Guyana celebrates 54 years as an independent nation

David Granger

His Excellency President David Granger

DPI, Guyana, Tuesday, May 26, 2020

As Guyana celebrates 54 years as an independent nation, His Excellency, President David Granger reminded Guyanese that this anniversary signifies the sacrifices made on the road to the country gaining self-governance on May 26, 1966.

“We celebrate the 54th Anniversary of Independence recalling the sacrifice, suffering and struggle of our working people who struck the first blows against colonial oppression one hundred and fifteen years ago in Georgetown,” President said in his address to the nation.

In his remarks, the Head of State noted that the year 2020 marks the commencement of the country’s Decade of Development “which charted a roadmap for development to provide a ‘good life’ for everyone.”

According to the Head of State, development has been taking place across all sectors and has been transforming the lives of the Guyanese people.

“Workers and persons in difficult circumstances  have started to benefit from increased wages and pensions, improved public services in the four new regional capital towns, improved education and employment opportunities and enhanced empowerment through regular local government elections,” he remarked further noting that citizens can look forward “enjoying greater equality and a higher quality of life in an expanding economy over the next decade.”

He explained that with Guyana now being a petroleum state, the transformation of the country’s economy will accelerate and see significant developments in key sectors such as education, telecommunication and environmental.

The Head of State also highlighted that since gaining independence, Guyana established diplomatic relations with other nations on the principles of mutual respect for each other’s territorial integrity and sovereignty, non-interference in each other’s internal affairs, respect for treaties and international law and the rejection of the use of force to settle international disputes, among others.

In light of the COVID-19 pandemic President Granger called on Guyanese to “observe the 54th Anniversary of Independence in a restrained manner.”

Guiana, land of many waters. Water everywhere but not potable.

Guiana, land of six peoples. Race more important than citizenship.

Guiana, land of crookish politicians. Fifty Four years of thiefing from THE PEOPLE.

Guiana, land of fools. Empowerment of the DEVIOUS.

What is it to celebrate, again? 

Return of rigging undermines sacrifices of forefathers – PPP in Independence Day message

…Granger urges patience as country awaits results 84 days after election

The return of elections rigging, as manifested in the March 2 General and Regional Elections, undermine the sacrifices made by the forefathers for Guyana to get independence 54 years ago.

Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo

This is according to the Opposition – People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPP/C), in their independence message to ring in Guyana’s 54th Independence anniversary.
Expressing best wishes to Guyanese at home and abroad, the party noted that independence was supposed to usher in a new era and hope for a brighter future where persons could elect a Government of their choice.
Unfortunately, the freedom from colonialism, which so many valiantly fought for, and the birth of self-governance did not realise the dreams and aspirations of our people because soon after independence, we endured another form of imposed rule, this time from within.”
According to the party, for 28 years thereafter, the “People’s National Congress (PNC) hijacked democracy and stole from the people of Guyana their right to vote and their freedom to elect a Government of their choice.”
The party noted that it was not until 1992 that free and fair elections returned to Guyana.

Respect for Constitution
Acknowledging that there were challenges during their time in office, the PPP pointed out that under their leadership, Guyana went from poor to middle income and moreover, always maintained a legal Government and respect for the Constitution.

Caretaker President David Granger

It added that in 2015, there was a change in Government and the PNC returned to office under the rubric of a coalition and with them returned “violations of the rule of law, destruction of democratic credentials, violations of the Constitution, discrimination, corruption, and the worse forms of incompetent governance. As we enter this fifty-fourth year of independence, our country remains precariously perched on a precipice.”
PPP/C on Monday said that the results of elections are still to be pronounced by the Guyana Elections Commission because of attempts to steal those elections by those who have lost but refuse to give up Government. “These actions continue to undermine the great sacrifices which so many Guyanese have made, before and after independence, to create a better and united Guyana,” the party said.
The party also reminded Guyanese of the many promises it made in its manifesto, designed to improve the lives of Guyanese, manage the oil and gas wealth and reform Guyana’s governance and system for managing elections. “On this solemn occasion, the PPP remains resolute and determined to continue this great struggle started by our ancestors to create a free, prosperous, and united Guyana where all Guyanese can achieve their full potential and share equitably in our nation’s resources.
Once again, Happy Independence Anniversary to all Guyanese.”

Patience
Meanwhile, caretaker President David Granger’s message was one urging Guyanese to observe the independence in a constrained manner, in the context of the current COVID-19 pandemic. He also urged patience as Guyanese await the long-overdue election results.
“I urge you, also, to await the declaration of the results of the General and Regional Elections which were held on 2nd March. The Elections Commission, which is the sole authority charged with administering the elections in accordance with our Constitution, has responded in an orderly and lawful manner to the challenges which have arisen.”
Granger, a historian by profession, also recalled the struggles that workers and the forebearers of Guyanese went through to lead up to the point of independence.
In hailing the contributions made by the workers, Granger recalled that Guyana, as part of the labour and independence movement, achieved its Independence on May 26, 1966.
“We recall that workers’ rebellions which erupted throughout the British West Indies in succeeding decades, forced the Imperial Government to ameliorate living and working conditions,” Granger said.
“Britain’s response initiated a constitutional revolution and, eventually, led to Independence for its Caribbean colonies. Happy Independence to everyone at home and in the diaspora! May God continue to bless our homeland!”

@seignet posted:

Guiana, land of many waters. Water everywhere but not potable.

Guiana, land of six peoples. Race more important than citizenship.

Guiana, land of crookish politicians. Fifty Four years of thiefing from THE PEOPLE.

Guiana, land of fools. Empowerment of the DEVIOUS.

What is it to celebrate, again? 

Dutch were there first, built the kokers and other infrastructure. Euro slave traders brought different races to work the plantations and develop the country. The races fought, did their thing, ousted the whiteman and got Independence. Experiment with the races failed miserably. Whiteman should retake the country, it will become breadbasket of the Caribbean again.  

Happy 54th independence anniversary to all patriotic Guyanese who show their love and loyalty to Guyana. As a daughter of the country who fled persecution, I salute the brave men and women who remain behind. Guyana is still a country for the wild, wicked and brave. 

@Nehru posted:

Independence?  With a stinking Dictator, how independent are Guyanese. From Massa to Thief and Dictator!!!!

Nehrubhai, If we jail all of them, there would be no one left to run the country.

@Nehru posted:

Independence?  With a stinking Dictator, how independent are Guyanese. From Massa to Thief and Dictator!!!!

Oh pleeeeze, u should be at cuffy square singing 'Dear land of Guyana' with tears running down yuh cheeks. Had it not been for grandpa  Burnham and Hope Estate u mighta been chanting a different mantra time like now. 

@Totaram posted:

It was a night to remember, when the Union Jack was lowered and the Golden Arrowhead hoisted.  I remember it with pride and hope.

A picture says a thousand words. That night should have been a night of reconcilliation. That night, a jubilant Forbes in his corner of the stadium with chevas in his hand and Cheddie another corner. No toast or appreciation for the struggle for independence. Fifty four years later and still each in his corner. The country should adorn scak cloth and sit in ashes. 

The ppl celebrated the Independence of India and Ghana more than they did the Independence of their own country. So divided we were then and unto today. 

@seignet posted:

A picture says a thousand words. That night should have been a night of reconcilliation. That night, a jubilant Forbes in his corner of the stadium with chevas in his hand and Cheddie another corner. No toast or appreciation for the struggle for independence. Fifty four years later and still each in his corner. The country should adorn scak cloth and sit in ashes. 

The ppl celebrated the Independence of India and Ghana more than they did the Independence of their own country. So divided we were then and unto today. 

What is the reason that this division?    You have to throw blame on the two Leaders, Cheddi Jagan and Forbes Burnham.    They never agreed on anything.  They fought tooth and nail over thrivial things.  First: the formation of a National Government.  Burnham was offered 3 ministerial posts for his party but he had wanted 4 instead and so the deal fell through. Then they fought over where the Hydro Electric power plant should.  Mahaicony River or the Demerara river.  They never budged from their demands and it fell throught again. In my own opinion, Demerara was the right place.   Again when it came to building a Paper manufacturing plane, they never seemed to agree.    I can go on and on but it would seem pointless now.    

@Ramakant-P posted:

What is the reason that this division?    You have to throw blame on the two Leaders, Cheddi Jagan and Forbes Burnham.    They never agreed on anything.  They fought tooth and nail over thrivial things.  First: the formation of a National Government.  Burnham was offered 3 ministerial posts for his party but he had wanted 4 instead and so the deal fell through. Then they fought over where the Hydro Electric power plant should.  Mahaicony River or the Demerara river.  They never budged from their demands and it fell throught again. In my own opinion, Demerara was the right place.   Again when it came to building a Paper manufacturing plane, they never seemed to agree.    I can go on and on but it would seem pointless now.    

Maybe so, but Educational none the less. 

@Nehru posted:

There was an old phrase in Guyana. When the government gets smart, the population gets wiser. I believe it then and I believe it now. Hopefully, in a few weeks, we may see a different independence day. They might have to fly my big, red draws on the flag pole. 

@Totaram posted:

It was a night to remember, when the Union Jack was lowered and the Golden Arrowhead hoisted.  I remember it with pride and hope.

Had a bbq yesterday and some friends who were in school remembered the event. They said Pens with Independence Day, May 26, 1966 inscribed on them were distributed to all students. 

If it is to be a national holiday, May 26th can stand as a day of remembrance only for the victims and survivors of the Wismar Massacre — lest we forget this instance of Man’s gravest inhumanity to Man that was visited on our country.

https://guyanatimesgy.com/the-wismar-massacre/

Had a bbq yesterday and some friends who were in school remembered the event. They said Pens with Independence Day, May 26, 1966 inscribed on them were distributed to all students. 

I was a 3rd Form high school student. Got one of those red-&-green ballpoint pens and a Guyana exercise book with new Coat-of-Arms on front cover. Before that the exercise books carried a portrait of Queen Elizabeth II.

@Totaram posted:

And like everybody else, u still hoping seeing over the years its the same ole, same ole. I don't know if I'm wrong in my assumption, but judging from your post I gather u were there when this event took place, correct?

I was a 3rd Form high school student. Got one of those red-&-green ballpoint pens and a Guyana exercise book with new Coat-of-Arms on front cover. Before that the exercise books carried a portrait of Queen Elizabeth II.

I was 13 yrs and in Form 1 ,too young to understand Independence. The questions are ,is Guyana a Sovereign Country ,foreign countries still meddle in the country affairs.

Dutch were there first, built the kokers and other infrastructure.  

First Nations - Aboriginals - were the first to live in Guiana/Guyana thousands of years ago.

Other nationalities came after 1498; the time of Columbus.

First Nations - Aboriginals - were the first to live in Guiana/Guyana thousands of years ago.

Other nationalities came after 1498; the time of Columbus.

Of course, forgot about them!  

Guyanese people are not celebrating independence this year.  They are waiting on those biased asses running GECOM to complete the recount and declare the real winner, Irfaan Ali. 

Is it true that you and Charandas from the same area?

@Ramakant-P posted:

The part that belongs to Venezuela  or Brazil?

Brazil has never made any claim on our territorial integrity that I'm aware of.  But I know u just digging kicks which is all well an good. 😃.

@Sheik101 posted:

Brazil has never made any claim on our territorial integrity that I'm aware of.  But I know u just digging kicks which is all well an good. 😃.

The dispute regarding, the boundary between British Guiana and Brazil,which had been dragging on since 1842, and in connection with which theBritish proposal of Arbitration was accepted by the Brazilian Government on8 March 1899, was formally submitted to the Arbitration of the King of Italy,by Article I of a Convention, signed at London, on 6 November 1901.The award, rendered on 6 June 1904, was in favour of Great Britain. Theline fixed in the award was said to have been the one proposed by Lord Salisburyin 1891, and rejected by Brazil

https://legal.un.org/riaa/cases/vol_XI/11-23.pdf

There was boundary dispute .

There were three boundary issues for Guyana/British Guiana ...

Brazil and British Guiana -- 1842 to 1899

Venezuela and British Guiana -- about 1840 to 1905

Suriname and Guyana -- New River Triangle after Guyana's independence

Let there be peace, Let freedom reign.