During the time I have been here, I have learned a lot about Guyana, on my own and from some of you. My trip to Guyana in April (thanks to info provided by Mars and some of you) was helpful, though I felt out of place. Guyana, at least GT, was bustling with activities, but it seemed to me like the country (this is my bias, having been there for a few days) lacks infrastructure and development. In my mind, this country has a long way to go. There was no sign of oil wealth (though its too early) anywhere, and there were still a lot of poor people.

However, I am convinced this site represents Guyana well, with people with hardened views who refuse to think outside the box and place their foot in the other person’s shoes. It’s a microcosm of Guyana, with most people who I believe will never say the same things they write if they were engaged in a face to face conversation.

There is the usual Indian nationalists, represented by Yugi, Nehru, Baseman, Skeldon-man, Bibi and others.

Then there are the black nationalists represented by CaribJ, Iguana, Ronan, and others

Then there are the folks in the middle, like D-G, Gilbakka, Django, Mitwah, Cain, Mars,  etc who try to bring some sanity to this place. Django is trying hard to do so.

Then there are the usual knuckleheads like Prince who come here seeking his 15 minutes of fame.

Both the Black and Indian nationalists have names and pejorative phrases for each other…black man lazy, blacks cant run a cake shop, Indo KKK, and the list goes own. Both sides see themselves as owning the moral high ground, relentlessly attacking the other at every opportunity. Both sides defend their so called turf.

Perhaps this is why Guyana will remain a divided country for the next generation.

There is the usual Indian nationalists, represented by Yugi, Nehru, Baseman, Skeldon-man, Bibi and others.

Then there are the black nationalists represented by CaribJ, Iguana, Ronan, and others

Then there are the folks in the middle, like D-G, Gilbakka, Django, Mitwah, Cain, Mars,  etc who try to bring some sanity to this place. Django is trying hard to do so.

Bibi is a staunch PPP supporter, how does that make her an "Indian nationalist"? Maybe I missed it, but I haven't seen that behavior from her.

How are Caribj and Iguana "black nationalists" when we both oppose land rights to Africans and have been critical of the majority black APNU? Also read Ronan's criticism of Granger in several posts.

You are nothing but a racist CLOWN running for cover now that you've been exposed. You and Yugi and the clown posse and yuh daily "takedowns" of "black man" will not be tolerated. Nor does it make one who opposes you Indo KKK a "black nationalist". Gwan suh wid yuh stupid racist clown act!

"Perhaps this is why Guyana will remain a divided country for the next   generation."

Vish,

Great observation of members of GNI.

Kiddo regarding your  statement above,i am optimistic,the division will be decreased tremendously in the next decade.Well that's quite a small fraction for a generation,hopefully i am on target.

Bibi is a staunch PPP supporter, how does that make her an "Indian nationalist"? Maybe I missed it, but I haven't seen that behavior from her.

How are Caribj and Iguana "black nationalists" when we both oppose land rights to Africans and have been critical of the majority black APNU? Also read Ronan's criticism of Granger in several posts.

You are nothing but a racist CLOWN running for cover now that you've been exposed. You and Yugi and the clown posse and yuh daily "takedowns" of "black man" will not be tolerated. Nor does it make one who opposes you Indo KKK a "black nationalist". Gwan suh wid yuh stupid racist clown act!

For a man who did not know what cunny or punani is, he prappa learn plenty in a short time. He must be a genius in the making.

Here comes the cyber bully trollster...sitting on the "know it all" moral high ground, painting everyone with a broad blackstage brush...on a lonesome name-calling mission of obliteration of the enemies at the gate. 

Your correction stands...Bibi is a defender of the PPP....

Is criticism of land rights the only single issue that defines a nationalist?

Suh, if I oppose abortion, but support other issues of a Democratic platform, does that mek me less of a Democrat? 

You been lurking long enough in the dark archives (by your own admission) to know better.

I should re-define my categorization to add...and then there is the Iguana, the wannabe cyber bully whipping boy who want to rid the internet of the undesirables 

Its a good thing teaching is not your cup of tea...you would be corrupting many young ones.

AND, yes, we expect a rebuttal from the lizard boy, with the usual knock down barbs, like the canary cuss bird.... 

For a man who did not know what cunny or punani is, he prappa learn plenty in a short time. He must be a genius in the making.

Genius...naw...an eager learner...who takes the time to read and learn about the country you bannas keep yelling about...an interest that developed in 2015, same time I was taking classes at Queens College, Flushing.

And you run come here thinking that Gulabjamoon is giving away?

I am surrounded by people who do business with Guyana and always talk about Guyana...and this is the only site that seems to focus on Guyana...

sk

I am surrounded by people who do business with Guyana and always talk about Guyana...and this is the only site that seems to focus on Guyana...

Just for curiosity sake, do you know what Gulab Jamoon is?

sk

Gulab jamoon is coolie sweetmeat but not sweet as punani.

You were trying to set him up all along. He's busy looking for the search button on Google.

LOL...you are right. Did my Googling.

Iggi, me and you should have a drink someday banna....I suspect we got a lot in common...you can take pride in educating a fellow brudda from de ole country...

Anyway, so I think gulab jamoon ( I ate this before) got 2 meaning:

One, gulab jamoon is a sweet flour based Indo desert, dipped for a long time in liquid sugar.

The other, jamoon, is deep purple fruit eaten off the tree or can be used to make drinks, commonly grown in tropical areas like Guyana. It look like a ginnip, which I saw in the Stabroek market, except a ginnip is green.

How's that?

sk

Gilly,

Suh, wha happen when you eat a combination of a gulab jamoon with a punani on a binni?

I think Mitwah might find this funny.

I visit Guyana and try very very hard to establish business connections with young blacks and indians. The ppl in high places doan have clue on helping the youths. Dey know the talk.

As for the oil. Just like Nigeria it goan end up.

Is like the story, a table bountifully laid with foods of all kinds. Dey gat six ppl sitting around the table, just like Guyana six nations. Dem all gat long long arms. Dem reach the food, but bcz dem arms so long dey cant place it in the mouth. And dey straving. Visible on the table is the forks, the spoons and the knves.

Yuh think dey goan feed ecah other?  

That is Guyana. 

Black ppl want dem own place, dem own government, Jagdeo refuse to go away and Granger is an uninspiring man. Suh Granger in his limited mind promote mediocrity in his appointments.  

Indians used to make a round sweet pastry - golgola or something like that. Mother of my Indian school friends used to give that to us. In turn when those Indian kids came to our house they used to eat salt beef cookup wid pigtail, patties and cheese straws all fresh cooked/baked. They used to beg my mother - "ow auntie, doant tell we mudda we eatin' beef and pork". To this day I don't know if they were Hindu or muslim. Didn't matter in those days.

Gilly,

Suh, wha happen when you eat a combination of a gulab jamoon with a punani on a binni?

I think Mitwah might find this funny.

Vish, not picking but I noticed you using this phrase.  It's redundant, one covers the other, package deal, so take your pick.

Indians used to make a round sweet pastry - golgola or something like that. Mother of my Indian school friends used to give that to us. In turn when those Indian kids came to our house they used to eat salt beef cookup wid pigtail, patties and cheese straws all fresh cooked/baked. They used to beg my mother - "ow auntie, doant tell we mudda we eatin' beef and pork". To this day I don't know if they were Hindu or muslim. Didn't matter in those days.

Banna, you rass confused...a golgolam is the same as a gulab jamoon, no?

Vish, I'm not an Indian nationalist nor am I a diehard PPPite.  I offer a balanced viewpoint that's why some refer to me as wearing both PNC and PPP hats. I admit, I do have a PPP bias in general.

There are things I give the PNC credit for and thought the PPP should have embraced.  The PNC was not all bad, the biggest issue I have with them is their racism.

FYI, I don't believe all them you have in the "middle" are really so.  Some are however, some are PPP haters who see nothing good in their 23 years.

Gulgulla is a fried doughball kind of like pholourie but made with fruit in the batter and sweet. Mostly pumpkin or banana. Gulab Jamoon is also a fried doughball, not sure what is in the dough, that gets it's sweetness from being soaked in a sugar syrup.

Last edited by GTAngler

No it is not. Gulab jamoon is even served in Indian restaurants in America. Never saw golgola in the indian restaurants and wouldn't doubt it was a unique Indo Guyanese creation. Anyway, I gon leff yuh mattie Indians fuh educate yuh. But I know such a ting as a golgola exist, and it ain't gulab jamoon (which has the syrup).

Vish, I'm not an Indian nationalist nor am I a diehard PPPite.  I offer a balanced viewpoint that's why some refer to me as wearing both PNC and PPP hats. I admit, I do have a PPP bias in general.

There are things I give the PNC credit for and thought the PPP should have embraced.  The PNC was not all bad, the biggest issue I have with them is their racism.

FYI, I don't believe all them you have in the "middle" are really so.  Some are however, some are PPP haters who see nothing good in their 23 years.

A lot of pretenders here too.

One more observation I would make about my short visit to Guyana. I stood by Demico House and watched how people interacting. I can tell you Black people walk with pride and confidence. However, many a dem coolie people come from Vreed Hoop, across the river (I think), or from outside GT. My impression was that they looked timid and walk with less confidence....look like dey scared to leave the village dey come from.

Anyway, that was my observation. I remember what Mars told me...if you walk with confidence and not stupidy nobody gon bother you in Guyana...

In any case, who would wanna mess with dis dougla boy?

Yo, Iggy, you too tense banna....

....my offer still stands...if you ever in de Big Apple, hook me up, so we can, as they say in Guyana, "throw back, and knack a Banks Beer". 

Gulgulla is a fried doughball kind of like pholourie but made with fruit in the batter and sweet. Mostly pumpkin or banana. Gulab Jamoon is also a fried doughball, not sure what is in the dough, that gets it's sweetness from being soaked in a sugar syrup.

That's it!!!!! My friends' mom used to put raisins and currants in it. No syrup.

Is like the story, a table bountifully laid with foods of all kinds. Dey gat six ppl sitting around the table, just like Guyana six nations. Dem all gat long long arms. Dem reach the food, but bcz dem arms so long dey cant place it in the mouth. And dey straving. Visible on the table is the forks, the spoons and the knves.

...not if you got stink mouth

arms length keeps the stink away.

yuh had plenty to share wid indians, i tink you woulda shun dem. seeing that you hate us, accrding to mainichand. Amd lately, i have come to believe her. 

ah gwan suh yuh ole racist! Was never raised to be racist like you. That's the problem with you and Yugi. It's in your DNA.

Bruddah, seeing yuh is a wannabe black person, expressed more anti-indian sentiments on here for over 20 years than anybody I read.

Yuh is a nasty chap but intelligent.

Indian ppl have the best DNA, especially Guyanese ones, we are well balanced race of ppl. Much envied.

No one born a racist. Granger shown me how to be one.

One of my friends over here, parents were staunch hindus, would go to the Chinese and order a lunch special with pork fried rice and tell them to pick out the pork.

yuh had plenty to share wid indians, i tink you woulda shun dem. seeing that you hate us, accrding to mainichand. Amd lately, i have come to believe her. 

ah gwan suh yuh ole racist! Was never raised to be racist like you. That's the problem with you and Yugi. It's in your DNA.

Bruddah, seeing yuh is a wannabe black person, expressed more anti-indian sentiments on here for over 20 years than anybody I read.

Indian ppl have the best DNA, especially Guyanese ones, we are well balanced race of ppl. Much envied.

According to D2/Iguana,

Everyone who is anti PNC is racist.

Unknown

• Unknown

Everybody has good and bad. Guyanese on the whole are well rounded and you are right, envied. I used to date an Indian girl who wanted so much to be Guyanese. Where else in the world would you find and Indian/Black/Chinese/etc. who knows about Curry, Roti, Pepperpot, Chinese Food, Methem, Black Pudding etc to name a few? If wasn't for politics Guyana would be more of a paradise.

Perhaps this is why Guyana will remain a divided country for the next generation.

I think that you should put yourself in the Indo nationalist category if you consider a reasoned discussion of the racisms and the impacts of BOTH major groups and a demand that the racism of Indians towards blacks be treated with the same seriousness as should the racism of the PNC towards Indians be considered black nationalism.

Since when is demanding black equality suddenly black nationalism?  Since when is demanding a discussion of Indian racism towards blacks suddenly black nationalism.

You see what we have in Guyana is the notion that one can rant about what Burnham did to Indians 40 years ago but refuse to discuss what Jagdeo did to blacks a mere 10 years ago.  We can discuss where Indians are excluded but aren't allowed to discuss the exclusion of blacks.  If one attempts to demand equity in how we discuss the racisms of BOTH and demand the inclusion of BOTH then we are called black nationalists.

You remind me of the whites of the Old South and apartheid South Africa who opined that "that our (ni99ers/kaffirs) are happy and its only those "trouble makers" who are riling them up". 

The mere fact that we don't bow down and kiss the toes of Indians and then flagellate ourselves because of what blacks supposedly did to them.

You see in the eyes of these "Indianists" only the rights and perspectives of Indians need be considered.  This reminds me of several years ago when Kari and Chief demanded that blacks apologize to Indians, and then screamed and ranted when I opined that this should happen only when Indians also apologize to blacks. 

In their view only the political behavior of Indians mattered, even as Guyana moved to a point when the Indian population is now equal to the black/mixed population.

This man is an Indian nationalist as much as any and doesn't seem to understand that no Indian can ignore the black anymore than the black can ignore the Indian if we want peace.

Vish, I'm not an Indian nationalist .

I remember the days when you used to scream that without Indians blacks would have turned Guyana into "Rawanda" (of course that country has become a success story at many levels, but you didn't mean it that way).  That we eat ants and that we are stupid and dirty and that your daddy had to feed black people because they spent out all of their money.

Describe yourself in terms of these views. While you haven't said this recently that thinking is still well within your view.