March 15, 2012 | By | Filed Under News

Pandemonium permeated the atmosphere yesterday at the St. Winefride’s Secondary School, when several students broke out in convulsions as if in a state of ‘demonic possession.’ Reports are that around 13:00 hrs yesterday, six students each from different classrooms began to behave in an erratic manner as if they were being attacked by ‘spiritual beings.’ The actions of the students caused fear to engulf their classmates leaving dumfounded teachers watching in amazement.

The commotion sent the school in panic mode, as word of the ‘possession’ swirled and many abandoned their classrooms in search of safety. Screams and shouts erupted along corridors as students rushed to the various exits. Furniture, books and personal items for many were left strewn in the building as the owners’ priority was clearly, “saving themselves.” When Kaieteur News visited the school at 14:25hrs yesterday, almost all of the students had already vacated the environs. Some teachers were observed converged discussing the seemingly supernatural incident. Ms Griffith, a Home Economics teacher, positioned herself at the entrance of the school to gain a better vantage point, in order to monitor persons entering or leaving the compound. So tense was the atmosphere that the Head-teacher was extremely hesitant to speak to the media.

Ms Griffith eventually instructed a student to summon the Head-teacher. Upon learning that the media was enquiring about the incident at the school another teacher peered out while Ms Griffith shook her head as if to say “no.” The Head-teacher declined to entertain the media on the environs. Some former students of the St. Winefride’s Secondary School, have since told this publication that this is not the first occasion that something of this nature has occurred. “Miss, this isn’t the first time this happen and this thing happening since last year…I used to go to the school and this happen last year like three or four times (that) I know of…This year it done happen already in fact yesterday (Tuesday) it happen and six children get possessed…Is pure evil in that school,” said one youth. Another boy explained that he too attended the school for a brief period and also witnessed some of his colleagues become ‘possessed.’ “Is a spirit troubling them…When the children faint away they didn’t carry them nowhere, their parents get called in to come…One of them mother come with she big big belly and collect she child from here.”

While some of the teachers left the premises, others remained and commenced clapping and singing hymns, seemingly to ward off the ‘evil presence.’ The prayers and religious songs escalated to a decibel level where it could clearly be heard from across the street, and neighbours too said, that this was not the first occasion where children became possessed at the School. “You miss the action ma’am, you should have been here earlier to see the session when children were fainting and parents coming in to get their children…This thing happen today (Wednesday) and it happen plenty times before…Ever since they built the tarmac at the back with the washroom it start,” one man related. According to another, the teachers and school administration should have publicized the incident from the beginning to “try and get help.” “They should not keep this a secret and hush hush because it is children’s well being and lives at stake…Maybe this is a joke for them and they don’t believe in these things so I wonder why they calling pastor and this person and that person to pray and try get out demons,” a young woman said.

Even as some of the former students were recounting their ‘supernatural’ experiences at the school, Ms Griffith was nodding in a negative manner and signaling them to stay quiet, which they refused to do. “Why should we stay quiet and not say the truth about what we saw and what is happening…If Ms Griffith want to stay quiet that is her business, but we don’t attend here anymore and she can’t tell us what to do…Look, you see how she shaking she head and telling us not to talk to the media?” Upon leaving the location, this newspaper witnessed the said teacher and the school guard leaning on the school’s meshed fence reprimanding the boys because they divulged information to the media.

Seen this with my own eyes . In 1963 on WCD saw some indian people get into a frenzied trance when the tassa, nagara and dholak were all playing at the same time. Then at Triumph when Madrassis were drumming and again at Corriverton when Que Que & Cumfa drums were beating . It was really a bit scary to see peoples' bodies go into convulsions , one woman at Triumph had to be held down by maybe 6 men and another at Corriverton jumped so high I thought she was taking off into the air. Gotta see these with your own eyes to believe it . I for one did not believe it was because of any supernaturalism but rather some genetic inheritance re-call of some tradition of the past. 

This particular event might have been caused by the ghosts of Jagan Burnham and Janet fighting fuh powa in the after life .

I was invited to attend one of dem cumfa dances somewhere in Cross St (G'town) but too scared at the time. I'd go now and even do a dance for dem people, I'd even do my bacon frying dance on the ground.