Tomorrow, 02/23/2012 is Republic Day in Guyana. Do you think the "Classic Indians and bread winners of the land" should take part in the Mash celebration that has an African theme?

Now, this is a question and not a racial tone for mud head opportunists.

Republic Day is similar to labor day in the USA, where vulgarity is exposed and dirty dancing is the norm. This celebration is fit for African tribal people with voodoo mentality. In my opinion, Indians should not take part.

The whole thing smells like pork, beef and perspiration. There is no bhall bhaat and chokka for the Classic Indians".

HM greetings to Brunei, Guyana

Thu, 23 February 2012
Source - Oman Observer

MUSCAT — His Majesty Sultan Qaboos has sent a cable of greetings to Sultan Haji Hassan al Bolkiah of Brunei Darussalam on the occasion of his country's National Day.

His Majesty the Sultan has also sent a cable of congratulations to President Donald Ramotar of Guyana on the occasion of his country's Independence Anniversary.

His Majesty the Sultan wished both leaders good health and happiness and the friendly peoples further progress and prosperity.

Meanwhile, His Majesty Sultan Qaboos has received a cable of thanks from Kim Jong-Un, Vice-Chairman of the Central Military Commission of the Workers' Party of the Democratic People's Republic of Korea and Supreme Commander of the Korean People's Army.

Kim Jong-Un expressed his sincere thanks and gratitude for His Majesty the Sultan's condolences cable on the death of Kim Jong-Il, former General-Secretary of the Workers' Party, Chairman of the National Defence Commission and Supreme Commander of the People's Army.

— ONA
42 years of hard struggles and great rewards - Wednesday, 22 February 2012 21:06

FORTY TWO years ago today, independent Guyana, led by the ego of late Executive President, Forbes Burnham, drove the country into the league of nations with republican status, and on February 23, 1970, we became a republic. It is on account of this change in status that today we are celebrating Mashramani, an Amerindian word which means “ fun after hard work” or “the celebration of a job well done.”

These were all fundamental rights of the people that were trampled upon by the ruling clique and for which relentless battles were fought both in and out of Guyana. Those were the days when ‘fun after work’ was just an empty phrase.

The people remember only too well when they had to endure the rigours of being in long queues for hours unending, and even days in desperate attempts to purchase a few basic food items for their hungry children.

Shortages, exorbitant prices, starvation wages and salaries, squalor settlements, dilapidated and rundown health institutions and schools, a mere pittance to pensioners and social assistance recipients were only some of the hallmarks of the ruling clique in those days.

However, the relentless struggles by the people brought a wind of change in 1992, when for the first time since the 1964 general elections, the people voted a truly representative government led by the PPP/C into power, and indeed hard work began in earnest to rebuild the country and heal the ulcer that had plagued the entire nation.

The government which remains in power today, from the outset, embarked on several crusades across the country in monumental efforts to repair and heal the damage left by the previous government, and it has done so admirably, that today all areas of Guyanese life have been remarkably improved, and the process is a continuing one.

Today, the people have every right to celebrate as thousands are now housed in their own homes in newly established housing schemes across Guyana. There are housing schemes in almost every village along the coastland and even in some riverine areas.

Today, hardly is our landscape debauched by squalor settlements as most of these which have been inherited from the PNC, have now been regularised. The people are cognisant of the fact that the housing drive is continuing apace, and thousands more houselots would be made available to Guyanese this year, while plans are in train to regularise more squatter settlements that are still standing.

Our school children have been included in the nation’s pie, and they no longer have to hawk cigarettes to help feed hungry mouths in their homes. Most of the 1,273 schools have been rehabilitated, refurbished, repaired and new ones constructed throughout the country.

These include 386 at the nursery level, 426 at the primary level and 426 at the secondary level. In addition, a few state-of-the-art secondary and primary schools have been constructed to cater for our children’s comfort.

We are also obliged to mention the 10 technical/vocational schools across the country which are post-secondary in nature. In addition, two Technical/Vocational Educational Training Centres have been built and fully equipped at Leonora on the West Coast of Demerara and at Mahaicony on the East Coast.

The country’s teachers are also being trained at training centres in Berbice, Demerara and Essequibo.

The people also acknowledge the Herculean task accomplished in the health sector to bring better health care to all the people of this country.

In addition to new hospitals being built, there are five fully equipped diagnostic centres with trained doctors and nurses at Suddie on the Essequibo Coast; Leonora on the West Coast of Demerara; Diamond on the East Bank of Demerara; one at Mahaicony on the East Coast of Demerara; and another at Port Mourant on the Corentyne Coast, while there are plans to build a specialty hospital, all for the benefit of the people of this country.

Wages and salaries for all categories of workers in the public sector have been increased tremendously. Recipients include teachers, doctors, nurses, public servants, members of the police force and the army. Our security forces in particular have been richly rewarded.

We cannot omit our pensioners and recipients of social assistance. They have also made their contributions in the struggle for a new beginning and they too, have been tremendously awarded with hefty increases, while the “means test” is no longer a hurdle for them. That piece of qualifying requirement has been withdrawn.

Because of the hard tasks and battles carried out throughout the years since 1992, Guyanese from all walks of life; from every quarter of the land have been celebrating in pomp and style and in true Guyanese tradition, and year after year since 1992 the celebrations have been bigger, brighter and better. Now the people indeed have something to celebrate after hard work—MASHRAMANI.
Mash Violent Music
February 22, 2012 | By KNews | Filed Under Editorial

With Mashramani nigh upon us and a welter of musical concerts becoming permanent fixtures of our landscape, it might be time to revisit the vexed question of the possible effects some of this music might have on our youths. There are two concerns, not necessarily unconnected, raised about some of the music – that it is ‘vulgar’ and that it encourages violent behaviour in youths
Republic Day message from the PPP
Wednesday, 22 February 2012 22:35

THE People’s Progressive Party extends best wishes to all Guyanese on the occasion of the 42nd Anniversary of the Republic.

This Republic Day finds Guyanese in a very healthy position, generally.
Our economy has been growing steadily and our people’s standard of living has been improving constantly. The Gross Domestic Product (GDP) is bigger than ever before, the per capita income has risen considerably over the years that the PPP/C has been in office.
APNU REPUBLIC DAY MESSAGE, 2012
Wednesday, 22 February 2012 22:34

A Partnership for National Unity (A.P.N.U.) extends ‘Republic Day’ greetings to all Guyanese as the nation celebrates the forty-second anniversary of becoming a Republic. Guyanese! This National Day gives us an opportunity to review the progress we have made towards strengthening our economic independence, improving the quality of governance and intensifying our social cohesion.

This is a load of BS...is like saying mo fiya, slow fiya....ha ha ha...I just post APNU version of the zulu celebration for a good fart and a good laugh.

I am waiting to hear what the AFC nemakarams will come up with. Mad
GAWU’s Republic Anniversary Message 2012
Wednesday, 22 February 2012 22:34

ANOTHER anniversary of Guyana’s Republican status has rolled around. This week we observe forty-two years since February 23 when, by national consensus, we replaced the British Monarch as Head of State with our own President. For a Republic connotes power by and for the people, with no place for any real power residing in a foreign monarch – especially one who can symbolize a colonial past.

The Guyana Agricultural and General Workers Union (GAWU) joins with the rest of the nation to observe this milestone in status.

There are Guyanese who utilize their right to question what is there to celebrate after forty-two years as a republic?

Yes, we do away with the white master and replace him with a black master (Burnham) who slave the Indians. Thank God Cheddi Jagan rescue us and place us in the hands of Mrs. Jagan, Mr. Bharat Jagdeo and Mr. Donald Ramotar.
HAPPY REPUBLIC DAY TO ALL GUYANESE. WE THANK THE LORD FOR THE CONTINUED PROGRESS AND PROSPERITY OF OUR BELOVED NATION. WE THANK YOU LORD FOR THE OIL AND GAS COMING TO US THAT WILL BENEFIT OUR CITIZENS. PLEASE LORD CONTINUE TO BLESS OUR PEOPLE AND GOVT DEAR LORD. HAPPY MASHRAMANI

SING, DANCE,EAT AND BE MERRY AND THANKFUL FOR THE GREAT GOVT GOD HAS PROVIDED US. flag
Originally posted by ABIDHA:
Tomorrow, 02/23/2012 is Republic Day in Guyana. Do you think the "Classic Indians and bread winners of the land" should take part in the Mash celebration that has an African theme?

Now, this is a question and not a racial tone for mud head opportunists.

Republic Day is similar to labor day in the USA, where vulgarity is exposed and dirty dancing is the norm. This celebration is fit for African tribal people with voodoo mentality. In my opinion, Indians should not take part.

The whole thing smells like pork, beef and perspiration. There is no bhall bhaat and chokka for the Classic Indians".

I have always maintained that you are one of the most foolish posters here...you say this is nothing about race, yet you go on to talk about Africans with voodoo mentality and bhall bhaat and chokka for Indians... Roll Eyes
Originally posted by raymond:
"Classic Indians and bread winners of the land"

what does this mean exactly?

Raymond, you're a fool like the Africans with voodoo mentality. When you decide to come out of your cave and join the civil race of the human kind, then I will talk to you.

Classic Indians of the land are the people that hold Guyana together from disarray and the neemakaram oppositions.

collie people like you ppp ass is a race by it self.guyana is a big place why don you racist collie ask for your own peice of land and go live by yourself you people deserve each other,and all the indian like me that is not racist will live with the rest of the guyanese.in fact you can make your own indian flag and national anthem.
Suh which Indian joined the scavenger mash yesterday? I called Guyana and the classic Indians stayed home, and feel segregated from the celebration.

another unintelligent statment...how can someone willfully stay home and feel segregated from the celebration?
Seems that if you stay home, then you don't want to be part of the celebration...
Guyana would have been a paradise if Ramotar had planted one coconut tree for every chancrow and neemakaram that sucking the country sweat and give back nothing. Them ah fete nigh and day while them Indians a wuk and sweat to keep up the balance.
i did not know you sweat when you thief the tax payers money
Guyana would have been a paradise if Ramotar had planted one coconut tree for every chancrow and neemakaram that sucking the country sweat and give back nothing. Them ah fete nigh and day while them Indians a wuk and sweat to keep up the balance.

ALL this time I thought Guyana was a paradise under PPP
Originally posted by yuji22:
Let's listen what this neemakaram has to say about Mash. Mad

Moses is a traitor and should be ashamed of this speech. BTW, he was indirectly praising Burnham for Mash. What a traitor !

people like you and ABEDAFOOL should not be allowed to visit Guyana