Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo says the food supplied to parliamentarians is not fancy but he has an issue with the serving of liquor at the expense of taxpayers.

Public outrage was triggered following media reports that the food bill per sitting of the National Assembly is roughly $700,000.

But Jagdeo says the exorbitance is not just with food, as parliamentarians also enjoy alcohol with their meals.

“It’s not just food. It’s a huge amount of alcohol that gets consumed and imbibed in the Parliament… fancy, fancy liquor,” he said at a news conference Thursday afternoon.

Jagdeo believes other opposition Parliamentarians also do not indulge in consuming the alcohol but he said that they eat the food.

“They do eat. We eat. I eat the food. What do you suggest? I don’t go and eat the food? … I eat the food but I don’t drink the liquor,” the Opposition Leader said.

“I like eating too and it’s not like it’s fancy food. It’s not fancy food but it’s the alcohol part that I have a problem with.”

He suggested that Parliamentarians buy their own alcohol if they so desire to have a drink when they meet for Sittings of the National Assembly.

The Parliamentary food bill aside, Jagdeo contends that the dietary expenditure has increased tremendously under the coalition administration.

Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo says the food supplied to parliamentarians is not fancy but he has an issue with the serving of liquor at the expense of taxpayers.

Public outrage was triggered following media reports that the food bill per sitting of the National Assembly is roughly $700,000.

But Jagdeo says the exorbitance is not just with food, as parliamentarians also enjoy alcohol with their meals.

“It’s not just food. It’s a huge amount of alcohol that gets consumed and imbibed in the Parliament… fancy, fancy liquor,” he said at a news conference Thursday afternoon.

Jagdeo believes other opposition Parliamentarians also do not indulge in consuming the alcohol but he said that they eat the food.

“They do eat. We eat. I eat the food. What do you suggest? I don’t go and eat the food? … I eat the food but I don’t drink the liquor,” the Opposition Leader said.

“I like eating too and it’s not like it’s fancy food. It’s not fancy food but it’s the alcohol part that I have a problem with.”

He suggested that Parliamentarians buy their own alcohol if they so desire to have a drink when they meet for Sittings of the National Assembly.

The Parliamentary food bill aside, Jagdeo contends that the dietary expenditure has increased tremendously under the coalition administration.

• mceclip0

They should eat local and drink local in the local shops outside the house of parliament.  This is the first time I heard that alcohol consumption is tolerated in the parliament.  Shame on all parties for allowing this nonsense. There should be no consumption of alcohol in parliament.  As for food consumption I suspect Priya and Amna are in the physical condition they are in because of overindulging.

Remember all the pics we've been seeing of parliamentarians sleeping at Sittings of the National Assembly? Now we know the reason. Many were drunk.   

What did the PPP spend during their tenure? It is interesting that many who used to speak out against the PPP's wasting of taxpayers dollars are now supportive of this government excesses. 

Looks like dem AFC/PNC boys like expensive likka. Kudos to dem PPP boys for not indulging and wasting taxpayers monies.

Dem PPP boys should extend things further by taking their own food to parliament in sauspan.

Hey Dave, you've given us two servings of the same report. That must have cost you some time.

don’t know what happen there, maybe I get intoxiated reading the article and attach twice ...  lol 

If Admin can edit, much appreciated. 

Thanks uncle Gil.

HEHEHE I WARNED AL YUH BOUT THOSE DUMB, INCOMPETENT BASTARDS. THE NAMAKARAM CRABDAAAG DOES GATOLAY THE LIKKA AND EAT THE POKE LIKE A PARASITE HE IS!!!!

Looks like they've been guzzling Chivas Regal while making important decisions for the country. 

HEHEHE I WARNED AL YUH BOUT THOSE DUMB, INCOMPETENT BASTARDS. THE NAMAKARAM CRABDAAAG DOES GATOLAY THE LIKKA AND EAT THE POKE LIKE A PARASITE HE IS!!!!

Looks like they've been guzzling Chivas Regal while making important decisions for the country. 

So who they are gonna blame if one or a couple of these drunk men went home and beat up their wives? Or if driving home drunk, they kill some one?

Hey Dave, you've given us two servings of the same report. That must have cost you some time.

don’t know what happen there, maybe I get intoxiated reading the article and attach twice ...  lol 

Thanks uncle Gil.

Correction: comrade Gill. Spare uncle for Nehru.

So who they are gonna blame if one or a couple of these drunk men went home and beat up their wives? Or if driving home drunk, they kill some one?

This is nothing new. I remember one night we were coming home and the man in the car right in front of us was beating the woman next to him while still driving. My father turned around to my mom and said, "he's a minister and that's not his wife". 

8FD2B64B-4C6C-43E4-8C84-40FBAE6834B1F280B5D1-E574-4A4B-B5A7-1828EDED90679D24133D-CE65-4BE4-B354-A032804EBA06Leonora posted:

Can someone please post the pics of Ramjattan and others sleeping in Parliament, so I can go home laughing all weekend?    

Here is a few ...

Images (3)
  • 9D24133D-CE65-4BE4-B354-A032804EBA06
  • 8FD2B64B-4C6C-43E4-8C84-40FBAE6834B1
  • F280B5D1-E574-4A4B-B5A7-1828EDED9067

Thanks uncle Gil.

Correction: comrade Gill. Spare uncle for Nehru.

Thanks Comrade Gill. 

If you tremble with indignation at every injustice, then you are a comrade of mine.” – Che

Reeper posted:

What did the PPP spend during their tenure?

It is interesting that many who used to speak out against the PPP's wasting of taxpayers dollars are now supportive of this government excesses. 

Find out and let us know.

Your second sentence sounds like an old poster on GNI.

$ 700,000 Bill for Parliamentary sittings… Guyanese should not pay for their “fancy” liquor, let them buy it themselves – Jagdeo

Opposition Leader/Former President, Bharrat Jagdeo

No longer should the people of Guyana stand the bill for Members of Parliament (MPs) to enjoy huge quantities of “fancy” alcohol during sittings of the National Assembly.
Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo said this yesterday as he denounced the amount of money being “wasted” under the coalition government on food. This was during his weekly press conference held at his Church Street Office.
Jagdeo made reference to an article published in this newspaper which highlights the amount of money spent on food per sitting of the National Assembly—an estimated $700,000.
Today, Jagdeo suggested that the cost for alcohol might be just as much as the cost for food.
He said, “It’s not just food. It’s a huge amount of alcohol that gets consumed and imbibed in the Parliament… fancy, fancy liquor. The opposition leader said that it is simply “ridiculous.”
Jagdeo said that he consumes the food provided, but never indulges in the alcohol. He noted that he has a room at the Parliament Building and he has instructed that no alcoholic beverages be put there. “You can ask them, I told them not to put any alcohol there…I do not even touch the things they provide.”
Further, Jagdeo said that Opposition Members of Parliament would hardly ever, if at all, utilize alcohol provided by Parliament Office.
“They do eat. We eat. I eat the food. What do you suggest? I don’t go and eat the food? I eat the food, but I don’t drink the liquor,” I like eating too, and it’s not like its fancy food. It’s not fancy food, but it’s the alcohol part that I have a problem with,” said Jagdeo.
Jagdeo suggested that some members of Government are excessive with the imbibing during sittings.
Jagdeo recommended that systems be put in place to allow MPs to purchase alcohol if they desire to have a drink when they meet for sittings.
He said that a canteen should be considered, “let them buy their own liquor.”
Jagdeo said that the People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) government was much more conservative with its spending on food and alcohol, especially the alcohol.
He made it clear that he was not suggesting that legislators be made to eat out of boxes or that food be skimped.
But, food and drinks for parliament aside, Jagdeo said that this government has been proven to be lavish overall when it comes to dietary spending.
He said that the dietary expenditure for various agencies in the National Budget are huge.
Jagdeo said, “I have been talking about this over and over. Dietary is triple times what it used to be”.
Responding to questions about the food bill, Clerk of the National Assembly, Sherlock Isaacs disclosed that the Assembly Committee of the National Assembly of the Parliament of Guyana considered and gave approval for a number of food suppliers to be invited through the restrictive bidding process, to bid for the supply of meals and snacks for sittings of the National Assembly and Committee Meetings.
The four suppliers that bid were Maggie’s Snackette and Catering Service; Ambience Restaurant and Catering Service; Carnegie School of Home Economics and Water Chris Hotel and Bar.
According to Isaacs, the contract was awarded by the National Procurement and Tender Administration Board (NPTAB) on 5th July, 2018 to Maggie’s Snackette and Catering Service for the supply of meals and snacks for sittings of the National Assembly and Committee Meetings.
It was reported sometime back that the cost of every sitting, for food; for putting up MPs in hotels and for paying travelling from out of the region, among other things, was over $1.5M. But now, food alone is $700,000.

I agree with BJ on this.  I understand he does not drink rum however, regardless his point is valid.  They are on official duties to the people and have a right to food, but not alcohol.  Guyana has an alcohol problem and this sets a bad example.

Amral posted:

Jagdeo is desperate he is scraping the bottom of the barrel for anything that can help him

So this thread is about PNC wasting the taxpayers money.  And your response is to cuss Jagdeo?  

Amral posted:

Jagdeo is desperate he is scraping the bottom of the barrel for anything that can help him

So this thread is about PNC wasting the taxpayers money.  And your response is to cuss Jagdeo?  

What was the food bill under Jagdeo? 

Never believe the Rat,that fella digging more holes for the PPP.

The lady was very articulate and specific.  If what she's saying is true vs what BJ says, then I have an issue believing anything he says!

As of now, I hold off judgement!

Dj, I know you have good PPP insider (non-Cabal) contacts, could you verify off-line?

Haul you old rass, BJ was making reference to Kaieture news article, the man didn’t brought the issue up.

- Take up the issue with the editor if you have a problem. 

- are you disputing the statement from the clerk of national assembly. 

- Since when government buying food and alcohol for parliamentary workers... more exposure to the benefit of all public servants. LMFAO 

The lady was very articulate and specific.  If what she's saying is true vs what BJ says, then I have an issue believing anything he says!

Dj, I know you have good PPP insider (non-Cabal) contacts, could you verify off-line?

Quote.

“At every sitting of the National Assembly, there are 65 members of Parliament, the Parliamentary staff, the drivers and body guards of ministers and the media, all of whom meals are catered for.

However, the Opposition Leader noted that the huge food bill does not come from the actual food, but, rather the expensive rum and beverage which only the MP’s are privileged to partake. Jagdeo made it clear that his MPs do not drink the alcohol, he noted that they would only eat the food.”

http://guyanadailynewsgy.com/n...ment-being-suggested

Not very true,most of my contacts doan like the rat.

Don't believe everything that Jagdeo says,Cathy's rebuttal can be verified just add the numbers of persons during a sitting of parliament,the alcohol consumption is over stretched.