America's democracy gave us the freedom to vote freely and be counted, and that lies within the power of the people. Around the globe, the message of freedom is catching on where people risk their lives and rooted out dictatorship for the sake of democracy. Freedom comes with its own price but when you measure the benefits, it outweighs the struggle and sacrifice. Guyana is our homeland, and it comes a long way through our own political sacrifice, and the benefits outweighed the labour of pain. Today, we have a country we can proudly call home with an elected government, a democratic system, and a peace-loving people of six races living together in harmony. Many nations don't have these qualities of life that Guyana provides for its people. The best is still ahead, and Guyana asks for your support in working together to make history once again in its forthcoming elections. Vote your choice, vote for your future and vote for continued progress.

An Election Message by Cobra

I was once asked what my three greatest assets in leadership are, and what my three greatest leadership challenges are. To be a great leader one must know what their challenges are so that you can work on them. My three greatest challenges are being a visionary, mental toughness, and the ability to stand against the critics.

Vote your choice, vote for your future and for that kind of Leadership.
Originally posted by Cobra:
I was once asked what my three greatest assets in leadership are, and what my three greatest leadership challenges are. To be a great leader one must know what their challenges are so that you can work on them. My three greatest challenges are being a visionary, mental toughness, and the ability to stand against the critics.

Vote your choice, vote for your future and for that kind of Leadership.

I never knew you idolized Bush and Cheney that much. Bit overboard, dont you think?

America's democracy gave us the freedom to vote freely and be counted, and that lies within the power of the people. Around the globe, the message of freedom is catching on where people risk their lives and rooted out dictatorship for the sake of democracy. Freedom comes with its own price but when you measure the benefits, it outweighs the struggle and sacrifice. Guyana is our homeland, and it comes a long way through our own political sacrifice, and the benefits outweighed the labour of pain. Today, we have a country we can proudly call home with an elected government, a democratic system, and a peace-loving people of six races living together in harmony. Many nations don't have these qualities of life that Guyana provides for its people. The best is still ahead, and Guyana asks for your support in working together to make history once again in its forthcoming elections. Vote your choice, vote for your future and vote for continued progress.

An Election Message by Cobra
Who from among the people selected Ramotar? Do the 15 member who circumvented their own internal rule to elevate that dunce to the throne count as the "people"?

Where does black people count in the matter? We have a a Westminster which optimize all power on a simple majority at the polls to the winning side. In essence, the other side gets nothing. In a racially bifurcated society organized by party that means black people are in the cold.

In this system also we entertain closed lists. These list are prepared at the discretion of party ( that fifteen member again) and the candidate and serve at his discretion alone when he wins. This is the executive presidency that makes all parliamentarians of his party his creatures.

Further, they can be all be stone cold dunces and they are accountable to no one. In short, our democracy is a useless construct. It was fashioned by a dictator to produce dictators and on that account it functions well. The PPP are as democratic as the old soviet state. Our electoral system produces democrats o less than the old soviet scheme produced Politburo members.
Originally posted by Demerara_Guy:
Originally posted by D2:

Who from among the people selected Ramotar?

The issue is who will lead their party to victory for the 2011 elections.
It may be that for knuckle walking u but for me it is, about "we have a country ... with an elected government, a democratic system, .. of six races living together in harmony".. a big fat lie if ever there was one.
Originally posted by D2:

It may be that for knuckle walking u but for me it is, about "we have a country ... with an elected government, a democratic system, .. of six races living together in harmony".. a big fat lie if ever there was one.

Still twisting and twirling. Big Grin
and the point is???

Originally posted by D2:

Still twisting and twirling. Big Grin
Quote by: D2
Who from among the people selected Ramotar? Do the 15 member who circumvented their own internal rule to elevate that dunce to the throne count as the "people"?

Elected or selected, I strongly believe Mr. Ramotar is the right candidate to move Guyana forward from its current status. My belief is as strong as yours for change. We both have our rights to support our political affiliations. I believe Guyana's future cannot be entrusted in the hands of a failed regime or with an amateur administration, though I know they all present a fair agenda to carry out the nation's business. This is the most trying time in Guyana's political history, and only an experience and mature person are well grounded to take that challenge, and that is Mr. Donald Ramotar.
Quote by: D2

Elected or selected, I strongly believe Mr. Ramotar is the right candidate to move Guyana forward from its current status. My belief is as strong as yours for change. We both have our rights to support our political affiliations. I believe Guyana's future cannot be entrusted in the hands of a failed regime or with an amateur administration, though I know they all present a fair agenda to carry out the nation's business. This is the most trying time in Guyana's political history, and only an experience and mature person are well grounded to take that challenge, and that is Mr. Donald Ramotar.

His succes factors at GuySuco speak volumes of his ability.
Originally posted by Nehru:
ONLY ONE PARTY CAN TAKE GUYANA TO THE PROMISED LAND. REMEMBER WE HAVE MOSES.

DEM KATAHAR WATA WASH SHIT AH BATTY TWO SEAT OR IS IT ONE AND A HALF SEAT PARTY CAN ONLY TALK. THE PPP DELIVERS AND THAT IS THE DIFFERENCE.

Like the PNC, PPP is best delivering it's citizens to the US/Canada.
Originally posted by Horse Man:
Originally posted by albert:
Imperialist states are anti-working class

Why Robert get pickney in the imperialist state?

We are all consider to be men of good character, and we must act in the same manner at all times. This thread is NOT about Robert and his family. This matter is personal, and it should remain private.

Personal? it is not personal choosing to have children is personal but you cannot be a minister in the government and a leading minister dare I say and then go and be cussin america daily and hollering about imperialist this and imperialist that and then go and have pickney in america.

Dat is the height of hypocrisy and that is not a personal matter it may be a personal choice but the issue is not a personal matter.

It is important that this minister resign for this reason and demonstrate that he is guilty of being a hypocrite.
HM
we need to start holding people accountable in govt.

You see in Communist china how they hold their public officials accountable and when they slip up they are publicly dismissed.

If we are to grow as a society we have to hold our public servants accountable and our ministers in govt accountable. Just like they do in china.
HM

It's a very relevant question. You guys cuss the US and then hold citizenship and have your kids born here. Senior officials come here for treatment but tout and send people off to Cuba. Clearly you talk out of the two sides of your mouth, commonly referred to as HYPOCRICY. Alyuh tek shame face and shake cocobae hand.

Are you speaking to me personally, or you making a general remark?
Baseman: You're an intelligent individual, and you shouldn't let your guard down like this. I am not here to analyze and make comments on your personal life, and you shouldn't do that to others. Things can get rough around here, but it stays with the people we support. If you claimed we came from a cuss down generation, and you are saying these things, then who will throw the first stone to kill the devil. You said the question is valid where Robert is concerned, and I made my point that it is a private matter, the same way I respect people's private life off and on board. If my answer is not good enough, then you seek a better answer were else. Don't let your anger get the better of you. I've taken notice of this more than once now. I can defend the PPP and still hold the peace with my peers.
Elections are around the corner and it is during this season that many seek to resurrect their political life. Of course, these periodic, arm chair experts and failed politicians will be making many critical evaluations of the past 5 years and will be promising to do so much should they themselves be given a ‘5 year’ but in the end it is up to the Guyanese voting population to make a proper assessment of who or which political party is better equipped to take them forward and which party has a record of fulfilling promises. On this note I will outline a few ongoing efforts as well as promises fulfilled by the PPP/C since they came into office

1. It is under the PPP/C that Guyana attained the rank of one of the highest developing countries in the Education Index of the United Nations Human Development Report. Equitable access to free education from nursery through secondary is a major reason for Guyana’s estimated literacy rate of 96%, one of the highest in the Western Hemisphere during this time. The education sector continues to receive the largest chunk of the National Budget, with allocation this year being $24.3B, an increase of $2.5B. A US$5.1M Guyana Improvement Teacher Education Project was initiated which further ensures that Guyana’s children receive the best possible education. 70 secondary schools are to be equipped with modern IT labs by September of this year and this will complement Guyana’s first learning channel which was launched in April of this year.

2. It is under the PPP/C that budgetary allocations to the security sector increased from $13M in 1992 to $1.9B IN 2011. It is also under the rule of the PPP/C that the Citizen Security Programme, the aim of which is to create safer neighbourhoods, came into being. One component of this initiative saw the successful completion of the Comprehensive Training Programme in 2009 by 308 police officers. This programme equipped them with the requisite skills to train new recruits and other ranks in modern policing techniques.An Integrated Crime Information System(ICIS) for the force is also being developed, the design of which is to enable policy makers and law enforcement agencies to identify crime trends, examine their causes and devise objective solutions to combat them.The construction of a state-of-the-art Forensic Laboratory has already begun and this will complement other measures such as the installation of Close Circuit Television Cameras (CCTV) in and around the capital city which is expected to enable prompt response by police patrol squads.

3. Ensuring that adequate healthcare is accessible to the entire population regardless of the location, though at times challenging, is yet another one of the fulfilled promises of the PPP/C. Residents in remote and outlying areas can now boast of having access to basic healthcare through the construction of health huts and health centers and the placement of trained medical personnel to man these centers. There have been major improvements to the Georgetown Public Hospital which now allows it to offer advanced services in many areas including surgeries. Apart from highly trained medical practitioners being at the facility, groups of specialist doctors now visit the institution from time to time carrying out surgeries including kidney transplants and heart surgeries in the process. Health facilities were also constructed in Linden, Mabaruma, Lethem, New Amsterdam, Diamond East Bank Demerara , Port Mourant, Mahaicony, Leonora and Suddie, just to name a few.

Space and time constraint only allows me to delve into the 3 areas above but there’s more than enough out there for readers to get a view of the points being raised. While the ears and eyes of the Guyanese public is being bombarded with sensationalism and misrepresentation development is taking place everywhere. And this is evident when one visits any of the city’s streets or any of the many new housing schemes. All is not perfect but there are those who for reasons of selfishness would want us to believe that nothing at all has been done. These bitter folks have their individual grouses and this is evident in their vitriolic and often outlandish pronouncements. While preaching ‘change’ etc they exhibit signs of the ‘them’ v/s ‘us’ mentality.

Truly Yours

Louis Kilkenny