Govt to award VPs and 27 Ministers 100%+ salary increases

Government mulls salary hike for Cabinet Members

….while Public Servants may get 10%

…“reallocation of resources, APNU/AFC style” says PPP

The A Partnership for National Unity/ Alliance For Change (APNU/AFC) administration, despite having protested the “enormous” and “unreasonable” salary of previous government officials, is now about to announce massive salary increases for government officials.

Finance Minister Winston Jordan confirmed the assertion that had been swirling of social media to the Guyana Times. He said the matter is currently under consideration by the administration and the increase also extends to Members of Parliament (MPs) and basically all individuals who have a role in the House of Assembly. “The increase in Ministers salary is under consideration. All people that concern the House of Assembly, so that will include Chief Whip, the Opposition, Ministers, and Vice Presidents and so on,” he said.

Guyana Times understands that the increase would see the Prime Minister and First Vice President Moses Nagamootoo earning some $1.7M monthly an increase of over $200,000 monthly plus vacation benefits and perks that total more than another $500,000.The three other Vice Presidents – positions not existing under the previous administration – Sydney Alicock, Carl Greenidge, and Khemraj Ramjattan will earn some $1.3M more than double the $579,000 they would have earned as ministers. The vacations and other benefits are also one $500,000.

The fifteen Senior Ministers will earn now earn $1M -an increase of over $400,000 or 74% monthly. The 12 Junior Ministers will each earn $700,000 monthly and like senior Ministers will be entitled to the $500,000 benefits. Therefore all the ministers- all 27 of them will also receive a duty allowance, an entertainment allowance, $45,000, housing allowance; chauffeur allowance of over $100,000 and annual vacation allowance of $420,000.The APNU and AFC, when in Opposition, had vigorously spoken out against the “abuse” of taxpayers’ money to fill the pockets of the “greedy” government officials and Carl Greenidge then shadow finance minister had written a letter in the Stabroek News just before the elections, complaining about the “lifestyle” of PPP/C ministers. He complained, “ PPP ministers have always paid themselves higher salaries than existed prior to their assumption of office…By 2014 the Minister of Finance was receiving $579,951,and today the PPP ministers’ vacation allowance at $420,000 is ten times the minimum wage.”

Meanwhile, contacted on the issue, former Housing Minister, Irfaan Ali confirmed that all ministers under the PPP/C received smaller salaries including benefits. . Other Members of Parliament, who were not Ministers and of the Opposition, received a monthly salary of $166, 000 and a $20,000 Committee allowance. At this time, Guyana Times was unable to receive precise numbers for the increase in ordinary MP”/ salaried , excepting that it would be in the range of at least a 100% increase.

Public servants to get increase

Meanwhile, contrary to reports emanating from the People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPP/C) Opposition, Jordan said government is sticking to its promise to grant public servants’ salary increases, pension increases and VAT reductions. “I never said public servants salary increases will be put on hold. Public servants will be granted salary increase. It is in the budget, pensioners and public servants, there will be a VAT reduction in some consumer items,” he stated. However, it is unsure whether or not these increases will take effect this year or what will be the rate of increase. During the elections campaign the coalition had promised a 20 percent salary hike for all law enforcement officers and “significant” increase for public servants in the first year. This, the coalition said then was aimed at cracking down on white collar crime. The starting salary of police constables is around $60,000.

However, when it assumed office Finance Minister, Winston Jordan had said that the new government was looking to increase public servants’ salaries by 10% who had also said that the administration also has to work on tempering expectations. Jordan said while it sounds good to have a 10% payout, it makes no sense if you have to spend more and “end up in a deeper hole.” He had said that although the figure is not definitive, he was working with his staff to come up with scenarios and costs for the achievement of the coalition’s 100-day plan. Jordan had said that people had the notion that whenever there is talk of an increase, “you have to find the money from doing something that will cost an increase in maybe inflation but no, it doesn’t have to be that all the way. There is a concept called reallocation of resources.” Former Minister of Tourism Ali, commented, “it is clear that the APNU-AFc government intends to ‘reallocate’ the country’s resources into the pockets of their bloated Ministerial portfolios. Even while stiffing the ordinary wage earners.”

If true a very bad move. Ordinary civil servants deserve an increase.  Not so ministers and MPs, especially when the govt is complaining about the poor financial state that the PPP left the country in.

This is why the PPP needs to stop sulking and whining, and act like a responsible opposition party.

The raping of Guyana continues.  Looks like this is going to be a one-term government.  These people are paying themselves super salaries in a donkey cart economy.  What a shame.

Originally Posted by asj:

With these fabulous increases, there will be no need for thieving Ministers.

Really, you will see, even millionaires find reason to steal.  What was needed was not exorbitant salary increases but a front loaded and lucrative deferred comp with reasonable vesting conditional on the execution of their responsibilities clear of bribery and corruption.  There should always be attractive value at risk for improper acts.  Any conviction in a court of law would encumber this asset.

Originally Posted by VVP:

The raping of Guyana continues.  Looks like this is going to be a one-term government.  These people are paying themselves super salaries in a donkey cart economy.  What a shame.

I am just amazed and astounded that these folks are so stupid to raid the treasury, even as they condemned the PPP for doing this.

They are hedging on giving the civil servants, who earn US$200, a salary increase, and yet want to provide more to people whose total remuneration will not be a disgrace in other parts of the Caribbean, as the average Guyanese wage is.

If the PPP sulks they deserve to let these people win.  As of now they should be mobilizing people to protest against this, if it is true.

This is a DISGRACE, and if true, will clearly confirm my worst fears that these are ageing people who want their spoils before they get too old.

Did Moses say anything against this, or is he joining in the fun...Mitwah what did your Lord Moses do?

Really, you will see, even millionaires find reason to steal.  What was needed was not exorbitant salary increases but a front loaded and lucrative deferred comp with reasonable vesting conditional on the execution of their responsibilities clear of bribery and corruption.  There should always be attractive value at risk for improper acts.  Any conviction in a court of law would encumber this asset.

This a form of theft.  They are using their power to unilaterally attribute to themselves part of the taxpayers' money.

The PPP should make the coalition look stupid by refusing this pay increase.

I am just amazed and astounded that these folks are so stupid to raid the treasury, even as they condemned the PPP for doing this.

They are hedging on giving the civil servants, who earn US$200, a salary increase, and yet want to provide more to people whose total remuneration will not be a disgrace in other parts of the Caribbean, as the average Guyanese wage is.

If the PPP sulks they deserve to let these people win.  As of now they should be mobilizing people to protest against this, if it is true.

This is a DISGRACE, and if true, will clearly confirm my worst fears that these are ageing people who want their spoils before they get too old.

Did Moses say anything against this, or is he joining in the fun...Mitwah what did your Lord Moses do?

Listen, as Crum-Ewing rightly said, the PNC just wanted to get their hands in the cookie jar.  Imagine, new positions got huge starting salaries, this is 100% added costs in addition to the large increases in existing positions.  The average worker will suck wind when inflation eats up their little raises and the poor will be left to eat grass.

I tell you, Guyana headed for another economic collapse.

This a form of theft.  They are using their power to unilaterally attribute to themselves part of the taxpayers' money.

I have to give you credit, you are more objective than I thought and a high degree of value on equity ans fairness.  On this count, baseman and you coincide.  These latest position you took has caused me to step back and reevaluate my assessment of you.

i agree wholeheartedly with such an increase . . . i am on record here consistently recommending this

it is NOT corrupt! it will likely discourage (not eliminate) corruption

however, the timing (if true) and the PR is monstrously tone deaf . . . budget 2016 after LGE would have been smarter

who are the idiots advising the president?

i agree wholeheartedly with such an increase . . . i am on record here consistently recommending this

however, the timing (if true) and the PR is monstrously tone deaf . . . budget 2016 after LGE would have been smarter

It was not corrupt too when Jagdeo give away Sanata and govt contracts to his buddy Ramroop.

You simply cannot have super salary in a donkey cart economy.  It is bare faced thieving.

I would agree with the overall comp package but with a sizable component deferred and create "value at risk".  It does not matter how much you make, your lifestyle settles at that level, then the temptation returns when some additional need arises for which you never planned or you wish to go even higher beyond your means, a normal human attribute/weakness.

They have announced these big increases just after representing that the "Rudisa" tax loss will create budgetary stress.  How barefaced and dishonest.

It was not corrupt too when Jagdeo give away Sanata and govt contracts to his buddy Ramroop.

is that a serious response? . . . or u seriously into comedy this weekend

Listen, as Crum-Ewing rightly said, the PNC just wanted to get their hands in the cookie jar.  Imagine, new positions got huge starting salaries, this is 100% added costs in addition to the large increases in existing positions.  The average worker will suck wind when inflation eats up their little raises and the poor will be left to eat grass.

I can raise no argument with you. How can they campaign on PPP corruption, and then engage in those wholesale raid of the cookie jar.  They will claim that it is legal, but guess what, if they control the process to pay themselves, then maybe its just another form of corruption.

Winston Jordan has enough time to withdraw this, and claim t6hat it is a "misunderstanding".

I can raise no argument with you. How can they campaign on PPP corruption, and then engage in those wholesale raid of the cookie jar.  They will claim that it is legal, but guess what, if they control the process to pay themselves, then maybe its just another form of corruption.

Winston Jordan has enough time to withdraw this, and claim t6hat it is a "misunderstanding".

Legality and morality are not the same.

If people want to steal they will steal.  At a time when the economy is shaky, with issues in sugar, rice and gold, in addition to the ongoing bauxite saga, and at a time when they claim that the PPP was involved in massive theft and waste, how can they pay themselves a hefty 70% increase?  In what planet can this be excused?

This is on top of a bloated administration, with 29 ministers.  Some like Felix, and Ally, clearly being rewarded for being "loyal party people".

At best they should get the same 10% that the civil servants get.

'Just because one might have supported APNU/AFC doesn't mean that we should endorse their "mistakes".

is that a serious response? . . . or u seriously into comedy this weekend

Yes it is serious.   It is just another form of "legal thieving." 

I have to give you credit, you are more objective than I thought and a high degree of value on equity ans fairness.  On this count, baseman and you coincide.  These latest position you took has caused me to step back and reevaluate my assessment of you.

You will have noted that I have always been sharply critical of the PPP, AFC, and APNU.  In fact earning the ire of some coalition supporters.

Wrong is wrong!  And not only is this wrong, but it is stupid. Expect the PPP to make some gains when the LGE comes later this year, if they go through with this.

This is exactly why I cautioned many coalition supporters, when they engaged in stupidity like claiming that corruption will end.  These are mere politicians and are doing what these types do. 

This is the time when Guyanese must remember what Ulele told them.  If APNU/AFC do wrong HOLD THEM TO ACCOUNT.

If people want to steal they will steal.  At a time when the economy is shaky, with issues in sugar, rice and gold, in addition to the ongoing bauxite saga, and at a time when they claim that the PPP was involved in massive theft and waste, how can they pay themselves a hefty 70% increase?  In what planet can this be excused?

This is on top of a bloated administration, with 29 ministers.  Some like Felix, and Ally, clearly being rewarded for being "loyal party people".

'Just because one might have supported APNU/AFC doesn't mean that we should endorse their "mistakes".

wtf are u talking about?

i am not part of you and baseman dem consensus about "mistakes"

i advocated the significant raising of ministerial and equivalent salaries long, long before 5/11

focus

The 12 Junior Ministers will each earn $700,000 monthly and like senior Ministers will be entitled to the $500,000 benefits. Therefore all the ministers- all 27 of them will also receive a duty allowance, an entertainment allowance, $45,000, housing allowance; chauffeur allowance of over $100,000 and annual vacation allowance of $420,000.

The APNU and AFC, when in Opposition, had vigorously spoken out against the “abuse” of taxpayers’ money to fill the pockets of the “greedy” government officials

Now we are seeing the APNU/AFC as the "greedy government officials"

Can Guyana afford such extravagance?

wtf are u talking about?

i am not part of you and baseman dem consensus about "mistakes"

i advocated the significant raising of ministerial and equivalent salaries long, long before 5/11

focus

Since I was with the AFC back in 2011 I was a proponent of the deferred comp and other benefits model.  The PNC is into "instant gratification", but as we all know, such have a short half-life.

focus

Don't worry.  As the economy slows, with a reduction not only in gold prices, but also in production, this hitting a significant part of the PNC base, expect the PPP to recover in the LGE as many PNC supporters stay home in disgust.  Many will say that this is exactly why they usually don't vote.

This is Granger and his ageing cronies trying to snatch as much as they can while they have the opportunity to do so.  They should have waited until they delivered on their promises, but their greed and arrogance leads them to hold Guyanese in utter contempt.  But when we see how Granger handles the PNC, why are we shocked?

focus

Don't worry.  As the economy slows with a reduction not only in gold prices, but also in production, this hitting a significant part of the PNC base, expect the PPP to recover in the LGE as many PNC supporters stay home in disgust.  Many will say that this is exactly why they usually don't vote.

This is Granger and his ageing cronies trying to snatch as much as they can while they have the opportunity to do so.

klowning deserves no rebuttal

carry on

focus

Don't worry.  As the economy slows with a reduction not only in gold prices, but also in production, this hitting a significant part of the PNC base, expect the PPP to recover in the LGE as many PNC supporters stay home in disgust.  Many will say that this is exactly why they usually don't vote.

This is Granger and his ageing cronies trying to snatch as much as they can while they have the opportunity to do so.

Bai, you and baseman more alike than we care to admit, except sometimes we shout from different banks of the river of Jordan.  This is them bais last "erection" so the going in without any conscience.

klowning deserves no rebuttal

carry on

Ad he sits down in NYC, sheltered from a slowing economy he can engage in his usual theoretical fantasies.

But think of people who are seeing their incomes dwindle as their earnings from gold decline, and watch how they respond when they hear the big ones, the same ones who promised to rescue Guyana from PPP corruption, just increased their salary to US $!00k, in a land where the average person barely makes US$2,000.  And then get other perks on top of that.

focus

Bai, you and baseman more alike than we care to admit, except sometimes we shout from different banks of the river of Jordan.  This is them bais last "erection" so the going in without any conscience.

sure bai . . . a lil salary increase is now "going in without any conscience" nuh?

fascinating 'perspective' without reference points, especially when we cotemplate the Jagdeoite takings this past decade and a half

uh huh . . .

It will be the last, before total impotency sets in, and there will be no Viagra to rescue them.

Now this is the time for the PPP to quit sulking and to inform Guyanese about what the APNU/AFC is doing. They should compare the salaries of the President and PM with the equivalent people in T&T and Barbados, nations considerably wealthier than Guyana.

If the PPP does this, then APNU can no longer complain of PPP corruption, because they are proving themselves to be no better.

If they had done good work in raising the economy, creating more jobs, and overseeing a higher quality of service provided by the gov't then this might be in order.

But they have done nothing, as it impacts the average person, and now THIS.

I only hope that this is a Guyana Times lie, and that Jordan comes out and says that no such thing is being planned.

sure bai . . . a lil salary increase is now "going in without any conscience" nuh?

fascinating 'perspective,' especially when we observe the Jagdeoite takings this past decade and a half

smfh

I bet you all the cops and nurses and teachers wished that they could get a 75% pay increase.  THEY are the ones who must subsist on wages so low, that they are too embarrassed to tell their Bajan friends how much they make. 

I am sure that a Bajan will be impressed with Nagamootoo's US$100k BASE salary, and definitely with Granger's.

It will be the last, before total impotency sets in, and there will be no Viagra to rescue them.

Now this is the time for the PPP to quit sulking and to inform Guyanese about what the APNU/AFC is doing. They should compare the salaries of the President and PM with the equivalent people in T&T and Barbados, nations considerably wealthier than Guyana.

If the PPP does this, then APNU can no longer complain of PPP corruption, because they are proving themselves to be no better.

If they had done good work in raising the economy, creating more jobs, and overseeing a higher quality of service provided by the gov't then this might be in order.

But they have done nothing, as it impacts the average person, and now THIS.

I only hope that this is a Guyana Times lie, and that Jordan comes out and says that no such thing is being planned.

Lets hope, as it will be a great disappointment and in just 100 days. Who knows what 100 months bring.

fascinating 'perspective' without reference points, especially when we cotemplate the Jagdeoite takings this past decade and a half

uh huh . . .

Of course if the first thing that these people do is give themselves 75% more, maybe they will think that they can engage in Jagdeoite corruption, to the cheers of sycophants like you.

They clearly like their wallets, that much we know.

fascinating 'perspective,' especially when we observe the Jagdeoite takings this past decade and a half

smfh

I bet you all the cops and nurses and teachers wished that they could get a 75% pay increase.  THEY are the ones who must subsist on wages so low, that they are too embarrassed to tell their Bajan friends how much they make. 

I am sure that a Bajan will be impressed with Nagamootoo's US$100k BASE salary, and definitely with Granger's.

Greed is an equal opportunity infector!!

smfh

the Bajan PM base salary in 2011-2012 was $US100k

what's your point?

Who knows, maybe out of this will come a true credible nationalist 3rd party uniting the people and bringing responsible government.  I thought this was the AFC back in 2011 and after interacting with them, I realize these were PPP rejects seeking revenge and their "day in the sun".  The lack of intellectual honesty and anti-PPP anger was so palpable, gave an uncomfortable feeling of what they would actually do should they gain power.  I could not reconcile with this mindset.

Baseman was ridiculed, cussed and lots of lies spread to discredit/discourage and shut me up.  Baseman will prove to be correct in his assessment.  However, I must say, HE Granger has [thus far] been my biggest disappointment, if this turns out to be true.

smfh

what's your point?

What's the per-capita GDP of Bbdos vs Guyana?

Who knows, maybe out of this will come a true credible nationalist 3rd party uniting the people and bringing responsible government . . .

says the bigot crocodile with a wink as he wipes his mouth carna

lol

smfh

what's your point?

What's the per-capita GDP of Bbdos vs Guyana?

why do you ask?