Govt initiates delaying tactics ahead of CCJ’s ruling

No-confidence motion case

…new evidence against Charrandas desperate – Datadin

Attorney-at-law Sanjeev Datadin has accused the APNU+AFC Coalition of misleading the public with the recent application it made to the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) regarding the pending appeals on the no-confidence motion.
In an apparent move to further delay the court’s rulings on the appeals, the Government is now seeking to have introduced new evidence relating to former AFC Member of Parliament Charrandas Persaud, he said.
However, in a statement late Friday night, Persaud’s attorney in the proceedings, Datadin, sought to clear the air on the application being sought by the Government.
“The application filed by the Attorney General is desperate. It is another ‘red herring’ designed to mislead the nation. The AG has deliberately and mischievously not disclosed the whole truth of the statement made by our client, Charrandas Persaud. The statement is sadly taken wholly out of context,” the attorney said in the statement.
According to Datadin, he would be filing a response with the CCJ immediately.
In an application filed by Senior Counsel Eamon Courtenay on behalf of Attorney General Basil Williams on Friday, the Trinidad-based regional court is being asked to, among other things, grant permission for the submission of new evidence that has recently become available to the AG.
According to the court application, the evidence “will probably have an important influence on the outcome of this appeal, and… is credible,” and as such, Government is seeking permission to make submissions on whether the new evidence should be admitted; and if admitted, the relevance of the new evidence to the outcome of the appeal.
The “new evidence” has to do with comments made by the former AFC MP Charrandas Persaud, who crossed over to vote in favour of the Opposition’s no confidence motion against the Coalition Government.
The application was filed on the grounds that, among other things, there was no direct evidence of whether Persaud knew that he was unqualified to be candidate and disqualified from sitting in the National Assembly.
Having heard oral submissions from the various parties in the consolidated appeals in two marathon sessions on May 9 and 10, the CCJ panel of judges is expected to deliver their ruling within the coming days. However, with this move by the Government, this process can further be delayed.
Much is hinging on whatever decision the court delivers, but the most crucial decision would be on the calculation of what constitutes a “majority” to give effect to Art 106 (6): “The President and the Cabinet shall resign if the Government is defeated by a vote of majority of all elected members of the National Assembly on a vote of confidence.”
Following the December 21, 2018 passage of the no confidence motion against the Government, the Coalition Government challenged the validity of the motion; and after failing to get the Speaker of the National Assembly, Dr. Barton Scotland, to reverse it, Government approached the High Court.
However, acting Chief Justice Roxane George in January upheld the passage of the motion, ruling that it was validly passed with the 33 majority. This decision was then appealed by Government at the Appeal Court, which in March ruled via a 2-1 majority that an absolute majority of 34 votes is needed to successfully pass the motion.
As a last resort, the CCJ is being asked to finally determine these matters.

AG asks Caribbean Court to consider new evidence from Charrandass Persaud implicating Ramjattan

AFC DEFECTOR: Charrandass Persaud.

Attorney General, Basil Williams has asked the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) to take new evidence showing that then government parliamentarian, Charrandass Persaud, had known since 2015 that he ought not to have been a candidate because he holds dual citizenship.

In court papers seen by Demerara Waves Online News, Williams told the Trinidad-headquartered Court that on May 11, 2019 Persaud said on a Globespan programme that “I knew that people with dual citizenship could not hold a seat in parliament. That was given, that is a constitutional article that we cannot get away from,” Persaud was quoted as saying.

The Attorney General says he wants the CCJ to grant permission to adduce new evidence which has recently become available “and which will probably have an important influence on the outcome of this appeal, and which is credible”.

Williams wants the court to allow him to make submissions in the consolidated appeals on the relevance of the new evidence to the outcome of the appeal.

Persaud reportedly made the comment a day after oral arguments were concluded into the validity of last December’s no-confidence motion.

The Guyana Court of Appeal has ruled that the motion was not validly passed by 33 votes and had required an absolute majority of 34 of the 65 parliamentary votes.

In an affidavit, State Counsel Mc Alman explained that a YouTube video contains Persaud recalling that Alliance For Change Chairman Khemraj Ramjattan had brushed aside his concerns about being the holder of dual citizenship. Persaud is a Guyanese-Canadian.

Mc Alman states in a second affidavit that she watched the video and heard Persaud saying that “I knew that people with dual citizenship could not hold a seat in parliament. That was given, that’s a constitutional article that we can’t get away from. What I, did in fact argue, and when I told Khemraj, I said ‘I have a Canadian passport.’ Khemraj said, ‘rass with you, a lot of people have Canadian passports. Look at Gail Teixeira.’ That’s what he said.”

Mc Alman added in her affidavit that that was the first time she had heard Persaud admit that he knew that people with dual citizenship were not qualified to sit in the National Assembly. “It was also the first time that I heard Mr. Persaud say that he was aware of the constitutional provision that disqualified persons with dual citizenship from sitting in parliament,” she said.

The State Solicitor said she believed that the Attorney General did not know of the new evidence until Monday this week when it was brought to his attention by Sean Ramdeholl. She added that Williams shared the hyperlink to the video with Belizean Senior Counsel Eamon Courtenay and sought his advice to ascertain whether an application could be made to the CCJ to consider new evidence.

Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo’s lawyer, Senior Counsel Douglas Mendes has already told the CCJ in oral arguments that it was conceivable that Persaud had never known that dual nationals could not be parliamentarians.

Government ministers Carl Greenidge, Joseph Harmon, Rupert Roopnaraine and Dominic Gaskin, as well opposition parliamentarians Gail Teixeira, Odinga Lumumba and Adrian Anamayah have all resigned because they are dual citizenship holders.

What I, did in fact argue, and when I told Khemraj, I said ‘I have a Canadian passport.’ Khemraj said, ‘rass with you, a lot of people have Canadian passports. Look at Gail Teixeira.’ That’s what he said.”

IT WAS OK WITH RUMJAAT.

Mc Alman states in a second affidavit that she watched the video and heard Persaud saying that “I knew that people with dual citizenship could not hold a seat in parliament.

Where was this Mc Alman fool when the case was before the CCJ? Guyana and PNC have some fools for attorneys. These are what we termed as "shithole wannabee lawyers". Looks like these dudes received their overnight law degrees through the mail from Nigeria.

Mc Alman states in a second affidavit that she watched the video and heard Persaud saying that “I knew that people with dual citizenship could not hold a seat in parliament.

Where was this Mc Alman fool when the case was before the CCJ? Guyana and PNC have some fools for attorneys. These are what we termed as "shithole wannabee lawyers". Looks like these dudes received their overnight law degrees through the mail from Nigeria.

Why NIGERIA?

Where do you get yours from? India, Pakistan, Mexico?

Time to dump the CCJ and go back to the Privy Council.   The time has come to fight fire with fire.   The bullies are blatant and shameless.

Who will dump the CCJ ?  the opposition will be out to form a gov't for awhile under the current leadership.

Time to dump the CCJ and go back to the Privy Council.   The time has come to fight fire with fire.   The bullies are blatant and shameless.

Who will dump the CCJ ?  the opposition will be out to form a gov't for awhile under the current leadership.

PNC giving you a lot of information.  That’s very dangerous.

gal, let us wait and see what they do.

PNC giving you a lot of information.  That’s very dangerous.

No !!!   my own prediction.

It’s a month since the hearing.  What’s the holdup? It was obvious what the decision was two minutes after the final presentation at CCJ.

I agree with Bibi. Time to go back to the Privy Council.

It’s a month since the hearing.  What’s the holdup? It was obvious what the decision was two minutes after the final presentation at CCJ.

For the simple mind ,

one of the Judge said Guyana Constitution is unique, also there are conflicts with two pieces of amendments, created by the bright boys of the PPP.

I totally agree BUT will still wait on them.

For the simple mind ,

one of the Judge said Guyana Constitution is unique, also there are conflicts with two pieces of amendments, created by the bright boys of the PPP.

The USA will decide who runs Guyana.  When I said this two month ago, someone said where I get this from. 

The coalition will shorten their tenure by a token 3 months if they lose in court.  They have no intention of leaving earlier.  Furthermore, they are intent on two terms.

There are no other avenues!

Bibi, I said that before. I agree with you. The CCJ is working according to the time table of GECOM. The PNC knows this that is why they are aging this out. It wouldn’t surprise me that the CCJ is secretly telling the PNC what to do to get a win. They are all corrupted.

Dondadda posted:

Bibi, I said that before. I agree with you.

The CCJ is working according to the time table of GECOM. The PNC knows this that is why they are aging this out.It wouldn’t surprise me that the CCJ is secretly telling the PNC what to do to get a win. They are all corrupted.

Quite an insinuation !!!

Lets spell it out , in the Caribbean Africans are corrupted East Indians are saints.

At present, five Commonwealth Caribbean countries – The Bahamas, Barbados, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Dominica and St. Lucia – rank among the 50 least corrupt countries in the world, while none sit among the top 20 most corrupt.

Wha deh Rass yuh think I am a scientist??

Bai, why you making people life difficult?  Shut up and Do wuh di man seh!!

You sound like my lil son, every question gets a question and ever order gets a challenge!

Dondadda posted:

The CCJ is working according to the time table of GECOM. The PNC knows this that is why they are aging this out.It wouldn’t surprise me that the CCJ is secretly telling the PNC what to do to get a win. They are all corrupted.

Quite an insinuation !!!

Lets spell it out , in the Caribbean Africans are corrupted East Indians are saints.

At present, five Commonwealth Caribbean countries – The Bahamas, Barbados, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Dominica and St. Lucia – rank among the 50 least corrupt countries in the world, while none sit among the top 20 most corrupt.

Django, you can spell out what you want to spell out but remember you said it. I didn’t. If the CCJ is worth their salt they would have rendered a decision already given the gravity of the issue. Secondly, they should reject the insane application from The AG regarding new information. Ramjattan, the PPP, PNC/AFC/WPA knew or at least ought to have known the provisions of the Constitution before they appointed their MPs to the Legislative Assembly.

Dondadda posted:

Quite an insinuation !!!

Django, you can spell out what you want to spell out but remember you said it. I didn’t. If the CCJ is worth their salt they would have rendered a decision already given the gravity of the issue. Secondly, they should reject the insane application from The AG regarding new information. Ramjattan, the PPP, PNC/AFC/WPA knew or at least ought to have known the provisions of the Constitution before they appointed their MPs to the Legislative Assembly.

Everyone knows what the constitution says. It’s all now a big chess game.  PPP upset PNC apple cart! 

Dondadda posted:

Quite an insinuation !!!

Django, you can spell out what you want to spell out but remember you said it. I didn’t.

If the CCJ is worth their salt they would have rendered a decision already given the gravity of the issue.

Secondly, they should reject the insane application from The AG regarding new information.

Ramjattan, the PPP, PNC/AFC/WPA knew or at least ought to have known the provisions of the Constitution before they appointed their MPs to the Legislative Assembly.

Normally decisions by the CCJ is 3 months, I am sure they will announce the decision before that time.

No Court on the Planet should take so long in a case with this urgency and importance, NONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

WTR bai, TT court took five years to figure if the plants found in Kamla property was Ganja!!

Dondadda posted:

Quite an insinuation !!!

Django, you can spell out what you want to spell out but remember you said it. I didn’t.

If the CCJ is worth their salt they would have rendered a decision already given the gravity of the issue.

Secondly, they should reject the insane application from The AG regarding new information.

Ramjattan, the PPP, PNC/AFC/WPA knew or at least ought to have known the provisions of the Constitution before they appointed their MPs to the Legislative Assembly.

Normally decisions by the CCJ is 3 months, I am sure they will announce the decision before that time.

CCJ being arseloch!  Dem want PNC rule because onkel Sam seh so!

No Court on the Planet should take so long in a case with this urgency and importance, NONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

WTR bai, TT court took five years to figure if the plants found in Kamla property was Ganja!!

That case is/was not as important /urgent as Charandaas SAYS NO!!

True true duh!!  And di man ain’t seh NO for No reason!

Nehru what de rass you drinking on this Friday afternoon.  Charandas said, Yes, Yes, Yes!  

My guess is that after dummy Williams suggested that the PNC supporters will burn the country down if they don't get their way, the judges in T&T are in no hurry to see Guyana go up in smoke.