Gov’t “actively” considering proposed direct cash transfers of oil money to households – Foreign Minister

A section of the attendees at a Town Hall meeting with Foreign Affairs Minister Dr. Karen Cummings.

Foreign Affairs Minister, Karen Cummings has said the Guyana government has been actively considering the Working People’s Alliance’s (WPA) proposal of direct cash transfers of some oil revenues to Guyana’s households.

“I would say it’s in progress. We are still continuing how we are going to actually do this cash transfer so I don’t want to give myself liberty right now to say that we are going to do A or B but I know it’s under active consideration and some of the players, the economists, are deciding how best it will filter down to the ordinary man,” she told a recent town hall with Guyanese in New York on September 26.

The WPA wants the direct disbursements of cash to be among the APNU+AFC promises for the 2020 general elections.

Dr. Cummings acknowledged Distinguished Economics Professor, Clive Thomas; colleague WPA executive member, Professor David Hinds and other persons who have talked about direct cash transfers. Thomas first floated the idea one year ago and has since calculated that at US$70 per barrel, at least US$1 billion dollars would be available to transfer at least US$5,000 annually to the more than 200,000 households across Guyana. According to Thomas, the transfer scheme should begin in 2025 when oil production reaches 1 million to 2.5 million barrels per day.

The Foreign Affairs Minister had remarked that the Granger administration preferred to teach people to earn instead of giving them handouts. “We, of course, rather than giving a man a fish, teach him to fish,” he said.

This is the first time that a Guyana government official has gone this far to say that the WPA’s cash-transfer proposal was being considered. Former Foreign Minister, Carl Greenidge, Finance Minister Winston Jordan, Guyana’s High Commissioner to India, David Pollard, Former US Ambassador to Guyana Perry Holloway and others have poured cold water on the idea of direct cash transfers.

Cummings conceded that the amount of oil that has been discovered by the United States-headquartered ExxonMobil and the United Kingdom-based Tullow Oil was a lot for Guyana’s small population of about 750,000 persons. “It’s not only lil bit oil. It’s a lot of oil and we don’t have the population to spend that money. Of course, we have the Sovereign Wealth Fund which we have already set aside. Some of the money will be going there so your children will have, time to come, enjoy part of the sweet,” the Foreign Minister said.

Professor Thomas has stated that his proposed cash transfer scheme would help fight income poverty, would not be permanent and would take account of fluctuating oil prices.

At the Globespan program in Queens, there was in attendance PNC representatives.  The lea person took a strong position for cash transfer.  The discussion went on well after the program had ended.  He even said that no one in the group understands what poverty and struggle is!  Anything you said, he had a plaster as to why it was not comparable.

Anyway, clearly there are two different value systems at play.  However, when I explained how the Indian Govt was approaching poverty reduction in the remote poverty-stricken areas, he got very interested.  He felt that was a good approach for Guyana also.

I believe when you sit and discuss the issues, ideas and best practices, people come to an understanding.  I never expected him to agree with anything, then he agreed and felt this would be good for Guyana.

Base, talk is cheap. You do not understand the mentality and double talk of the PNC. You have to work closely with them to really understand their trickery and worst.

It’s different value systems at play!

Them PNC smart, they want to create a Communist/ Socialist Government, where the people depends upon Hand -Outs, so when time to vote that will be used as a tool to get votes.

But one day that oil fill finish, look at Trinidad, them broke.

The mases in Guyana are waiting for the Free hand out, just like many waiting for a barrel from North America, lazy SOBs.

Them PNC smart, they want to create a Communist/ Socialist Government, where the people depends upon Hand -Outs, so when time to vote that will be used as a tool to get votes.

The mases in Guyana are waiting for the Free hand out, just like many waiting for a barrel from North America, lazy SOBs.

I asked the PNC guy what happens when oil stops.  He hesitated as clearly he did not think of it.  He responded saying by then the people will be motivated to do better for themselves because the cash transfer program will change their mentality.

Bonnie Benesh say that it’s better to teach a man how to fish than to give him two fishes.  I believe Bonnie.

It’s cliche!  

The PNC guy was irritated and implied after why we should let foreigners “tell we wuh fuh do wid we money”. He said,  is not dem money, is we money!

People stupid bad!!

I asked the PNC guy what happens when oil stops.  He hesitated as clearly he did not think of it.  He responded saying by then the people will be motivated to do better for themselves because the cash transfer program will change their mentality.

HEHEHE Dat is one brilliant Chap. Did he graduate from Harvard??

The issue, they do drive opinion on the ground and there are factions in the government with that mindset who influenced policy.

Is Harvard the same as Sophia University?

For points of clarification, the event referred to in this article was held on Thursday, September 26 at Medgar Evers College in Brooklyn.  Hosted by a classmate of GTAngler.

Yes, we know it was not the same event.  I was referring to similar sentiments at a different event hosted by Ms Dianne Madray on September 28th!

From my personal experience having Blacks employee from several countries, majority of them  display the same attitude when Monday morning arrives.. no money in the pocket, they need an advance to carry through to the next pay cheque. 

Just look at the mentality of David Hinds and Thomas, they cannot come up with an idea to  establish a manufacturing company in these Afro village but their easy way is FREENESS .. entitlement. and these two bannas are suppose to be smart afro. Sick BOB. 

For points of clarification, the event referred to in this article was held on Thursday, September 26 at Medgar Evers College in Brooklyn.  Hosted by a classmate of GTAngler.

Yes, we know it was not the same event.  I was referring to similar sentiments at a different event hosted by Ms Dianne Madray on September 28th!

So the original host Dhanraj Singh didn’t show up?

Django, I am sure will provide FREE advise and guidance to set up a technician company in Sophia / Buxton /  Agricolla.

There is a saying " easy comes, easy goes" .. this is what will happen with the Free money.. if there is any left after Exxon take their expenses out. 

So the original host Dhanraj Singh didn’t show up?

Hey BTW, why did you have your friend contact Dhanraj to tell him not to associate with me and my brother?  And we were flattered to learn we are the 2nd largest donors to the PNC from NY even though none of us live there!   Even Dhanraj was laughing.  My brother is one of his largest donors!

Tell her she missed a small detail.  Dhanraj is related to us through marriage. He lives among three generations of my dad’s family.  Any information he needs he can get first hand.  He don’t need some lightly educated PPP NY cane-cutterin to feed him garbage and lies!!