Guyana could hit full employment capacity soon; gov’t may consider active immigration policy – VP

https://oilnow.gy/wp-content/uploads/2021/02/2020-10-06_05-37-35-1068x580-1.png

With three major oil production projects already approved and a fourth one on the way, Guyana’s Vice President Dr. Bharrat Jagdeo said the logistics onshore and related investments in hotels and real estate to manage these developments will run into about US$40 billion. With a small population of around 750,000 people, the country has a limited labour force and will have to examine other options to fill this gap.

“And so, we have a small population, limited labour force, we’d have to carefully at some point in the future, I think we’d hit full employment. So, we may have to consider an active immigration but careful immigration policy that is how you expand your capacity,” he said.

Guyana government applauds ‘25 viable discoveries’, says local content remains key

The Vice President said as demand for labour increases the already limited capacity of the new oil producing South American country could lead to overheating.

“And then right now if we’re going to spend more on infrastructure, etc., we don’t have the domestic capability to implement all of the projects. So, we’d have to import a lot of those capabilities to foreign contractors and foreign expertise,” Mr. Jagdeo pointed out.

“So, these two have to be carefully calibrated to see that you know, the demand doesn’t outstrip your productive capacity because it becomes inflationary, the economy starts overheating,” he added.

The Vice President said government is examining this closely to ensure there is careful calibration going into the future. “But given our history, we’re very, very cautious about cycles of high growth and then a slump,” he said.

Guyana capacity to support offshore operations growing – ExxonMobil

According to a 2020 survey on the Guyana Labour Force conducted by the Guyana Bureau of Statistics, in the first quarter of 2020, the labour force participation rate was recorded at 50.4 percent. The total population aged 15 and above residing in Guyana was 602,765 persons, the majority of which is based in rural areas (71.8 percent).

But even if the labour force participation rate increases significantly, the country will still face a major shortfall as demand from the oil and gas spin-off industries rise exponentially.

Then everyone will be living in GT, if the jobs are associated with oil and hotels. The hotels are and will be in GT/Timehri. And the onshore oil relatrd jobs along the Demerara River.

Are the job availability that many?

Hotels and Oil do not create many job opportunities-some but not alot.

@Mitwah posted:

@sachin_05, are you going back? Dem need folks like you and DG.

I am already here bro, you need to come down here. With all the PNC anti vaxers and crazy road users, dead house business is booming..hahahahaha [maniacal laughter]

@sachin_05 posted:

I am already here bro, you need to come down here. With all the PNC anti vaxers and crazy road users, dead house business is booming..hahahahaha [maniacal laughter]

"Dead house business is booming" not something to laugh at.

HJ
@Hugh Jorgan posted:

Is aright! Everyone ends their sentences with a period, da banna does it with dah hyena thingy.

@Hugh Jorgan posted:

Jangles use to delete all my posts, sometimes entirely threads he considered anti PNC. Don’t know why but since I ended with laughter he never deleted any, i guess they get pass him because I could be considered crazy, so whatever works….

Last edited by sachin_05
@sachin_05 posted:

Jangles use to delete all my posts, sometimes entirely threads he considered anti PNC. Don’t know why but since I ended with laughter he never deleted any, so whatever works….

I see that your residence is walking distance from the Canje Bridge.

@sachin_05 posted:

@Hugh Jorgan posted:

Millions like him came before. He should ask himself where are they today?

The Maniac should also learn how to feel from death the love of life, and think about death as a teacher whose lessons can enrich ones feelings for being alive.  I have seen hundreds like him.

@Mitwah posted:

The Maniac should also learn how to feel from death the love of life, and think about death as a teacher whose lessons can enrich ones feelings for being alive.  I have seen hundreds like him.

Ole people always seh don't dig hole fuh anybody, yuh might fall in.

@Mitwah posted:

the man is a dunce!

he will not understand the sort of knowledge you're trying to impart