Originally Posted by VVP:

Yes, thanks a lot to Safraz for a major undertaking.  GNI was the place to be to post condolence messages when Dr. Jagan died in 1997.  When did the discussion forum start...anybody knows?  

I'm sorry I wasn't around to post my Congratulations to the people of Guyana on the occasion of Jagan's long overdue death. He should have not been allowed to die peacefully but instead shot mercilessly like the rabid daag he was.

Originally Posted by Sunil:
A bit of history: Today marks 20 years since my son Safraz first established the Guyana News and Information website. Two years later, GNI began to carry the main news items of the Guyana Chronicle. The editor would email the items to Safraz at around midnight. Early in the morning the news items were posted. No newspaper in Guyana had any website at that time.

Odeen

I stumbled on this site 10 years ago. Thanks for a job well done.  It is indeed a source for a wealth of information, not forgetting a wealth of personalities.

Originally Posted by alena06:
A bit of history: Today marks 20 years since my son Safraz first established the Guyana News and Information website. Two years later, GNI began to carry the main news items of the Guyana Chronicle. The editor would email the items to Safraz at around midnight. Early in the morning the news items were posted. No newspaper in Guyana had any website at that time.

Odeen

I stumbled on this site 10 years ago. Thanks for a job well done.  It is indeed a source for a wealth of information, not forgetting a wealth of personalities.

Yes, you discovered a place to market your "fish"

Originally Posted by alena06:

Odeen

Yes, you discovered a place to market your "fish"

You ARE mentally ILL in a very SERIOUS way!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

GNI is a mini-parliament, a limer's corner, a political streetfighter's zone, a community centre, an information clearing-house, etc. In short, a piece of Guyana that has attracted visitors year after year. Best wishes for a long future.

And a Fish Market. Doan forget Fish Market. We have a whole brigade of fishmongers who come here daily to sell their catch

GNI is a mini-parliament, a limer's corner, a political streetfighter's zone, a community centre, an information clearing-house, etc. In short, a piece of Guyana that has attracted visitors year after year. Best wishes for a long future.

And a Fish Market. Doan forget Fish Market. We have a whole brigade of fishmongers who come here daily to sell their catch

...an a rumshop.

Sometimes even a church.

HAPPY ANNIVERSARY GNI.

Sir, I trust you to understand that, as Gilbakka Fish, I do not relish the idea of a Fish Market that is incomplete without cutlass and cutrass. After all, me ent no mud curass.

My Dear Anscale Fish,

I was thinly referencing abbe resident Mud Cusass, Canje Alunatic Gyal

I've met some fishmongers at Skeldon and dis gyal moh baad fuh daze chap

My Dear Anscale Fish,

I was thinly referencing abbe resident Mud Cusass, Canje Alunatic Gyal

I've met some fishmongers at Skeldon and dis gyal moh baad fuh daze chap

I don't want to go there, boy. I don't want this exchange to take that turn. You're on your own. Ta-ta.

This community has grown and has been valuable to anyone who has visited this site.

Yea, where would we be without Pavi's intellectual outflows

Pavi and uncle Ramacan't have given us great intellectual insights over the year.  That said, GNI political is fun. This cyber rum shop is a Guyanese institution in the diaspora.

I used to visit these friends of mine in R\H. I notice one of them would be on his computer getting all excited. Yelling and getting all animated and such. Had no idea what the banna was doing. Never paid it any mind. Then  sometime in 2008, they came over to my place in Hollis jump on my laptop, send an email to somebody in cyanada and the next thing I know......
I have no regrets though, I've learned a lot here. Very educating from my standpoint.