Forms of degeneracy after 2015 that killed Guyana’s future

Gerhard Ramsaroop, after a long absence from polemics and discourses in the political realm, has analysed recent political trends in a large letter to both KN and SN last Sunday. But in as much as his dissertation is welcomed, it lacks context and introduced an irrelevant juxtaposition between the AFC and PNC.

Freddie Kissoon

In terms of context, the evaluation does not embrace a holistic approach to the dialectical connection between the last ten years of PPP’s rule and the post-2015 deterioration of governance. Interconnected with the omission of context is the unnecessary juxtaposition of the performance of the AFC and PNC. A holistic perspective renders such a methodology unnecessary.
In analysing the type of governance Guyana has since 2015, three types of degeneracy repulsed the Guyanese nation. I will list them in order of importance. The first, as Gerhard pointedly emphasised was the dissolution of the AFC’s transformative physiology (my way of putting it and not Gerhard’s). The AFC destroyed the seminal value of multi-racial, third force politics that was so vitally needed.
Secondly, the nation’s curiosity about the newness David Granger would bring to Guyana was shattered when he proved that he lacked even small quantities of leadership qualities. Finally, the atrophy of the WPA from a Rodneyite, revolutionary, multi-racial party, to a racial outfit, catering to the interests of African Guyanese only.
Space would not allow for a polemical outlay of these three degenerations. One can dispense with the WPA quickly. If you look at the known political entities at the moment, the WPA lacks a multi-racial face compared to Lenox Shuman’s Liberal and Justice Party, ANUG, the PNC and the PPP.
The Rodney family should seek an injunction against the use of Walter Rodney’s name for the WPA’s television programme, “Walter Rodney Groundings.” The current WPA appears as an exclusive African party, speaking to African Guyanese only.
In terms of the self-destruction of the AFC, there isn’t much to add that political observers and academics do not know. Gerhard is correct that it squandered the priceless opportunity Guyanese offered it. It would be a caricature unparalleled in Guyanese history, for such a declining organism to be given the prime minister position, seven Cabinet posts and twelve parliamentary seats in 2019. Only a fool will bet that the AFC will get those same numbers if APNU+AFC wins the upcoming elections.
The crucial flaw in Gerhard’s adumbration is any mention of the PNC’s impure politics and selfish hogging of power since 2015. One is tempted to be harsh on Gerhard to say that he could be accused either of brazen support for the PNC or intellectual limitation. Not only the AFC and WPA declined after 2015, so did the PNC and its new guy who came without baggage –David Granger.
No one – scholar, political observer, editor, the independent mind- can gloss over the failure of the PNC in power since 2015 to bring higher, purer forms of governance. On the contrary, there have been disturbing regressions. One can start with the man Granger, himself. I taught Gerhard at UG and always credited him with an analytical mind. But his elevation of Granger in his letter is unpalatable.
I honestly (and I stress, the adverb because I sincerely feel so) cannot see what positive leadership Granger has brought to Guyana in the context of what went on before 2015. This is why at the beginning of this articulation here, I referred to context.
Guyana’s had witnessed the emergence of forms of semi-fascism under both Jagdeo and Ramotar. There was political, cultural, social and societal debasement under these two presidents. I saw and wrote about a creeping fascistisation under Jagdeo.
In the context of this Faustian insanity, David Granger was chosen and was accepted because he was new and the PNC was new; going under the name of APNU. Both the novelty of Granger and APNU fizzed out like a damp squib. Gerhard’s letter comes at a time when Granger may be exhibiting Freudian desires. After all, he is a strong admirer of Forbes Burnham and this takes the form of four foundations he has set up in Burnham’s name at his former private residence.
It is my contestation that since he departed from the Carter formula in selecting a GECOM chairman, Granger began to show his colours (no pun intended, though I hold the opinion that there are ethnic preferences and racial patronage under his presidency). Since the no-confidence vote, Granger has displayed attitudes that in the opinion of this columnist appear that he will not walk in the direction that Hoyte took.
Sorry to say Gerhard, but to me, your guy is not the democrat you claim he is.

(The views expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the opinions of this newspaper)

Since Gerhard touched people's lives during the AFC time remains devastated. He should get out of corrupted politics and water the tree that he planted by the Benab. I don't trust him and nobody should trust him either. 

When we speak of Gerhard, we must also speak of TK aka Labba, Mitwah and some of the sick Indians that were willing to sell Guyanese for a jill.

Baseman smells the rat early that he is exempted from being a rotting coolie.

When we speak of Gerhard, we must also speak of TK aka Labba, Mitwah and some of the sick Indians that were willing to sell Guyanese for a jill.

Baseman smells the rat early that he is exempted from being a rotting coolie.

I found them too one-sided willing to criticize the PPP but giving the PNC a free pass.  I felt if I'm in the AFC, I have the right to criticize both as we were competing against both equally.  When I would make anti-PNC posts on FB, Gerhard would delete them but left any anti-PPP posts.  I began to have issues with some of them on this.  Interesting some are now back with the PPP!

Base, some people are born to be appeasers, ass kissers and batty washers. In all cases they are shameless, selfish Parasites. Look at the Ne Nee Neemack Neemackaran Crabdaag!!! They are all the same!!!

I am no longer affiliated with any political party in Guyana. My years of living in Guyana and the United States, politics have made me a liar and a bastard toward the masses of Guyana, my friends, and family. I am happy I broke away from political slavery. 

When folks are defending themselves from past mistakes and wrongdoing, I only have myself to defend. Over time, I put forward questions that are of great concern to Guyanese and bias political facts, but many take offense to them because they are affiliated to one party or another.

Baseman took potshots at me that I ached his ass. Well, I know these things will have a deep effect on people's lives. You can't be me because you are not me. You need to earn the status of neutrality. 

Since Gerhard touched people's lives during the AFC time remains devastated. He should get out of corrupted politics and water the tree that he planted by the Benab. I don't trust him and nobody should trust him either. 

I must give you credit for speaking out. 

I am no longer affiliated with any political party in Guyana. My years of living in Guyana and the United States, politics have made me a liar and a bastard toward the masses of Guyana, my friends, and family. I am happy I broke away from political slavery. 

When folks are defending themselves from past mistakes and wrongdoing, I only have myself to defend. Over time, I put forward questions that are of great concern to Guyanese and bias political facts, but many take offense to them because they are affiliated to one party or another.

Baseman took potshots at me that I ached his ass. Well, I know these things will have a deep effect on people's lives. You can't be me because you are not me. You need to earn the status of neutrality. 

I never took pot shots.  Ok we all do at times, but I never remember being that harsh.  I read your stuff, agree, disagree etc.  

i dont try to be you or anyone.  Baseman is baseman, the counterpuncher!!

The only status I’m interested in is what I believe, wherever that leads!!

I never took pot shots.  Ok we all do at times, but I never remember being that harsh.  I read your stuff, agree, disagree etc.  

Eh eh.  Nice three hour break today!!!!

Princess is unaware that Gerhard Ramsaroop lives in Germany.

Eh eh.  Nice three hour break today!!!!

Nah, last day of the month, all set to start the Close so no pressure.  Some finance staff even took off.  And I post from my iPhone on my desk.  It’s easy to post and work on these slow days.

So don’t let your imagination run wild!!

I gave you a long rope to graze. It's about time you gave up your childish BS before I come after you with a vengeance.  

When Base left the AFC and returned to the board I recalled he mentioned that Gerhard was the hatchet man for the AFC. He also stated that the AFC gave into the PNC's demand not to attack the party (PNC) at meetings in their strongholds.

The elements of ass kissing and Batty washing! Why would anyone with a successful flower business and Tree planter stoop so very low????

He wants to be the next PM. Once someone starts to glorify the PNC and its leaders you know they are up to something sinister. 

The elements of ass kissing and Batty washing! Why would anyone with a successful flower business and Tree planter stoop so very low????

Some were in flower business.  Some were in flour business.  Some were punani hunting.  Nehru you shoulda join dat party.  

I gave you a long rope to graze.

It's about time you gave up your childish BS before I come after you with a vengeance.  

Her Gracious Highness conferring her kindness.

Some were in flower business.  Some were in flour business.

Some were punani hunting.

Nehru you shoulda join dat party.  

Eh-eh, ah wha dat ??

Loooong forgotten dream for you?

Freddie is wrong, Granger is a leader. He operates in terms of Superiors and Subordinates with the Standard Operating Procedures. That is the reason he created the Ofice of the Presidency with Harmon incharge. He delegates.

Eh-eh, ah wha dat ??

Loooong forgotten dream for you?

Perhaps a dream exclusively for you.

Mr.T posted:

Base, some people are born to be appeasers, ass kissers and batty washers. In all cases they are shameless, selfish Parasites.

Why are you promoting your life story?

Dem Parliamentarian batty does taste real good eh?/ Keep on kissing and washing you owe it to the whitemen!!!

He wants to be the next PM. Once someone starts to glorify the PNC and its leaders you know they are up to something sinister. 

PPP ministers are all angels.  We don't know for sure what GR's plans are. DAG has some surprise plans in the works, so let's wait and see. 

Freddie is wrong, Granger is a leader. He operates in terms of Superiors and Subordinates with the Standard Operating Procedures. That is the reason he created the Ofice of the Presidency with Harmon incharge. He delegates.

I think this is one of Freddie's best. It is one of the few articles by him I was ever able to complete. He was clear, precise and articulated his points  such that one gets what he intends immediately because one sees it clearly as he does. 

I m

I think this is one of Freddie's best. It is one of the few articles by him I was ever able to complete. He was clear, precise and articulated his points  such that one gets what he intends immediately because one sees it clearly as he does. 

I met the gentleman when he was in Toronto on two occassions before the elections. It was at a breakfast meeting with many others. He shook every persons hand. Briefly, for about a minute and a half we talked. The conversation probably could have gone on a little longer, but we were interrupted by Nagamootoo's daughter.  He was very serious about making a difference in Guyana-he meant every word he uttered. Even at his swearing in he was still on track.

Then something overwhelmed him towards uselessness. He is not a stupid man and his style of leadership is in line with the military. Generals do not implement anything they are about strategies. That is why he created some many portfolios intent on him just delegating, with Colonel Harmon implementing. I suppose that was his way of neutralizing not the AFC but only Nagamootoo. Nagamootoo said too many wrong things at those breakfast meetings.

Granger does not have one leadership skill.  He is a poor communicator.  He does not care about people.  He has not fulfilled one of his election promises. He ignores the basic human needs of his people, like electricity. Not once has he ever addressed a social, economic, education, or healthcare issue that will benefit the Guyanese people.  The man is a failure.

I m

I met the gentleman when he was in Toronto on two occassions before the elections. It was at a breakfast meeting with many others. He shook every persons hand. Briefly, for about a minute and a half we talked. The conversation probably could have gone on a little longer, but we were interrupted by Nagamootoo's daughter.  He was very serious about making a difference in Guyana-he meant every word he uttered. Even at his swearing in he was still on track.

Then something overwhelmed him towards uselessness. He is not a stupid man and his style of leadership is in line with the military. Generals do not implement anything they are about strategies. That is why he created some many portfolios intent on him just delegating, with Colonel Harmon implementing. I suppose that was his way of neutralizing not the AFC but only Nagamootoo. Nagamootoo said too many wrong things at those breakfast meetings.

Military Generals make poor Presidents.  Noriega, Baez, Somoza, Ortega, Musharraf, everyone of them was a tyrant.  Don’t let that Jesus persona fool you.  There is a Devil hiding in there that is capable of sins unknown.