GUYANA BLACKS AGITATE

As September, Amerindian heritage month, draws to a close and as indigenous Indians do all they can to raise awareness about land and other rights, Afro Guyanese groups are beginning to put pressure on the administration of President David Granger to give blacks their just piece of the country’s pie just as past governments have done for others.

Guyana President David Granger.

The local slavery reparations commission has in recent weeks handed cabinet ministers a slew of publications it says contains startling facts about the plight of Afro Guyanese and the level of discrimination they have faced from the time the first African slave set foot on local soil to the systematic favoring of East Indians during the 23 years of the Indian-dominated People’s Progressive Party (PPP).

They are now demanding that an administration led by a retired black army general dedicates some of its energy and resources to addressing the plight of Afro Guyanese especially as it relates to access to land in a country more than 20 times the size of Jamaica and nearly 80 times bigger than Trinidad.

“The African Guyanese community is in deep crisis,” says Eric Phillips, leader of the Guyana Reparations Commission fighting with other national bodies in neighboring Caribbean community countries to make Britain and other western nations compensate the region for the brutal trans Atlantic slave trade.

“The crisis is structural and is the result of centuries of discriminatory practices by governments of Guyana during slavery, after Emancipation and most recently by the last PPP government,” said the latest document given to cabinet.

The commission and other Afro rights groups are pointing to the fact that the country’s 10 percent Amerindian population consisting of nine tribes have already been awarded 13.8 percent of the country’s land mass and are demanding even more though they were never enslaved and made to work for free like Africans.

At worst, Phillips says blacks who account for about 31 percent of Guyana’s population of about 750,000 should at least be awarded about 20 percent of the country as studies have shown that an astonishing 450,000 Africans died during the slave era.

Granger, 71, recently announced the establishment of a land commission to review the status of communal lands, which were linked to estates free African slaves purchased immediately after Emancipation. Afro activists say the PPP systematically gave out these lands to its supporters and others, knowing fully well they belonged to the early Afro coastal villages. The time to reverse all this is now Phillips and others say.

Phillips says it is blacks, rather than Amerindians or any other groups, which dug 15,000 square miles of earth to establish plantations system and drain the low lying coastal belt for free. Ironically, their descendants were never awarded or rewarded with any of those lands they prepared.

“This is a grave injustice. The British and Guyanese governments did not offer lands to Africans at independence but promoted and ensured Amerindians received. Today they own 13.8 percent.”

As further proof of how everyone else is looked after but blacks, the latest document says that even foreign Chinese and Indian companies were given large tracts of state lands to set up businesses but blacks were not given equal access to Guyana’s resources. “Gold smuggling (15,000 ounces per week) was the exclusive domain of Indians with their emboldened government networks. Guyana for example, lost US$1B in gold in 2013,” said Phillips, quoting official information given to government by the United States Treasury.

GUYANA BLACKS AGITATE

Guyana President David Granger.

The local slavery reparations commission has in recent weeks handed cabinet ministers a slew of publications it says contains startling facts about the plight of Afro Guyanese and the level of discrimination they have faced from the time the first African slave set foot on local soil to the systematic favoring of East Indians during the 23 years of the Indian-dominated People’s Progressive Party (PPP).

Perhaps, an indication that Forbes Burnham and the 28 years of PNC rule -- 1964 to 1992 -- also discriminated against the Afro-Guyanese.

The black activists have genuine grievances. Afro-Guyanese have been shortchanged where land rights are concerned. But the activists have to be careful not to antagonize Amerindians. The activists must concede that the Granger administration will need crucial votes from Amerindians to stay in power beyond 2020. Meanwhile, I wish the activists well in their drive to redress an historical anomaly.  

That is why Guyana will get no where. I say give blacks all the goldfield in the Bush. Give Indians Corentyne. And turn coat Indoes a good tar and feathering. 

Blacks hold back progress, they want the country. Suh, give them the richest part. Remove the Amerinds and let the Black people tek dey place. The foreigners poisoning deh rivers and streams, anyway

The black activists have genuine grievances. Afro-Guyanese have been shortchanged where land rights are concerned.

After slavery was abolished in Guyana the Afro-Guyanese collectively bought estates in many parts of the country.

East Indians of Guyana, douglas who embrace their Indian heritage and allies of the East Indian people of Guyana must have their own independent sovereign nation/ country.

ah got ah piece ah land...yuh want buy it fuh resettle them

The black activists have genuine grievances. Afro-Guyanese have been shortchanged where land rights are concerned.

After slavery was abolished in Guyana the Afro-Guyanese collectively bought estates in many parts of the country.

Time to start building slave ships to repatriate the Africans. If they don't like it in Guyana, they can go back. One of my grandfathers went back to India.

Why should they,are they not Guyanese?? the other major race bitching because they feel they are the only one have a right to rule.

They are Guyanese and should behave as such.

Eric Philips is a damn fool, perhaps many afro-guyanese doan share his opinions. This all ACDA scheme. Dem no different than the PPP.

RiffRaff posted:

East Indians of Guyana, douglas who embrace their Indian heritage and allies of the East Indian people of Guyana must have their own independent sovereign nation/ country.

ah got ah piece ah land...yuh want buy it fuh resettle them

The only real option that East Indian people of Guyana have to safeguard their political and human rights into the future is the creation of a democratic independent sovereign country. Without this the alternative is the extinction of the East Indian people off of the South American continent in the near future. 

If that is the case, it blows all we have heard about blacks having a ball during PNC time. So PNC screwed then over then the PPP.

No one screwed Blacks over.  Blacks have to seek a path away from Govt dependency.  Blacks do work hard, but many spend as much or more than they earn.   Blacks pointing their fingers to the PPP, but they had a much better run during the PNC 28 years.  The PPP spent 10 years getting out from the mess the PNC left.  Blacks were worse off in 1992 than in 2015.

Let me hear Caribj, I'm sure he would agree with me!

What will Blacks do with these lands if given? They will find a rich indo to sell the land and then sport out the money on backballing and jump up. Am I incorrect?

In the 1970's the PNC gave away land on the East bank to 90% PNC supporters.  The land had to be held for five years however, by year three many rented it to Indian farmers and a few years after the lock-up period, Indians owned 90% of the land!

As long as there are Indians around in Guyana, Blacks will shun work associated with land.

Burnham gave Blacks Land and Housing schemes all over Guyana. Take a look at those schemes and compare them to Homes and businesses built by Indos.

Big difference, despite Giving Afros a start and attempting to eliminate Indos, we have survived and are the wealthiest in Guyana today.

Granger is attempting to do what Burnham did with his so-called wealth distribution. Tek from Indos, tek bais, tek is his new policy.

ba$eman posted:

What will Blacks do with these lands if given? They will find a rich indo to sell the land and then sport out the money on backballing and jump up. Am I incorrect?

In the 1970's the PNC gave away land on the East bank to 90% PNC supporters.  The land had to be held for five years however, by year three many rented it to Indian farmers and a few years after the lock-up period, Indians owned 90% of the land!

As long as there are Indians around in Guyana, Blacks will shun work associated with land.

So it is well known Indians are great at working the land while the blacks do better by joining the forces, so why do we hear time and again complaints about no Indians on the forces?

Blacks don't complain about not having land to work, do they?

ba$eman posted:

So it is well known Indians are great at working the land while the blacks do better by joining the forces, so why do we hear time and again complaints about no Indians on the forces?

Blacks don't complain about not having land to work, do they?

Use your brains man, Blacks are drawn to govt work because it is easy wuk. They don't want to toil in the fields like Indians.

If the blacks also toiled the land there wouldn't be too many people left to fill other positions, someone gotta do the easy wuk. See how my brain works when it's used? U must try it.

Banna,  you took those words out of my mouth.

They have to find someone to blame.  Look the Amerindians are being attacked for not working on the land that they are true owners of. Can you believe this sheet??   If Cuffy should come back to this earth he would condemn the PNC for making his people weak and dependent. Let's guide our own destiny was not meant for Blacks to look entirely to the state for their salvation. It meant securing their rights as free citizens and work hard and smart to make a better life for the present and future generations.

Last edited by Billy Ram Balgobin

Time to start building slave ships to repatriate the Africans..

There is no country called "Africa" and the empires that they were taken from no longer exist.

I suggest that Indians seem to have a bigger problem being Guyanese than do blacks. After it was Indians who voted for the PPP whose main scream last year was that Nagamootoo said that he was a Guyanese, and not an Indian.

U settin yoself up deh baie? hehe

ba$eman posted:
 but they had a much better run during the PNC 28 years. 

Being treated like second class citizen and excluded from any role in running Guyana isn't a better run.  The fact that the PNC destroyed blacks doesn't mean that the PPP must be excused for excluding them.

In fact it the very destruction of blacks which made them unable to defend themselves against racists like you who scream "black man lazy".

Blacks work in a variety of occupations which Indians refuse to engage in. Like being police men.

There are historic reasons why certain groups in Guyana find themselves in certain parts of the economy.

It is a worthy debate as to why blacks in Grenada, St Vincent, St Lucia, Dominica, Martinique and Jamaica farm and blacks in Guyana, Trinidad and Suriname seem less likely to do so.

Clearly "black man lazy" is not the answer. Blacks in Guyana and Trinidad began to farm when slavery ended, but by the late 19th century began to focus on living in the cities.

So it is well known Indians are great at working the land ?

Its interesting that Jamaica is a smaller country than is Guyana and yet their agricultural production is comparable.  Note that proximity to Miami means that Jamaican farmers must compete against cheap and heavily subsidized US food being dumped in that country way more than Guyanese have to.  Given its greater distance and higher shipping.

So this notion that blacks don't farm and Indians do is pure nonsense.  The fact that blacks in Guyana lost interest in farming was because there was a concerted effort by the colonial authorities to ensure that they failed. 

The colonial authorities wanted two ethnic groups located in different parts of the labor force to ensure that they remained divided, and this vulnerable.  So Indian farmers weren't flooded out and over taxed as were the black farmers. In fact some even received assistance.

U settin yoself up deh baie? hehe

Cain already gave up behind land or backland.

De mosquitoes, bugs, and flooding make farming much more difficult in Guyana than in any of those islands mentioned.  If farming in Guyana require about the same amount of work as it is those island nations much more people would have ventured into it. Farming is  last resort for people seeking an income to survive.  

Its interesting that Jamaica is a smaller country than is Guyana and yet their agricultural production is comparable.  Note that proximity to Miami means that Jamaican farmers must compete against cheap and heavily subsidized US food being dumped in that country way more than Guyanese have to.  Given its greater distance and higher shipping.

So this notion that blacks don't farm and Indians do is pure nonsense.  The fact that blacks in Guyana lost interest in farming was because there was a concerted effort by the colonial authorities to ensure that they failed. 

The colonial authorities wanted two ethnic groups located in different parts of the labor force to ensure that they remained divided, and this vulnerable.  So Indian farmers weren't flooded out and over taxed as were the black farmers. In fact some even received assistance.

Don't point to the Jamaicans as as examples of Black Guyanese not being lazy. Address the fact that Black Guyanese only want easy jobs. 

Carib is the PNC spin man. He has been busted once again.

Blacks had power for 28 years  but didn't do anything to improve their social and economic upliftment.  Instead they spent their time trying to Africanize Guyana and destroying the Indians.  They are all talk and no action.  now the PNC gained power once again but elected a Jackass for their Leader. I pity the fools.

De mosquitoes, bugs, and flooding make farming much more difficult in Guyana than in any of those islands mentioned.  

A hurricane will likely demolish Jamaica tonight and tomorrow.  Given that zika and ChickV exist on that island they too have their share of mosquitos.

The notion of a mountain collapsing on a farm, washing the farmer's house into the river isn't a sight that Guyanese know anything about. Tuesday this will be the topic in Jamaica even if Matthew spares them.

Research about what happened to Dominica last year.

Ramakant-P posted:

Blacks had power for 28 years  but didn't do anything to improve their social and economic upliftment.  Instead they spent their time trying to Africanize Guyana and destroying the Indians.  They are all talk and no action.  now the PNC gained power once again but elected a Jackass for their Leader. I pity the fools.

Calling the PNC leader a Jackass is like paying him a compliment. He is worse than a Jackass.

And yet I wasn't aware that working in the gold fields or in timber was easy. I will suggest to you that this is way harder than cutting cane. Snake bites, malaria, injuries and occasional bouts of starvation when the roads are closed and supplies cannot come in doesn't seem easy to me.

But than as some one who hates blacks I expect this racism from you.

Black farmers in Jamaica didn't have a colonial plantocracy which set out to make them fail as they gave preference to Indians in agriculture.  Yes they forced them onto the worst lands, but they didn't flood these farms as occurred in Guyana.

First thing that blacks in Guyana did was to farm.  Now racist druggie ask yourself why they stopped even while their fellow blacks in Grenada, St Vincent, St Lucia, Dominica, Martinique, and Jamaica continued to do this.  Even in Haiti, as in fact the environmental devastation of that island is due to people farming on steep slopes which resulted in mass erosion every time a storm hit.

Ramakant-P posted:

And here you have Jagdeo now screaming that he is a black man.  I think that he believed that it was only Jamaicans and Bahamians in the crowd so that he could peddle this.

I hear this now. "Jagdeo a say dat he a wan blackman".  I mean Nagamootoo never called himself black and look at how you all behaved.

And yet I wasn't aware that working in the gold fields or in timber was easy. I will suggest to you that this is way harder than cutting cane. Snake bites, malaria, injuries and occasional bouts of starvation when the roads are closed and supplies cannot come in doesn't seem easy to me.

But than as some one who hates blacks I expect this racism from you.

Black farmers in Jamaica didn't have a colonial plantocracy which set out to make them fail as they gave preference to Indians in agriculture.  Yes they forced them onto the worst lands, but they didn't flood these farms as occurred in Guyana.

First thing that blacks in Guyana did was to farm.  Now racist druggie ask yourself why they stopped even while their fellow blacks in Grenada, St Vincent, St Lucia, Dominica, Martinique, and Jamaica continued to do this.  Even in Haiti, as in fact the environmental devastation of that island is due to people farming on steep slopes which resulted in mass erosion every time a storm hit.

Nonsense, first of all Blacks are not the majority in the timber and gold industry. Brazilians, Amerindians, Indians and mixed race far outnumber them.  Secondly, farming is much harder than timber and gold work. Gone are the days of digging for gold by hand, machinery are the workhorses. As for timber work, again, heavy equipment are used. There is no comparison to cutting cane and dragging bundles to the punt. In fact my family employ Blacks and they have to constantly keep an eye on them for falling asleep under a tree on the job.

In fact my family employ Blacks and they have to constantly keep an eye on them for falling asleep under a tree on the job.

So if gold is so easy why don't you go and do it instead of voting for Trump because you are scared that your job will be shipped off to India.

If Indians are so hardworking why didn't your family hire them.  It is clear that you come from a stock of racists so its no surprise that quality black workers would refuse to work for you all.

In fact my family employ Blacks and they have to constantly keep an eye on them for falling asleep under a tree on the job.

So if gold is so easy why don't you go and do it instead of voting for Trump because you are scared that your job will be shipped off to India.

If Indians are so hardworking why didn't your family hire them.  It is clear that you come from a stock of racists so its no surprise that quality black workers would refuse to work for you all.

Man you are daft, govt subsidies in the US must be having an effect on your brain. The gold industry has moved from a shovel and spade to massive machinery in order to be profitable. Long gone are the days of the lone pork knocker. All aspects are mechanized. 

 The gold industry has moved from a shovel and spade to massive machinery in order to be profitable.  

So you can only use a shovel and spade, so this is why you cannot be involved in it?  Handling machinery is beyond your expertise?

Rather than panicking every time they lay off IT workers you must do gold given that its so easy and lucrative.