Personal? it is not personal choosing to have children is personal but you cannot be a minister in the government and a leading minister dare I say and then go and be cussin america daily and hollering about imperialist this and imperialist that and then go and have pickney in america.

Dat is the height of hypocrisy and that is not a personal matter it may be a personal choice but the issue is not a personal matter.

It is important that this minister resign for this reason and demonstrate that he is guilty of being a hypocrite.

I don't understand the implication you are making against Robert Persaud. Where did it say in the constitution that a minister cannot have children in foreign countries and serve the government at the same time? If such clause were made, then it should be honor. Until then, it's a personal choice. We have greater things to hold people in Government accountable for, not for making babies in foreign lands.
If you are a minister and you mekkin children to be born as american it sends 2 distinct messages.

1. is that the minister does not have faith in Guyana and he is having anchor babies in america to ensure his children have somewhere to flee when the time is right.

2. The second message he is sending is that the health care system in Guyana is the pits.

After all the money the govt claims they are spending on Health care to then go have your children in america as a minister is a slap in the face to the minister of health and his excellency who has been touting health care improvements as superior in Guyana.
HM
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Horse Man:
If you are a minister and you mekkin children to be born as american it sends 2 distinct messages.

1. is that the minister does not have faith in Guyana and he is having anchor babies in america to ensure his children have somewhere to flee when the time is right.

2. The second message he is sending is that the health care system in Guyana is the pits.

After all the money the govt claims they are spending on Health care to then go have your children in america as a minister is a slap in the face to the minister of health and his excellency who has been touting health care improvements as superior in Guyana.
HM
Originally posted by Cobra:
Baseman: You're an intelligent individual, and you shouldn't let your guard down like this. I am not here to analyze and make comments on your personal life, and you shouldn't do that to others. Things can get rough around here, but it stays with the people we support. If you claimed we came from a cuss down generation, and you are saying these things, then who will throw the first stone to kill the devil. You said the question is valid where Robert is concerned, and I made my point that it is a private matter, the same way I respect people's private life off and on board. If my answer is not good enough, then you seek a better answer were else. Don't let your anger get the better of you. I've taken notice of this more than once now. I can defend the PPP and still hold the peace with my peers.

Sorry, it's very strange that a sitting minister chose to have his kids born abroad. It send a message to anyone that even he sees his kids having a better option outside the countryu which he helps govern. It is also telling that the elite chose the US for medical care over their political choices for the people. It's nothing personal, when you are part of a Govt, such things become issues of public interest. It's plain HIPOCRICY man, plain and simple. You bite the hands that feed you, ungrate, imoral, just like many on their leftwinger supporters on this board, plain and simple.

Me aint angry bai, politics is politics. I was angry with the PNC and shed thise concerns since leaving. Not sure what "let my guard down" mean, spit it out.
Originally posted by Sase Singh:
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Cobra:

Guyana future President and first Lady, a real one this time.

Sas word on the street in Gtwn is the prospects of an AFC victory is as plausible as a snow storm in Gtwn.

You guys need to do some indepth research to see who you really have with you. Not who shows up to meetings. Not who is disgruntled with teh PPPNC...becasue that doesnt mean that they will not vote for one or the other, or simply refus eto vote.

But who is with teh AFC. I get the impression that you gutys are wishfully hoping. Thinking that because both the PNC and the PPP have passed their peak popularity that your time has come. The WPA used to think so....where are they today?
Originally posted by Horse Man:

Your two points didn't make the case to condemn Minister Robert Persaud. However, this is a moral issue, and it should be dealt with differently. Maybe you can use your voting power to remove him from office or force him to resign. Smile

Same answer to Mr. Baseman

Your two points didn't make the case to condemn Minister Robert Persaud. However, this is a moral issue, and it should be dealt with differently. Maybe you can use your voting power to remove him from office or force him to resign. Smile

Same answer to Mr. Baseman

I asked someone in Guyana, they were surprised and said it's a worng message. If official are hedging their bets with the US, why should the (average person) not seek to have their kids also exit.

I don't expect that you see the issue, but it's very telling a cabinet minister choses to have hid kids born in the US and thus, US citizenship. It;s not a private matter, similar BJ taking huge gifts from business men who then seek opportunituies in Guyana is not a private matter.

This is a hypocritcal message coming from the PPP when they are saying plan your future in Guyana. Maybe you subscribe to this value, so be it.

No, I don't subscribe to such value. I said it's moral issue and to use your power and forced him to resign if he's not fit to be a Minister. I stress this thread was not about Minister Persaud, and I don't want to get into his affairs. If you consider it to be a public matter, then there're ways to hold him accountable.

No, it's a moral code of ethics. He does not stand alone for elections so one has to go against the entire Govt, which may not be the wishes of some. If BJ can say Guyanese will return due to the collapse but then his minista choses the US for his kids.....come on, take off your thick blinders.
It is a serious issue whether Cobra wants to accept that or not it is a real issue and these chaps in the AFC are using it as an effective campaign tool and it is costing us votes.

When the AFC talks about pradoville, Robert having American born children. etc. etc. etc. you have to be there and see the reaction of people.

People who go to these meetings to just listen that are die hard PPP come back from those meetings and tell me boy I cannot continue, this stuff is just too much, the PPP doing too many wrong thing.

How do you argue with that? how do you convince them that hey we have to fight for x y and z. What are we fighting for to make the ministers and their children rich?
HM
Personal? it is not personal choosing to have children is personal but you cannot be a minister in the government and a leading minister dare I say and then go and be cussin america daily and hollering about imperialist this and imperialist that and then go and have pickney in america.

Dat is the height of hypocrisy and that is not a personal matter it may be a personal choice but the issue is not a personal matter.

It is important that this minister resign for this reason and demonstrate that he is guilty of being a hypocrite.

I don't understand the implication you are making against Robert Persaud. Where did it say in the constitution that a minister cannot have children in foreign countries and serve the government at the same time? If such clause were made, then it should be honor. Until then, it's a personal choice. We have greater things to hold people in Government accountable for, not for making babies in foreign lands.

Quote - Albert
When one wanna run for public office...he no longer has a private life

Cobra it seems like Albert violently disagrees with you here.

See full thread here http://guyanafriends.com/eve/f...604972/m/25620246051
J
Its a widely embraced concept....the People Progressive Party Civic, has transformed Guyana and place the Country on the road of economic success....the citizens enjoys better socio-economic conditions....and all Guyanese from all strata of Society has equal opportunities to own their own homes....they are many accomplishments by this administration that the Guyanese people are proud of...and will support the P.P.P/C at the polls....thus ensuring progress continues....

Originally posted by jags:

Quote - Albert
When one wanna run for public office...he no longer has a private life

Cobra it seems like Albert violently disagrees with you here.

See full thread here http://guyanafriends.com/eve/f...604972/m/25620246051

Honestly the more widely embraced concept today is that you and the PPP have lied to us and we are gonna hold you accountable. Whether you like it or not we will hold you and your cohorts accountable trust me on that.
J
As stated before the Guyanese people are wise...and sees progress all around mainly due to the working class policies of the present administration....the Guyana economy grew by 5.9% in the first half of the year...there is presently a housing boom...students are excelling in both internal and external exams...and the list goes on...the P.P.P/C has a track record of progress...and the electorate will be voting on issues...thus the working class party...the peoples progressive party civic...will be endorse by the masses
Originally posted by albert:
As stated before the Guyanese people are wise...and sees progress all around mainly due to the working class policies of the present administration....the Guyana economy grew by 5.9% in the first half of the year...there is presently a housing boom...students are excelling in both internal and external exams...and the list goes on...the P.P.P/C has a track record of progress...and the electorate will be voting on issues...thus the working class party...the peoples progressive party civic...will be endorse by the masses

NO ALBERT, GUYANA FUTURE DOES NOT REST WITH THEE MALE PREDATORS AND MALE PEADEOPHILES THAT CONTROL THINGS. It rest with a nw constitution giving power back to the people.

Capice!

Vote AFC partybanana
D

America's democracy gave us the freedom to vote freely and be counted, and that lies within the power of the people. Around the globe, the message of freedom is catching on where people risk their lives and rooted out dictatorship for the sake of democracy. Freedom comes with its own price but when you measure the benefits, it outweighs the struggle and sacrifice. Guyana is our homeland, and it comes a long way through our own political sacrifice, and the benefits outweighed the labour of pain. Today, we have a country we can proudly call home with an elected government, a democratic system, and a peace-loving people of six races living together in harmony. Many nations don't have these qualities of life that Guyana provides for its people. The best is still ahead, and Guyana asks for your support in working together to make history once again in its forthcoming elections. Vote your choice, vote for your future and vote for continued progress.

An Election Message by Cobra

The option to participate in elections is not evidence of democracy. Democracy means individual sovereignty is conserved in all aspects of the expression of power in the system. Democratic deficits occur when the institutions of state act contrary to the intent of democracy to conserve individual voice and political exit strategies.

Guyana's Westminster model works well only in essentially racially/religiously/culturally homogeneous societies. Where there are competition among these factions and they are numerically closely matched as in ours the system encounters difficulties.

Guyana has long experienced an officially unacknowledged low level internecine war between Indians and Africans. Our political parties are structured explicitly on these voting blocks. To speak of the PPP is to speak of an Indian party. To speak of the PNC is to speak of an African party. Their supporters do not cross party line in significant numbers. Choice is therefore based on ethnic nepotism in the political sphere.

Because of this and because the Westminster system with its executive presidency, closed lists, state wide constituency etc, power is optimized on simple majority wholly to a race based majority. The other side is for all intents and purpose shut out from power. The idea that the benevolence of the PPP will inevitably means Blacks will be given equal choice of administrative roles is for the birds. Humans are greedy, inclined to nepotism and concerned with their kith and kin. They inevitably conserve that when there are no institutional checks and balance specifically addressing these inclinations exists.

We do not have one African ambassador, and every other administrative post where power is exercised is filled with an Indian. Where Afrcans hold positions they are like Hinds, simply place holders. Hinds in the normal society could be president if the president is injured. We know that will never happen.

The reason Janet came into office and Jagdeo became president is because the PPP circumvented the constitution in the first place and hand picked Jagdeo in the second. Where as Prime ministers usually compete for office in our society that can never happen

No we do not have democracy. We have an elected oligarchy of one race.
What Planet you are on?? And do you really know the meaning of Communism?? Are you educated enough or simply hear the word from yuh Neighba?
Democractic Centralism is the guiding priniciple of the peoples progressive party...with the members and the masses embrace

This is nonsense again we need to be honest with ourselves we are communist party and we will remain one.
Originally posted by Nehru:
What Planet you are on?? And do you really know the meaning of Communism?? Are you educated enough or simply hear the word from yuh Neighba?
Democractic Centralism is the guiding priniciple of the peoples progressive party...with the members and the masses embrace

This is nonsense again we need to be honest with ourselves we are communist party and we will remain one.
He is not on the planet of denial. The PPP explicitly acknowledge their party is on the old Soviet Model ie Democratic Centralism. That is if you grasp Marxist praxis, the mechanism to realize the vanguard party