Guyana Booth 'A Hit' at Miami Expo

Monday, October 29, 2012, Last Updated Sunday, October 28, 2012 -- Source

MIAMI - A number of US companies has shown interest in products from Guyana including its rum, condiments and opportunities in the tourism sector. This interest was demonstrated at the recent Caribbean Trade Center's second annual travel, trade and tourism business expo here.

The beautifully decorated Guyana booth was the center of attraction offering samples of its award winning EI Dorado rum along with Guyanese culinary delights including curry and roti, fish fingers, black pudding and pastry.

Among the visitors to the Guyana booth was Florida's Lieutenant Governor Jennifer Carroll who sampled the cuisine and commented on its diversity which she said reflected the rich diversity of the country.

Carroll, who last month led a trade and investment delegation from Florida to Trinidad and Tobago, delivered the feature address at the event. She said that the Caribbean, one of Florida's major trading partners continues to offer great opportunities for trade and investment and encouraged businesspersons to explore these opportunities.

During her stop at the Guyana booth Carroll was presented with literature on the country by Honorary Consul Ramzan Roshanli who also gave her a brief outline of some of the sector open for investment and products available for export to the United States.

Also spending some time at the Guyana booth were a number of elected officials including Broward County Commissioner Dale Holness. He offered congratulations to the Guyana Consulate for its excellent display and for making samples of its internationally famous rum and tasty food available to attendees.

Broward County Commissioner Dale Holness (Left)

The Caribbean Trade Center Miami president and chief executive officer Michael Matthews said that it was indeed good to see Guyana participating in the expo especially since there is interest in the "great potential" which the vast resources of the country offer to the international business community. He said he intends to have follow-up discussions with Mr. Roshanali on the possibility of a trade and investment mission to Guyana.

Brian Salter, a consultant with Enterprise Florida, the trade promotion agency of the state of Florida was also high in his praise for the Guyana display and its products. A former US diplomat who served in the Caribbean, Salter said Guyana rum had always stood out as a leading spirit in the world of rums.

The Honorary Consul thanked Demerara Distilleries Limited, the Ministry of Tourism, Industry and Commerce, the Guyana Tourism Association, Laparkan Shipping and GEM's Inc in Guyana for their in-kind contributions to making Guyana's participation in the event possible.

tell us what the condiments is make up of,what plantain chips,i know about the rum that is what drunk nehru every day

Warrior, I was in Jamaica recently and I had their plantain chips which was made from the processed plantain flour. I think it can compete along side the nachos and other corn chips. I also get baked dry banana and plantain chips from the Chinese supermarket and sourced from the Philipines. I always wonder why this cannot be done in Guyana.

can somebody please tell what the condiment is make up of to make this booth a hit if you tell me that its was good that guyana went to this expo i can understand but a hit with condiment and indian food i donot know

What does "Indian" food have to do with anything.  I'm sure you love to chow down a roti every now and then.

As I said, rather that talking into empty space, why don't you go pay a visit and see for yourself.  If you are unable or unwilling, then take i for what it's worth.

can somebody please tell what the condiment is make up of to make this booth a hit if you tell me that its was good that guyana went to this expo i can understand but a hit with condiment and indian food i donot know

What does "Indian" food have to do with anything.  I'm sure you love to chow down a roti every now and then.

As I said, rather that talking into empty space, why don't you go pay a visit and see for yourself.  If you are unable or unwilling, then take i for what it's worth.

You really have energy to converse with a DONKEY.

Nothing betah fo do.  Storm gatt mi house bound.

I can understand. I so bored I had a glass of Tonic Water and listening to Classic Mukesh. I dont know what to do tomorrow.

I AM hurt,when a drunking fool like NEHRU call me a donkey,this is one guyanese know what the people in guyana have to offer at these expo and you can trust me when i say it is not a hit.rum is the only know product guyana have on the international market that is a hit and the man that produce the rum bar--rat call a fool so you ppp crime family stop trying to fool the public with the shit you post on this site.

Suh warrior, yuh saying dat de black pudding, fish fingers an dem pine tart an ting wasn't well received? De Lt. Gov. seem to think so.