Guyana at mercy of AFC cake-shop economists:

Written by PETER ALLEN
Tuesday, 04 October 2011 02:29
Source: Chronicle

AFC’s so-called economists, Tarron Khemraj and Sasenarine Singh, who are fighting everyday for the post of finance minister, cannot even manage a cake-shop business much less qualify for the finance portfolio.

The AFC talks about all kinds of industrial and social policies and yet their cake-shop economists do not understand that there are enduring and progressive macro-economic indicators in Guyana.

AFC proposes backward macro-economic policies in their manifesto to manage Guyana’s economy. Guyana does not need to go backward, but forward. The AFC’s entire outlook is mired in in-fighting and backwardness.

Perhaps, Sasenarine Singh, if he knows better, should assist Tarron Khemraj to do proper research and analytical thinking. Khemraj is crying about the lack of information on the socio-economic conditions in Guyana, while the information is staring him in the face.

Khemraj arrogantly presents himself as an academic, and yet has no knowledge on how to search for information on Guyana, even to ascertain that government agencies provide numerous pieces of information to the public.

But, in this modern day and age, is it so hard for him to use a simple search engine, such as Google to access a wide range of information? Do these fellows even read the Finance Minister’s Mid-Year reports which are presented to the Guyanese people?

Is Khemraj so foolhardy that he cannot understand that the lack of capacity of the Bureau of Statistics is not the only reason for the non-production of quarterly GDP data?

Khemraj was definitely not focused on his economics class lectures. He should learn how to do homework! At the Bureau of Statistics, factors other than the lack of capacity for no quarterly statistics on GDP include the system of data collection and speed of data accumulation, lags that occur in the production process which impede the accuracy of figures in a shorter period and the difficulty in getting data from businesses in such a short time period.

This AFC so-called economist really needs to do his homework properly and cover all the bases when concluding on the reasons for non-production of quarterly GDP data.

Is this the best economics case that Khemraj and the AFC can make on how to obtain quarterly GDP statistics? Then if that is the case, Guyana is in for serious trouble with the AFC calling the shots.

This AFC impulsive economist claims that the average economic growth rate was small between 2000 and 2010, as he takes issue with the current growth of approximately six percent, but there is something called incremental growth that is critical for small and poor economies.

Also, this wannabe finance minister and cake-shop economist naively excludes the impact of external economic shocks, such as the 2005 and 2006 floods, rising global food and fuel prices in 2008, the removal of EU preferential treatment in 2008 on Guyana’s economy, etc.

More importantly, he ignores the fact that small and vulnerable economies are at the mercy of the World Trade Organization which works to the disadvantage of these poor countries. Can Guyana tolerate that Khemraj who wants to be finance minister of this country does not understand economics 101?

Guyana will feel safe if he manages the small change from the cake-shop business.

The AFC need to get rid of this fool Terron {what a name} Khemraj from their party. He is baggage and will make them lose the election. This same TK is a disciple of Ravi Dev, a flaming racist, and now he wants to use the AFC to rehabilitate himself.

And he wants to be the finance minister of Guyana?
Originally posted by Cobra:

Written by PETER ALLEN

Peter Allen can't even count to ten, so how come he thinks that he understands the economy?
But talking about cake-shop: they are far better run and resources far better used than the PPP has been running the country.

AFC’s so-called economists, Tarron Khemraj and Sasenarine Singh, who are fighting everyday for the post of finance minister, cannot even manage a cake-shop business much less qualify for the finance portfolio.

This AFC so-called economist really needs to do his homework properly and cover all the bases when concluding on the reasons for non-production of quarterly GDP data.

Written by PETER ALLEN

Interesting views.
I love to read the articles from the National Inquirer. Isn't this the exact same thing that his Excellency and Ramotar banned sharma for?

Uggghhh the double standards are just unbelievable.
J
Marlon:
If they were smart enough they should cease posting on GNI until after the election. They only tend to damage their integrity further here. I have no doubt that these guys have the capacity to administer the finance post in the AFC, but what is said here prove to damage their reputation, which cannot be undone. This obstacle will follow them throughout their careers.
Tarron is actually a chap of immense credibility internationally and the guy has a ton of respect with some very senior non biased folks in and out of Guyana. This I know for a fact.

There are many in the PPP who agree with his assessments of LCDS etc. They just will not say this publicly because of course everyone has to toe the line of his Excellency, but the PPP jaganites do not support LCDS and this is a big big problem for the PPP.
J
Economics is not an exact science. On any economic theme there will always be differing opinions and arguments.
I am not an AFC man, but I think we should be fair to Sase and to Tarron particularly.
The PPP experts will find real loopholes in the AFC's economic and finance programme.
Likewise, AFC and APNU experts will find flaws in the PPP's economic and finance programme.
That is to be expected.
But I don't think it's fair to label Sase and Tarron as "cake-shop economists."
In this elections season, all political players are deemed fair game. But there are limits.
In my humble opinion Peter Allen is roasting Sase's and Tarron's nuts unnecessarily.
B
Originally posted by Bookman:
Economics is not an exact science. On any economic theme there will always be differing opinions and arguments.
I am not an AFC man, but I think we should be fair to Sase and to Tarron particularly.
The PPP experts will find real loopholes in the AFC's economic and finance programme.
Likewise, AFC and APNU experts will find flaws in the PPP's economic and finance programme.
That is to be expected.
In this elections season, all political players are deemed fair game. But there are limits.
In my humble opinion Peter Allen is roasting Sase's and Tarron's nuts unnecessarily.
you dont have to be too smart just dont steal the people money
W
That is to be expected.

Uncle Moses has a lot of respect for Sase and Tarron and for me that says a lot.
J
Originally posted by marlon:
TK is a disciple of Ravi Dev, a flaming racist, ?

And now we have discovered that Jagdeo is another flaming racist. Luncheon refuses to disprove this fact.

Perhaps, not.

Though, from all publications, Tarron Khemraj's focus is on theory and research without practical transferable works.
Originally posted by Demerara_Guy:

Perhaps, not.

Though, from all publications, Tarron Khemraj's focus is on theory and research without practical transferable works.

This is pure nonsense, the mans work has been peer reviewed by several top notch folks who have decades of experience and they have validated his work.

Who has validated your opinion?
J
A Book Worm GEEK????? yippie partybanana

Perhaps, not.

Marlon:
If they were smart enough they should cease posting on GNI until after the election. They only tend to damage their integrity further here. I have no doubt that these guys have the capacity to administer the finance post in the AFC, but what is said here prove to damage their reputation, which cannot be undone. This obstacle will follow them throughout their careers.

How would the AFC damage their integrity by posting here?
Don't you think the PPP/C has done much worse to their own people in Guyana and their reputation has been damaged?

Don't ask for a list of their damages, there's too much for me to post again.
Originally posted by cain:

Cain, general comments.

Individuals from all political organisations - PPP/C, PNCR, AFC, etc. - should be circumspect in expressing their views on a public domain.

Note: .. There is a time for jokes/levity and serious discussions.
I told yall dat dis kiss me ass rum jumbie TK is a num skull where it comes to economics and yall naa believe me...de man want de Minista wuk bad bad..and look who he teaming up with the flour boy and cheef bribe taker at the flour mill.SASE "THUNDERBOLT" SINGH... cheers
HIP HIP HOORAY. partybanana partybanana
Originally posted by SuperMike:
I told yall dat dis kiss me ass rum jumbie TK is a num skull where it comes to economics and yall naa believe me...de man want de Minista wuk bad bad..and look who he teaming up with the flour boy and cheef bribe taker at the flour mill.SASE "THUNDERBOLT" SINGH... cheers
That is to be expected.

Bookman,

Allen cannot roast my nuts. No one in the PPP has the intellectual capacity to do it. I also know Sase is more than capable to defend himself. I want them to find fault in the AFC's plans. But nothing intelligent is forthcoming from the PPP. It is all senseless personal attacks. Let them bring it on. I sent a letter to the press. I will post the last two paragraphs here as it is a defence of my personality.
Quote: by Cain
Don't you think the PPP/C has done much worse to their own people in Guyana and their reputation has been damaged?

I was solely referring to the two men in question which I believe are proficient at fulfilling the economic capacity of the AFC. However, they disparage themselves with political despair that caught up with them. They should stick to serious discussion and there would be no reason for people to fry their testicles unnecessary. I am not against Taron and Sase.
Originally posted by SuperMike:

Soupa...we closing on you guys! All dem secret accounts we reviewing bai! Smile

Perhaps, not.

Wow! GNI Plato is still not using theory. You do engineering scenarios without theory? Big Grin Don't mek meh hand fall because we might ask you to build the small/medium scale hydro when AFC gets into power. Well when I worked at BOG we used a theory called financial programming to come up with weekly reserve forecasts for the governor so they know how to manage money in Guy. Theory is practice and practice is theory. The insecure hustlers tend to want to shy away from this fact.
All these chaps cannot comprehend that Guyana is in a state of mismanagement and purgatory due to a few people who are stealing night and day and breaking the rules of the PPP by getting house lots etc.

But they are somehow smart enough to comment on the intelligence of other people?

Give me a break, DG complains about TK being too theoretical because he cannot comprehend what Tarron is saying to him.

clueless.
J
Originally posted by TK_REDUX:

Perhaps, not.

Wow! GNI Plato is still not using theory. You do engineering scenarios without theory? Big Grin Don't mek meh hand fall because we might ask you to build the small/medium scale hydro when AFC gets into power. Well when I worked at BOG we used a theory called financial programming to come up with weekly reserve forecasts for the governor so they know how to manage money in Guy.

Theory is practice and practice is theory.

The insecure hustlers tend to want to shy away from this fact.

Fundamental ..

Theory and Research -- One area.

Practical application -- Another area.

Your personal explanation .. highlighted in red .. shows clearly your profound inabilities to grasp the differences.
Originally posted by cain:
Marlon:

Sir Cain...it would be convenient for him. We must press on! God Bless the AFC!

Don't mek meh hand fall because we might ask you to build the small/medium scale hydro when AFC gets into power.

When might the AFC form the Government of Guyana? lol
Originally posted by Nehru:
bHAI, i HAVE BEEN SAYING THIS for the longest while. partybanana partybanana

I knew about Khemraj's dilema for sometime now.
He is jealous of Bharat jagdeo's ability to move Guyana forward.
Originally posted by Ramakant_p:
Originally posted by Nehru:
bHAI, i HAVE BEEN SAYING THIS for the longest while. partybanana partybanana

I knew about Khemraj's dilema for sometime now.
He is jealous of Bharat jagdeo's ability to move Guyana forward.

Doan mek me barf.
So here is the final paragraph of my letter to "Allen" who might not exist. You guys just have to wait until it is published for the other parts Big Grin
==========================================

Finally, “Allen” wants me to learn economics 101. Well, let me put it this way. I teach things like econometrics and upper level university courses. I am an external examiner for PhD dissertations and so on. I have published ten peer-reviewed papers in scholarly journals on the Guyana economy alone. This does not include other invited peer-reviewed works I did for the UN, Intergovernmental Panel group of 24, Schwartz Center for Economic Policy Analysis, Stabroek News columns and various working papers on the US economy, published papers on Caribbean economies and some African economies. My PhD dissertation on Guyana and Caribbean has a theory that can be applied to the US money and credit markets. This idea can be downloaded here: http://www.newschool.edu/nssr/subpage.aspx?id=70818

I have also been told that Mr Ramotar is an economist. President Jagdeo is an economist and Minister of Finance Ashni Singh is a PhD in finance and accounting. Therefore, here is my challenge: could “Allen” please provide the peer-reviewed academic works of these individuals? To make matters easier, I will urge “Allen” to throw in the political science peer-reviewed works of Prem Misir also. Let us tally up the number to see if three men have more than ten peer-reviewed works (self-publications don’t count) on just Guyana. Let us stick to Guyana because I don’t expect these gentlemen to be studying other economies. I will write another letter reminding “Allen” about my fair challenge in about two weeks.

Yours Faithfully,
So here is the final paragraph of my letter to "Allen" who might not exist. You guys just have to wait until it is published for the other parts Big Grin
==========================================

Finally, “Allen” wants me to learn economics 101. Well, let me put it this way. I teach things like econometrics and upper level university courses. I am an external examiner for PhD dissertations and so on. I have published ten peer-reviewed papers in scholarly journals on the Guyana economy alone. This does not include other invited peer-reviewed works I did for the UN, Intergovernmental Panel group of 24, Schwartz Center for Economic Policy Analysis, Stabroek News columns and various working papers on the US economy, published papers on Caribbean economies and some African economies. My PhD dissertation on Guyana and Caribbean has a theory that can be applied to the US money and credit markets. This idea can be downloaded here: http://www.newschool.edu/nssr/subpage.aspx?id=70818

I have also been told that Mr Ramotar is an economist. President Jagdeo is an economist and Minister of Finance Ashni Singh is a PhD in finance and accounting. Therefore, here is my challenge: could “Allen” please provide the peer-reviewed academic works of these individuals? To make matters easier, I will urge “Allen” to throw in the political science peer-reviewed works of Prem Misir also. Let us tally up the number to see if three men have more than ten peer-reviewed works (self-publications don’t count) on just Guyana. Let us stick to Guyana because I don’t expect these gentlemen to be studying other economies. I will write another letter reminding “Allen” about my fair challenge in about two weeks.

Yours Faithfully,

On this GNI, it's all about Guyana's economic which you don't any clue of. There are thousands of people who write papers like yours and do reseach. You findings have been published already..

I have also been told that Mr Ramotar is an economist. President Jagdeo is an economist and Minister of Finance Ashni Singh is a PhD in finance and accounting.

Therefore, here is my challenge: could “Allen” please provide the peer-reviewed academic works of these individuals?

To make matters easier, I will urge “Allen” to throw in the political science peer-reviewed works of Prem Misir also.

Let us tally up the number to see if three men have more than ten peer-reviewed works (self-publications don’t count) on just Guyana.

Get the imformation from the appropriate authorities then provide your personal assessment.

I have also been told that Mr Ramotar is an economist. President Jagdeo is an economist and Minister of Finance Ashni Singh is a PhD in finance and accounting.

Therefore, here is my challenge: could “Allen” please provide the peer-reviewed academic works of these individuals?

To make matters easier, I will urge “Allen” to throw in the political science peer-reviewed works of Prem Misir also.

Let us tally up the number to see if three men have more than ten peer-reviewed works (self-publications don’t count) on just Guyana.

Get the imformation from the appropriate authorities then provide your personal assessment.

Your choice
J

Finally, “Allen” wants me to learn economics 101.

Well, let me put it this way. I teach things like econometrics and upper level university courses. I am an external examiner for PhD dissertations and so on. I have published ten peer-reviewed papers in scholarly journals on the Guyana economy alone.

This does not include other invited peer-reviewed works I did for the UN, Intergovernmental Panel group of 24, Schwartz Center for Economic Policy Analysis, Stabroek News columns and various working papers on the US economy, published papers on Caribbean economies and some African economies.

My PhD dissertation on Guyana and Caribbean has a theory that can be applied to the US money and credit markets.

This idea can be downloaded here: http://www.newschool.edu/nssr/subpage.aspx?id=70818

What a person actually does, both at his/her professional work areas plus conducts him/herself generally in public, shows the true nature of the individual.

A person blabbering about what he/she does at this, that or the other generally has no merits.
Rama_Can't: On this GNI, it's all about Guyana's economic which you don't any clue of. There are thousands of people who write papers like yours and do reseach. You findings have been published already..

Uncle Rama please desist from using white rum. Big Grin