to Islam and he was convicted for conspiring to commit a terrorist act. Kadir was an intelligent man in real life. He also maintains his innocent all through his court proceedings. How many people are convicted and proven to be innocent after 15 years or so? Kadir is a dead man now, but we can't convict his children and grandchildren for what he may have done. We shouldn't hold the PNC accountable for saying good things about Kadir either. Of course, he lived a good life, isn't he?

banna, the Parliament of Guyana is hardly the place to litigate this matter

especially with STUPID resolutions crafted by stupid people

Abdul Kadir is a terrorist CONVICTED in a US Federal Court

good enough for me!

and yes, he is an 'educated' moron

smfh

I just posted his on SN...they as scaredy cats may not publish it

That dunce Valerie Patterson-Yearwood just handed the PPP PR machine in Washington the greatest talking point and tool to take the knees from anyone supporting the PNC in the US with the Kadir resolution in parliament. How could the APNU be so stupid? Before today it was an easy task, dozens of politicians would stand to support the APNU. Try getting one now when any rookie reporter can stop them in their tracks by asking why support a party that confer awards on American convicted terrorists!

During the trial, prosecutors displayed photographs of Mr. Kadir, shirtless and brandishing firearms, but Mr. Kadir said the guns were toys. He seemed shaken, however, when prosecutors accused him of spying on behalf of Iran. Under cross-examination, Mr. Kadir acknowledged that in the mid-1980s he had given information to the Iranian ambassador to Venezuela, but said that he had not revealed any state secrets.

https://www.nytimes.com/2010/1...nyregion/16plot.html

banna, the Parliament of Guyana is hardly the place to litigate this matter

especially with STUPID resolutions crafted by stupid people

Abdul Kadir is a terrorist CONVICTED in a US Federal Court

good enough for me!

and yes, he is an 'educated' moron

smfh

We are here because of our differences of opinions. If we all think alike this world would be a boring place. So, calm down. 

So we got the PPP cuss the US dem...now the PNC pulling this stupid stunt both parties should be sent the way of the dinosaurs. If Granger has any dam scruples he would give this woman shit, have her apologize and retract that statement.

Our Canadian Prime Minister did something as dumb as this a whike back with another one of these guys and his party will pay at the polls. 

So we got the PPP cuss the US dem...now the PNC pulling this stupid stunt both parties should be sent the way of the dinosaurs. If Granger has any dam scruples he would give this woman shit, have her apologize and retract that statement.

Our Canadian Prime Minister did something as dumb as this a whike back with another one of these guys and his party will pay at the polls. 

Ah good ting alyu dunce PNC peeple dem do dis. De PPP was smart not to honor any criminal. This is a trademark of the PNC.

The PNC has a history of paying tributes to known criminals. Blackie Freedumbo Fightas, Buxton Coconut Scrapers, Den Amstel Tigers, Agricola White Mouts and now Abdul Kadir. This is more than a blot seems to be an indelible huge mark that will forever be etched in the history of Guyana's Parliament. The PPP must be smiling all the way to the ballot box.

Ah good ting alyu dunce PNC peeple dem do dis. De PPP was smart not to honor any criminal. This is a trademark of the PNC.

Yuh right bai. De PPP only coddle dem criminals in dem midst and cover for crime lords and warlords.

It seems that all good sense has departed Guyana. In the days of Sir Shridath Ramphal, Rashleigh Jackson etc. this never would have been allowed to happen because they understood the global village. The PPP, PNC and the smaller parties appear to be filled with educated morons and idiots! Not to mention corruptocrats!

A reflection of the people left there no doubt. When the "cream" of the society there includes non entities like the non productive Freddie Kissoon, then no wonder we are in the shape we are in.

This motion in parliament is a massive stain on all Guyanese.

It seems that all good sense has departed Guyana. In the days of Sir Shridath Ramphal, Rashleigh Jackson etc. this never would have been allowed to happen because they understood the global village. The PPP, PNC and the smaller parties appear to be filled with educated morons and idiots! Not to mention corruptocrats!

A reflection of the people left there no doubt. When the "cream" of the society there includes non entities like the non productive Freddie Kissoon, then no wonder we are in the shape we are in.

This motion in parliament is a massive stain on all Guyanese.

Patterson Yearwood action is the action David Granger who is the CEO of Guyana under the Organic theory of Corporate responsibility. Granger must be borrowing Ramjhattan language and telling you all to “Haul alyuh ass “.

Dondadda posted:

Patterson Yearwood action is the action David Granger who is the CEO of Guyana under the Organic theory of Corporate responsibility. Granger must be borrowing Ramjhattan language and telling you all to “Haul alyuh ass “.

Yep, just like when Priya and Gail cuss up de US Ambassador at he own house and function while eating he food. It reflect pon fat man Donald and yuh fren de Rat.

Now we have the PNC poking the tiger. These 2 parties comprised of idiots are putting us in a terrible position when we have oil on the horizon. Not to mention the likely rise of a free enterprise capitalist in Venezuela sometime soon who the US will support, while Granger is busy "honoring" anti American terrorists. And Jagdeo and the PPP already hated by the US. Leaves us with no friends in a border dispute.

Fifty plus years of sheer shyte under these 2 parties and yet idiots here like nehru, yuji etc. support them. They cannot get out of their own way to govern Guyana. Sickening.

Dondadda posted:

Yep, just like when Priya and Gail cuss up de US Ambassador at he own house and function while eating he food. It reflect pon fat man Donald and yuh fren de Rat.

Now we have the PNC poking the tiger. These 2 parties comprised of idiots are putting us in a terrible position when we have oil on the horizon. Not to mention the likely rise of a free enterprise capitalist in Venezuela sometime soon who the US will support, while Granger is busy "honoring" anti American terrorists. And Jagdeo and the PPP already hated by the US. Leaves us with no friends in a border dispute.

Fifty plus years of sheer shyte under these 2 parties and yet idiots here like nehru, yuji etc. support them. They cannot get out of their own way to govern Guyana. Sickening.

None of those you named in your first paragraph are my friends. Get that straight. And BTW since they call a terrorist a hero for threatening to blow up US oil tanks, don’t you think they may support another homegrown terroristist in waiting to be a hero, who may threaten to blow up the Exxon oil infrastructure in Guyana? Exxon better take notice!

Instead of firing ministers that screw up, they are being rewarded. The minister that put the motion to honor the terrorist was just reassigned.  Cathy, Borrows and Brooms are all screwed up recently, yet Granger failed to take necessary action. With Four ministers with duel citizen had to resign but being promoted as senior advisors, setting up Fat Cat government. Oil is the only hope, just wait and see Exxon will not only screw them but___.