Gov’t fires GPL’s CEO

August 14, 2015 8:31 am Category: latest news A+ / A-

CEO of GPL, Bharrat Dindyal

[www.inewsguyana.com] – The APNU+AFC government has decided to fire Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Guyana Power and Light (GPL), Bharat Dindyal, which takes effect from 16:00 hrs on Friday, August 14.

A release from the Ministry of Presidency noted that the CEO’s substantive contract came to an end on December 31, 2014 and that it was not renewed.

“Mr. Dindyal continued to serve as GPL CEO based on what was described as “an understanding” between himself and the previous subject minister, Prime Minister Samuel Hinds. No written documentation has been provided with regard to this “understanding,” the release noted.

According to the government, based on information provided, this “understanding” was apparently for a six month period which commenced on January 1, 2015 and concluded on June 30, 2015.

“Mr. Dindyal communicated to new subject Minister, the Minister of Public Infrastructure, Mr. David Patterson that he intended to part ways with GPL but was prepared to remain as CEO for an interim transition period,” the release noted.

According to the Ministry of Presidency, Minister Patterson, having thoroughly examined these pertinent facts along with Mr. Dindyal’s intervention in matters relating to staff (some of which was video recorded and has been extensively viewed on social media) and his own performance appraisal and other relevant information, last evening advised Cabinet of the decision to conclude Mr. Dindyal’s engagement with GPL.

It was noted that a subsequent announcement will be made with regard to the plan relating to the administrative leadership of GPL.

Recently, the CEO had intervened in a matter where the Deputy CEO sent two managers on administrative leave. A verbal spat between the two were recorded and vent viral on social media, where the CEO could be heard using expletive language against his deputy and reinstating the men to work.

Originally Posted by Django:
Originally Posted by VVP:
And the exchange continues.

Waiting to see see what the exchange will be.

Exchange? How about a PNC card for food. Just like old times.

IT IS PNC TIME AGAIN" SQUARE PEGS IN ROUND HOLES"

GUYANA GONE FUH CHANNA!!!

GET YOUR PARTY CARDS NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I wonder why he never renewed his contract when it expired?

Put wan lazy primary school dropout blackman in charge. Just like the old PNC days.

Yo rass lucky I feel nice today or I would tell you to shut yo patax.

Put wan lazy primary school dropout blackman in charge. Just like the old PNC days.

Yo rass lucky I feel nice today or I would tell you to shut yo patax.

I would ah give you rass dry parsley fuh smoke.