Granger creates more Ministries; Ramjattan named 2nd Vice President

May 22, 2015 5:22 pm Category: latest news A+ / A-

By Tracey Khan – Drakes

Khemraj Ramjattan being sworn in. [iNews' Photo]

Khemraj Ramjattan being sworn in. [iNews’ Photo]

[www.inewsguyana.com] –

The last set of Ministers for the David Granger led APNU+AFC administration were sworn in on Friday, May 22 at the Ministry of Presidency.

Surprisingly, President Granger has created three new Ministries which include the Ministries of Governance, Citizenship and Business.

Former Speaker of the House, Raphael Trotman will head the Ministry of Governance, while Winston Felix will run the new Ministry of Citizenship and Dominic Gaskin will function as the Minister of Business. It was noted that the Ministries of Governance and Citizenship will operate out of the Ministry of Presidency.

The Ministry of Governance will serve to improve the quality of governance in the country, in particular the observance of constitutional provisions.

Dominic Gaskin. [iNews' Photo]

Dominic Gaskin. [iNews’ Photo]

Trotman will also be responsible for the establishment of a Commission to look at constitutional reform and to ensure that there is stricter application of Article 13 of the constitution which calls for inclusionary governance.

Additionally, the Ministry of Citizenship will place key emphasis on immigration, naturalization and registration. The President explained that this Ministry was created to ensure that Guyanese citizenship is protected and for better recording of Guyanese citizens from birth to death.

Noel Holder. [iNews' Photo]

Noel Holder. [iNews’ Photo]

“In addition to that we are aware of persons coming into Guyana and have been getting access to Guyanese citizenship very easily and we want to ensure that citizenship remains praised that is protected by the State and we are going to be more efficient and that is why a special minister had to be appointed,” the President said.

Dawn Hastings is left to be sworn in as Minister within the Ministry of Communities and the speaker of the National Assembly has not been chosen as yet, but will be done before the 11th parliament reconvenes soon.

Meanwhile, Khemraj Ramjattan has been named the Second Vice- President and Minister of Public Security, formerly known as the Ministry of Home Affairs.

Noel Holder is now the new Minister of Agriculture, while Sydney Allicock will now run the Ministry of Indigenous Peoples Affairs, formerly known as the Ministry of Amerindian Affairs and Valarie Garrido-Lowe will serve as Minister within that Ministry.Cabinet 1

Jaipaul Sharma will serve as Minister within the Ministry of Finance, while Keith Scott has been added to the Ministry of Public Infrastructure, formerly Ministry of Public Works which makes him the third Minister in that Ministry.

The President has challenged the new Ministers to help the government to effectively execute its mandate to improve the lives of Guyanese. He told them that much work lies ahead.

“We are committed to have a cabinet which is committed to national unity, were committed to have a cabinet which is committed to have efficiency and transparency, I feel proud to have behind me a group of men and women who are going to transform Guyana and see that we have a good life for all Guyanese.”

He believes that the youth population is being adequately represented since, “we have a balance of experience…there are only two persons in the entire cabinet who have had cabinet experience and we need to ensure that persons who have had experience in other fields are in positions to lead those ministries.”

Even though a number of Ministries have been absorbed including Culture Youth & Sport which now comes under the Ministry of Education, the staff for that ministry along with the Ministry of Natural Resources will be retained to perform their functions, the President explained.

“We are rationalizing the use of buildings to make sure that they are effectively used, yesterday I was at the public service training division and that is the site of what I would like to feel would be the next public service staff college and we need space to do.”

Added to the list of Ministers:

1) Jaipaul Sharma will serve as Minister within the Ministry of Finance,

2) Keith Scott has been added to the Ministry of Public Infrastructure, formerly Ministry of Public Works which makes him the third Minister in that Ministry.

3) Raphael Trotman will head the Ministry of Governance,

4) Winston Felix will run the new Ministry of Citizenship

5) Dawn Hastings is left to be sworn in as Minister within the Ministry of Communities

6) Khemraj Ramjattan has been named the Second Vice- President and Minister of Public Security

7) The speaker of the National Assembly has not been chosen as yet,

thought that Claudette Singh was already chosen:

I  thought this was going to be a lean government.

The names of some of these Ministries have to give you pause. I wonder what the charge is for some that have have, shall we say, non-traditional names.

Dem bai getting nuff fat and flap, mek Priya look like a "slim Jim".  On the serious side, wonder how long before they start tripping over each other.

The Cabinet would now look like:

1) Moses Nagamootoo: Prime Minister and First Vice President

2) Khemraj Ramjattan: Ministry of Public Security and Second VP

3) Basil Williams: Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs

4) Winston Jordan, Minister of Finance

5) Rupert Roopnaraine, Minister of Education

6) Carl Greenidge, Minister of Foreign Affairs

7) Nicolette Henry, Minister within the Ministry of Education

8) David Patterson, Minister of Public Infrastructure

9) Annette Ferguson Minister within the Ministry of   Public Infrastructure

10) George Norton, Minister of Public Health

11) Karen Cummings, Minister within the Ministry of Public Health

12) Volda Lawrence, Minister of Social Protection

13) Simona Broomes, Minister within the Ministry of Social Protection

14) Ronald Bulkan, Minister of Communities

15) Cathy Hughes, Minister Tourism

16) Amna Ally, Minister of Social Cohesion

17) Jaipaul Sharma: Minister in the Ministry of Finance

18) Keith Scott: Added as a Minister in the Ministry of Public  Infrastructure. (Three Ministers in this Ministry)

19) Raphael Trotman: Ministry of Governance,

20) Winston Felix: will run the new Ministry of Citizenship

21) Dawn Hastings: Minister within the Ministry of Communities

22) Noel Holder: Minister of Agriculture

23) Syndey Allicock: Minister of Indigious Peoples

24) Dominic Gaskin: Minister of Investment & Business.

25) Speaker of the National Assembly

By the time this is done, I figure that it will be wise to add one or two more Ministers in the Ministry of Agriculture:

I do think that David Granger (The President, will for now hold another portfolio:

30) An average amount of Ministers, when we were told only 15

Most people are prepared to give the President the leaverage that he needs: I would.

Originally Posted by asj:

18) Keith Scott: Added as a Minister in the Ministry of Public  Infrastructure. (Three Ministers in this Ministry)

By the time this is done, I figure that it will be wise to add one or two more Ministers in the Ministry of Agriculture:

Did I leave out any?

Yuhself

I do think that David Granger (The President, will for now hold another portfolio:

Most people are prepared to give the President the leaverage that he needs: I would.

Most people are prepared to give the President the leaverage that he needs:

Until the money runs out. Love how the AFC bais are already setting the stage by claiming that the treasury is empty just so they can have an excuse for the coming fiscal failure. Imagine that the treasury is suddenly empty when they claim that has been thiefing from it for 23 years and up to when the new government took over. The impeccable precision of the PPP to know exactly how much to thief and at what pace so much so that the money lasted exactly to the last day of their government.

Makes me remember another ridiculous claim made by Dubya Bush that while the UN inspectors were entering the front door of Saddam's WMD buildings, Saddam's people were taking the WMD out the back door. These guys MO was so precise that they never got caught either in the building or at the back door.

22) Noel Holder: Minister of Agriculture:

I do think that this guy is a magician, or will have to be a magician to handle Sugar: Could he stop the hemorrhaging of approx. G$23 Million per day? 

never hear about him what his back ground in agriculture 

New Agriculture Minister to tackle climate change head on

Agriculture Minister designate Noel Holder has had an innate interest in the industry here and had over the years dedicated his life to the development of agriculture in Guyana and abroad.

The 69-year-old Holder, husband of the late co-founder of the Alliance For Change (AFC) Sheila Holder told Guyana Times that his focus for the agriculture industry was embedded in the reality that the country has been under the threat of climate change. He, along with several other Ministers, will be sworn in by President David Granger today.

A member of the AFC, since its inception, Holder told Guyana Times in a telephone interview on Thursday that he was motivated and was optimistic about the future of agriculture in Guyana.  The agricultural consultant obtained his secondary education at Queen’s College, completing his studies in 1964.  He then enrolled in the Leeds University England, where he obtained a first degree – a Bachelor of Science (Bsc) in Agriculture in 1968. That same year Holder returned to Guyana, where he worked at the Agriculture Ministry, during which time he worked towards a Masters degree in the same discipline at the University of Florida.

In 1975, Holder was transferred to a new company within the Agriculture Ministry, which was about to be created by the World Bank. He was employed there for some 20 years before it was privatised. Even after its privatisation he worked there for several more years before going into private practice.

Agricultural consultant He became a private agricultural consultant and worked with several agricultural institutions and firms, he said. In 1999, he took a break from the agricultural industry and went into the Information Technology sector. He became the manager of iNet Communications and held that position until it was sold to Global Technology back in 2013.

He then returned to his job as a consultant until he was asked by the AFC to serve as its Agriculture Minister as was agreed in the Cummingsburg Accord between the A Partnership for National Unity/Alliance For Change (APNU+AFC) coalition.  Holder said although he was not as active a member as his late wife, he had been assisting the political party in the agricultural area. He said his support was somewhat more pronounced after her death. He said the recommendation by his colleagues to the post could only suggest that he was the best candidate. He admitted that the work would not be easy, but planned to have a smooth orientation and transition after meeting with officers of the Ministry and heads of the various agencies that fall under the Ministry.

He said among his many plans, which have also been a burning desire of his party, will be the pushing of the agricultural frontiers off the coastlands to areas that were more favourable. He again stressed the significance of climate change, and said that his Ministry will be rolling the wheels of change in that regard.

New Agriculture Minister to tackle climate change head on

Agriculture Minister designate Noel Holder has had an innate interest in the industry here and had over the years dedicated his life to the development of agriculture in Guyana and abroad.

The 69-year-old Holder, husband of the late co-founder of the Alliance For Change (AFC) Sheila Holder told Guyana Times that his focus for the agriculture industry was embedded in the reality that the country has been under the threat of climate change. He, along with several other Ministers, will be sworn in by President David Granger today.

A member of the AFC, since its inception, Holder told Guyana Times in a telephone interview on Thursday that he was motivated and was optimistic about the future of agriculture in Guyana.  The agricultural consultant obtained his secondary education at Queen’s College, completing his studies in 1964.  He then enrolled in the Leeds University England, where he obtained a first degree – a Bachelor of Science (Bsc) in Agriculture in 1968. That same year Holder returned to Guyana, where he worked at the Agriculture Ministry, during which time he worked towards a Masters degree in the same discipline at the University of Florida.

In 1975, Holder was transferred to a new company within the Agriculture Ministry, which was about to be created by the World Bank. He was employed there for some 20 years before it was privatised. Even after its privatisation he worked there for several more years before going into private practice.

Agricultural consultant He became a private agricultural consultant and worked with several agricultural institutions and firms, he said. In 1999, he took a break from the agricultural industry and went into the Information Technology sector. He became the manager of iNet Communications and held that position until it was sold to Global Technology back in 2013.

He then returned to his job as a consultant until he was asked by the AFC to serve as its Agriculture Minister as was agreed in the Cummingsburg Accord between the A Partnership for National Unity/Alliance For Change (APNU+AFC) coalition.  Holder said although he was not as active a member as his late wife, he had been assisting the political party in the agricultural area. He said his support was somewhat more pronounced after her death. He said the recommendation by his colleagues to the post could only suggest that he was the best candidate. He admitted that the work would not be easy, but planned to have a smooth orientation and transition after meeting with officers of the Ministry and heads of the various agencies that fall under the Ministry.

He said among his many plans, which have also been a burning desire of his party, will be the pushing of the agricultural frontiers off the coastlands to areas that were more favourable. He again stressed the significance of climate change, and said that his Ministry will be rolling the wheels of change in that regard.

interesting i will wait and see 

Need to reward all the loyal PNC souls, as well as to give AFC folks something to do.

Ministry of Governance, Citizenship, Communities, Social Cohesion.

Yet no Ministry of Trade and Industry........

Think I will be transitioning from a PPP basher to an APNU AFC basher sooner than I thought.   We read that youth unemployment at 40% is the highest in the Caribbean. I am at a loss as to what half of those ministries have to do with that. AT least give the taxpayers an explanation for this radical departure in the ministries, and a clue as to who came up with these ideas.

Bad start as this just looks like finding employment for loyal folks.  Why a Ministry of Citizenship?  I thought that was what Home Affairs was for.  And why Ministry of Governance, when we thought that was what Harmon's role was going to be.

We still haven't been told what Social Cohesion will be.  It is not culture as that moves to Education.  Communities?.......what the hell is that.  Why not call this ministries by titles which give greater clarity to their roles.

My optimism for these people has become slightly less cautious, and slightly more skeptical.

Just figured what this is all about.  The two factions within the AFC need representation.  And then APNU has to be represented at a ratio of 3 ministers for each two AFC ministers.

So we have a grand employment program for folks, many (most) are in their 60s, while 40% of the 20 y/o are unemployed.

Governance minister Raphael Trotman will set up a Commission to look into constitutional reform.

Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo will be responsible for constitutional reform.

Trotman will operate from the Ministry of the Presidency.

Looks like Shaitaan was onto something, after all.

Jaipaul Sharma will be junior Minister of Finance. I'm raising my eyebrow here.

Quote 'From the age of 19, I joined the public service and I worked at the Office of the Auditor General. I spent eight years there,” Sharma said.

Minister, Minister within, Minister without, Minister For and the list goes on.  Snakeoil anyone??? Oh I forgot Minister for Dis and Dat.

GUYANA GONE FUH CHANNA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

It will be interesting to look at the numbers for the per capita Ministries in Guyana and the per capita for Secretaries in the US Administration.

It might be 1 Secretary for every 1.5 million people in the US and 1 Minister for every 35,000 people. Wow!

It will be interesting to look at the numbers for the per capita Ministries in Guyana and the per capita for Secretaries in the US Administration.

It might be 1 Secretary for every 1.5 million people in the US and 1 Minister for every 35,000 people. Wow!

Give them a break.  The Moses faction of the AFC had to reward their stalwarts as did the Trotman faction.  Then APNU had to find 3 ministers for each 2 AFC. 

Now all the stalwarts are happy even as we try to figure out what the hell with the ministries of social cohesion, communities, business, governance, and citizenship will do.  Or why Tourism deserved a whole ministry on its own while trade and industry didn't.

Second Vice President Ramjattan, eight more cabinet Ministers sworn in

May 23, 2015 | By | Filed Under News

– Govt creates special ministry in charge of passports, citizenship

A Partnership for National Unity and Alliance for Change (APNU+AFC) yesterday swore in nine more candidates as Ministers of Government. new ministers b During the ceremony at the Ministry of the Presidency, it was revealed that President David Granger has crafted three new Ministries – the Ministry of Governance, Ministry of Citizenship and Ministry of Business. Those portfolios will be held by co-founder of Alliance for Change (AFC) and former House Speaker, Raphael Trotman; former Police Commissioner, Winston Felix and businessman, Dominic Gaskin. AFC Leader, Attorney-at-Law Khemraj Ramjattan was appointed Second Vice President and Minister of Public Safety, formerly the Ministry of Home Affairs. Noel Holder is now the Minister of Agriculture, while Sydney Allicock is Minister of Indigenous Peoples Affairs. Under the previous administration this was the Ministry of Amerindian Affairs. Valerie Garrido-Lowe will serve as Minister within that Ministry. Joining Finance Minister, Winston Jordan will be member of the Justice for All Party, Jaipaul Sharma who will serve as Minister within the Finance Ministry. On the other hand, Keith Scott has been added as a Minister to the Ministry of Communities, with responsibilities for housing. It was revealed that Dawn Hastings is to be sworn in as Minister within the Ministry of Communities. Shortly after each Minister took the oath of office the President challenged them to help the government to effectively execute its mandate to improve the lives of the Guyanese people. Addressing the wives, husbands, families and supporters of the new government Ministers, Granger said “We are determined to bring good governance back to Guyana. We are determined to have a Cabinet which is committed to National Unity.” Granger promised efficiency and transparency from the new Cabinet. “I feel honoured;  I feel proud to have behind me a group of men and women who are going to transform Guyana and see that we have a good life for all Guyanese,” the President said. He expressed hope that in the next five years the Guyanese people will be satisfied with the work of his administration. Already, the government has received some criticisms for the choice of more “mature” Ministers but Granger emphasised the need for experience. “We need the experience. There are only two persons in the entire Cabinet who have had the Cabinet experience and we need to ensure that persons who have had experience in other fields are in positions to lead those Ministries,” Granger said. The President told members of the media that there are a significant numbers of junior Ministers positioned to understudy those with experience. “What you are seeing now is not what will exist a few years from now. We have a lot of young ministers,” he said. The cabinet was one selected not only to ensure the government’s work is done but also to provide an apprenticeship for the younger ministers, he added. “The number of ministries will not exceed 15,” Granger said as he clarified “The juniors are to understudy the seniors and in due course that ‘grayness’ will be removed and the junior Ministers will take over.” Explaining the formation of the new Ministries, Granger noted that Ministry of Citizenship is one that will deal with immigration, naturalization, registration and the status of persons who are citizens of Guyana. Granger said that it is imperative that there should be a registration process that will ensure that that child’s registration continues up until the time of death. “We are aware of persons coming into the country seem to be getting access to Guyanese citizenship very easily and we want to ensure that citizenship remains a prize that is protected by the State and we are going to be more efficient and that is why a special Minister had to be appointed,” the President explained. Granger emphasised that citizenship is very important, not only for voting but also to ensure that the rights of the people are protected. The Ministry of Governance, the President explained, will seek to improve the quality of governance in the country; particularly the observance of constitutional provisions, the convening of a Commission to reform the Constitution and to ensure that there is stricter application of Article 13 of the Constitution which calls for inclusionary governance. The Ministries of Governance as well as Citizenship will be housed in the Ministry of the Presidency, he said. Even though a number of Ministries have been absorbed including Culture Youth and Sport which now comes under the Ministry of Education, the staff for that Ministry along with the Ministry of Natural Resources will be retained to perform their functions, the President explained.

Quote "“What you are seeing now is not what will exist a few years from now. We have a lot of young ministers,” he said. The cabinet was one selected not only to ensure the government’s work is done but also to provide an apprenticeship for the younger ministers, he added. “The number of ministries will not exceed 15,” Granger said as he clarified “The juniors are to understudy the seniors and in due course that ‘grayness’ will be removed and the junior Ministers will take over.”unquote

The President explains that in another few years, the large amount of ministers will be down to 15

PPP raises concerns over benefits for new Ministers

May 23, 2015 4:48 pm Category: latest news A+ / A-

President Granger and some members of his cabinet. [iNews' Photo]

President Granger and some members of his cabinet. [iNews’ Photo]

[www.inewsguyana.com]

The People’s Progressive Party has raised some concerns over the fringe benefits that are usually given to government Ministers of every administration.

The APNU+AFC government has appointed twenty six Ministers to serve several new and old Ministries. The 26 Ministers include several Junior Ministers.

In a statement the recently unseated PPP said it “views with deep concern the appointment of twenty six ministers with as many as three in one ministry. This Governmental monstrosity will impose immeasurable financial burdens on the people of this Guyana.”

According to the Party, each of the 26 Ministers appointed thus far, is entitled to vehicles, free Gas/Diesel, free telephone, free electricity, free internet service, free housing or housing allowance, free water, free domestic staff and additional office staff, among other benefits and privileges.

“This amounts to millions of taxpayers’ dollars. This extravagance is being spearheaded by a grouping who promised the people of this country to cut excess spending of public funds, and a lean and clean Government,” the statement noted.

Meanwhile, the Party also said that it views the creation of the Ministry of Citizenship with Winston Felix as Minister as “strange.”

“The nation is unaware what this ministerial portfolio entails. What we know however, Winston Felix was placed there to achieve two objectives: To keep a close eye on Khemraj Ramjattan and to alter the demographics of the Country.”

Some Comments:

Quote "Extravagance emmmm
Hear this a friend of mine said Rohee rent in Queenstown would pay for 3 ministers.The sole source of drugs to Bobby would pay for the other 3 plus change to go back into the health system.
But I agree with the sentiments there has to be some semblance and order in what is been done. If it wasnt right then it cant be right now.
Brigader President Sir… it is my wish that you govern with a cool head … since you are emmm I would ask you to put your war tactics into management. The art of war for managers. You need to read that one badly and 26-30 may be 50% too much.

Granger's PNC philosophy is to surround the AFC and keep them check-mated until 2020 or earlier.  Eventually the AFC will be neutered and put to pasture.  The PNC and GDF will run things.

More Comments:

Dats why they go  in there for, for freeness.  Dem power drunk.  By the time dem done, Guyana will be in debt.
Most of the ministries are jokers, granger doesn’t seem to be in his right senses.
I am sure AFC regrets the coalition but of course they won’t admit it, they are too ashamed.
I pity the students who have to write common entrance, it’s guaranteed more than 50% will fail social studies because even the adults can’t remember the names of the ministries & ministers.

More Comments:

Dats why they go  in there for, for freeness.  Dem power drunk.  By the time dem done, Guyana will be in debt.
Most of the ministries are jokers, granger doesn’t seem to be in his right senses.
I am sure AFC regrets the coalition but of course they won’t admit it, they are too ashamed.
I pity the students who have to write common entrance, it’s guaranteed more than 50% will fail social studies because even the adults can’t remember the names of the ministries & ministers.

Hehe, you are waan stupit c00lie bunch.  Baseman holds his position, "Apartheid" is in it's early stage of re-implementation.

Now, the "corrupt" PPP ain't looking to bad, you dumb asses.

More Comments:

Hehe, you are waan stupit c00lie bunch.  Baseman holds his position, "Apartheid" is in it's early stage of re-implementation.

Why don't you go pimp for a good buggering, all we are saying is the 30 Ministers are too much, maybe by 15 would have been okay.

Now you come along with your Apartheid's nonsense, Read the friggin posts properly then come with some sensible comments.

At least Granger is saying that what the PPP/C were overpaying Bobby would pay all 30 Ministers......go figure ass hole.

More Comments:

Why don't you go pimp for a good buggering, all we are saying is the 30 Ministers are too much, maybe by 15 would have been okay.

Now you come along with your Apartheid's nonsense, Read the friggin posts properly then come with some sensible comments.

At least Granger is saying that what the PPP/C were overpaying Bobby would pay all 30 Ministers......go figure ass hole.

ASJ, ASJ, shallow lil twerp, now you are dabbling way over your puny IQ.  I say give it a rest and let the "big" boys handle.  Your sun has set.

More Comments:

ASJ, ASJ, shallow lil twerp, now you are dabbling way over your puny IQ.  I say give it a rest and let the "big" boys handle.  Your sun has set.

Base, Base you are just a lil bugga batty, who wants some attention, but you are going it in the wrong way. So if you must say something, make it meaningful, or shut you fat poke and stay quiet.

More Comments:

Base, Base you are just a lil bugga batty, who wants some attention, but you are going it in the wrong way. So if you must say something, make it meaningful, or shut you fat poke and stay quiet.

The President appointed nearly 30 Ministers, that he see fit, he knows the reason for his appointments, but yet a big skount hole like you, came here and babbling about introduction 'Apartheid' and your regular nonsense.

As I said, lil nincompoop puny IQ don't get the gist of the moment.  Watch out, the BIG bright light and rumble, it's the train dumb AssJack.