-Pres. Granger.

At a press conference after the New York meeting,

President Granger said

the Venezuelan President offered no substance

during the discussions

and even accused the lesser developed

and smaller Guyana of being aggressive

towards his country.

Maduro offered no substance; Guyana to push ahead for Judicial settlement -Pres. Granger.

While Venezuelan President Nicolas Maduro

has complained that the UN facilitated

meeting with President David Granger

was “tense and difficult”,

the Guyanese President believes

that progress has been made an

d Guyana will now forge ahead

seeking a judicial settlement to the border controversy.

At a press conference after the New York meeting,

President Granger said

the Venezuelan President offered no substance

during the discussions and

even accused the lesser developed

and smaller Guyana of being aggressive towards his country.

“My impression is that his presentation

was without substance.

He avoided the issue of the 1899 arbitral award

and felt that the territorial problem

arose out of British imperialism

and we made it clear

that although we took over territory

from The Netherlands, in 1648

The Netherlands took over

a certain part of the territory from Spain

and it handed over this territory to Britain in 1814

and that territorial controversy

was adjudicated in 1899″,

Granger said.

President Granger said that throughout the meeting,

the Venezuelan President was trying to claim

that the 1899 award was a nullity,

“so I said where is the evidence?

I don’t think he made

any single substantial point

that could cause worry to the Guyanese side.

We were quite forthright,

so I think we are batting on a good wicket”.

Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 8.33.31 PM

President Granger said the Guyana government

has absolutely no intention

to lobby the Venezuelan opposition

on the issue since that would be

interfering in the internal politics of Venezuela

and Guyana will not go down that road.

Venezuela has parliamentary elections coming up in December

and many political analysts believe that

the resurgence of the claims to Guyana’s territory

is part of Maduro’s plan to rally support to his side

ahead of the upcoming elections in Venezuela.

“Our government does not believe in interfering

in the internal affairs of other states.

And we feel that would be an unpardonable interference.

Although we have our views,

that is not the way to conduct international relations”,

the President said.

President Granger said Guyana wants to live in peace

and has not been and could not be a threat to Venezuela.

He noted that Guyana must be allowed to move ahead

with the development of its resources.

According to Mr. Granger,

“we want cordial relations.

Venezuela has a population that is

forty times the population of Guyana,

Venezuela has armed forces that is

forty times the size of Guyana’s armed forces.

We can’t threaten Venezuela.

Venezuela is four times the size of Guyana,

so we can’t threaten Venezuela.

We want to live in peace and

we want to develop our resources.

And we are telling Venezuela,

you go do the same”.

The President said he expects Venezuela

to now refashion its diplomatic relations with Guyana

following the talks with the UN Secretary General.

The UN Secretary General facilitated

the talks at the United Nations on Sunday

between the two Presidents.

Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 7.22.18 PM

Following the talks with President David Granger,

Venezuelan President Nicolas Maduro

agreed to accept the credentials of

the new Guyana Ambassador to Venezuela and

to send his Ambassador back to Guyana.

Venezuela has also agreed to

accept a United Nations Investigative team

to look into the concerns that Guyana has expressed

about Venezuela’s continued aggression

and illegal claim to Guyana’s territory.

The UN investigative team is expected

to submit a final report to the UN Secretary General

on the completion of its probe.

That report is expected to

recommend a lasting resolution to the controversy.

(Story and photos by Gordon Moseley in New York)

Straight Talk

Monkey know.....

which limb fuh jump pon....

Venezuela was comfortable

Dealing with Softies

Jagdeo & Ramotar....

Venezuela admitt

it is uncomfortable....

"Tense & Difficult"

dealing with AFC-APNU....

Venezuela

will never Invade Guyana

under AFC-APNU Govt...

Look what happen

Under PPP Funny Fellas...

Under Jagabat 2007

Venezuela Invade Guyana

and Destroy Property....

What did Jagdeo do.....

Like a auntyman.. tek it with a smile...

and thief more cheese...

Oct 2013 Under Donald Duck

http://www.reuters.com/article...dUSBRE99D0RK20131015

Venezuela Invade Guyana waters

and Seize an Oil Rig + Detain Crew

operating in Guyana Waters...

A senior Guyanese official said there were about

two dozen workers on board from eight countries:

the United States, Russia, France, Indonesia,

Brazil, Malaysia, Panama and Ukraine.

What did Donald Duck do.....

Like a auntyman.. Run and Hide...

put Kwame & Luncheon to challenge them...

to a Funny Fella Contest.

June 2014 Under Donald Duck

http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...illegally-venezuela/ 

AGAIN Invade Guyana

Gold Miners

Beaten by Venezuelan Soldiers 

Play hide & Seek with GDF

Raid their Kitchen Eat their Food

Shit & Piss all over....and.....

tell the Army their Commander-in-Chief

is a Sissy & not a Soldier.

What did Donald Duck do.....

Threaten...Next time he will

Release....Kwame Nuclear Bomb...

Venezuela Ignoring

de Funny Fellas

Cheddi cant help you....

You'll thiefing & Corruption

more than under PNC...

Guyanese supporting

AFC/APNU ALLIANCE GOVT

President David Granger

& Prime Minister

Moses Nagamootoo

From 1966-2015

Guyana Suffered Non-Stop. 

PPP & PNC..Failed Guyana

for 50 Years

"APNU/AFC pointed out

talks have been fruitless

for 50 years.

It is time to stop talking now

and go to court.”

Why would Venezuela want to invade when Exxon has no interest in drilling for oil in the disputed territory for many years to come? Granger and his PM should be concentrating on finding markets for Guyana's rice before the entire industry implodes.

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Why would Venezuela want to invade when Exxon has no interest in drilling for oil in the disputed territory for many years to come? Granger and his PM should be concentrating on finding markets for Guyana's rice before the entire industry implodes.

That's not the Govt job to find markets. The PPP lied to the rice farmers. They scrapped the rice deal with Venezuela before the elections and  told no one of it. 

Mitwah you have been a habitual liar on this forum many dankey years. It's people like you who fooled the poor Berbicians in regions 5 and 6 that the new gov't. would eliminate the corruption and save the country $20 billion. Where is the $20 billion savings from the elimination of corruption? Show us the savings and put the money to work for the country. We don't want to hear about an empty treasury and all that nonsense.

Mitwah - your lack of knowledge on the subjects you choose to negate baffles me.  Only the Minister of Agriculture can make decisions regarding marketing of rice.  Who appoints the board members of the RPA??? - the Minister of Agriculture.  The farmers have no say in the product.  Once it's sold to the millers - end of story.  All policy making and regulation is in the hands of the Minister of Agriculture.  Please do your homework before you spill nonsense on something you don't know.

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Did Exxon tell you that they arent interested in drilling?  They may not now, but reserve the right if prices increase in the future.

It is NOT the responsibility of the gov't to find markets for rice, any more than it is for them to find markets for bauxite, furniture, or fish. 

How come the only PRIVATE producers who demand gov't sell their product is the rice industry.  Do they want Claude Saul back? Because this is where they are headed if they want the gov't to assume these responsibilities.

The rice farmers need to stop behaving like welfare recipients and put the onus on the rice millers to develop these markets.  They can request assistance from the gov't in this.

Originally Posted by Bibi Haniffa:

Only the Minister of Agriculture can make decisions regarding marketing of rice.  Who appoints the board members of the RPA??? - the Minister of Agriculture.  The farmers have no say in the product.  Once it's sold to the millers - end of story.  All policy making and regulation is in the hands of the Minister of Agriculture.  Please do your homework before you spill nonsense on something you don't know.

Utter nonsense.  If this is their attitude than they DESERVE what they get?

The rice industry should be telling the government to STAY out of their affairs, instead of handing over control to some G/town based bureaucrat.

No wonder they ended up with this Venezuela mess.  Every single business man knows that you DO NOT PUT ALL YOUR EGGS in one basket, especially in a creaky one filled with holes like Venezuela.  This was a POLITICAL deal, which meant that as soon as it didnt serve Maduro's interest, he would renege.  And renege he did when Uruguay became more important for him to pander to than did Guyana.

And look how foolish you all are. Over 90% of the rice industry voted AGAINST APNU/AFC because the PPP told them that "black man a go kill ahbe". And then they trust this "black man" with their livelihood? 

Madness!  They ought to be consistent in their beliefs!  Nagamootoo did NOT get the majority support from those in this industry, so obviously they did NOT trust him!

One of the ways you get a feel that a group is on to some real changes is they take on the obvious and get them out of the way. They have done that with the garbage problem but on so many little things they are behind. Maybe they were surprised as we all were that we were completely destitute from PPP looting. I hope to see them take on the little nagging ills that bother us but which can go a long way to enhancing quality of life

Originally Posted by Bibi Haniffa:

Mitwah -

your lack of knowledge on the subjects you choose to negate baffles me. 

Let us see if this is another Coke-in-de-poke statement.

Only the Minister of Agriculture can make decisions regarding marketing of rice. 100% Wrong.

Who appoints the board members of the RPA??? - the Minister of Agriculture. ......The PPP

The farmers have no say in the product. 

Which product yuh talking about?  Coke-in-the-poke?

Once it's sold to the millers - end of story. 

What product yuh selling to de millers?

All policy making and regulation is in the hands of the Minister of Agriculture. 

Show us the connection between RPA and the current Minister of Agriculture...

Please do your homework before you spill nonsense on something you don't know.

Yuh bring some PPP Coke-in-de-poke lies here....and claiming you know...and yuh did yuh homewuk

Mits this is

another Coke-in-de-poke story.

The RPA is totally controlled by PPP.

http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...dustry-rice-farmers/