Dr. Bharat Jagdeo should be named "Man of the year 2015" for the following reasons:

1. He was the youngest serving president of Guyana.

2. He was elected as the longest serving president of Guyana.

3. He transformed Guyana and place is back on the world map. 

4. He was a successful Minister of Finance and a brilliant president.

5. He is well known and likable around the world.

6. He is the champion of the earth through his climate change initiatives.

7. He is currently the leader of the PPP opposition party.

8. He is responsible for the Providence Stadium and help to bring world cup cricket to Guyana.

9. He was the best president that Venezuela had chosen to work with despite of its border disputes.

10. He chose to teach the youngest and brightest in the new PPP party and to name a presidential candidate for year 2020.

• blobid0

Oh Lord - PNC style street fighting now!!! The lunatic rambles on.............!!!!!!!

i suggest u contemplate your ignorance/incoherence on the other thread and bow yuh head, arite?

and yes, i'm a street fighter NOT bigot antiman prancing around with multiple genitalia like alyuh

redux posted:

Oh Lord - PNC style street fighting now!!! The lunatic rambles on.............!!!!!!!

i suggest u contemplate your ignorance/incoherence on the other thread and bow yuh head, arite?

and yes, i'm a street fighter NOT bigot antiman prancing around with multiple genitalia like alyuh

Aside from all the controversy that surrounds Jagdeo, I think he at least deserves credit for his work on the environment.  

redux posted:

Aside from all the controversy that surrounds Jagdeo, I think he at least deserves credit for his work on the environment.  

What work? Spittin his spunk on the spitoon?

redux posted:

I agree 100%. The gentleman has done well and credit must be given to him. He is an intelligent young man with a wealth of knowledge to his credit. 

redux posted:

What work? Spittin his spunk on the spitoon?

Preserving the rain forest that Venezuela want to claim and bringing in the "carbon" money.

It is wonderful of the PPP to allow him back into public office. And lead the Peoples Progressive Party. The PPP lack the leadership of Jagdeo's caliber. He has enough determination to stop the PNC from putting Indians back as second class citizens. He makes dem stop and think before they act. I know coolie people are loosing government jobs. That might be in their favor to become self employed.

redux posted:

there is no one in Guyana named Bharat Jagdeo with a 'doctorate' in anything!

what antimanism are you engaging in here?

I believe he received an"honorary" doctorate from some university. This better than people getting dem dacta from some online university.

what's your point?

It is customary to refer to someone in such a situation as a "dacta" because the title was conferred to him because of the work he has done as President or in some area. However, it is not customary for the person himself to use the "Dr" in his title since it was not "earned". To his credit, I dont think Jagdeo has ever done that. At least thats how I interpret it. .

Last edited by VishMahabir

It is customary to refer to someone in such a situation as a "dacta" because the title was conferred to him because of the work he has done as President or in some area . . .

ahmmm . . . no it's not!

only antiman and ignar sycophants engage in that nonsense

this embarrassing shit is actually encouraged by an insecure jagdeo or else it would stop

if i am not mistaken, Bill Clinton has a ton of these . . . who calls him "Dr Clinton"?

redux posted:

It is customary to refer to someone in such a situation as a "dacta" because the title was conferred to him because of the work he has done as President or in some area . . .

ahmmm . . . no it's not!

this embarrassing shit is actually encouraged by an insecure jagdeo or else it would stop

if i am not mistaken, Bill Clinton has a ton of these . . . who calls him "Dr Clinton"?

You might be right, but I will do some research on it. But I dont think Jagdeo ever referred to himself as "Dr".

It is customary to refer to someone in such a situation as a "dacta" because the title was conferred to him because of the work he has done as President or in some area. However, it is not customary for the person himself to use the "Dr" in his title since it was not "earned". To his credit, I dont think Jagdeo has ever done that. At least thats how I interpret it. .

Your explanation sounds reasonable, Vish.

Canada's Dalhousie University had awarded Forbes Burnham an honorary doctorate. However, I don't recall anyone in Guyana or the then government-controlled press calling him Dr Burnham. 

redux posted:

ahmmm . . . no it's not!

You might be right, but I will do some research on it. But I dont think Jagdeo ever referred to himself as "Dr".

that's not my point!

Cobra posted:

Dr. Bharat Jagdeo should be named "Man of the year 2015" for the following reasons:

1. He was the youngest serving president of Guyana.

2. He was elected as the longest serving president of Guyana.

3. He transformed Guyana and place is back on the world map. 

4. He was a successful Minister of Finance and a brilliant president.

5. He is well known and likable around the world.

6. He is the champion of the earth through his climate change initiatives.

7. He is currently the leader of the PPP opposition party.

8. He is responsible for the Providence Stadium and help to bring world cup cricket to Guyana.

9. He was the best president that Venezuela had chosen to work with despite of its border disputes.

10. He chose to teach the youngest and brightest in the new PPP party and to name a presidential candidate for year 2020.

Agreed. He is a one man team and is enough to rip apart the fools in the Ka Ka AFC/PNC government.

Okay guys, this thread is titled "(Guyana) Man of the Year". Cobra is proposing that Dr Dr Dr Bharrat Jagdeo deserves that accolade. Respectfully, I disagree.

I think that Mr Moses V. Nagamootoo deserves the title. The Nagamootoo factor changed the course of Guyana's political history and was responsible for ending the 23-year PPP regime. Since May, the losing PPP has been heaping a mountain of calumny and filth on Mr Nagamootoo, which alone proves that they blame him for their loss of power. 

For his part, Mr Nagamootoo is enduring all the insults and cussing with dignity, choosing not to respond in kind. 

Okay guys, this thread is titled "(Guyana) Man of the Year". Cobra is proposing that Dr Dr Dr Bharrat Jagdeo deserves that accolade. Respectfully, I disagree.

I think that Mr Moses V. Nagamootoo deserves the title. The Nagamootoo factor changed the course of Guyana's political history and was responsible for ending the 23-year PPP regime. Since May, the losing PPP has been heaping a mountain of calumny and filth on Mr Nagamootoo, which alone proves that they blame him for their loss of power. 

For his part, Mr Nagamootoo is enduring all the insults and cussing with dignity, choosing not to respond in kind. 

Moses admitted to cussing down his own grandchildren.

Shame on you Gil for supporting a man cussing down his own Grandchildren and living a high life on the backs of the poor.

Moses is as shameless as the come. He boldly declared that he is not Indian when he joined an Afro Led party to please his new masters, hence his new title "house slave."

Bharat is my Hero and I am not ashamed to say so. 

Shame on you Gil for defending Judas Moses.

When he became President he was the second youngest Head of State in the world.  I was at the United Nations when that was announced and it was one of my proudest moments being a Guyanese. Sixteen years later he is still one of the most beloved and loyal sons of the soil.  God bless you Bharrat Jagdeo!

Long Live Maharaja Bharat ! Long Live Maharaja Bharat ! Jai Hind !

May Maharaja Bharat live for another 100 years !

When he became President he was the second youngest Head of State in the world.  I was at the United Nations when that was announced and it was one of my proudest moments being a Guyanese. Sixteen years later he is still one of the most beloved and loyal sons of the soil.  God bless you Bharrat Jagdeo!

Jagdeo needs to reconsider some of his leadership style where the PPP devolved into an inner-circle Politburo mentality.  He needs to mature beyond pettiness and look big picture.  However, as of today, he presided over the most successful and difficult periods of Guyana. He shifted the paradigm in Guyana.  For this reason, with all the racism, discrimination and oppression which have been unleashed in all its infamous glory since May, the Indians and others have not made a run for the exit.  Every Indian I speak with are confident they can resist and hold their own this time around.  Jagdeo is a big part of that confidence.  Low oil prices have put a tortoise in the PNC tank!

International profile and post-presidency career

Former President and current opposition leader of Guyana, Dr. Bharat Jagdeo, aka Champion of the Earth.

President Jagdeo was elected as Chairman of the Board of Governors of the International Monetary Fund and World Bank in September, 2005.[19] He occupied this position until September 2006.

The World Economic Forum (WEF) identified Jagdeo as one of their inaugural Young Global Leaders in 2006.[citation needed]

Time Magazine named Jagdeo as one of their "Heroes of the Environment" in 2008, and he was awarded the United Nations "Champion of the Earth" award in 2010.[citation needed]

In early 2010, the Secretary General of the United Nations asked Jagdeo to serve on the Secretary General's High Level Advisory Group on Climate Financing.[20][21]

Jagdeo is a Patron of the Delhi-based World Sustainable Development Forum.[22]

In 2011, Heads of State and other leaders from the world's rainforest countries asked him to be "Roving Ambassador for the Three Basins" (Amazon, Congo Basin, South East Asia).[23]

In March 2012, the world's largest and oldest environmental organisation, the International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN), announced that President Jagdeo would become the IUCN High Level Envoy for Sustainable Development in Forest Countries and an IUCN Patron of Nature.[24]

Jagdeo is also the President of the Assembly of the Korea-based Global Green Growth Institute (GGGI),[25] having been a Founding Board Member of GGGI since 2010. GGGI is the world's newest international organization, and has 20 Member States.

In June 2013, Commonwealth Secretary-General Kamalesh Sharma announced that former President Jagdeo would lead a high-level team of experts to identify solutions for unlocking resources to enable small, poor and climate-vulnerable Commonwealth countries to combat climate change. The former President was joined by eight others to create a set of recommendations for the international community to help identify practical solutions for those countries most vulnerable to climate change. Jagdeo presented the report to the 53 Heads of Government and other leaders of the Commonwealth, representing about a fifth of the world's population at the 2014 Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM) in Colombo, Sri Lanka.[26]

Jagdeo travelled from the 2015 CHOGM to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change summit in Warsaw where he spoke of the outcomes of CHOGM and the need for continued leadership from Prime Ministers and Presidents. In a major speech in Warsaw, he stated: "In the next 24 months much progress needs to be made if we are going to have a climate agreement. We can still stop the absolute worst extremes of climate change, and start the massive shift towards global low carbon development... The world tried to do this in 2009 at Copenhagen, and failed. As a consequence, more people will die, more livelihoods will be destroyed, more economies will suffer and the cost of action has gone up steadily...If we fail again in 2015, the damage and the costs will become truly unmanageable....Future generations will ask: how could we be so selfish not once, but twice?"

In March 2013, the ACP Council of Ministers inaugurated a 14-member Eminent Persons Group (EPG) whose mission will be to provide guidance and concrete recommendations for the future of the ACP Group. The 14 members of the group who met in Brussels designated the former Nigerian President, Chief Olusegun Obasanjo, as their Chairperson, with Jagdeo designated as one of two Vice Chairs.[27]

Jagdeo has been a guest lecturer at Columbia University (New York City, USA), York University (Toronto, Canada), Trent University (Peterborough, Canada), the University of Toronto, United Nations University (Tokyo, Japan), and the University of the West Indies. He has also taken part in Trent University's Carbon Conversation,[28] focusing on the need to de-carbonize the global economy.

Cobra posted:

Honours:

Jagdeo has been conferred with honorary doctorates of the Peoples' Friendship University of Russia,[1] TERI University, the University of Central Lancashire and Trent University.

Jagdeo was awarded the Pushkin Medal by the Government of Russia, and the Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award by the Government of India.[16][17]

In April 2013, Jagdeo was conferred with the highest honour of the State of Roraima, Brazil, the Order of Merit 'Forte Sao Joaquim'.[18]

Hey Cobra, dem PNC bais looking at this and comparing to the accomplishments of their geriatric club and trying stretch-to-fit.  It just ain't wukking, BJ shoes just too big.

You have to be the most ugly and dumbest women ,this man make the ppp lost the election and u say he is the most like,God have to curse u

Grandma's Clinton silent as Donald Trump escalates attacks, innuendo

Washington (CNN)Donald Trump's attacks against Hillary Clinton are entering a new, more personal phase in an already raucous election season.

The firefight started last week after Trump said Clinton "got schlonged" by President Barack Obama in the 2008 primaries -- taking the Yiddish word for penis and making a verb out of it, which shocked even Yiddish scholars

It's getting nasty!

• blobid0