Former Speaker of the National Assembly, Ralph Ramkarran

Former Speaker of the National Assembly and Senior Counsel Ralph Ramkarran has warned that Guyana is facing one of its major crises since independence with President David Granger’s delay in naming a date for elections following the December 21 No Confidence vote.

“Now we have, perhaps, one of the biggest crises in our history. It is not violent, and hopefully will not be, but this is what we face.

“Come the 21st of March, the last day on which elections should be held – which clearly is not going to be held – the Government becomes illegal,” he stated.

He was at the time addressing a forum Wednesday evening.

Mr Ramkarran has pointed to the situation that would arise if no elections are called when the 90-day period expires since the No Confidence motion was passed on December 21.

“It cannot exist lawfully as a Government – it shouldn’t be there (but) it will be existing.

“It cannot lawfully convene the Parliament – it might. But it cannot lawfully convene the Parliament to pass any law.

So, what happens? We have a crisis.

“And nobody knows what is going to happen – we have a dictatorship.”

The High Court has ruled that the No Confidence motion was validly passed but the Government has appealed the decision.

However, the effect of the No Confidence motion has not been paused as the Chief Justice refused to grant an order for a stay and the Speaker of the National Assembly has accepted the rule of the Chief Justice and acknowledged that the time is running.

At the forum, organised by the Cheddi Jagan Research Centre, Mr Ramkarran sought to examine what could happen if the country heads into a constitutional crisis.

“If external countries behave to Guyana the way they behave to other countries, I don’t know whether we will expect to see visas being cancelled, assets if you have them – and you know members of the Government are earning lots of money now – frozen.”

Mr Ramkarran further sought to explain the possible actions foreign Governments could take against Guyana.

“The diplomatic community, especially the three large countries – the United States, Great Britain and Canada and the European Union, will withdraw their activity.

“Diplomatic activity will come to halt.

“…the IMF, the Inter-American Development Bank will stop lending monies.

“…everything will grind to a halt.

“We don’t know if the banks will be able to send monies abroad.

“If they stop dealing with Guyana, the banking system will collapse, will seize up.

“Financial activity cannot go on…imports and exports cannot take place.

“So, a major calamity is brewing unless the government decides what to do.”

Mr Ramkarran, a long-time politician, said that Guyana has faced crisis after crisis since independence, situations he said Guyanese did not deserve. These he said, was as a result of the racial divide.

“Indians are afraid when Africans are in power and Africans are afraid when Indians are in power. Both for the same reasons – each side feels they are discriminated against, marginalised, what is has is being taken away.

“And I tell you comrades, the same fears that Indians have, the same identical fears Africans have.”

He said that the problem and the solution were known by Cheddi Jagan and Forbes Burnham at the time the two of them worked together in the early days of the Peoples Progressive Party.

“They saw this problem; that is why they created the type of PPP that they did –  a PPP that had united the races, united the classes.

“They knew what was the solution – to have a united party; it didn’t last.

“And they all know today what is the solution – to bring these races together by a process of constitutional reform which makes they work together.

“That is the only solution to end these crises.”

For now, Mr Ramkarran said to avert a constitutional crisis there needs to be a date for elections.

“The solution to the problem is to have an agreement with the Leader of the Opposition for a date for elections – maybe an extended date.

“I am sure the Leader of the Opposition will not begrudge some extra time to give the Elections Commission the opportunity to get itself in order.”

Mr Ramkarran has formed his own political party and calling for a new united Guyana away from the politics of race which has divided Guyana over the past five decades.

• mceclip0

Like Ralph finally woke up and smelled he coffee ? 

Yes, we are headed to a dictatorship after March 21. 

It will take an international effort to remove a PNC dictatorship. Funny, it was Ralph fighting to install the PNC. Backlash Ralph ?

PNC has taken Guyana 66 years backwards. 

Anyway, Guyanese need to stay calm and not allow their emotions to get the better of them. Guyanese have walked the road in combatting (now three) PNC dictatorships and won.

Parliament, the constitution, The speaker, The NCV vote, a High Court Judge mean NOTHING  to the PNC.

Burnham’s student is living his dictatorship legacy. GECOM is also now a PNC instrument. 

66 Years of backwardness. It is no wonder that the GNI AFC/PNC crew do not want Guyanese to speak about pre 1992.

“Indians are afraid when Africans are in power and Africans are afraid when Indians are in power. Both for the same reasons – each side feels they are discriminated against, marginalised, what is has is being taken away.

“And I tell you comrades, the same fears that Indians have, the same identical fears Africans have.”

Now look at the names that siggy, yuji, dave and the rest of the crew are going to call him.

Carib is stirring up racial Shyte again.

Everyone agrees that Indos and Afros have the same fears.

APNU is escalating that fear by calling for war in several regions. The video is there for the world to see.

Guyana needs free and fair election and constitutional reform which requires 2/3 Of parliament to approve. 

And yet when I say exactly that you scream that I am an Indo hating racists and that the PPP treats blacks very well.

So no you dont agree.  You think that only Indians have a valid claim.

But you can run around threatening to "tek back Guyana". Black people are wondering who you plan to take it back from, given that the PPP's support base is overwhelmingly Indian.

Such a slogan is highly provocative and disrespectful to those who dont support the PPP.  If the PPP uses that warlike call against APNU then dont scream when they use the same tactics against you.

It will take an international effort to remove a PNC dictatorship. Funny, it was Ralph fighting to install the PNC. Backlash Ralph ?

Are you aware that his father was one of the founders of the PPP party. And was a PPP Minister in 1957, Lang before you barn.

And yet when I say exactly that you scream that I am an Indo hating racists and that the PPP treats blacks very well.

PPP supporters don't comment on if the PPP treats blacks well or vice-versa. PPP supporters mainly comment that the PPP has been better at governing Guyana than the PNC has. It is you who are always injecting race into everything. Yuh rass need to find some others interests.  

Now look at the names that siggy, yuji, dave and the rest of the crew are going to call him.

He has never faced Black racism, he speaks on the subject as merely an OBSERVER. Indians have ALWAYS suffered intimidation by a fair number of Negroes. Ram Karran is a privilized Indian, had it not been for the impoverished Indians in Guyana that gave his father an uppity status in life, he would have faced the brunt of Black racism in the Guyanese society.

Are you aware that his father was one of the founders of the PPP party. And was a PPP Minister in 1957, Lang before you barn.

He was not a founder. The PPP comprised mainly of leaders of various trade unions in Guyana. Boysie was the leader of the Transport Union, and as such he had a number of members in the union. He used that group to improve his political status.

What he is saying is well known in the legal and international relations circles.  I saw the PNCites talking fat on FB as it’s this is solely a PNC/PPP issue.  I told them Guyana could come under severe international sanctions.   It seems the PNC still frozen in Cold War thinking!

BJ has to hold the line until the PNC abides by the rule of law!  They seem to prefer the law of the jungle!

But he back stabbed the PPP.  So what is it worth?   He even provoked the 33/34 controversy!

He was not a founder. The PPP comprised mainly of leaders of various trade unions in Guyana. Boysie was the leader of the Transport Union, and as such he had a number of members in the union. He used that group to improve his political status.

He was not in the original PAC in 1947. He was among the second set that joined the committee to form the PPP.  And he was a Minister in the 1953 PPP government.  He was also Deputy Leader of the PPP afternoon Burnham left to form the PNC.

But he back stabbed the PPP.  So what is it worth?   He even provoked the 33/34 controversy!

Let it be known that he is was FORCED OUT of the PPP.  You should stick to your PNC party and don’t mouth off about people and things you don’t know.

I can mouth about any politician in Guyana just like you do!  Yea, forced out, by who?   He still back stabbed the PPP, BJ and the constituents.  

Anyway doesn’t matter!  Let’s see what ANUG can do!

Are still bitter over Irfaan?

He was not in the original PAC in 1947. He was among the second set that joined the committee to form the PPP.  And he was a Minister in the 1953 PPP government.  He was also Deputy Leader of the PPP afternoon Burnham left to form the PNC.

By 1950, the PAC was replaced by the PPP when that organization became a political party. The founders of the PPP were really the Rural Cells of the PPP-those ppl gavvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvveeeeeee their mind, body and soul to the creation of that movement. And to some degree gave their blood too after the Split of 1955.

He did contributed to the PPP and so did Moses who turned out to be Neemakharrams. He was even at the PNC victory celebration ceremony. Celebrating the defeat of the PPP.

He was not forced out of the PPP but tendered his resignation after he became a very vocal opponent of the PPP which was his right but he can’t be chewing sugar cane and blowing whistle at the same time. He had leadership ambitions but he was not a leader in the eyes of grassroot PPP members. 

Like Moses, Ralph stabbed the PPP in the back and supported the PNC bid for office. His anti PPP articles are widely printed and available and the PNC used it in their propaganda campaign against the PPP. 

Let us see what his ANUS party will do. He is a traitor in my eyes. He now has to deal with a dictatorship that he helped create. 

By 1950, the PAC was replaced by the PPP when that organization became a political party. The founders of the PPP were really the Rural Cells of the PPP-those ppl gavvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvveeeeeee their mind, body and soul to the creation of that movement. And to some degree gave their blood too after the Split of 1955.

Burnham's group also called itself the People's Progressive Party which also began publishing a newspaper - also given the name Thunder. (This situation was to continue until 1957 when the Burnham group merged with the UDP and named itself the People's National Congress and changing its paper's name to theNew Nation).

http://www.guyana.org/features...tory/chapter139.html

For two years there was two factions of the PPP.

The news historians twisting facts.

He did contributed to the PPP and so did Moses who turned out to be Neemakharrams. He was even at the PNC victory celebration ceremony. Celebrating the defeat of the PPP.

He was not forced out of the PPP but tendered his resignation after he became a very vocal opponent of the PPP which was his right but he can’t be chewing sugar cane and blowing whistle at the same time. He had leadership ambitions but he was not a leader in the eyes of grassroot PPP members. 

Like Moses, Ralph stabbed the PPP in the back and supported the PNC bid for office. His anti PPP articles are widely printed and available and the PNC used it in their propaganda campaign against the PPP. 

Let us see what his ANUS party will do. He is a traitor in my eyes. He now has to deal with a dictatorship that he helped create. 

If you understood why his CC votes were given to Ramotar and why Anil’s were handed to Irfaan you would have given a more informed analysis here.

c

PPP supporters don't comment on if the PPP treats blacks well or vice-versa.   

Really.  YOU are among those who scream that the PPP treats blacks well.  You and a ton of others. Even Gilbakka.

YOU only notice race when I speak of blacks. Daily ALL of you talk, Indian this and Indian that and do not see that as talking race.

You scream about what Burnham did to Indians when ALL Guyanese suffered, yet your concern is only Indians. When flour disappeared you think its only Indians starved?

Are you a Guyanese or are you Indian?  Because if you are Guyanese talking about Indians is talking race!

He has never faced Black racism, he speaks on the subject as merely an OBSERVER. Indians have ALWAYS suffered intimidation by a fair number of Negroes. Ram Karran is a privilized Indian, had it not been for the impoverished Indians in Guyana that gave his father an uppity status in life, he would have faced the brunt of Black racism in the Guyanese society.

I expected this reaction.  Your hysterical scream is because he acknowledges black people. No where does he deny that Indians that suffer racism from blacks. He claims that the fears of BOTH are valid.

The PPP CANNOT rule Guyana if they dont acknowledge the comments that Ramkarran said and I know that they do not because Jagdeo daily screams that whatever blacks think doesnt matter to him.

If you understood why his CC votes were given to Ramotar and why Anil’s were handed to Irfaan you would have given a more informed analysis here.

I beg to respectfully disagree.

You honestly need to move beyond the vote and focus on an emerging dictatorship which was in part installed by Ralph. We have to agree to disagree.

P.

Bibi still vex.

No worries the PPP is the personal property of Jagdeo and PPP supporters are his servants.  .  If he says that the overseer of the house will be Irfaan so be it.  Jagdeo sees PPP supporters as his servants and if they dont agree he will fire them.

Well Ramkarran left.  And he has been attempting some objectivity in assessing the race situation in Guyana like when he told the nation that Jagdeo was in Queens after the election saying that "we gun tek back Guyana (from black people)."  The racial sentiment was implied because Jagdeo had already defined the PPP base as being rural Indians and it was on behalf of PPP supporters that he was going to take back Guyana.

Now he is informing naïve souls like Gilbakka that the sentiments of blacks are equal to those of Indians and are also equally valid, given their experience under Guyana's racially polarized politics.

The Rank daddy would be with Jagan during the day and then go eat curry chicken and rice for dinner with Burnham at night.

I beg to respectfully disagree.

You honestly need to move beyond the vote and focus on an emerging dictatorship which was in part installed by Ralph. We have to agree to disagree.

We have two parties with dictatorial tendencies and both likely to defend their regimes with violence, the PNC with street mobs (which they haven't used since 2001) and the PPP with private militias.

Tweedle dee and Tweedle DUMB.

  I told them Guyana could come under severe international sanctions.   !

When they have the Venezuela issue?  Brexit and so many others?

I think not.  Guyanese need to remember that Guyana is a nation that most people on this planet cannot find on a map.  Guyanese have to remember that we aren't a voting bloc in the USA that anyone cares of. Venezuelans have allied with the Cubans in FL and that is a situation which both parties focus on as elections come next year.

You think that Guyanese in the USA or Canada influence any election?

  I told them Guyana could come under severe international sanctions.   !

When they have the Venezuela issue?  Brexit and so many others?

I think not.  Guyanese need to remember that Guyana is a nation that most people on this planet cannot find on a map.  Guyanese have to remember that we aren't a voting bloc in the USA that anyone cares of. Venezuelans have allied with the Cubans in FL and that is a situation which both parties focus on as elections come next year.

You think that Guyanese in the USA or Canada influence any election?

Alyuh this Alyuh guh fly under the radar?  No such luck. 

The Rank daddy would be with Jagan during the day and then go eat curry chicken and rice for dinner with Burnham at night.

You saying he was a two-timer?

I am not one bit surprised. He is now starting with his ANUS, party. Ralph loves soup and expensive wine. Who knows the man was a PNC mole who received a good kick in the end.

Politicians are not to be trusted. They all just look out for themselves and theirs!  I actually trust American politicians more than Guyanese!

All politicians are crooked. Guyanese ones are even worse with the PNC leading when it comes to crookedness although I think the PNC would prefer to be known as bullies and violent. 

Where did you get this fake news from?  Boysie Ramkarran was beaten and left to die by the PNC.  He also spent several months in jail after being arrested for political reasons by the Burnham Gov't.  His children, nephews, and nieces have served the PPP in and out of Govt for over 50 years.  The late Ronald Gajraj is Boysie Ramkarran's nephew. You people need to stop the lies you are writing on this site.

I am not one bit surprised. He is now starting with his ANUS, party. Ralph loves soup and expensive wine. Who knows the man was a PNC mole who received a good kick in the end.

How do you know Ralph loves soup and expensive wine?  I would like to know where you got that piece of information from.