These jackasses begged investors to come to Guyana and d2/CaribJ/Django/Gilly/Cain/warrior/GTangler all refused. Now we know why they refused as according to jackass Gaskin, there is no investment projects in Guyana. Nothing, nada, zilch.  But what is questionable is why the pnc apologists continue to defend their party actions. 

Challenges in the business climate… Guyana currently has no investment projects to offer – Gaskin

Business Minister, Dominic Gaskin delivered a most honest account of Guyana’s business

Business Minister, Dominic Gaskin

climate recently at the Heads of Mission Conference held at the Pegasus Hotel.
There, Gaskin spoke about a range of topics. But his remarks regarding the Guyana Office for Investment (Go-Invest) was what sparked much interest among those in attendance.
Gaskin disclosed that the reality facing the nation is that investors want to hear a “certain language”. He said that they want to hear about the ease of doing business here; they want to hear about public security and the integrity of officials. But most of all, they want to hear about the investment projects that Guyana has to offer.
The Business Minister in this regard, said that unfortunately, Guyana really has none to offer for the time being.
Elaborating more on this matter, Gaskin stated that in terms of investment promotion, GO-Invest is continuously trying to get the message out that Guyana is a good place to invest and that there are numerous investment opportunities in various sectors for which concessions are available.
He noted, however, that GO-Invest faces a similar challenge to what stakeholders in attendance are faced with in the area of investment promotion.
The Minister said, “Investors generally want to know what specific projects we have for them to invest in. And we have none. And therefore we tend to lose the interest of the investor because there are other countries competing for those limited investment funds that have tangible investment projects to offer.”
Gaskin continued, “So the truth is that right now we’re not speaking a language that investors are looking to hear. You may have noticed that for the most part investors are looking for some kind of partnership with the government. That is their preference because it gives them the confidence and security they are looking for. This is especially so for foreign investors including Diaspora investors.”
The Business Minister added, “Apart from that, investors are interested in political stability economic stability, rule of law, the integrity of Public Officials, physical Security and the ease of doing business. In these areas while we’re not high up in the ranking, we’re not that bad that investors will refuse to do business here. We just have a lot of work to do to improve the business environment so that we can gain an advantage over our competitors. As I said the main problem is that investors are looking for specific projects to invest in and we have none. At least none that are ready to be presented to them.”
Minister Gaskin said that the Government is looking to develop a portfolio of investment projects which Go-Invest can promote to investors. He noted that this is something that his Ministry has started to work on. He noted however that like the national investment and export strategies, this is not going to be ready anytime soon.
Gaskin revealed that Go-Invest and his Ministry have already discussed the kinds of businesses Guyana is interested in and the sectors that government is seeking to develop.
“Our Ministry is actually going to work with all ten regions in Guyana to identify projects in each region and refine and package them and make them investor ready. We’ve already started meeting with the Regional Chairmen and we’re getting a good response. But that’s not going to be concluded in a hurry, not until some time next year,” expressed Minister Gaskin.
The Minister of Business also spoke to the role of the Guyana Office for Investment and how it deals with Investment Agreements.
He explained that GO-Invest processes the investment agreements in order to facilitate investors. He said that it needs to first ascertain the validity of the business proposal, and the financial readiness of the investor including their source of funding. Having done this, the Business Minister said that it then submits its recommendations to the Guyana Revenue Authority (GRA). The GRA will then do its own compliance checks before recommending the agreement for the Finance Minister’s approval, said Gaskin.
Additionally, the Business Minister said that GO-Invest will generally work with the investor to help them to get all the paper work in order, especially when there are numerous items that are covered for duty free importation which have to be listed in the agreement.
He said that the list of items has to be accurate otherwise it can cause complications later down the line when the investor is ready to bring them in. He noted, too, that the investment agreement will usually have a time frame within which the investor will have to complete certain actions or forfeit the concessions.
Gaskin said that GO-Invest will also monitor the investor’s project to ensure that it is in keeping with the proposal originally outlined by the investor and for which the concessions were granted.
In addition to processing investment agreements, the Business Minister stated that GO-Invest is also involved in investment promotion and export promotion. He emphasized that it does attempt to facilitate exporters in various ways including match- making and the sharing of information.
Speaking with Kaieteur News yesterday, the Business Minister opined that the heads of mission have a job to do. He said that they are very useful components of Guyana’s trade facilities and diplomacy.
“They represent us in countries that we want to do business with, that we want to increase trade with and that we want to attract investors from. A lot of investors are interested in Guyana and we get a lot of proposals especially since the oil discovery,” the Minister said.
He stressed that the Government and his Ministry in particular do not want to squander that interest. However, Guyana has not been preparing itself to do business in a serious way with the rest of the world, Gaskin said
“And it is something that we have to now do in a hurry. At the institutional level, I don’t think we have even focused or spent enough attention on trying to ascertain what the international investor community is looking for but we have started that. ..,” the Minister said.
“We have to prepare ourselves very rapidly to take advantage of the attention that we are getting now. We have to prepare ourselves in terms of the relevant laws, skills and institutional frameworks. We need to strengthen some of our traditional and nontraditional sectors too so as to ensure we don’t become deponent on oil,” the Minister concluded.

These AFC/PNC jackasses destroyed the economy in less than two years. They are sitting on their hands waiting for PPP oil to flow.

Guyanese will have to suffer for another three years until these AFC/PNC scums are removed.

Their biggest mistake was to kill the goose that laid the golden egg, TWICE.

These AFC/PNC jackasses destroyed the economy in less than two years. They are sitting on their hands waiting for PPP oil to flow.

Guyanese will have to suffer for another three years until these AFC/PNC scums are removed.

"The country is a transshipment point for South American cocaine destined for North America and Europe, and counter narcotics efforts are undermined by corruption that reaches to high levels of the government. The informal economy is driven primarily by drug proceeds and may be equal to between 40 and 60 percent of formal economic activity. Guyana was ranked 133 out of 176 countries surveyed in Transparency International’s 2012 Corruption Perceptions Index."

https://freedomhouse.org/repor...om-world/2013/guyana

Which Goose the one mentioned above.

Bhai

Sometimes you does set up yourself for licks. Please read my statement very slowly and you will get the answer.

Thank You.

Stop beat around the bush,which Goose that laid the golden egg was kaput??

Bhai, you sometimes make a complete fool of yourself especially on a Sunday morning.

The AFC/PNC idiots are admitting that they cannot even run a cakseshop.

Is that idiot Gaskin an AFC or PNC clown ?

BTW, please provide facts, nancy stories and politically inspired statements do not count. You and the entire AFC made complete idiots of yourselves by claiming PPP theft while your audits came up with dog shyte.

Please do not bring up another horse shyte arguments about drugs and the economy. Please stop pulling stuff from your behind. Is this the best you and your AFC/PNC idiot friends can do ? 

Freedom House. ORG is full of horse shyte.

Please, Gwan Suh.

Bhai, you sometimes make a complete fool of yourself especially on a Sunday morning.

The AFC/PNC idiots are admitting that they cannot even run a cakseshop.

Is that idiot Gaskin an AFC or PNC clown ?

BTW, please provide facts, nancy stories and politically inspired statements do not count. You and the entire AFC made complete idiots of yourselves by claiming PPP theft while your audits came up with dog shyte.

Please do not bring up another horse shyte arguments about drugs and the economy. Please stop pulling stuff from your behind. Is this the best you and your AFC/PNC idiot friends can do ? 

Freedom House. ORG is full of horse shyte.

Please, Gwan Suh.

Banna you are like Christmas blow..blow,read the reports on all the years and do an analysis,also take a peek on the link provided.

Final-Guyana-DRG-Assessment-Public-Version-March-2016.pdf

True dat! Drug goose gone fo channa.

What the hell is "PPP oil?" Dam dude the stupidity stick hit your rass a few times

Challenges in the business climate… Guyana currently has no investment projects to offer – Gaskin

The Minister said, “Investors generally want to know what specific projects we have for them to invest in. And we have none. And therefore we tend to lose the interest of the investor because there are other countries competing for those limited investment funds that have tangible investment projects to offer.”

So, this minister and staff are sitting on their hands with nothing to do yet drawing huge salaries and perks.

True dat! Drug goose gone fo channa.

What the hell is "PPP oil?" Dam dude the stupidity stick hit your rass a few times

This is all you have to say mr PNC apologist?  What a disgrace that you folks sitting in your perch in the US and Canada while applauding the actions of these jackasses in office as they promised 100% increase in investments and delivered negative figures instead. 

So, this minister and staff are sitting on their hands with nothing to do yet drawing huge salaries and perks.

They gave themselves 50% raises with the expectation that they would not collect bribes and that their "brilliant" minds had the solutions for investment in Guyana. As it turns out it was all a scam. I remember when that idiot Mitwah ran around claiming that the PNC/AFC had an economic plan for Guyana. When pushed for details he claimed that he did not want the PPP to steal the afc/pnc ideas and take if for their own. Now we see it was all smoke and mirrors. They even claimed that when they took over Guysuco the amount of thieving they would stop would make they industry profitable. Now again we see it was all lies. 

Whatever happened to Gaskin's Go Invest conference Last year at the Harvard Club in New York?  They still waiting for the first investor.  This will go down as the least successful conference at that prestigious location.  Dem Harvard boys don't know the meaning of failure!

Bhai

Sometimes you does set up yourself for licks. Please read my statement very slowly and you will get the answer.

Thank You.

Not really, FILTH HEAD DUMMIES have an art of being a MULE!!!!!!!!!!

DUMB abd STUPID as it gets. The thing is SHAMELESS people like that are a DANGER to humankind!!!!!!!!!

They gave themselves 50% raises with the expectation that they would not collect bribes and that their "brilliant" minds had the solutions for investment in Guyana. As it turns out it was all a scam. I remember when that idiot Mitwah ran around claiming that the PNC/AFC had an economic plan for Guyana. When pushed for details he claimed that he did not want the PPP to steal the afc/pnc ideas and take if for their own. Now we see it was all smoke and mirrors. They even claimed that when they took over Guysuco the amount of thieving they would stop would make they industry profitable. Now again we see it was all lies. 

Mitwah will have to pay for his sins for every Indo who cries for not being able to send their children to school, for every Indo who goes to bed hungry belly, for every Indo who is robbed, looted or murdered. For every Indo whom he lied to.

He will not be able to pay for his sins for many lifetimes. His Karma kicks in from this moment.  He has gone into hiding but he cannot run away from the laws of Karma.

Patacakeshopboy yugi You are one sick fk. Where the hell do u get off speaking about a poster not unlike any of us here who has not been on the dam board for months? You are a fkin a..hole who cannot carry on a conversation without trying to belittle posters and speaking the same shit day in day out . What da fk does this cakeshop you keep mentioning have to do with anything here?

i cannot stand ignorant .unts as yourself, this is why I always have to remind you to go fk urself. I await another episode where you flounce off the board crying  then come back for about the tenth time telling us you spoke with your swami who advised you to apologize for being a jackass.

Gaskin is right.

The Government lacks the vision in creating a society of progress, so, how can he promote Guyana. Many investors prefer to invest in government projects. As Gaskin rightly stated.

If there are no plans to improve the standard living, then there is no need build better roads, educate the work force or enforce law and order.

From time to time, I would read of governments of oil rich nations going to Guyana for investing. One such country UAE, they wanted to invest in Solar Power Generation. OOfcourse nothing came about it. I believe all governments of Guyana believe in BOT investment. People with money doan want to provide that style of investment. 

UAE and those type of countries are investing their money to make as much profit as possible.  It would be hard for them to transfer the investment to the government once the concession is over. SEIGNET which other type of investment style do you think would work?

I take it that the pnc apologists have no answers to why their handlers don't have any plans for investors in Guyana and have conceded to their incompetency. These same folks were lambasting the PPP prior to 2015 but stay silent as their handlers destroy the nation. 

UAE and those type of countries are investing their money to make as much profit as possible.  It would be hard for them to transfer the investment to the government once the concession is over. SEIGNET which other type of investment style do you think would work?

With Guyana's 750,000 population and 1 million in the diaspora, the correct application of parameters can be an equation of enormous properity.

Basically, whether Indians or Blacks leading the government, they lack the ability to create a western style economy. At the level of thinking, it is better to invest in the people and guide their efforts into small manufacturing companies. Thereby, hoping to capture market share of the diaspora. Every penny gained, will increase productivity in Guyana. In time Foreign Investors will look favourably to Guyana workforce. 

Right now Guyana has nothing to attract anyone.

With Guyana's 750,000 population and 1 million in the diaspora, the correct application of parameters can be an equation of enormous properity.

Basically, whether Indians or Blacks leading the government, they lack the ability to create a western style economy. At the level of thinking, it is better to invest in the people and guide their efforts into small manufacturing companies. Thereby, hoping to capture market share of the diaspora. Every penny gained, will increase productivity in Guyana. In time Foreign Investors will look favourably to Guyana workforce. 

Saw an advertisement imported flooring materials for sale,and we have  beautiful hardwoods.

http://www.durablewoodsguyana.com/woodspecies/

I take it that the pnc apologists have no answers to why their handlers don't have any plans for investors in Guyana and have conceded to their incompetency. These same folks were lambasting the PPP prior to 2015 but stay silent as their handlers destroy the nation. 

They have nada, nothing. They (AFC/PNC) are a bunch of clueless clowns

Since the day this gov't. ripped off our Amerindian brothers of monies for eta palm leaves to rehab the Umana Yana Benab I said to myself they are a bunch of shysters not to be trusted.  Guyana's economy is going south and its democracy is under serious threat. 

"The Business Minister in this regard, said that unfortunately, Guyana really has none to offer for the time being."

Drugb,can you decipher the sentence,what the Minister meant.

The other day jackass granger tell the people of linden to sell plantain chips and fry fish. This is his concept of economic development. 

These PNC jackasses are promoting a Plantain Chips economy. Just like their Papa Burnham.

They need to use their brain cells.

Since the day this gov't. ripped off our Amerindian brothers of monies for eta palm leaves to rehab the Umana Yana Benab I said to myself they are a bunch of shysters not to be trusted.  Guyana's economy is going south and its democracy is under serious threat. 

These AFC/PNC chaps are shameless.

"The Business Minister in this regard, said that unfortunately, Guyana really has none to offer for the time being."

Ow bai, put down the slop can and think rationally for a moment. At some point even you can concede that these jackasses put on a con on yuh rass. 

Ow bai, put down the slop can and thinkrationally for a moment. At some point even you can concede that these jackasses put on a con on yuh rass. 

You need a dose of the highlighted,hate is a bad thing.

Read below.

Govt. wants Public-Private Partnerships but…No guidelines in place to prevent abuse

April 10,2017 Source

Minister of Business, Dominic Gaskin, recently revealed that while Government and investors stand to benefit from public-private partnerships, there is no framework in place to ensure value for money and prevent any form of abuse.
He made this observation last week at the Heads of Mission Conference which was held at the Pegasus Hotel.
Gaskin said that many potential investors are looking for what are essentially public-private partnerships. He said this is problematic because, “we don’t have a framework in place for public-private partnerships in Guyana, and a lot of what is coming our way are unsolicited proposals that are only viable with the input of the government, or if government procures a particular service or protects a particular entity from competition.”
In many cases, Gaskin said that what is being proposed would violate the nation’s procurement laws. The Business Minister stressed that it is difficult and unwise to deal with such proposals outside of a framework, or without even some basic guidelines. He said that until public-private partnership guidelines are put in place, the Government should not be encouraging unsolicited proposals.
“It is important that we do this because the Government of Guyana will be looking for Public-Private Partnerships for certain projects. A lot of our infrastructure development over the next decade or more will need to be implemented through public-private partnerships.”
Gaskin also intimated that the country does not have the capacity, the expertise or the finances to accelerate Guyana’s infrastructure development without the resources of private investors. “So we need them to be involved, but we need to control and regulate the process.”
Additionally, the Executive Member of the Alliance For Change (AFC) disclosed that the reality facing the nation is that investors want to hear a “certain language”. He said that they want to hear about the ease of doing business here; they want to hear about public security and the integrity of officials. But most of all, they want to hear about the investment projects that Guyana has to offer.

The Business Minister in this regard, said that unfortunately, Guyana really has none to offer for the time being.
Elaborating more on this matter, Gaskin stated that in terms of investment promotion, GO-Invest is continuously trying to get the message out that Guyana is a good place to invest and that there are numerous investment opportunities in various sectors for which concessions are available.
He noted, however, that GO-Invest faces a similar challenge to what stakeholders in attendance are faced with in the area of investment promotion.
“Investors generally want to know what specific projects we have for them to invest in. And we have none. And therefore we tend to lose the interest of the investor because there are other countries competing for those limited investment funds that have tangible investment projects to offer.
“So the truth is that right now we’re not speaking a language that investors are looking to hear. So what is it that investors want to hear? You may have noticed that for the most part investors are looking for some kind of partnership with the government. That is their preference because it gives them the confidence and security they are looking for. This is especially so for foreign investors, including Diaspora investors.”
The Business Minister added, “Apart from that, investors are interested in political stability economic stability, rule of law, the integrity of Public Officials, physical Security and the ease of doing business. In these areas while we’re not high up in the ranking, we’re not that bad that investors will refuse to do business here. We just have a lot of work to do to improve the business environment so that we can gain an advantage over our competitors. As I said, the main problem is that investors are looking for specific projects to invest in and we have none. At least none that are ready to be presented to them.”
The Executive Member of the AFC articulated that the Government is looking to develop a portfolio of investment projects which Go-Invest can promote to investors. He noted that this is something that his Ministry has started to work on. He said, however, that like the national investment and export strategies, this is not going to be ready anytime soon.
Gaskin revealed that Go-Invest and his Ministry have already discussed the kinds of businesses Guyana is interested in and the sectors that government is seeking to develop.
“Our Ministry is actually going to work with all ten regions in Guyana to identify projects in each region and refine and package them and make them investor ready. We’ve already started meeting with the Regional Chairmen and we’re getting a good response. But like I said that’s not going to be concluded in a hurry. Not until sometime next year,” expressed Minister Gaskin.

Lack of Guidelines for Public Private Partnerships… You don’t need a fixed framework for everything – Jagdeo.

April 11,2017

Leader of the political Opposition, Bharrat Jagdeo, reflected yesterday on comments made recently by Business Minister, Dominic Gaskin, as it relates to Public Private Partnerships.

At the recently held Heads of Mission Conference, Gaskin had revealed that there are no guidelines or framework which exists for governing the manner in which Public Private Partnerships are constructed to prevent any form of abuse or breach of law.
However, Jagdeo emphasized at his press conference held at his Church Street-based office that “not everything needs a fixed framework.”
In fact, Jagdeo shared that during the time of the People’s Progressive Party, they formulated their own prospectus for guiding individual Public Private Partnerships.
The former President said that there is a huge demand for Public Private Partnerships.
He said, “What the Minister needs to know is that you don’t need a fixed framework for everything. If the Minister is serious, he would look at an investment opportunity, where they need a public private partnership.”
Jagdeo added, “They will develop a prospectus, the prospectus will estimate the cost of the project; it will state the conditions under which Government will participate, the conditions under which the Private Sector will participate, what are the benefits to Private Sector being involved, like would they get a guaranteed rate of return on their investment or would they get a special tax break and then you advertise that.”
The government could have done 50 of these proposals by now. He noted that it is a simple thing to be done. He said that it is not a legislative framework that is needed in the National Assembly. The Opposition Leader stressed that it is just “ordinary work” to pursue Public Private Partnerships.
The former President said, “We had started this model; that’s why the Berbice Bridge was the one we started with. We developed a prospectus and we said we are going to offer investors a particular tax break, a return on their investment and we advertised it for people who are interested in putting their money in the project. You can go this route…”
During the Heads of Mission Conference last week, Gaskin said that many potential investors are looking for what are essentially public-private partnerships.
He said, however, that this is problematic because, “We don’t have a framework in place for public-private partnerships in Guyana. A lot of what is coming our way are unsolicited proposals that are only viable with the input of the government, or if government procures a particular service or protects a particular entity from competition.”

Read more

I like this approach it reminds me of those North America West Africa shops and the supply of yams and skin whitening products coming from West African countries.