Imagine this.  And BJ disapproved a Guyanese Pa businessman from getting the duty free concessions to set up dairy operations in Moblissa.  Guyana importing milk imagine that. Understand why there is so much rural poverty in Guyana.  Import cheap, who has money enjoy, the rest starve.  

Sometimes I think it’s best the PNC give it a try again.  

The more you look, one wonders what is the economic legacy left by BJ. 

I agree.  When the PPP gets rid of Jagdeo and he retires from politics, and hopefully leaves Guyana then they can be up for considerations.

With all of his weaknesses, and he has many, Granger is not any where near as bad as Jagdeo.  Now Harmon...………..that is another issue.

They import fruit juices from Trinidad and Barbados with all that land we have to do commercial farming. We shouldn't be importing these commodities from other countries. Peter Ramsaroop had set up the facilities to do it a few years ago when he was anti-PPP but they sent their goons to burn down his facility. Fruit and vegetables are big business on the export market. It's time we look into what can be done to tap into these markets instead of relying so heavily on sugar.

Trinidad I can see but Barbados hardly has any fruit trees.  They import fruit concentrate from Brazil, add water and sugar, package it and then send it back to South America.

Imagine this.  And BJ disapproved a Guyanese Pa businessman from getting the duty free concessions to set up dairy operations in Moblissa.  Guyana importing milk imagine that. Understand why there is so much rural poverty in Guyana.  Import cheap, who has money enjoy, the rest starve.  

Sometimes I think it’s best the PNC give it a try again.  

The more you look, one wonders what is the economic legacy left by BJ. 

I agree.  When the PPP gets rid of Jagdeo and he retires from politics, and hopefully leaves Guyana then they can be up for considerations.

With all of his weaknesses, and he has many, Granger is not any where near as bad as Jagdeo.  Now Harmon...………..that is another issue.

Wings getting clipped,

https://dpi.gov.gy/president-g...-oil-and-gas-sector/

Bhai,

Burnham experimented with all kind of products and failed miserably.

He did because he would have set up GuyMilk and put his YSM cronies to run it.

DDL is an international reputable company.  Even Caribbean Airlines promotes their product when a T&T product is readily available.

DDL is indeed a reputable company.  I hope this venture succeeds.  Guyana has the potential to produce vast amounts of dairy products.  

ou should know by now that I make excuses for nobody. Speak to me honestly and intelligently and we're fine. Throw nonsense at me and I will throw it back. Let's look at this case at hand. Could a DDL venture, if successful, help Guyana? I say we should at least try. When I was growing up we used fresh cow's milk that I picked up every day a few streets away from where I lived. Now Guyana spends $25M US to import Milk products. Granted "products" cover not just milk but things like cheese and some will still need to be imported.

Not sure about DDL, but you have a vested interest in the success of the PNC as you support these clowns.  The last time I checked, experience in distilling liquor does not necessarily translate into expertise in producing milk. If milk/dairy production is feasible then private industry will step up to the plate. Guyana should not be producing products just to have the bragging rights. It has to be economically feasible, subsidies should not be a crutch though, it should be used judicially. 

Who is ayoo?  Not me. PNC in charge now, we expect them to perform and live up to campaign promises, not make excuse by pointing backwards. 

Yet every utterance from you makes reference to the PNC of the Burnham era.  Why is that?  Do you know that the Declaration of Sophia was 45 years ago!

Nonsense, the only reference to pNc during ppp time was to address their destructive interference in economic growth through mo fiah slow fiah, and all around support for robbing and killing in order to make the country ungovernable. This behavior during PPP time is well documented. 

Bhai,

DDL is an international reputable company.  Even Caribbean Airlines promotes their product when a T&T product is readily available.

DDL is indeed a reputable company.  I hope this venture succeeds.  Guyana has the potential to produce vast amounts of dairy products.  

Oh yes? Name me one thing that PNC build successfully.  

Bhai,

Are you for real,the road ways are  still there and many other things,now tell what the PPP built .

Bhai,

Are you for real,the road ways are  still there and many other things,now tell what the PPP built .

You talking bout Water Street?

Bhai,

There you go with your usual self,what them PPP bhai built ?

This businessman already have a large business operation in Guyana on the East Bank.  He has homes in Pa and in Guyana.  I visited one business and saw it.  He employs about 300 people.  So stop talking sh1t while the Guyanese are forced to import milk, fruit juice and even chicken and the rural folks live in abject poverty!

You do nothing for Guyana, so let the people who do have their say!

How you know that?  I have business interests in Guyana and don't receive duty free concessions while competing with Chinese who get concessions from the PNC for one project and then turn around and bring in unrelated items, leveraging the same concessions to drive others out of the market via unfair competition. Meanwhile, why is it that this "business man" needs concessions if his business model is sound? Does he get concessions in PA also? No one is stopping PNC from giving him concessions, ask them, they are in power now.  BJ is an artifact post 2011, it is now 2018 and PNC in charge, let them correct the wrongs of BJ's administration.

Well, I don't know what business you're in and what hi-value equipment you are importing.  My nephew has an IT development outfit in Guyana and never sought Duty free as there was no hi-value capital outlay and they work for US customers anyway.

You cannot just feel free to judge everyone as you would not like to be judged!

In the end, the "bread basket" of the Caribbean is importing milk, fruit juices, chicken, plantain chips, etc.  If you don't see something wrong with that, then you are politically blind!

All you other tirade is nonsense, not worth the time.  If you are a true businessman, you can answer them yourself!

Bhai,

Roxanne Burnham Gardens.

Lets be fair.  The rebuilt a devastated infrastructure, they expanded the EBD road, they built that train line road, they expanded a lot of smaller roads which helped open up new lands for settlement!

I will criticize when I feel it's warranted, but you have to be fair.

Lets be fair.  The rebuilt a devastated infrastructure, they expanded the EBD road, they built that train line road, they expanded a lot of smaller roads which helped open up new lands for settlement!

Bhai,just asking,

Here is what Bibiski seh "Oh yes? Name me one thing that PNC build successfully "

Bhai,just asking,

Here is what Bibiski seh "Oh yes? Name me one thing that PNC build successfully "

Linden Highway, Corentyne highway, MMA project, Supernaam to Charity highway, the West coast highway, the (affordable) Demerara bridge, the Canje Bridge....etc!

Bhai,just asking,

Linden Highway, Corentyne highway, MMA project, Supernaam to Charity highway, the West coast highway, the (affordable) Demerara bridge, the Canje Bridge....etc!

Yuh forget they built the free education system up to the highest level,some does boast right here they went to top schools.

Bhai,just asking,

Yuh forget they built the free education system up to the highest level,some does boast right here they went to top schools.

Here you go with sh1t talk.  The PNC inherited what the British left.

With all the good the PNC did, they destroyed the nation and the economy!

They did some good thing, but the "f'd up the nation and were racist against Indians!

Bhai,just asking,

The FREE EDUCATION SYSTEM, I am talking about secondary schools and higher, started under the PPP with Dr. Jagan in early 60s. He built secondary schools that people like me could attend for free and get a quality education. Thanks, Papa Cheddi.

Nonsense, the only reference to pNc during ppp time was to address their destructive interference in economic growth through mo fiah slow fiah, and all around support for robbing and killing in order to make the country ungovernable. This behavior during PPP time is well documented. 

And here we go. Jagdeo's puppet was tossed out of office, 3 years ago and he left office 7 years ago and yet we cannot talk of him but we can talk of utterances made by Hoyte (who is DEAD btw) more than 20 years ago.

I know that you attended school in August but surely you know that Jagdeo was actively involved in gov't AFTER Hoyte DIED!

Bhai,just asking,

And I will add that BG was a land of red (unpaved) roads outside of the cities and the main sugar areas.  It was a very backward country.  Between 1964-70 basic physical infrastructure with put in.

Of course he let most of this be destroyed by the 80s so he gets little credit for this.

Here you go with sh1t talk.  The PNC inherited what the British left.

With all the good the PNC did, they destroyed the nation and the economy!

They did some good thing, but the "f'd up the nation and were racist against Indians!

And the British didn't leave that much. Their interest in British Guiana was pulling out sugar and bauxite and only had infrastructure to support that.  Cheddi gets credit for opening up secondary school education beyond the few who were wealthy or bright enough to win scholarships.  Burnham continued by expanding physical infrastructure and expanding secondary school education into the rural areas.

Had Burnham retired in 1973 he would have had a good legacy.  Its his lunacy after the Declaration of Sophia which created the bad image that he left.

I skeldon_man posted:

Bhai,just asking,

The FREE EDUCATION SYSTEM, I am talking about secondary schools and higher, started under the PPP with Dr. Jagan in early 60s. He built secondary schools that people like me could attend for free and get a quality education. Thanks, Papa Cheddi.

I agree.  Jagan did expand secondary schools through out Guyana to the rural areas.  That was one of his major accomplishments during his reign in the 60’s.  Credit where credit’s due. 

Bhai,just asking,

And I will add that BG was a land of red (unpaved) roads outside of the cities and the main sugar areas.  It was a very backward country.  Between 1964-70 basic physical infrastructure with put in.

Of course he let most of this be destroyed by the 80s so he gets little credit for this.

Yes, my uncle was the road overseer in the 60s and used part of the maintenance allotment and began putting down asphalt on the red burn brick East Coast Road.  

Well, I don't know what business you're in and what hi-value equipment you are importing.  My nephew has an IT development outfit in Guyana and never sought Duty free as there was no hi-value capital outlay and they work for US customers anyway. You cannot just feel free to judge everyone as you would not like to be judged! In the end, the "bread basket" of the Caribbean is importing milk, fruit juices, chicken, plantain chips, etc.  If you don't see something wrong with that, then you are politically blind! All you other tirade is nonsense, not worth the time.  If you are a true businessman, you can answer them yourself!

Not sure how you now jump to IT development. Stick to the issue of milk production. You stated that some businessman wanted concessions in order to produce milk.  You don't see anything wrong with that picture? Concessions equates to tax evasion for many businesses. In fact if you knew Guyanese, you would know that they use powder milk. The market for fresh milk is much smaller and expensive due to the need of refrigeration. 

I don't see how you concluded that I support importation of products that can be made locally. The onus is on the local producers, to produce competitively. The govt is already imposing tariffs on many imports in order to level the playing field for local producers. 

And here we go. Jagdeo's puppet was tossed out of office, 3 years ago and he left office 7 years ago and yet we cannot talk of him but we can talk of utterances made by Hoyte (who is DEAD btw) more than 20 years ago.

I know that you attended school in August but surely you know that Jagdeo was actively involved in gov't AFTER Hoyte DIED!

You can talk all you want about Jagdeo, even have him live in your house so you can experience his every bowel movement and flatulence. 

A man out of power 7 years and yet you can't find another fall guy to excuse pnc incompetency, clearly a sign of desperation. 

Burnham died almost 35 years and you all were screaming and ranting about events of 40 years ago.

Yet we cannot discuss a man who remains ACTIVE in Guyana politics.

Druggie go and sniff Jagdeo's flatulence.

Well, I don't know what business you're in and what hi-value equipment you are importing.  My nephew has an IT development outfit in Guyana and never sought Duty free as there was no hi-value capital outlay and they work for US customers anyway. You cannot just feel free to judge everyone as you would not like to be judged! In the end, the "bread basket" of the Caribbean is importing milk, fruit juices, chicken, plantain chips, etc.  If you don't see something wrong with that, then you are politically blind! All you other tirade is nonsense, not worth the time.  If you are a true businessman, you can answer them yourself!

Not sure how you now jump to IT development. Stick to the issue of milk production. You stated that some businessman wanted concessions in order to produce milk.  You don't see anything wrong with that picture? Concessions equates to tax evasion for many businesses. In fact if you knew Guyanese, you would know that they use powder milk. The market for fresh milk is much smaller and expensive due to the need of refrigeration. 

I don't see how you concluded that I support importation of products that can be made locally. The onus is on the local producers, to produce competitively. The govt is already imposing tariffs on many imports in order to level the playing field for local producers. 

Yes, I am sticking to the issue of Milk production for the domestic market.  Concessions does not equal tax evasion unless you do something else as was intended.

The initial costs of the equipment for the first phase was close to USD 600k before duties.  It would go to almost USD 1 mil with duties.  His costs will need to be passed onto the local consumers.  This translates to higher prices and many poorer consumers will be shut out.

Banna, unlike you, this man has a big business in Guyana as we speak.  He and sons live mostly in Guyana, not the USA.

I come back to my point, why is Guyana importing Milk, Fruit juice, plantain chips, fresh chicken....?

Why the "break basket" of the Caribbean is importing what Guyana should be exporting?  Answer that simple question!

Leh compare mango wid mango. Bridge fuh bridge.
PNC - Demerara bridge
PPP - Berbice bridge

Yuh need any mo examples? The demerara bride built by burnham still going strong and affordable fuh everybady.

Compare dat to yuh "fren" Jagdeo "bridge", funded by he "private partners" preying on Berbicians and sucking the life outta them. Does it not sit in your craw that this Russian trained CLOWN is the architect of one of Guyana's biggest FAILED ventures for the SECOND time? BOTH robbing he own race!

Alyuh is some blind ass people!

I come back to my point, why is Guyana importing Milk, Fruit juice, plantain chips, fresh chicken....?

Why the "break basket" of the Caribbean is importing what Guyana should be exporting?  Answer that simple question!

Yuh sound like Burnham. In the late 70's Burnham asked the same question and came up with the well intentioned FCH (feed, clothe, house), though poorly executed. It was people like YOU that saw this as genocide against Indians because LFS wanted to use local flour.

Y'all scream and shout that Burnham spiting Indians, keeping dem from mekking roti. Didn't black man mek bread? Didn't black people need flour for baked goods? Indians never saw it that way - dem scream that is genocide! Same as happening right hay on GNI, everything is genocide against Indians.

Burnham, meglomaniac that he was, was smart enough BACK THEN to realize the importance of preserving foreign currency. It was he who saw:
We shouldn't import apples and grapes given abundance of fresh fruits
we shouldn't import flour given our ability to make our own
milk and milk products (carnation) was inferior to fresh milk
etc.

Y'all are late to the party. Over 40 years later LFS was proven right, long after our currency collapsed. Think of the many industries that could have sprung up to support the local economy with local goods. Now yuh come hay like Columbus asking questions LFS addressed over 40 years ago.

Yuh sound like Burnham. In the late 70's Burnham asked the same question and came up with the well intentioned FCH (feed, clothe, house), though poorly executed. It was people like YOU that saw this as genocide against Indians because LFS wanted to use local flour.

Y'all scream and shout that Burnham spiting Indians, keeping dem from mekking roti. Didn't black man mek bread? Didn't black people need flour for baked goods? Indians never saw it that way - dem scream that is genocide! Same as happening right hay on GNI, everything is genocide against Indians.

Burnham, meglomaniac that he was, was smart enough BACK THEN to realize the importance of preserving foreign currency. It was he who saw:
etc.

Y'all are late to the party. Over 40 years later LFS was proven right, long after our currency collapsed. Think of the many industries that could have sprung up to support the local economy with local goods. Now yuh come hay like Columbus asking questions LFS addressed over 40 years ago.

FCH was not all bad.  However, not everything was well thought through, which brought lots of hardship.  The current Junta should engage the business community more and go with what's viable.

LFS was right about certain things and wrong about others!  Hopefully the current regime learn from their mistakes as the PPP come 2025!

etc.

FCH was not all bad.  However, not everything was well thought through, which brought lots of hardship.  The current Junta should engage the business community more and go with what's viable.

LFS was right about certain things and wrong about others!  Hopefully the current regime learn from their mistakes as the PPP come 2025!

...not well thought through and poorly executed. A far cry from the nonsense peddled even up to now that FCH and the banning of food items was a systematic attempt to eradicate Indians and a form of genocide.

My mother baked every weekend and many times baked bread, which did not taste as well when baked with local flour. So black folks had the same issues.

LFS banned canned meats and sardines, considering on any given day you could go to the Stabroek or bourda market and get fish fresh off the boat that day. Country folks caught it themselves or had access to it too.

My point to you is the banning of food items was not an attempt to "starve Indians" or Burnham committing "genocide" against Indians. This shit is being peddled even today with some waiting with bated breath for it to happen again! Read the posts of yuh mattie hay! These weak minded antimen running around "ow meh gad, granger gon starve ah we"!!!! SMFH.

Fact is with all his megalomania, LFS was smart enough to realize the importance of conserving our foreign exchange. He saw the present situation decades ago and tried to do something about it.

I still don’t believe the wholesale banning of flour was correct.  There were no real local alternatives.  On others with local alternatives, don’t bAn but apply duties.

Burnham did not see the present  situation decades ago, but he did want to make Guyana a center for food production. 

He went too fast and should have engaged local business men more. Instead he went after local business and tried to establish his own new business class.  

Let’s not forget, everything had a racist angle.  This is why he failed.  Burnham might have had some good ideas, but he ran a racist regime which tried to shut out or limit Indian participation.

I always said, if some of these ideas were attempted but leaving out race, they will have more success.  This is where public/ private partnerships could work well. 

PNC - Demerara bridge
PPP - Berbice bridge

Yuh need any mo examples? The demerara bride built by burnham still going strong and affordable fuh everybady.

Compare dat to yuh "fren" Jagdeo "bridge", funded by he "private partners" preying on Berbicians and sucking the life outta them. Does it not sit in your craw that this Russian trained CLOWN is the architect of one of Guyana's biggest FAILED ventures for the SECOND time? BOTH robbing he own race!

PNC - Demerara bridge
PPP - Berbice bridge

It's not blindness, it's being sheeple,they can't confront their leaders when they goofed up.

PNC - Demerara bridge
PPP - Berbice bridge

It's not blindness, it's being sheeple,they can't confront their leaders when they goofed up.

You rass gun get wan pay cut hey. 10% sanction until you apologize.