Still no code of conduct after 18 months.

Source December 28,2016

Dear Editor,

When last has the Head of State read his 100-Day Plan in his Manifesto? We have read it and were utterly disgusted at the delivery performance on the promises made. The promise to provide thousands of jobs for the youths turned out to be a scam in that it led to the hiring of pensioners and retired army officers. The promise to establish a department in the Diaspora turned out to be the biggest phony scheme pulled off on the people in the Diaspora to finance the 2015 election campaign. And the promise to provide a better life for all has become the greatest farce in the history of the country.

Unfortunately, the head of state has now earned the record as the leader of Guyana with the worst delivery rate since independence in May 1966 and unless he changes course, we do not expect his performance to improve. In fact, he has earned the unenviable title of speaking more than acting in the interest of the people.  This is a dark tragedy in the country where ego has overwhelmed competence, stubbornness has replaced rationality, and commonsense has turned into stupidity. Listening to his utterances has demonstrated that he has very poor judgement and is incapable of healing the racial divide in Guyana. Under his watch, Guyana has engaged in a process of taxing the poor to feed the rich and the end game of this strategy is endless poverty, joblessness and a quagmire of economic depression.

The head of state’s steadfast and rigid adherence to the belief that he and only he is correct at all times is moronic. His biggest problem is that he is a very poor communicator and uncaring for the poor and the working class.  His single biggest blunder to date is his failure to find solutions for the constant power blackouts, high crime rate, declining agriculture production, floods, inability to charge anyone for alleged corrupt practices after spending more than $175 million of the taxpayers’ money on audits, and refusing to embrace youths with talent and skills. He has surrounded himself with “Yes” men and women many of whom lack original thoughts and the ability to think creatively. The president should be reminded that he is not the head of a military organization where all his commands must be carried out. He is now dealing with a civilian population in a democracy where criticism must flourish. He continues to frustrate independent and progressive thoughts which exposes his insecurity.

Simply put, his failure to deliver on his 100-Day promises, exposes his inability to rise to the challenge, lead the nation and move the country forward. We challenge him to deliver on this one promise, the Code of Conduct for his Ministers.  In his 100-Day Plan he said that “A Code of Conduct will be established for Parliamentarians, Ministers and others holding high positions in government to abide by, including mechanisms for those to demit office if in violation of the Code of Conduct. After 18 months, there is still no code of conduct, and we believe that none will be forthcoming either. Talk is cheap, and talk without follow-up action is deceptive.

Yours faithfully,

Asquith Rose and Harish Singh

I believe that the poster of this thread Django has shown a barefaced bias against President Granger in the wording of his headline. Why he singled out one man in a coalition is beyond my understanding. Why did he leave out the other main coalition figure, ie the Tamil Chief? Only Granger did the hoodwinking?

Gilly, You rass ah play wicked dis early manin' or wah?  Bai, with all you guys forsaking Mahatma Granger, Mahatma Naga and Mother Teresa Prak, I might have to step in and give the men some critical support starting in 2017.

Not necessary or desirable. Dem won't touch yuh racial coolie rass wid one 40-foot pole in a million years. You think they don't read Skeldon_Man's comments? They can sniff your hypocrisy from afar.

No wonder d2 permanently retiring, he drank Granger koolaid and now live with deep regrets.  But it looks like Gilly got a stronger dose than the rest.

Season's Greetings, Drugb. Your stylistic comments are always welcome.

Some of these posters who are thinking of quitting or curtailing their postings have buyers' remorse. They tarred the PPP to the bone and worked to install a worse thief and racist regime. Because of shame and inability to defend this rogue regime, they have decided to cut and run.

I prefer if people would keep the original title of the article.  However, this entire letter is about Granger so I fail to see your point Gil.

Not necessary or desirable. Dem won't touch yuh racial coolie rass wid one 40-foot pole in a million years. You think they don't read Skeldon_Man's comments? They can sniff your hypocrisy from afar.

Bai Gilly, every bady cyan change. Granger meant well when he was campaigning. He just got blindsided by a bunch of hard core PNC dinosaurs... Joe "Wong Ping" Harmon, Basil Williams etc.
You might call me racist. I don't think I am a racist. If you see a picture of my wife, you will think differently. I am an old scratchity man. I call it as I see it..whether it's coolie, black, chiney, buck and yes even people from Cain's forefathers. I believe in giving everyone a fair chance and you work for what you want and need.

Bai the rest of rats fleeing the sinking ship called afc/pnc, is only you holding on for dear life. But at least you not throwing in the towel yet. 

You guys have to understand though that the PPP has not yet reveal itself as an alternative. First, it has to show some contrition. Second, it has to show it will be better than the PPP which lost in 2015.

TK posted:

You guys have to understand though that the PPP has not yet reveal itself as an alternative. First, it has to show some contrition. Second, it has to show it will be better than the PPP which lost in 2015.

All crooks, these bastards in ppp pnc/afc, power corrupts. You really think that if they had given you lil minista job you would be immune from the claws of corruption? 

Bai the rest of rats fleeing the sinking ship called afc/pnc, is only you holding on for dear life. But at least you not throwing in the towel yet. 

Yuh mean yuh miss one ah me posts? I said clearly that come January 1 Gilly will make himself scarcer than gold on GNI Political. Let's make that January 2 because Danyael has promised to post his farewell message on January 1 and Gilly wanna witness the ACTION.

TK posted:

All crooks, these bastards in ppp pnc/afc, power corrupts. You really think that if they had given you lil minista job you would be immune from the claws of corruption? 

Why not? My utility function is dependent less on personal material gains and more on national success/development.

TK posted:

A TALL ORDER, PROFESSOR.

TK posted:

Why not? My utility function is dependent less on personal material gains and more on national success/development.

And so it was for Granger, Naga, Prak, Harmon and the rest of the crooks, until they ascended to office and couldn't resist the temptation.  You would be no different. 

Bai Gilly, every bady cyan change. Granger meant well when he was campaigning. He just got blindsided by a bunch of hard core PNC dinosaurs... Joe "Wong Ping" Harmon, Basil Williams etc.
You might call me racist. I don't think I am a racist. If you see a picture of my wife, you will think differently.I am an old scratchity man. I call it as I see it..whether it's coolie, black, chiney, buck and yes even people from Cain's forefathers. I believe in giving everyone a fair chance and you work for what you want and need.

I knew you have a good heart,you see when does talk too much about dry coconut,yuh does send the wrong message.

TK posted:

The PPP stooges like druggie will never admit to this. Look at how they twist in the wind whenever the Roger Khan name comes up.

They squeal that the PPP isn't in power now so no one should speak of what they did up to a scant under two years ago.

I knew you have a good heart,you see when does talk too much about dry coconut,yuh does send the wrong message.

The man who called Michelle Obama a male ape didn't think that he was being racist either.

I truly admire that woman for remaining dignified in light of the unceasing racist attacks by here by so many so called leaders in the GOP.

The man who said so is a senior person in the NYS GOP.  Despite this he remains a senior person in the GOP.

TK posted:

A TALL ORDER, PROFESSOR.

Well, I have an open mind and willing to listen in spite of my serious misgivings.

Rose and Singh are quite aware that for the AFC to keep its support base the party must address the concerns of the people and not just sit in the lap of APNU and move along with every decision they make.  These guys are out to do damage control by raising their voices against Granger and the coalition gov't.  The economic situation is getting worse and the government's controversial budget which increased taxation on the poor to make up for shortfalls in export earnings is under fire from every corner.