President Granger speaking to the media yesterday (DPI Photo)

August 3 2018

‘He knows he doesn’t know everything but he knows where to find people who know enough’

Newly-appointed head of the Department of Energy (DoE) Dr. Mark Bynoe may not have experience in the oil and gas sector but he has the intelligence and ability to find the expert help needed, according to President David Granger.

Defending Bynoe’s appointment, Granger yesterday shrugged off concerns about his lack of experience, saying that he is confident that the new appointee could spearhead and complete a search for experts in oil and gas to support him when the DoE becomes functional by early next month.

Dr. Mark Bynoe

“Well, we had been examining the state of the industry for the last seven months or so, since Cabinet had considered the recommendation by (the) Minister of Natural Resources that petroleum be transferred from that ministry. We had been searching and we decided on a person, who is experienced not necessarily in petroleum, but who has the intelligence and the experience to find the people who are experienced and who could administer that important industry,” he told reporters following the handing over of a report at State House.

“He knows he doesn’t know everything, but he knows where to find people who know enough to make that sector functional and we feel he is a fit and proper person to do that. No other person has been appointed. He has the responsibility to now embark on what I would call a four-phased programme for the establishment of the department,” he added.

Bynoe’s appointment took effect from August 1st, 2018 but his lack of experience in the oil and gas sector has raised questions about his suitability to hold the post.

The APNU+AFC government has been heavily criticised for not hiring experts to oversee the negotiations with ExxonMobil’s local subsidiary, Esso Exploration and Production Guyana Limited, in 2016 for the controversial Production Sharing Agreement, which many analysts have said has left Guyana with far less than it should be receiving when oil production begins in 2020.

Minister of Natural Resources Raphael Trotman, who was responsible for the petroleum sector, gave up those responsibilities earlier this year and announced that the DoE would be formed, while saying he believed that the President should be able to shape the vision for oil and gas.

Sources within government told this newspaper that Bynoe was handpicked by Granger and that even the five ministers the president had delegated to overlook the sector in the absence of the DoE “were left in shock” when he introduced Bynoe to them last week.

“He is His Excellency’s choice and no one else had a say in that matter…I can’t answer you as to if the vacancy was advertised or not but I do know that applications were received by some individuals and they were being looked at. It came as quite a shock and, as far as I am aware, the ministers were left in shock when they were told this is the chosen man,” one source said.

According to former Presidential Advisor on Petroleum Jan Mangal, the requirements for the person to head such an integral institution were laid out in a plan that had been compiled during his tenure and which was discussed as recently as March of this year. That plan included that the vacancy be advertised globally so as to get the best person. “The head of the new Department of Energy, per the plan from March, was to be someone with international gravitas, someone who could challenge the likes of [former US Secretary of State and former Head of ExxonMobil] Rex Tillerson, for example, who was comfortable talking [oil and gas] with Ministers from the major producing countries and the top executives from the major oil companies,” Mangal stated on Tuesday, after learning of the appointment.

“Some of the qualifications were: High level ministerial experience in natural resources, Executive level experience with a major oil and gas company (such as Shell, Exxon, Chevron, BP, etc). Hence the candidates were to be former Ministers or Vice-Ministers from major oil producing countries who also spent time in industry at the executive level. The objective was to hire the best from around the world, and the intention was to advertise transparently in top international magazines (such as the Economist). It is unlikely any Guyanese would have fit the criteria, but that was accepted back in March,” he added.

Mangal believes that the new DoE is “the last chance Guyana has to make this oil business benefit the people of Guyana.”  He said that the Ministry of Natural Resources, under the leadership of Trotman “forfeited three years and almost every decision taken by the Ministry favoured the oil company and did not favour the people of Guyana.”

“The new Department of Energy was meant to remedy the situation, but it is baffling why the appointment of the first and top position did not follow the plan from March,” Mangal said.

Cover much ground

Granger did not explain the shift in plans  but said that it will be gazetted that the Ministry of Natural Resources’ responsibilities for the sector has been formally transferred to the DoE, which will fall under the Ministry of the Presidency.

He explained that government has a four-phase programme for the department’s establishment, which Bynoe was expected to execute from yesterday. “First of all, we are looking at administration; the first phase in which he would assemble a team of people to work in the department. Secondly, we have to approach the issue of rationalisation. There is a petroleum Unit in the Ministry of Natural Resources and there may be other persons in the government of Guyana right now who have experience in that sector. So, some parts of some ministries may have to be transferred to the DOE, so we are going to look at that. All of this can be done simultaneously in a short matter of time,” Granger explained.

“Thirdly, we are looking at the operationalisation of the department and I expect by the beginning of September we will start with the implementation but a lot of work has to be done. We have to advertise for experts all over the world and we have to look at drafting legislation. We have to look at financing. We have to look at all other aspects of the operationalisation of the department. So, it is early days yet, but we hope that during the month of August we’ll cover much more ground, much more quickly than we have been able to do over the last seven months. There are four phases. We hope these can be completed by the end of August,” he said. The President did not state what the fourth phase would be.

Bynoe is the Managing Director of the Georgetown-based Development Policy and Management Consultants firm.

On the company’s website, his listed qualifications include a PhD from the University of East Anglia in Economics (Environmental Economics). “He has wide ranging experience in development-, trade-, and environment-related issues and possesses strong analytical and quantitative skills. Specifically, he has been involved in a variety of socio-economic studies during the conduct of Environmental Impact Assessments, and assessing and economically quantifying climate change impacts,” the company’s website states.

“Furthermore, Dr. Bynoe has worked, in collaboration with Distinguished Professor Clive Thomas on assessing the Impact of Agricultural Trade and Related Reforms on Domestic Food Security, looking at poverty indicators and nutritional statistics, among other things. He has published widely in reputable journals on issues of environmental economics, trade and environmental impact assessment,” it added.

Bynoe knows he doesn't know everything but he knows where to find enough oily people. Trust Granger to emit gas.

The inexperienced dude is just a figurehead. Maybe he doesn't have any managerial experience either. He must just be a PNC card-carrying member.

Bynoe knows he doesn't know everything but he knows where to find enough oily people. Trust Granger to emit gas.

The inexperienced dude is just a figurehead. Maybe he doesn't have any managerial experience either. He must just be a PNC card-carrying member.

You're making farfetched guesses. Not even Jagdeo would venture down that road. How different is your gas from Granger's gas? Behave yuhself. Dr Bynoe ent a dunce. He highly learned.

My gas is premium high octane. Judging from Bynoe's expression, his gas might not be good.

Enough of Bynoe's gas story.

A Prof told us that we cannot learn everything in engineering but know enough on how to source it. That was before google. 

Bynoe gat google to help him. 

A Prof told us that we cannot learn everything in engineering but know enough on how to source it. That was before google. 

Bynoe gat google to help him. 

Google is nuff people hay best friend. They come and talk shit about things they have no idea about and when confronted by the people who lived and experienced it, run to google and wikipedia.

President Granger speaking to the media yesterday (DPI Photo)

August 3 2018,  Source

‘He knows he doesn’t know everything but he knows where to find people who know enough’

Newly-appointed head of the Department of Energy (DoE) Dr. Mark Bynoe may not have experience in the oil and gas sector but he has the intelligence and ability to find the expert help needed, according to President David Granger.

Defending Bynoe’s appointment, Granger yesterday shrugged off concerns about his lack of experience, saying that he is confident that the new appointee could spearhead and complete a search for experts in oil and gas to support him when the DoE becomes functional by early next month.

Sooooooooo, according to Granger, the fundamental criteria for head of an organization is one who has no experience in the work environment but simply has the ability to find experts.

Perhaps, Granger is completely unaware that a selection committee is generally the process to select an individual for a position.

Anybady gat a job description of what de DOE going to do? Dr Bynoe is NOT wan con man foh sure. Nuff nuff con man down dey. Nuff nuff of not born in Guyana con man and dem salivate foh de aile. Dr Bynoe is de bess Guyanese foh de wuk. He cyant know everything. Tellerson na bin know everything. Tillerson mek big big bet and cost Exxon billioan dallah. Ayoo na know dat rite? Dr Bynoe gat to get good talent behind he. 

what is he supposed to be responsible for. is nah like he can go to the platform unannouced. 

Exxon pumps the crude and sells it, then gives Guyana its share.

Granger sounds like Guyana is in control.

Anybady gat a job description of what de DOE going to do? Dr Bynoe is NOT wan con man foh sure. Nuff nuff con man down dey. Nuff nuff of not born in Guyana con man and dem salivate foh de aile. Dr Bynoe is de bess Guyanese foh de wuk. He cyant know everything. Tellerson na bin know everything. Tillerson mek big big bet and cost Exxon billioan dallah. Ayoo na know dat rite? Dr Bynoe gat to get good talent behind he. 

Tillerson na bin know everything???  That man is a well experienced engineer who worked his way through the ranks of Exxon for decades until he got to the top job.  Nothing was handed to him.

Hey hey hey...tek dis wan: https://www.reuters.com/articl...d-bets-idUSKCN1GJ0IE

Mek sure yuh doan tek milo tea wid dis wan. Tek full dunkin hazelut caffee. Hey hey hey...

Hey hey hey...tek dis wan: https://www.reuters.com/articl...d-bets-idUSKCN1GJ0IE

Mek sure yuh doan tek milo tea wid dis wan. Tek full dunkin hazelut caffee. Hey hey hey...

"In Guyana, where the company is leading development of an offshore field estimated to hold at least 3.2 billion barrels of oil, Exxon and partners have said they must spend more than $4 billion on developing a project not expected to deliver oil until at least late 2019."

https://www.reuters.com/articl...d-bets-idUSKCN1GJ0IE

Suh Labba the above can give an idea how much Exxon will be spending.

This is a growing trend in the oil industry as the world moves towards alternative energy sources such as solar, wind, and natural gas.

Hey hey hey...

Alternative fuel and Electric Automobile will put a dent on oil,that ain't coming soon.

Don't hold your breath. The world is turning to alternative energy. Good that Guyana has oil and some will benefit from it. Guyana is going to be another Equatorial Guinea. There will be offshore accounts opened up in the "boys'" name and most of the money will be siphoned off to them. If they wanted to steal $18 mil(USD), who will stop them from stealing a little bit at a time. "One one dutty build dam".

Bhai,the money from the new found oil quantity, spent properly can elevate the Country.

The people have to watch the thieves,when voting time comes around show them who are the boss.

Bhai,the money from the new found oil quantity, spent properly can elevate the Country.

The people have to watch the thieves,when voting time comes around show them who are the boss.

You are too optimistic about oil and Guyana's politicians. Who is going to tell the dictators, bullies, and thieves they cannot do what they want? It's legalized lawlessness.

The relative demand for oil will diminish over time as autos become less fossil reliant. Both China and India have passed laws requiring electric and hybrid vehicles.  Apart from Tesla, VW, Porsche, Vovlo, SAAB, Ford and GM all have aggressive plans for E-vehicles.

The GoG should use the window left to build out the infrastructure and diversify the economy so they are not overly dependent on oil.  I'm sure they are prudent as they know what's going on in the world.

You are too optimistic about oil and Guyana's politicians. Who is going to tell the dictators, bullies, and thieves they cannot do what they want? It's legalized lawlessness.

Oww bhai,all of us can't think the same,duh does  build up too much yes men.

The relative demand for oil will diminish over time as autos become less fossil reliant. Both China and India have passed laws requiring electric and hybrid vehicles.  Apart from Tesla, VW, Porsche, Vovlo, SAAB, Ford and GM all have aggressive plans for E-vehicles.

The GoG should use the window left to build out the infrastructure and diversify the economy so they are not overly dependent on oil.  I'm sure they are prudent as they know what's going on in the world.

Bhai,it's a windfall spent properly can bring about huge relief on the poor nation.Apart from infrastructure,emphasis should be placed on increasing agricultural products.

There is a lot that could be done.

Get race and religion out of this political system, that's what the people should be voting for...

I imagine the conversation at Exxon goes something like this... my twisted sense of humor...

Rex Wayne Tillerson: Hey Rod Henson, listen to me, you make sure every goddamn barrel of oil comes back to the USA for refining, don't give those Guyanese an inch to move, we need that oil, the goddamn Chinese and Russians are taking everything.

Rod Henson: Um Sir... there is no need to negotiate!

Rex Wayne Tillerson: Henson, are you out of your mind, we always have to negotiate, we here to make money and save the USA's ass son?

Rod Henson: Um Sir... no you don't understand, those Guyanese are so divided, they ankle tap and sabotage each other all the time, you throw a gold bar at them, they'll melt it down, turn it into a knife and stab the other guy to death with it... its a kamikaze government sir.

Rex Wayne Tillerson: So what? No negotiation?

Rod Henson: No Sir, we better start thinking about food aid, they f*cking useless.

Rex Wayne Tillerson: OK, sponsor the cricket team, and let the UN know they got another basket case coming, what the hell is wrong with those people!

In business, they call what is happening with the party politics in Guyana... FORM OVER CONTENT...
So busy looking at the guys suit, kicking him in the ass, and making pretty reports... the big picture just flies past... there is no big picture.

I'm taking that oil money and I'm going to make.... (what?)
Would be a good start! From either party, they seem equally useless.

And yes, I also think the idea of an oil economy is a disaster in the making. Guyana will get money, no oil, and we wont want the oil, it will be so expensive.
Its not that the world wants to move to electric vehicles, its that it has to, oil is running out.
If Europe and the USA are running out of oil, how much oil do you think Guyana will get, zero!
And for people that say oil is not past peak and that Saudi Arabia and Norway drying up is no big deal. Well then why are oil wars breaking out everywhere.
We got oil, but we better be on electricity... man I can see this going so wrong. If these bankers are preparing us for an oil economy, I think people are going to starve when it doesn't pan out.

Guyana is getting some money... that's it... what are you going to do with that money. Making oil refineries and buying the last of the worlds fuel cars... a nice epitaph I think.

I think these bankers have taken both these political parties for a long ride already... now all they can do is blame each other.

I believe anyone who thinks oil will solve all problems, they in for a rude awakening.  Oil ain't even pumping and they already fighting.

I actually think part of the problem is a nice people getting taken for a ride by these evil bankers...

For example... watch how this picture changes when I think about it from two different angles.

The president says, no old cars, only new ones, because some banker has said to him, hey you got oil, get big V8 chariots and don't let the world dump old cars in Guyana... yippee... party time.

Now I imagine back in the VW factory in Germany...

Shizen Houzen! Herr Fuehrer Merkel says, all fuel cars must be banned in 2 years, the oil is running out, electric only, we screwed, no money!

Wait a minute Herr Fraulein ... sell Guyana the new cars, they think they going to use that oil.

Now if that scenario is right and I think it is, people will not even have paid these new cars off, and they will be forced to go electric as fuel becomes 100 US a gallon (because the USA wants it)... and when people want to try do conversions to bio fuels, old cooking oil, its the OLD cars that can be converted, not the new crap.

They dumping alright... on a country that will not be able to buy new cars twice...

That's the kind of policy discussion that the parties should be having... constructive stuff that protects Guyana.

The oil find is good for Guyana... no doubt, but not if that money and the future economy is not designed properly...

I think these bankers are screwing Guyana...

Anyway... just note how that pretty oil economy picture can change... and the potential damage... that is what is worrying me.

The colour of the man shirt say it all about PNC card-carrying member.

They like  the colour green similar colour painting government building.

Images (2)
  • mceclip0
  • mceclip1