Originally Posted by asj:

With these fabulous increases, there will be no need for thieving Ministers.

Really, you will see, even millionaires find reason to steal.  What was needed was not exorbitant salary increases but a front loaded and lucrative deferred comp with reasonable vesting conditional on the execution of their responsibilities clear of bribery and corruption.  There should always be attractive value at risk for improper acts.  Any conviction in a court of law would encumber this asset.

This a form of theft.  They are using their power to unilaterally attribute to themselves part of the taxpayers' money.

The PPP should make the coalition look stupid by refusing this pay increase.

I have to give you credit, you are more objective than I thought and a high degree of value on equity ans fairness.  On this count, baseman and you coincide.  These latest position you took has caused me to step back and reevaluate my assessment of you.

Who gives a shit about your evaluation and asessment? You are a racist prick. Not just ethnically insecure, but racist down past your drawse and into the very core of your being. The unconscious ease with which you spew racist bile testifies to that.

I do not agree with Carib on everything but since I was a reader he has said CONSISTENTLY that both sides are responsible for our racial quagmire and has chastised both blacks and Indians, including Burnham. That you and the Indo KKK brand him racist for daring to chastise Indians for their share of racism is proof enough of alyuh naked racism. Alyuh superior, and bear no responsibility nor are open to any criticism. Black man must bow and tek it from "alyuh".

We blacks are not clannish like you and your clown Indo KKK friends. Not afraid to criticize our bretheren. And in this case, this hefty pay increase is a bad idea by the coalition. Yes, it does have merit in terms of helping to stem corruption etc, but how can one propose this after disclosing that the treasury is empty, major industries are in a tailspin and they are barely 100 days in office?????? This is a time for austerity, not increases. Perform and then increase salaries when things are better.

Who knows, maybe out of this will come a true credible nationalist 3rd party uniting the people and bringing responsible government.  I thought this was the AFC back in 2011 and after interacting with them, I realize these were PPP rejects seeking revenge and their "day in the sun".  The lack of intellectual honesty and anti-PPP anger was so palpable, gave an uncomfortable feeling of what they would actually do should they gain power.  I could not reconcile with this mindset.

Baseman was ridiculed, cussed and lots of lies spread to discredit/discourage and shut me up.  Baseman will prove to be correct in his assessment.  However, I must say, HE Granger has [thus far] been my biggest disappointment, if this turns out to be true.

I guess we have to wait and see what the true numbers are.  I think the current salaries and perks are too high much less and increase. How can these people feel the pain of 99% of the population. Do not expect much from Moses as far as talking out against this type of increase.

sure bai . . . a lil salary increase is now "going in without any conscience" nuh?

fascinating 'perspective,' especially when we observe the Jagdeoite takings this past decade and a half

smfh

I bet you all the cops and nurses and teachers wished that they could get a 75% pay increase.  THEY are the ones who must subsist on wages so low, that they are too embarrassed to tell their Bajan friends how much they make. 

I am sure that a Bajan will be impressed with Nagamootoo's US$100k BASE salary, and definitely with Granger's.

the Bajan PM base salary in 2011-2012 was $US100k

what's your point?

Quite obvious.  Compare Barbados GDP per capita with Guyana's.  Compare what teachers in Barbados get, compared to Guyana.

Note that a more appropriate comparison would be with Granger's salary, which will be higher than the PMs.

Originally Posted by Itaname:

Really, you will see, even millionaires find reason to steal.  What was needed was not exorbitant salary increases but a front loaded and lucrative deferred comp with reasonable vesting conditional on the execution of their responsibilities clear of bribery and corruption.  There should always be attractive value at risk for improper acts.  Any conviction in a court of law would encumber this asset.

This a form of theft.  They are using their power to unilaterally attribute to themselves part of the taxpayers' money.

I have to give you credit, you are more objective than I thought and a high degree of value on equity ans fairness.  On this count, baseman and you coincide.  These latest position you took has caused me to step back and reevaluate my assessment of you.

Who gives a shit about your evaluation and asessment? You are a racist prick. Not just ethnically insecure, but racist down past your drawse and into the very core of your being. The unconscious ease with which you spew racist bile testifies to that.

I do not agree with Carib on everything but since I was a reader he has said CONSISTENTLY that both sides are responsible for our racial quagmire and has chastised both blacks and Indians, including Burnham. That you and the Indo KKK brand him racist for daring to chastise Indians for their share of racism is proof enough of alyuh naked racism. Alyuh superior, and bear no responsibility nor are open to any criticism. Black man must bow and tek it from "alyuh".

We blacks are not clannish like you and your clown Indo KKK friends. Not afraid to criticize our bretheren. And in this case, this hefty pay increase is a bad idea by the coalition. Yes, it does have merit in terms of helping to stem corruption etc, but how can one propose this after disclosing that the treasury is empty, major industries are in a tailspin and they are barely 100 days in office?????? This is a time for austerity, not increases. Perform and then increase salaries when things are better.

Belly wuk!!

Thank you for corroborating the fact that I have been quite open about African racism, and about how Burnham treated Indians.

They have already called you a racist, but then they don't know what a racist is.

sure bai . . . a lil salary increase is now "going in without any conscience" nuh?

fascinating 'perspective,' especially when we observe the Jagdeoite takings this past decade and a half

smfh

I bet you all the cops and nurses and teachers wished that they could get a 75% pay increase.  THEY are the ones who must subsist on wages so low, that they are too embarrassed to tell their Bajan friends how much they make. 

I am sure that a Bajan will be impressed with Nagamootoo's US$100k BASE salary, and definitely with Granger's.

the Bajan PM base salary in 2011-2012 was $US100k

what's your point?

Quite obvious.  Compare Barbados GDP per capita with Guyana's.  Compare what teachers in Barbados get, compared to Guyana.

Note that a more appropriate comparison would be with Granger's salary, which will be higher than the PMs.

curious . . . since u know the answers to these questions, why play the klown and ask me?

futher, i am not using the GDP per head yardstick to determine appropriate salary; that is silly on so many levels . . . it is one among many factors

my citing the B'dos PM's 2011 salary was simply a response to caribny's stupid idea that a US$100k salary for a high Gov't offficial is so extraordinary that it would raise eyebrows in Barbados

Quote "Who knows, maybe out of this will come a true credible nationalist 3rd party uniting the people and bringing responsible government."unquote

Do you think that the AFC are done with as a political party?

Presently they all seems like dummies, or persons whose mouth are open and catching the soup. 

. . . this hefty pay increase is a bad idea by the coalition. Yes, it does have merit in terms of helping to stem corruption etc, but how can one propose this after disclosing that the treasury is empty, major industries are in a tailspin and they are barely 100 days in office?????? This is a time for austerity, not increases. Perform and then increase salaries when things are better.

i agree with much of this

caveat: i firmly believe that the Guyana Times is playing with words and conflating odd things, with only 1/4 of their reporting approaching TRUTH!]

but even if any of this is true, the coalition's timing is f'ed up!

Thank you for corroborating the fact that I have been quite open about African racism, and about how Burnham treated Indians.

They have already called you a racist, but then they don't know what a racist is.

You are the perfect definition of a congenital racist.

Originally Posted by VVP:

The raping of Guyana continues.  Looks like this is going to be a one-term government.  These people are paying themselves super salaries in a donkey cart economy.  What a shame.

These PNC boys are not going anywhere. The have already started the Rigging Process.

Who knows, maybe out of this will come a true credible nationalist 3rd party uniting the people and bringing responsible government.  I thought this was the AFC back in 2011 and after interacting with them, I realize these were PPP rejects seeking revenge and their "day in the sun".  The lack of intellectual honesty and anti-PPP anger was so palpable, gave an uncomfortable feeling of what they would actually do should they gain power.  I could not reconcile with this mindset.

Baseman was ridiculed, cussed and lots of lies spread to discredit/discourage and shut me up.  Baseman will prove to be correct in his assessment.  However, I must say, HE Granger has [thus far] been my biggest disappointment, if this turns out to be true.

I guess we have to wait and see what the true numbers are.  I think the current salaries and perks are too high much less and increase. How can these people feel the pain of 99% of the population. Do not expect much from Moses as far as talking out against this type of increase.

Moses quiet, quite. He got his $ 18 million House upgrade.

Moses is afraid of Supremacist Harmon.

The raping of Guyana continues.  Looks like this is going to be a one-term government.  These people are paying themselves super salaries in a donkey cart economy.  What a shame.

These PNC boys are not going anywhere. The have already started the Rigging Process.

The reason the PNC are so callous is they don't care about voting anymore.  The AFC can go to hell, the new coalition in town not is PNC/GDF.

Moses quiet, quite. He got his $ 18 million House upgrade.

Moses is afraid of Supremacist Harmon.

You are more of a threat to Moses than Harmon.

The reason the PNC are so callous is they don't care about voting anymore.  The AFC can go to hell, the new coalition in town not is PNC/GDF.

That's correct Base. AFC will soon be on the sidewalk. Karma is a Bytc*.

Moses the SHAMELESS NEEMAKARAM used to halla everyday about PPP wasting money NOW dis Parasite quiet like he dumb, we already know he deaf. SUCH SHAMELESS PEOPLE DO NOT BELONG AMONG HUMANS!!!!!!!!!!!!

[www.inewsguyana.com] – Finance Minister, Winston Jordan has confirmed that the salaries for Government Ministers, Presidential Advisors and Members of Parliament may get a salary increase pending the outcome of considerations.

This is after reports surfaced in the media that the APNU+AFC administration was considering a 100% increase for its officials and members of the National Assembly.

When contacted, Jordan told iNews on August 01, that the salaries for these officials were “under active consideration.” However the Finance Minister did not state what amount the increases would be since according to him, it is being considered.

[GILBAKKA'S COMMENT: Guyana Times exaggerated the size of the impending salary increases. Still, this is not the time for the coalition government to even consider such a move, having already declared that it inherited an empty treasury. The Guyanese people at large will reason that if there is money to finance increases for ministers and parliamentarians, there is money to pay public servants the promised 20 percent hike. Further, the recent cuts to former presidents' benefits will be perceived as spite and not justice.

Definitely not good thinking by Cabinet or whoever is doing the consideration.]

[www.inewsguyana.com] – Finance Minister, Winston Jordan has confirmed that the salaries for Government Ministers, Presidential Advisors and Members of Parliament may get a salary increase pending the outcome of considerations.

This is after reports surfaced in the media that the APNU+AFC administration was considering a 100% increase for its officials and members of the National Assembly.

When contacted, Jordan told iNews on August 01, that the salaries for these officials were “under active consideration.” However the Finance Minister did not state what amount the increases would be since according to him, it is being considered.

[GILBAKKA'S COMMENT: Guyana Times exaggerated the size of the impending salary increases. Still, this is not the time for the coalition government to even consider such a move, having already declared that it inherited an empty treasury. The Guyanese people at large will reason that if there is money to finance increases for ministers and parliamentarians, there is money to pay public servants the promised 20 percent hike. Further, the recent cuts to former presidents' benefits will be perceived as spite and not justice.

Definitely not good thinking by Cabinet or whoever is doing the consideration.]

Well, let's calm down!

More Reporting's from another Media:

Presidential Advisors, Ministers, MPs to get salary increases

August 1, 2015 1:22 pm Category: latest news A+ / A-

By Jomo Paul

Finance Minister, Winston Jordan

“Salary increases are under active consideration for all member of the national assembly…If it is under active consideration, I can’t say (the amount) until it is finalized,” Jordan told iNews.

Reports have surfaced in sections of the media that the government is planning a 100% increase in salaries while the public servants will be given a 10% increase instead of 20%.

Jordan is set to present the 2015 Budget on August 10 which will details of all the increases being offered to public servants, Ministers and Members of the National Assembly will be revealed.

:
to caribny's stupid idea that a US$100k salary for a high Gov't offficial is so extraordinary that it would raise eyebrows in Barbados

Given that Bajans are fully aware of how poverty stricken Guyana is, as they see hordes of Guyanese in that island doing what that they don't want to do, of course they will wonder where did Guyana get the money from.

Note that in NOMINAL terms, despite having 40% of the population and 0.2% of Guyana's size it has a GDP LARGER than Guyana, an yet APNU/AFC think that Guyana should pay at the same rate.  I will further add that the cost of living in Guyana is lower so that in REAL TERMS (purchasing power) the salary is higher in Guyana.

But don't worry, when Granger and Moses tell you to jump over the Kaieteur Falls, you will gladly comply.

I see.  Too embarrassed that Moses wants to significantly his salary while only given civil servants a 10% increase.  The man will make $100k annually, while the average Guyanese ekes out a living at $2-3,000.

I feel for you as you thought that he was a hero, but now looks little better than the thieves over at the PPP.

Let us hope that this publicity will embarrass Jordan into withdrawing this, and offering the ministers and others no more than what the civil servants get.

But tell Moses Nagamootoo that the greed that he approached the honey pot to collect his goodies makes him look quite the hypocrite, when we remember his claims during the election.

I see.  Too embarrassed that Moses wants to significantly his salary while only given civil servants a 10% increase.  The man will make $100k annually, while the average Guyanese ekes out a living at $2-3,000.

I feel for you as you thought that he was a hero, but now looks little better than the thieves over at the PPP.

Let us hope that this publicity will embarrass Jordan into withdrawing this, and offering the ministers and others no more than what the civil servants get.

But tell Moses Nagamootoo that the greed that he approached the honey pot to collect his goodies makes him look quite the hypocrite, when we remember his claims during the election.

Someone on the inside probably leaked it.

:
to caribny's stupid idea that a US$100k salary for a high Gov't offficial is so extraordinary that it would raise eyebrows in Barbados

Given that Bajans are fully aware of how poverty stricken Guyana is, as they see hordes of Guyanese in that island doing what that they don't want to do, of course they will wonder where did Guyana get the money from.

Note that in NOMINAL terms, despite having 40% of the population and 0.2% of Guyana's size it has a GDP LARGER than Guyana, an yet APNU/AFC think that Guyana should pay at the same rate.  I will further add that the cost of living in Guyana is lower so that in REAL TERMS (purchasing power) the salary is higher in Guyana.

But don't worry, when Granger and Moses tell you to jump over the Kaieteur Falls, you will gladly comply.

uh huh . . . in full sheep mode, you swallowed hard

now try pull Ravi Dev 1/4 truth hook out of your gut . . . barat, baseman dem and the Guyana Times depend on useful idiots like u

my purpose was to show that that US100k is not extraordinary . . . i showed that

the average Bajan couldn't care less about Granger/Moses making the same money as their PM . . . continue to pretend not to understand the sensible things i said about GDP/head and criteria 

your shyte is excited, desperate and beyond weak

Even though this is the Guyana Times, a racist news rag, Jordan's response suggests that it is true.

We will now see how arrogant APNU/AFC is, if they still proceed with this increase.  This even as APNU supporters are beginning to feel the adverse impact of the further slump in gold.  Basically many of them will now be out of business, as they cannot operate with the massively reduced prices, given the high cost of operating in the interior.

APNU will learn that APNU supporters aren't slaves, as are those of the PPP.  they have minds of their own, and are quite willing to resume not voting.

Even though this is the Guyana Times, a racist news rag, Jordan's response suggests that it is true.

We will now see how arrogant APNU/AFC is, if they still proceed with this increase.  This even as APNU supporters are beginning to feel the adverse impact of the further slump in gold.  Basically many of them will now be out of business, as they cannot operate with the massively reduced prices, given the high cost of operating in the interior.

APNU will learn that APNU supporters aren't slaves, as are those of the PPP.  they have minds of their own, and are quite willing to resume not voting.

Why do you think only APNU supporters will feel the impact of the gold slump?

O

the average Bajan couldn't care less whether Granger/Moses makes the same money as their PM . . .

Clearly you don't have any Bajan friends.  Unemployment in Barbados is higher than it normally as, and yet the Guyanese refuse to go home.  When Bajans hear that Guyana must be "rich" if the PM makes the same as the Bajan PM, MORE when we adjust for the significantly lower cost of living in Barbados.

Any way Granger and Moses want to show how loyal their supporters are.  You are tasked with jumping over the Kaieteur Falls, and the thing is you might well follow their orders too.  On the way down it will suddenly dawn on you that this will not have been your wisest decision.

Even though this is the Guyana Times, a racist news rag, Jordan's response suggests that it is true . . .

the true nature of Cold War style propaganda continues to escape the ego-driven, simple-minded determined

like i said, dem bais in the Sanata complex depending heavily on gullibles like u

Loads of them are involved in the sector, many as laborers, so will clearly lose their jobs.  Others as petty miners, who are assigned the most marginal mines, and are least able to absorb the high costs of operating in the interior.

Mekdeci shoots ducks on his plantation and charges small miners huge amounts to use his allocations.  Guyana being quite corrupt, favors wealthy men who can bribe to get the best locations, which they then sublease to those who cannot get it on their own. 

Even though this is the Guyana Times, a racist news rag, Jordan's response suggests that it is true . . .

the true nature of Cold War style propaganda continues to escape the ego-driven, simple-minded determined

like i said, dem bais in the Sanata complex depending heavily on gullibles like u

Yes fair is fair.  If Jagdeo can steal so can Granger.  We must be "grateful" that all Granger seems to be stealing, is an attempt to increase his salary by 75%.  At least for now.

Folks can say what they want on the campaign trail. Make promises, which they now cannot deliver, but they can deliver a whopping salary increase!

O

the average Bajan couldn't care less whether Granger/Moses makes the same money as their PM . . .

Clearly you don't have any Bajan friends.  Unemployment in Barbados is higher than it normally as, and yet the Guyanese refuse to go home.  When Bajans hear that Guyana must be "rich" if the PM makes the same as the Bajan PM, MORE when we adjust for the significantly lower cost of living in Barbados.

Any way Granger and Moses want to show how loyal their supporters are.  You are tasked with jumping over the Kaieteur Falls, and the thing is you might well follow their orders too.  On the way down it will suddenly dawn on you that this will not have been your wisest decision.

i refute your inapposite shyte by simply pointing out that the average Bajan (like you heretofore) has no idea what their PM makes

Loads of them are involved in the sector, many as laborers, so will clearly lose their jobs.  Others as petty miners, who are assigned the most marginal mines, and are least able to absorb the high costs of operating in the interior.

Mekdeci shoots ducks on his plantation and charges small miners huge amounts to use his allocations.  Guyana being quite corrupt, favors wealthy men who can bribe to get the best locations, which they then sublease to those who cannot get it on their own. 

It will ripple through to everyone but, you are correct, the direct workers will get hit first.

i refute your inapposite shyte by simply pointing out that the average Bajan (like you heretofore) has no idea what their PM makes

So it gets worse.  We are told what Nagamootoo might well make.  Bajans are sufficiently adept at arithmetic to divide GYD1.7 million by 208, and then multiply by 12 to see the salary in USD.

They might think Stewart does not even make that, so will definitely tell the Guyanese "time wunnuh guh home if Guyana so rich dat it can pay de President so much"

It will ripple through to everyone but, you are correct, the direct workers will get hit first.

It is possible that each person in the gold industry is feeding another 4 people, given the paucity of alternatives in places like Linden and Bartica.

I saw a figure suggesting that at least 100k benefit in some way from gold.  It is the massive growth in gold exports which grew the economy over the last 7 years, and a slump will bring it down the same way.  But then this is what happens when one has an economy based on raw commodities over which one has no ability to set prices.

Yes fair is fair.  If Jagdeo can steal so can Granger.  We must be "grateful" that all Granger seems to be stealing, is an attempt to increase his salary by 75%.  At least for now.

Folks can say what they want on the campaign trail. Make promises, which they now cannot deliver, but they can deliver a whopping salary increase!

like i said, the true nature of [not even terribly sophisticated]  propaganda continues to elude u

keep chewing the 'received wisdom' cud

uh huh

It is possible that each person in the gold industry is feeding another 4 people, given the paucity of alternatives in places like Linden and Bartica.

I saw a figure suggesting that at least 100k benefit in some way from gold.

Yes, maybe more.  Those gold bais throw around a lot of cash in GT.

So it gets worse.  We are told what Nagamootoo might well make.  Bajans are sufficiently adept at arithmetic to divide GYD1.7 million by 208, and then multiply by 12 to see the salary in USD.

They might think Stewart does not even make that, so will definitely tell the Guyanese "time wunnuh guh home if Guyana so rich dat it can pay de President so much"

if they, like u, have no idea what their own is paid, pray tell why exactly they would be interested in, much less exercised about what is not even happening in Guyana

your stupidness is invincible

smfh

if they, like u, have no idea what their own is paid, pray tell why exactly they would be interested in, much less exercised about what is not even happening in Guyana

smfh

They will assume what Freundel Stewart is paid, probably think that it is less than US$100k,  and then find it very strange that a country, whose largest export to Barbados are domestics, prostitutes, and gardeners, can pay their head of state MORE than what they might think that Stewart is getting.

You are spinning a web, and getting trapped.  I heard that spiders love to nyam people named redux.  You are confusing yourself as usual.  Not too long ago you screamed that the pay increase was good, and now that even APNU fears push back from the population, assert that it hasn't happened yet. 

Well Jordan didn't DENY it, he just refused to be SPECIFIC about it.  Usual chatter when a politician sneaks down after dark to dip his hand in the cookie jar and then gets caught when the People suddenly switch on the light, and catch them.

smfh

They will assume what Freundel Stewart is paid, probably think that it is less than US$100k,  and then find it very strange that a country, whose largest export to Barbados are domestics, prostitutes, and gardeners, can pay their head of state MORE than what they might think that Stewart is getting.

You are spinning a web, and getting trapped.  I heard that spiders love to nyam people named redux.

i think we have established that Bajans don't care . . . in fact, you didn't even know what Stewart made before braying idiot, inapposite comparisons loudly and 'authoritatively on this BB based on a PPP hook u still struggling to remove from your throat

i detect the distinct scent of Freudian Projection in your weak attempt to move the conversation over to comedy . . . no?

i think we have established that Bajans don't care . . . in fact, you didn't even know what Stewart made before braying idiot,

No you have fooled yourself that Bajans don't care, but the word "Guyanese" comes up every day with them, as they see their tiny island swamped by this invading species, which is how they describe Guyanese. 

You do know that Bajans chitter chatter about this very GNI site, so how come they know about if they don't care about Guyana?

They follow Guyana politics more closely than any group, aside from Trinis, so will definitely hear how much the PM and President want to get paid.

In fact around about now, they probably fear a wave of the PPP variety, given that they think that more Indians will now flee, now that the Indo party is out of power.

I can tell you don't know Bajans, because it is a firm aspect of Bajan culture to get into people's business, so you are truly stupid, if you think that they don't speculate, or know what Stewart is making, when the man sent home thousands of people last year.

I don't know what he is making, but then I aint Bajan.  What I want to know is why you think that you know, and are sure that they don't?

i think we have established that Bajans don't care . . . in fact, you didn't even know what Stewart made before braying idiot,

No you have fooled yourself that Bajans don't care, but the word "Guyanese" comes up every day with them, as they see their tiny island swamped by this invading species, which is how they describe Guyanese.  They follow Guyana politics more closely than any group, aside from Trinis, so will definitely hear how much the PM and President want to get paid.

Given that they probably think that Freundel makes less than he does, they will then see Guyana as a Haiti style rip off.

I can tell you don't know Bajans, because it is a firm aspect of Bajan culture to get into people's business, so you are truly stupid, if you think that they don't speculate, or know what Stewart is making, when the man sent home thousands of people last year.

I don't know what he is making, but then I aint Bajan.  What I want to know is why you think that you know, and are sure that they don't?

then you should have shut your trap about "Barbados" in the first place!

further, i have the Bajan Gov't 2011-2012 salary/emoluments schedule in front of me

i don't "think" that i know fool . . . i gather my facts before i speak, and therefore 'know' what i know

that clear?