Gunman kills cosmetologist, 18, after snatching $8,000 phone

July 11, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

After snatching her $8,000 cell phone, a gunman fatally shot 18-year-old Ashmini Hariram in the head at around

Ashmini Hariram

11:15 hrs yesterday on the Lusignan, East Coast Demerara Railway Embankment, before fleeing in a car.
Hariram, a cosmetologist, was about six houses away from her Lot 9, Lusignan Railway Embankment home when the killer emerged from what eyewitness described as a burgundy-coloured vehicle and shot her at close range to the right side of the head.
The shooter and the driver then fled east along the embankment.
The slain teen was wearing a gold chain at the time, but the gunman reportedly made no attempt to relieve her of the jewellery.
Police recovered a .32 warhead and a bullet casing of similar calibre from the scene. Kaieteur News understands that an eyewitness described the killer as being fair in complexion.
Some police sources feel that the killing was a robbery reminiscent of the still unsolved murder of Bank Teller Sheema Mangar, who was run over by a car, after one of the occupants had snatched her cell phone. But other sources suggested that the senseless brutality of the crime indicated that robbery was not the killer’s primary motive. Police also said there is no indication that the teen had done anything to antagonize her attacker.
“If it was a robbery, why was she killed execution-style? We are very much puzzled by this,” one source said. Police were yesterday evening taking statements from the slain teen’s boyfriend, whom the victim had reportedly only met a few months ago. However, a source said this in no way suggested that he was a suspect.
Ashmini Hariram was walking with a female cousin at the time and the cousin alleged that the gunman and driver sat in a parked car on the Lusignan railway embankment, along the same route that the cousins had to pass.
Fiona Somwaroo, the cousin, told Kaieteur News that she had accompanied Hariram earlier in the day to pay some telephone bills.
“She (Hariram) had some people hair to do, so she tell me that she had to get some bleaching powder and we went and get that  and then we took a bus to go home.”
They exited the bus on the East Coast Demerara public road, and then walked to the Lusignan railway embankment and headed east to Hariram’s home, where some of her customers were waiting.
“We were talking and joking around and then she ask me for $200 to go to a shop to buy hair colouring and I gave her the money to buy it.
As they approached the shop, Somwaroo said that she noticed that a car was parked “a little away” from the shop. “But I thought someone just parked bad. I had no idea someone was going to come out and shoot my cousin.”
She said that the hairdresser was counting the cash and preparing to enter the shop when someone exited the car and grabbed Hariram’s ‘Icemobile’ phone.

Ashmini’s mother Khemwattie Samaroo

“After he grabbed the phone, he shot her, got into the car and they (the shooter and his accomplice) left.”
According to Somwaroo, the gunman had not spoken to Hariram. She confirmed that the gunman, whom she could not describe, had made no attempt to relieve her cousin of the gold chain she was wearing at the time.
The hairdresser’s mother, Khemwattie Samaroo, said that she was at home when someone informed her that her daughter had been injured in an accident. However, someone else told her that Ashmini had been shot.
According to the mother, she rushed to scene where she saw her daughter “covered in blood.”
The teen reportedly succumbed long before she could be rushed to the Georgetown Public Hospital Corporation, where several distraught relatives later gathered.
“I want my daughter back. She was my baby. She is the smallest of my four children. She don’t trouble nobody, I don’t know why they killed her,” her mother lamented, while speaking to reporters at the hospital.
“She was a pleasant person…all the neighbours liked her. She didn’t walk about in the evening; she had no problems with anybody,” another close relative said.

Originally Posted by Sheik101:
Gone are the days when  all you had to worry about was a good old fashion choke n rob. Now is bullet wild west. Everybady packing. That place is sick.

Gone also are the days when all you had to worry about was the wristwatch you were wearing in front Stabroek or La Penitence market.

The police force is working very effectively and they will get the perpetrator eventually. This is sad and unfortunate for this young woman. Stealing a phone is one thing, but taking a human life along with it is very troubling.

Paul should stop talking. He knows from all the way in R/H the police is effective in guyana. Just as he knew Dynamic Air was a sure winner. Dis banna is a real  blight. He should bathe wid lil white lavender

Guyana is like a home you lives in. You treat it with respect and fix it when it's broken. One day it will be in perfect shape. Guyana is first for me, anything else is second.

Guyana is like a home you lives in. You treat it with respect and fix it when it's broken. One day it will be in perfect shape.

Important to always remember.

The PPP/C boys are too busy building hotels for the gamblers and hos.

Mitwah, people will always have something to accuse the government. The govt will never able to please every citizen even if he try. In the great America, they're talking about impeaching Obama. Building hotels is just as important as strengthening the police force, but you don't denounce one for the other. The logies you used to is no longer fit for the time we're living in today. Those logies are being replaced by a thing called hotel. Peep out you window and look across Toronto, you will see nuff, nuff high buildings. Some of them name hotel. Foreign people does pay and sleep in them. 

Guyana is like a home you lives in. You treat it with respect and fix it when it's broken. One day it will be in perfect shape. Guyana is first for me, anything else is second.

It is easy for you to harp all these cordless tunes from the safety of R\H with a cold beer in your hand. After all, you don't have to dodge any bullets. Tell this shit to those people who lost loved ones needlessly. Tell this crap to those children who lost their mothers , fathers, brothers and sisters to the senseless killings being perpetratrded on them because the Govt. you glorify (from afar) is unwilling or unable to curd the gun violence that has taken the nation by storm. 
So tell the powers that be, that they should respect the lives of its citizens by way of safety and security; that there is a problem, one of many and they should fix this. you need to wake up from this fantasy you're in and face the reality. A realty you will never know since your sorry, cowardly ass don't go to guyana.

It is easy for you to harp all these cordless tunes from the safety of R\H with a cold beer in your hand. After all, you don't have to dodge any bullets. Tell this shit to those people who lost loved ones needlessly. Tell this crap to those children who lost their mothers , fathers, brothers and sisters to the senseless killings being perpetratrded on them because the Govt. you glorify (from afar) is unwilling or unable to curd the gun violence that has taken the nation by storm. 
So tell the powers that be, that they should respect the lives of its citizens by way of safety and security; that there is a problem, one of many and they should fix this. you need to wake up from this fantasy you're in and face the reality. A realty you will never know since your sorry, cowardly ass don't go to guyana.

Bhai, meh nah able talk too much today. Meh tusty and meh nah get wan beer as yet. Nehru invited me over so I am hustling to get my work done and rush over to quench my thirst. 

The PPP/C boys are too busy building hotels for the gamblers and hos.

Mitwah, people will always have something to accuse the government. The govt will never able to please every citizen even if he try. In the great America, they're talking about impeaching Obama. Building hotels is just as important as strengthening the police force, but you don't denounce one for the other. The logies you used to is no longer fit for the time we're living in today. Those logies are being replaced by a thing called hotel. Peep out you window and look across Toronto, you will see nuff, nuff high buildings. Some of them name hotel. Foreign people does pay and sleep in them. 

May her soul rest in peace. See how you have become so immune to this senseless killing of a young person. Likewise the PPP/C and they don't care.

Last edited by Mitwah

This story has a twist to it. It's more to it than we would ever know.

I am sure there is more to this. It seems like an execution to me. Anyone who drives a car can afford cell phone. This 18 year old is frail. A shot in the head and then her cell phone is taken. She is probably mixed up in the wrong crowd. The PPP does not have a plan to create jobs for young people.

Like thousands of other murders, it will be unsolved or if they do charge someone, it's highly likely the prosecution will not be successful.  The PPP is unable to fix the justice system.

Guyana is like a home you lives in. You treat it with respect and fix it when it's broken. One day it will be in perfect shape.

No sense remembering and not putting it into practice which is what is happening or not happening in Guyana.

The police force is working very effectively and they will get the perpetrator eventually. This is sad and unfortunate for this young woman. Stealing a phone is one thing, but taking a human life along with it is very troubling.

you is a wonderfull ass,you stupid dick head

Bhai, meh nah able talk too much today. Meh tusty and meh nah get wan beer as yet. Nehru invited me over so I am hustling to get my work done and rush over to quench my thirst. 

i hope you two fools stop sleeping in the gutter at liberty ave

somebody need to drop you on your head

Like you fall down in your bath tub and hit your head.

Guyana is a failed state spinning out of control.  Yet we have these buffoons defending this corrupt and incompetent government because the principals look like them.  Coolie on top while the country going to hell in a hand basket. 

Investigators believe Lusignan hairdresser was “wrong target”

July 16, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

Detectives investigating last Thursday’s brazen murder of 18-year-old Ashmini Hariram are said to be following leads that are increasingly pointing to her being the wrong target of an execution-style killing.

Ashmini Hariram

This information reportedly suggests that Hariram’s killer mistook her for another individual who also resided at Lusignan, East Coast Demerara.
Kaieteur News has confirmed that police yesterday detained an East Coast Demerara resident who some sources described as a known gunman and who reportedly fits the description of the man who shot Hariram.
They also impounded a burgundy-coloured car that the suspect had reportedly driven as recently as last Thursday. Kaieteur News understands that the man in custody says that he lately exchanged the vehicle for a newer model.
Hariram, a cosmetologist, was shot in the head by a gunman who snatched her $8,000 cell phone while she was walking to her Lusignan Railway Embankment home with a cousin.
Police had initially suggested that the motive was robbery and that the case was similar to the murder of bank teller Sheema Mangar, who was run over by a car, after one of the occupants had snatched her phone.
At the time, investigators had also said that they had found nothing in the 18-year-old’s background to suggest that she could be the victim of a hit.   Hariram’s close relatives also described her as “a pleasant person” who was loved in her community.
Ashmini Hariram was walking with a female cousin when she was shot and the cousin alleged that the gunman and driver had waited in a parked car along the same route that the cousins had to pass.
Fiona Somwaroo, the cousin, said Hariram was about to enter a shop when the gunman exited the car and grabbed Hariram’s ‘Icemobile’ phone.
She said that the gunman, whom she did not recognize, then shot the cosmetologist before escaping in the car. According to Somwaroo, the gunman had not spoken to Hariram and had made no attempt to relieve the teen of a gold chain she was wearing at the time.
Police recovered a .32 warhead and a bullet casing of similar calibre from the scene. Kaieteur News understands that an eyewitness described the killer as being tall and fair in complexion.

i hope you two fools stop sleeping in the gutter at liberty ave

Yuh gat a Gutter in yuh Bedroom??

Any day now...................perhaps.......