UAE officials in talks to bring airline to Guyana

May 28, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

The Government of Guyana is in talks with United Arab Emirates (UAE) towards negotiating an air service agreement that will see at least one of UAE’s three major flag carriers operating flights to Guyana, in the very near future.

Minister of Public Works Robeson Benn and UAE officials during the meeting yesterday.

Yesterday, in the conference room at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, a delegation each from Guyana and the UAE, met for further discussions, a Government Information Agency (GINA) statement indicated yesterday.
The local delegation comprised from the Guyana Civil Aviation Authority (GCAA), the Director General Zulficar Mohamed, GCAA Board Chairman Hugh Denbow, GCAA General Counsel Amanza Desir and Air Transport Officer Saheed Sulaman; from the Cheddi Jagan International Airport Corporation, the Senior Aerodrome Officer, Alvin Majeed and from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Senior Legal Adviser, Trishala Persaud.

The team from the UAE comprised from the Federal Government, Director General, Saif Mohammed Al Suwaidi and Air Transport Agreements Chief Specialist, Valerie Browne and from the Department of Transport-Abu Dhabi, Senior Analyst-Government Affairs, Saeed Al Suwaidi.

According to GINA, Minister of Public Works, Robeson Benn, formally opened discussions and expressed the Government of Guyana’s pleasure of having the opportunity for the negotiation and the signing of an air service agreement to foster better linkages between the two countries. Minister Benn further noted that the dialogue comes at a time when Guyana’s aviation sector, both at the domestic, regional and international level is expanding.

“There are opportunities, via Guyana, we expect and we intend for foreign countries and air service operators to use Guyana as a regional and international hub for the development of the aviation sector, and for the development of other economical and tourism and other linkages between the continents and specifically between the countries like Guyana and the United Arab Emirates,” he said.

Al Suwaidi in his opening remarks noted that it would have taken the UAE’s delegation days to travel to Guyana, “So the need to connect your country to our region is very important,” he said. He also reaffirmed his government’s openness to engage with the Government of Guyana on any future engagement in the aviation sector.

The UAE has close to 30 airlines with the largest three operating being Emirates, Air Arabia and Etihad Airways.
Emirates is the largest airline in the Middle East, operating nearly 3,400 flights per week from its hub at Dubai International Airport, to more than 133 cities in 74 countries across six continents. Air Arabia is a low-cost airline with its head office in the Sharjah Freight Center, Sharjah International Airport, in Sharjah, United Arab Emirates. It operates scheduled services to 51 destinations in the Middle East, North Africa, the Indian subcontinent, Central Asia and Europe to 22 countries from Sharjah, 28 destinations in 9 countries from Casablanca, Fez, Nador, Tangier and Marrakesh and 6 destinations in 4 countries from Alexandria. Its main base is Sharjah International Airport.

Etihad Airways, the flag carrier airline of the United Arab Emirates operates more than 1,000 flights per week to 96 passenger and cargo destinations in the Middle East, Africa, Europe, Asia, Australia and the Americas, with a fleet of 85 Airbus and Boeing aircraft.

Looks like CIOG has control of the GCAA

UAE officials in talks to bring airline to Guyana

May 28, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

The Government of Guyana is in talks with United Arab Emirates (UAE) towards negotiating an air service agreement that will see at least one of UAE’s three major flag carriers operating flights to Guyana, in the very near future.

Yesterday, in the conference room at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, a delegation each from Guyana and the UAE, met for further discussions, a Government Information Agency (GINA) statement indicated yesterday.
The local delegation comprised from the Guyana Civil Aviation Authority (GCAA), the Director General Zulficar Mohamed, GCAA Board Chairman Hugh Denbow, GCAA General Counsel Amanza Desir and Air Transport Officer Saheed Sulaman; from the Cheddi Jagan International Airport Corporation, the Senior Aerodrome Officer, Alvin Majeed and from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Senior Legal Adviser, Trishala Persaud.

The team from the UAE comprised from the Federal Government, Director General, Saif Mohammed Al Suwaidi and Air Transport Agreements Chief Specialist, Valerie Browne and from the Department of Transport-Abu Dhabi, Senior Analyst-Government Affairs, Saeed Al Suwaidi.

According to GINA, Minister of Public Works, Robeson Benn, formally opened discussions and expressed the Government of Guyana’s pleasure of having the opportunity for the negotiation and the signing of an air service agreement to foster better linkages between the two countries. Minister Benn further noted that the dialogue comes at a time when Guyana’s aviation sector, both at the domestic, regional and international level is expanding.

“There are opportunities, via Guyana, we expect and we intend for foreign countries and air service operators to use Guyana as a regional and international hub for the development of the aviation sector, and for the development of other economical and tourism and other linkages between the continents and specifically between the countries like Guyana and the United Arab Emirates,” he said.

Al Suwaidi in his opening remarks noted that it would have taken the UAE’s delegation days to travel to Guyana, “So the need to connect your country to our region is very important,” he said. He also reaffirmed his government’s openness to engage with the Government of Guyana on any future engagement in the aviation sector.

The UAE has close to 30 airlines with the largest three operating being Emirates, Air Arabia and Etihad Airways.
Emirates is the largest airline in the Middle East, operating nearly 3,400 flights per week from its hub at Dubai International Airport, to more than 133 cities in 74 countries across six continents. Air Arabia is a low-cost airline with its head office in the Sharjah Freight Center, Sharjah International Airport, in Sharjah, United Arab Emirates. It operates scheduled services to 51 destinations in the Middle East, North Africa, the Indian subcontinent, Central Asia and Europe to 22 countries from Sharjah, 28 destinations in 9 countries from Casablanca, Fez, Nador, Tangier and Marrakesh and 6 destinations in 4 countries from Alexandria. Its main base is Sharjah International Airport.

Etihad Airways, the flag carrier airline of the United Arab Emirates operates more than 1,000 flights per week to 96 passenger and cargo destinations in the Middle East, Africa, Europe, Asia, Australia and the Americas, with a fleet of 85 Airbus and Boeing aircraft.

Vish M

There are opportunities, via Guyana, we expect and we intend for foreign countries and air service operators to use Guyana as a regional and international hub for the development of the aviation sector, and for the development of other economical and tourism.

Airlines don't serve routes unless there are bottoms sitting in their seats.  So who is going to be sitting in these seats.

Please note that there are already THREE flights daily NONSTOPs from Sao Paulo to points in the Middle East, so don't say that GEO will be a hub.  SP has great connectivity with other parts of South America that GEO will never match.

This is pure politics.  An airline agreement is just that, and any one can sign anything that they wish, but it will be PURE economics which will determine whether there is an airline service.

When the first two flights arrive and leave within ONE week, and there are no special delegations on board, then I will believe.

The PPP shows daily how ignorant they are of the airline business.  EVERY single carrier flies in to GEO does so on the basis that GEO is the last stop, that is except for Surinam Airways, and then we are a transit stop.  P'bo is their hub.

Trinidad tried that nonsense about being a hub and it failed, so why does GEO with its tiny domestic market, visitor base basically confined to overseas Guyanese, and poor connectivity to points, aside from JFK and POS, think that it will EVER be a hub. 

If Guyana doesn't generate outbound traffic, or attract inbound, it will not get air service.  Its that simple. The airlines serving GEO either fly point to point (GEO-JFK) are connect GEO to their hubs, POS, and now Panama and Aruba.

There are opportunities, via Guyana, we expect and we intend for foreign countries and air service operators to use Guyana as a regional and international hub for the development of the aviation sector, and for the development of other economical and tourism.

Well keep on expecting because it hasn't happened.  If I asked you who uses GEO as a connecting point, or is likely to do so, you can't tell me.

GEO has expensive fuel, and that is one of the reasons why Delta left.

Well keep on expecting because it hasn't happened.  If I asked you who uses GEO as a connecting point, or is likely to do so, you can't tell me.

connectin point for drugs in the UAE they sentence you to death for taht

Pointblank
Originally Posted by Pointblank:

Not a bad idea, that way ALL Drug pushers will be hang.

Bhai, anything the PPP is trying to accomplish is bad news for those who cry foul everyday.

Bhai, Yuh nah gat fuh tell me. I deh hey 12 years now watching them while Guyana going to the Mountain TOp. Sweet, Sweet Guyana.

WHat exactly is the accomplishment here? 

You folks keep ignoring the facts based on history with airlines and Guyana

Bhai, Yuh nah gat fuh tell me. I deh hey 12 years now watching them while Guyana going to the Mountain TOp. Sweet, Sweet Guyana.

the guyana government is a joke,who in guyana will go to this country,the ppp is just looking to post some thing in the news,trying to fool the people they is doing some thing positive at least they fool nehru and the snake

So home come you rass not deh goin to the mountain top with dem.

You visitin nex year?