WASHINGTON (Reuters) - Just days after two Muslims were accused of gunning down 14 people in California, a Reuters/Ipsos poll shows 51 percent of Americans view Muslims living in the United States the same as any other community, while 14.6 percent are generally fearful.

In the first poll on views of Muslim Americans taken in the aftermath of the Paris and San Bernardino attacks, much of the division is partisan. Among Democrats, 60 percent said they view Muslims like any other community, compared with 30 percent of Republicans.

How Americans should treat Muslims, both those already living in the United States and those seeking to come to the country as refugees, became a divisive topic after Islamic State claimed credit for killing 130 people in Paris and a Muslim couple is believed to have slaughtered 14 people and wounded 21 others in California.

Many Americans said they believe Muslims are more likely to put their own religion above the law -- a point that echoes critics' insistence that Islamic sharia law is being forced upon non-believers. Forty-nine percent said Muslims put religion above the law, compared with 33 percent who thought the same of Christians and 23 percents of Jews.

Those polled also expressed disagreement that American Muslims are doing enough to report possible extremists, with 23 percent saying they believe that potential risks are being reported.

Ibrahim Hooper, spokesman for the Center for Islamic-American Relations, said while he is pleased that the majority of Americans view his religion positively, he is concerned by the continued minority that holds anti-Islamic views.

“We are seeing I think a more toxic anti-Muslim environment or atmosphere than we have seen since 9/11,” Hooper said. “In some ways it’s worse because it’s been mainstreamed by public figures like Donald Trump or Ben Carson so it’s seen as a natural, normal kind of thin

baseman posted:

The US should ban the full face cover.  Imagine, some of this woman's relatives never saw her face.

I agree, I see covering ones face being a health risk. Imagine ripping a good fart,one that touched cloth,so to speak ...imagine that thing wafting up....ugh!

You tek everything and mek joke nuh!