Guyana faced with choice of power-sharing, stalemate or new electionsPDFPrintE-mail
Written by N. AUGUSTUS  
Wednesday, 14 November 2012 21:56

GUYANA is faced with a choice of power-sharing, stalemate or new elections.  From all indications, the COI final report will not satisfy the opposition.

The opposition told Lindeners that the government caused the protests, deaths and the destruction. They wanted and expected the COI to support this contention, but testimony so far does not support this. In trying to influence the outcome, they went too far in their method of questioning and made statements that paint them and the protesters in a negative light. No professional jurist will simply accept the idea that unruly protesters who violate laws can be excused on the idea that it was civil disobedience only, when criminal acts were involved. Also, the attacks on the Commissioners' integrity and judgment will not sit well with them.

Without clear proof that the GPF killed three people, the COI is left with too many conflicting or questionable testimonies. Testimonies seem to indicate that the GPF has serious leadership and other problems. Also clear is that the protesters were poorly served by some leaders, leading to confrontation with authorities and criminal acts by some. There will be the usual call for better police training and better communication between government and protest movements. The probable findings will fail to satisfy the opposition and there will be more protests in other areas, including parliament to have their way. Based on the opposition positions so far, power-sharing will not work. Stalemate can only be broken by new elections, local and national, to prevent Guyana from becoming a failed state.  Party supporters must demand better leadership.

These jokers make laugh.   Utter rubbish!  What power sharing has the govt proposed?  The PPP is not serious about power sharing.  Guyana is already a failed state.  The report posted yesterday clearly states and indicates that Guyana is spiralling downward into a territory controlled by drug barons.  There is a lack of credible leadership. The president and his cabinet is bottom of the barrel quality that does not have the experience and qualifications to run their portfolios.    Yes, we need better leadership and let us start with the PPP.

Originally Posted by PRK:
Originally Posted by FC:

Skeldon,

Unlike you the people are seeing what is going on. 

I go to Guyana every year. I see the progress. People are happy.

Yes...if yuh look at pradoviolle and Jagdoe 2 mill USD house yuh see nuff nuff nuff progress. 

Tek yu head out ah yu kaka hole b4 you read dis.

You only know Jagdoe 2 mill USD house. Wah yu na ask dem PPP pepple fu give yu wan tour ah pradoville an ask dem how yu can get wan 2 million US dallah house in da area? You sound jealous!

Originally Posted by FC:

Skeldon,

Yes...if yuh look at pradoviolle and Jagdoe 2 mill USD house yuh see nuff nuff nuff progress. 

You only know Jagdoe 2 mill USD house. Wah yu na ask dem PPP pepple fu give yu wan tour ah pradoville an ask dem how yu can get wan 2 million US dallah house in da area? You sound jealous!

Meh na jealous. Meh come from good and rich background. Me daddy mek he money de old way...hard wuk and do kick back and raping de treasury. 

Originally Posted by FC:

Skeldon,

Meh na jealous. Meh come from good and rich background. Me daddy mek he money de old way...hard wuk and do kick back and raping de treasury. 

So y u jealous? Rich people wan fu get mo rich everyday. Dem na sleep ah night. Dem only ah tink how fu rab somebady an enslave dem poor pepple. No wanda yu get yu head up yu kaka hole.

Originally Posted by Conscience:

The joint opposition seems hell bent, on frustrating gov't programs, the Guyanese Populace are growing tired of the joint opposition schemes

Here is the solution.  Let Venezuela take what it claims, and ditto Suriname.  What ever is left can be given to Brazil.

Guyana will never work.  The PPP thinks that they must control 100% even though almost 50% of the population hates them.  The PNC and the AFC are too dumb and bereft of smart and innovative ideas.

The joint opposition seems hell bent, on frustrating gov't programs, the Guyanese Populace are growing tired of the joint opposition schemes

Here is the solution.  Let Venezuela take what it claims, and ditto Suriname.  What ever is left can be given to Brazil.

Guyana will never work.  The PPP thinks that they must control 100% even though almost 50% of the population hates them.  The PNC and the AFC are too dumb and bereft of smart and innovative ideas.

Let Venezuela take what it claims, and ditto Suriname.  What ever is left can be given to Brazil.

The coolies wished for this too when the PNC was exterminating them. Now the shoe is on the other foot eh? Bai da na go happen. Dem PPP go rule Guyana for 128 years. Wen dis set of PPP man gone, dem Jagans go step in an continue the dynasty. Bear am son, ting ah get betta. 

Bear in mind that Eastern Berbice, region #6, had a voter turn-out of a mere 66% in the last elections. The AFC snatched away 10% of the popular votes.  A larger turn-out in this region alone can ensure the joint opposition gets another five years in the opposition bench. PPP supporters did not come out and vote in record numbers. This is due mainly to complaceny and confusion with internal party fighting.

Guyana faced with choice of power-sharing, stalemate or new electionsPDFPrintE-mail
Written by N. AUGUSTUS  
Wednesday, 14 November 2012 21:56

GUYANA is faced with a choice of power-sharing, stalemate or new elections.  From all indications, the COI final report will not satisfy the opposition.

The opposition told Lindeners that the government caused the protests, deaths and the destruction. They wanted and expected the COI to support this contention, but testimony so far does not support this. In trying to influence the outcome, they went too far in their method of questioning and made statements that paint them and the protesters in a negative light. No professional jurist will simply accept the idea that unruly protesters who violate laws can be excused on the idea that it was civil disobedience only, when criminal acts were involved. Also, the attacks on the Commissioners' integrity and judgment will not sit well with them.

Without clear proof that the GPF killed three people, the COI is left with too many conflicting or questionable testimonies. Testimonies seem to indicate that the GPF has serious leadership and other problems. Also clear is that the protesters were poorly served by some leaders, leading to confrontation with authorities and criminal acts by some. There will be the usual call for better police training and better communication between government and protest movements. The probable findings will fail to satisfy the opposition and there will be more protests in other areas, including parliament to have their way. Based on the opposition positions so far, power-sharing will not work. Stalemate can only be broken by new elections, local and national, to prevent Guyana from becoming a failed state.  Party supporters must demand better leadership.

What a pile of puke. The idea of power sharing is the essence of any democracy. It is the idea of various constituencies being represented fairly and each having a voice in their nation.

The PPP is about totalitarianism. This is no surprise since they are old communists who inherited a transitional democratic society. They have done nothing to enhance the democratic process. Instead they have consolidated the grip on power completely and now when they are asked to act responsibly and share the administrative powers they are not only reluctant but object vociferously to "intrusions" to their autocracy.

We are coming to a point that we will not accept the status quo of race based elections if it means one party or another gets complete control. Those days are gone. Check the Arab spring where people reject those methodologies completely where narrow ethnic groups control the lives of all with no concessions to power or openness to decision making.

We have to change the willingness to go to be slaughtered or starved by crooks because they can eke out narrow margins and completely dominate the society.

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Bear in mind that Eastern Berbice, region #6, had a voter turn-out of a mere 66% in the last elections. The AFC snatched away 10% of the popular votes.  A larger turn-out in this region alone can ensure the joint opposition gets another five years in the opposition bench. PPP supporters did not come out and vote in record numbers. This is due mainly to complaceny and confusion with internal party fighting.

Did you ever think that the low turn out was because people just didnt want to vote for the PPP?  With the AFC making so much noise in this region clearly if people wanted the PPP they would have voted for them.

Note that this region has seen the largest population decline of an in Guyana, with people not only leaving Guyana, but many leaving for Region 4.

The  INDO Guyanese Populace has the final say, they will turn out in their masses, and endorse the PPP/C, complacency will no longer exist, and the PPP/C will recover being a victim of their own success

Because this is what you really mean.   The African and mixed voters will never vote PPP.

And we already know that as a typical PPIte, you have no respect for AfroGuyanese, nor do you have any interest in their views or intent to involve those who they select to be involved in running Guyana.

The coolies wished for this too when the PNC was exterminating them. Now the shoe is on the other foot eh?. 

You will always be crying about "blackman" until you begin to understand that they are as Guyanese as you are and that you do not have the right to oppress them.

Oh yes I have heard all about AfroGuyanese professionals who face extreme discrimination by people like you who tell them that Burham days done so theyt will never get any employment equivalent to their training, nor cn they be expected to be allowed to run any enjtity over which the PPP has control.

Now how long do you think that 45% of Guyana can rule over 40%?

As I told lucas its much better to be a black man in the USA than it is in Guyana, and that is despite this country's reputation for racism.

Let Venezuela take what it claims, and ditto Suriname.  What ever is left can be given to Brazil.

The coolies wished for this too when the PNC was exterminating them. Now the shoe is on the other foot eh? Bai da na go happen. Dem PPP go rule Guyana for 128 years. Wen dis set of PPP man gone, dem Jagans go step in an continue the dynasty. Bear am son, ting ah get betta. 

PPP will rule over Guyana for a long time, or until the US decides otherwise.  My position, given their position of strength, they should strike a deal with the PNC to help improve governance over the nation and have the PNC included as a junior partner. I believe this will serve all Guyanese well.  The PPP should lead by example and this was their mantra in opposition.  We should not now taunt cuz the shoe is on the other foot.  Guyana needs a long-term solution to inclusiveness and the PPP has the opportunity to write that chapter.

Well said Baseman. Inclusion of the PNC is not a bad idea. Politicians need to set aside differences for the good of Guyana. 

Failing to do so, then fresh elections is the best solution.

You are a neophyte who want to pass yourself as an expert.  Did you not say Obama would lose the elections.  What exactly do you mean by a junior partner? The PPP will not share power with anyone.  They are too greedy and believe they own Guyana.

Originally Posted by FC:

You are a neophyte who want to pass yourself as an expert.  Did you not say Obama would lose the elections.  What exactly do you mean by a junior partner? The PPP will not share power with anyone.  They are too greedy and believe they own Guyana.

What does F....... C.... really mean, use your imagination, you are just that.