GRA Board recommends demotion and transfer for former AG’s wife

December 4, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 

…woman costs entity $845,000 in retainer fees per month

The Guyana Revenue Authority after an assessment of the performance of Deputy Commissioner of Inland Revenue, Legal Services Division (LSD), Hissaun Yasin-Nandlall, has recommended that she be transferred to another operational support area. The conclusion is that there is need for improvement in her performance.

Hissaun Yasin-Nandlall

A document seen by this publication regarding the justifications made for Nandlall’s transfer stated that she should continue in the position of Deputy Commissioner of the LSD, but at the lower level.
The governing body stated that Nandlall’s “achievement of work programme objectives, commitments and results expected, as well as issues relating to consistency, equality of treatment and standardization across GRA, has always been of some concern.”
Nandlall was said to lack sufficient experience in management, tax administration and litigation of tax matters.  “As such, her direction and management of the operations of LSD have not been as effective as required.” Her low success rate in court cases as well as her attendance records in the courts were said to be well below expectations.
GRA, in establishing the LSD, had hired attorneys-at-law with the objective, that all tax cases and issues would be dealt with internally. As Head of the LSD, Nandlall is expected to take the lead in dealing with all GRA cases in the courts with the support of the other Legal Officers.  However, many tax cases were contracted out to several attorneys-at-law in private practice at enormous costs.
Some of the tax cases which were contracted out involved Demerara Distillers Limited – contracted out to Robin Stoby of the Law firm Hughes, Fields and Stoby; and DIDCO, which was contracted out to senior counsel Ashton Chase.
Documents show that an agreement was made and entered into between GRA and Mahendra Satram of the Law firm Satram & Satram, Attorneys at Law, on September 1, 2015. Since April 2014, the services of Satram were used to perform all legal services as needed by GRA, on a monthly retainer.
In this year’s agreement, “GRA believes this revised services agreement will assist the public entity in cost containment of its potential legal costs customarily used by GRA in its day to day activities.” The retainer for a calendar month is $845,000.
The board also commented on the inadequate advice, assistance and support offered by Nandlall to office and field Legal Officers on complex and technical tax issues and cases.
They were reported to have not been reliable since when challenged by professional personnel, these opinions were promptly changed.
Due to unsound and unreliable information given by Nandlall, the board believes that this has aided in insufficient research, preparation, and well formulated and articulated strategies to win cases.
Nandlall was purported to have a laissez-faire attitude towards work which affected the professionalism of the LSD staff as they were left unsupervised on a regular basis.
The board recommended that Nandlall should be transferred to another operational support area of GRA so that she could acquire the relevant experience and be equipped to properly represent GRA in the courts.

A document seen by this publication regarding the justifications made for Nandlall’s transfer stated that she should continue in the position of Deputy Commissioner of the LSD, but at the lower level.
The governing body stated that Nandlall’s “achievement of work programme objectives, commitments and results expected, as well as issues relating to consistency, equality of treatment and standardization across GRA, has always been of some concern.”

Put some primary school dropout  blackman to do her job. Blackman going to be in charge and will get advise from some coolie PNC card carrying house slave. OH the old days of the PNC. Some of you guys yearn for the old days. Well here it is.

The recommendation for the demotion of Hessaun Nandlall is uncalled for.  She is a very competent and hardworking attorney.  Even those in the PNC camp are in shock.  Granger and company are going too far now.  This act is unjustifiable, irresponsible, and nothing short of malicious.

Put some primary school dropout  blackman to do her job. Blackman going to be in charge and will get advise from some coolie PNC card carrying house slave. OH the old days of the PNC. Some of you guys yearn for the old days. Well here it is.

how about one of your house jumping famlee

The recommendation for the demotion of Hessaun Nandlall is uncalled for.  She is a very competent and hardworking attorney.  Even those in the PNC camp are in shock.  Granger and company are going too far now.  This act is unjustifiable, irresponsible, and nothing short of malicious.

time to get the waste out she can join u on high st in the night  

It did not bother you the PPP implanted their friends and family in every operational niche  of the state....fire their nepotistic behinds!!!

You pitiful racist...we will see very soon who replaces her and then you can see why you  are a nasty old bilious bigot likely to have lived your life that way.

It did not bother you the PPP implanted their friends and family in every operational niche  of the state....fire their nepotistic behinds!!!

Some incompetent PNC person will replace her.  Look at the qualifications of the ones in the cabinet.  Half of them can't hold a candle to her.

i guess her degree was handed  her by the gods and all others by mere mortals so she stands heads and toe to the rest!

Agreed. This is exactly how PNC Dictators Burnham and Hoyte acted, Granger is turning out to be no different.

My hands fall.

This targeting of Talented female Indos must be condemned.

What next,  wholesale rape and harassment of Indos women like it occurred under the 28 Years of PNC dictatorship under the two PNC Afro Dictators ?

You deh pun stupidness.

It doesn't matter which God handed her a degree.  The fact remains that she is a qualified attorney and your people are maliciously trying to undermine her.

My people? My people are the amerindians who racist black and indians, carpetbaggers I might add, rob and steal from using democracy.

This lady got her job on the back of nepotism. Her  talents could be katana sharp but nepotism is nepotism. They should fire her backsides rather than demote her. It is what the PPP did.

If Granger does it right back why the crying and wringing of hands and screaming of racism? Don't Hindus believe in karma returning appropriate recompense to sinners?

You deh pun stupidness.

Yuji is NEVER, NEVER afraid or ashamed of speaking the truth and will never be intimidate in speaking to the truth.

This act of PNC racism must be condemned.

You deh pun stupidness.

Yuji is NEVER, NEVER afraid or ashamed of speaking the truth and will never be intimidate in speaking to the truth.

Where is the racism..seems like the individual was over paid.

You deh pun stupidness.

Where is the racism..seems like the individual was over paid.

Your reasoning is now like that of the PNC scums. You drank the PNC cool aid and it is now taking effect.

Oh yes.  I forgot.  2,000 of your people lost their jobs too.  So now she is in good company.

Storm has PNC boo boo in his eyes.

I am just not the nasty bare faced cretins who kissed the PPP ring for decades while they acted as Indian Suzerain to black serfs in the state. The PPP pillaged the society creating the elite class of parasitic Indians while their foot stools like Misir wrote long papers repudiating marginalization.

Now you cry....why...from what moral precipice? I hope the APNU gets a couple decades long end run around the PPP. I do not even care if they steal the nation dry. Maybe it is time Indians again walk in black shoes.
For 3 decades the PPP forgot it was their country too. Since the founding of the state the only disease in it has been Indians and black fighting each like junk yard dogs over a bone.

Apparently they do not have the good sense to sit down and parley. Walk the plank reciprocatingly if that is the best way you folks know to live.

You can hope from here to eternity but you never deny the fact that the PNC government left the country on the brink of starvation and the PPP put food back on the shelves for everyone - Indians and Blacks.  You are a very  unfair person.  The PNC ran you out of your own country and now you are fighting for them.  There is a big difference between education and intelligence and you are a classic example.

Wrong that was done under Hyote (PNC) government.

Django you will live to see that the PNC will run Guyana back into the ground.  And if you are so happy that they can put food back on the shelf you should go back there now and enjoy the prosperity.

if the man go back u will not run behind him to give him a blow job 

u really need to go get a life or check if your mouth have VD 

I am willing to go back as soon as the mess the PPP created cleaned up,I only left in 1996.

she is a not fit for the position she have to go let her work for her husband in his private practice both of them will starve  

Warrior - can you please tell Django that a black man will never fight for a coolie man the way he is fighting for y'all. 

Bebe..i had a few great black friends back home and will fight for me any time,i went back for a short trip i have to be afraid of my own kind now.

When these folks family holds government jobs, everything else is OK and they care less for anyone else. This is where I am different. I have a brother working with GPL and a nephew working with a popular newspaper. But that doesn't stop me from chewing the government up for the majority of Guyanese that are not as fortunate as them. 

Warrior - can you please tell Django that a black man will never fight for a coolie man the way he is fighting for y'all. 

Bebe..i had a few great black friends back home and will fight for me any time,i went back for a short trip i have to be afraid of my own kind now.

bibi want a blackman