Govt. spying on Opposition?…Housing Minister under fire for statements on GT&T recording

December 31, 2013 | By | Filed Under News 

The Alliance For Change (AFC) has called on Housing Minister, Irfaan Ali, to explain statements that suggest conversations were being recorded by one telephone company.

Housing Minister, Irfaan Ali

According to the seven-seat Opposition faction in a statement yesterday, it is deeply disturbed by the comments of Minister Ali and now wants answers. During a press conference at his Brickdam office Friday, Ali said he will be requesting the Guyana Telephone and Telegraph Company (GT&T) to provide a recording of a conversation that was held between his secretary and AFC’s Leader, Khemraj Ramjattan. Ali had requested his secretary to invite the Member of Parliament to the press conference on Friday to ask questions on housing developments on the East Bank of Demerara. On Christmas Day, an article in Kaieteur News raised questions about the allocations of large swathes of lands to private developers. Ramjattan had expressed concerns. However, according to the Minister, Ramjattan reportedly told his secretary that the Minister should “haul his ass”. Ramjattan allegedly repeated his statements in an email invitation that the Ministry sent the same day. According to Ali, Ramjattan “was loud and abusive to my secretary and slammed the phone down. We are hoping that we can request of GT&T to have a recording…” But AFC yesterday said it took the Minister’s statements on the GT&T recordings as serious. “It is obvious, from his definitive remark, that Minister Ali is aware that the Guyana Telephone and Telegraph Company records telephone conversations either of the Ministry of Housing or Mr. Ramjattan’s phone.”

AFC’s Leader, Khemraj Ramjattan

AFC pointed out that Cabinet Secretary, Dr. Roger Luncheon, had admitted to the nation that the authorities have recorded telephone conversations but he explained that these were exclusively related to criminal activity. “The AFC reminds the nation that based on the wiretapping legislation passed in the National Assembly, the security services may seek the formal legal permission of a judge to have the telephone of a company or person tapped upon provision of compelling reasons to do so.” AFC, in its statement, stressed that by his own “bold admission”, Minister Ali has told the nation that either his ministry’s phones are tapped or “Mr. Ramjattan’s phone is tapped (or both)”. “The AFC demands that Minister Ali provide to the nation full disclosure of all information he is privy to in this regard. Further the AFC demands of the PPP government to disclose to the nation a full list of all political officials whose phones are tapped, the reasons proffered for such, who requested such tapping, who ordered such tapping and what period such phones have been tapped.” AFC also expressed worry that “this ominous admission” would suggest that the phones of any member of the public could be tapped without the prescribed legal permission to do so. “The AFC warns the public to take necessary precautions until there is full disclosure from the PPP government on this sinister development. The AFC advises the public to be especially cautious in telephone

Cabinet Secretary, Dr. Roger Luncheon

engagements with the Ministry of Housing since, by the admission of the Minister, that ministry’s phones could be tapped and all conversations recorded.” Yesterday, GT&T’s Chief Executive Officer, Radha Krishna Sharma, made it clear that as a matter of policy and protocol, “we do not record conversations.”

The Minister is RIGHT. Let the stinking LIAR be exposed.  The Telephone Company should publish the Transcript!!!!  Dat SHAMELESS Neemackaram!!! That is how he speaks to his wife!!!!!!!!!!!!

you sound like a old gutter women you sure you live in the USA

you Nah meh live in yuh Attic.

you is one raccoon that have to crawl in some ppp hole

Crawl in hole. HEHEHE YUh right.

kwame will call you his bitch for the new year good luck

Govt. admits to wiretapping citizens’ phone calls

January 1, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

- Luncheon denies spying on political opposition

The Guyana Government has admitted that it spies on citizens through the wiretapping of private telephone conversations, but this is done only in the investigation of criminal activities. This revelation came from Head of the Presidential Secretariat, Dr Roger Luncheon, who was yesterday responding to a call by Alliance for Change (AFC) Leader, Khemraj Ramjattan, who said that based on a comment by Housing Minister, Irfaan Ali, the government needs to come clean on whether it is wiretapping.

Head of the presidential Secretariat, Dr Roger Luncheon

Dr. Luncheon yesterday however, vehemently denied that the administration was wiretapping the phones of opposition politicians. He also did not say whether the government was spying on landlines or on the cellular phones. “I can speak authoritatively,” said Dr Luncheon. He added that since the enactment and commencement order for the wiretapping laws there has been none such done to politicians. Dr. Luncheon said “I don’t know what on earth could have possessed the AFC Leader into making the insinuation. I want to reassure him, if that is indeed possible, that his fears generally should be disregarded,” urged Luncheon, who said too that there is no basis for Ramjattan thinking that the Government of Guyana and the Telecommunication service providers would engage in unauthorized wiretapping of his phone or any that of Guyanese. Dr. Luncheon insists that wiretapping is prescribed by law. “I continue to offer the assurance to Guyanese that any wiretapping that is done in Guyana fully subscribes with the legal framework and he (Ramjattan) need not worry.” Luncheon stressed that “the realm and the resort to wiretapping is prescribed by law to which this Government adheres fully.” He said that the focus of the legislation and wiretapping continues exclusively to be “crime, investigation of crime… We have enacted the law and we are using the law in pursuit of criminal investigations.” Dr. Luncheon said that he was unable to provide at this time, details of the number of wiretapping that has taken place. He said that this information is not usually with Cabinet or the Defence Board. Asked why none of the wiretapping evidence gathered has ever reached the court to be used in police prosecutions, Dr. Luncheon said that it is a misconception that evidence-based information only exists when it is used in court.

ramjattan 1 He suggested that when the information of a criminal plot is secured using a wiretap that information is acted upon. Ramjattan, on Monday, called on the Housing Minister, Irfaan Ali, to explain statements which suggested conversations were being recorded by the telephone company. During a press conference at his Brickdam office Friday, Ali said that he would request the Guyana Telephone and Telegraph Company (GT&T) to provide a recording of a conversation that was held between his secretary and AFC’s Leader, Khemraj Ramjattan. Ali had requested his secretary to invite the Member of Parliament to the press conference on Friday to ask questions on housing developments on the East Bank of Demerara. On Christmas Day, an article in Kaieteur News raised questions about the allocations of large swathes of lands to private developers. Ramjattan had expressed concerns. According to Ali, Ramjattan “was loud and abusive to my secretary and slammed the phone down. We are hoping that we can request of GT&T to have a recording…” But AFC on Monday said it took the Minister’s statements on the GT&T recordings as serious. “It is obvious, from his definitive remark, that Minister Ali is aware that the Guyana Telephone and Telegraph Company records telephone conversations either of the Ministry of Housing or Mr. Ramjattan’s phone.” GT&T’s Chief Executive Officer, Radha Krishna Sharma, in an invited comment on Monday said that as a matter of policy and protocol, “we do not record conversations.”