Georgetown residents have the power to remove City Council - Whittaker advises

By Vanessa Narine, Tuesday, 3 December 2013, Source

MAYOR Hamilton Green and members of the Georgetown City Council must accept responsibility for the flooding and the destruction it caused last week, says Minister in the Ministry of Local Government and Regional Development, Norman Whittaker.

"The move to establish an Interim Management Committee is in the hands of Georgetown’s residents. Residents as well as representatives of the private sector can forward a petition to the Ministry of Local Government, which will then launch an inquiry and have the outcomes presented at a public meeting before it can act on the recommendations of the inquiry’s report" – Whittaker.

Speaking at the ruling party’s weekly press briefing at Freedom House yesterday, Whittaker, who is also a PPP Central Committee Member, said: “The PPP and Georgetown residents must no longer fetch the burden of their incompetence, enough is enough.”

Asked why the Government has not acted to address what Whittaker described as a “failed” City Council by establishing an Interim Management Committee (IMC), he said this move is in the hands of Georgetown’s residents.

According to him, residents as well as representatives of the private sector can forward a petition to the Ministry of Local Government, which will then launch an inquiry and have the outcomes presented at a public meeting before it can act on the recommendations of the inquiry’s report.

NEGLECT
Whittaker stressed that the inundation seen last week was largely a consequence of neglect.

“This (the flooding) is a consequence of the neglect of the City Council in ensuring timely servicing of its kokers and pumps, in ensuring timely cleaning of canals and drains, in ensuring timely collection and disposal of garbage in the city,” he said.

Whittaker added that he initiated a meeting six weeks ago with the Council, sector ministries and the private sector to address the areas of action that were needed to ensure preparedness ahead of the rainy season.

He said: “In spite of all efforts to get the Council to be proactive and initiate the works that were considered and agreed necessary, nothing was done…we had even made available staff to work along with the Council…we said we will support and assist you, you need to make a start.”

The minister stressed that the Mayor and Council members must accept responsibility for the flooding. He said: “The City of Georgetown is under the management of the Mayor and the City Council…this grouping shamelessly refuses to accept the responsibility for management of the city. They have wielded control over the city for the past 19 years. They have received billions of dollars in rates and taxes paid every year by the citizenry of the city of Georgetown, yet garbage is everywhere, yet the drains are blocked, yet the parapets are in an unkempt manner and flooding takes place whenever there is excess rain.”

GOV’T SUPPORT
Asked to comment on Mayor Green’s calls for certain types of taxes to be remitted to the City Council, rather than to the Central Government, Whittaker questioned the Council’s ability to account for additional funds, when it currently has trouble accounting for collections it is already making.

He explained that taxpayers pay their dues and the Council, more often than not, does little or nothing and when the Government supports the Council, it is taxpayers paying again to do what should have been done in the first place.

Whittaker stressed that the Central Government’s support cannot be doubted, as in the last seven years over $330m has been given to the City Council.

He said: “Central Government is forced to pump millions of dollars into City Council annually, to bail them out of their financial woes.”

Whittaker added that financial support is only one component of the support the City Council receives from Central Government, the others being equipment, vehicles and even staff when needed.

“The ineptitude among those managing the affairs of the city is evident and apparent for all to see,” he said.

On that note, Whittaker also addressed the clear divide between the decisions made by the Mayor and the actions of the Town Clerk. He explained that the Mayor’s instruction, as well as that of the Council’s, must be legitimate and legal.

The minister said: “The Town Clerk is aware and is expected to advise the Mayor and Council when instructions run contrary to regulation…if notwithstanding the advice, the Mayor insists, then the Town Clerk must insist her advice is reflected in the minutes and also is expected not to do illegalities.”

CORRUPTION

He added that it is clear that corruption is rampant at City Hall and there are auditing challenges with financial records related to the Japanese grant.

“The corruption became apparent when the Town Clerk took the brave step of dragging a few of them before the courts recently…one would have thought that the AFC, the APNU, Transparency International and people the likes of Anand Goolsarran and Lincoln Lewis, would have been forthright in their condemnation of these acts of impropriety on the part of the Mayor and Council,” he said.

Whittaker reiterated that the continued trend reflecting the shortcomings of the Mayor and the Council members must see them accepting responsibility for the consequences of last week’s flooding.

BLAME GAME WELCOMED
The ruling party’s General Secretary and Home Affairs Minister, Clement Rohee, then welcomed what he termed “the blame game” that is ongoing over the flooding.

He said: “Blame game is good. Everybody must have their say because people will be educated in the process.”

According to him, the position of the ruling party has been clear, the Mayor and the City Council have failed the city.

He questioned the abilities of the Mayor and the Council at a national level, if they are unable to effectively undertake the work of the city.

Rohee said: “The Government continues to be blamed…the fact, however, is that it is Mr. Hamilton Green and the Council who is in charge of the City. They must accept responsibility…I have seen this city shift from one extreme to the next.”

Last week’s flooding was the worst recorded in Georgetown since 1892.

Hamilton Greene is overly no-confident to be in any public office. He should have been out a long time ago. The G/T residents should act on this ideas rather than talking and unseat him.

Did you read my post above. Dem People day has been STUPID for 20 years now, you expect them to suddenly get brains??/!!!!

Auditor General finds…Education officials preside over US$7.5M overpayment to contractors
December 3, 2013 | By KNews | Filed Under News

The Ministry of Education is still to recover in excess of $1.5B which it overpaid to contractors during 2010 and 2011. This is according to Auditor General, Deodat Sharma, who flagged this deficiency in his report on the Ministry’s activities last year. According to Sharma, it is important to note that the personnel and/or Consultants nominated by the Ministry were integrally involved in the examination of the projects and the related findings discussed and agreed upon with the team headed by the Special Projects Officer of the Ministry. “Nevertheless, there was a failure to recover the amounts overpaid.”

Minister of Education, Priya Manickchand

The overpayments of just over $1.5B related to three projects - an Information Technology (IT) Laboratory each for the Charity and Aurora Secondary Schools and the New Wing which was attached to the Patentia Secondary School. The Ministry reportedly overpaid the contractor for the Patentia Secondary School project, $885M over the two year period. The contractor for the IT Laboratory at Charity Secondary School was overpaid $398M, while the contractor at the Aurora Secondary school was overpaid $245M. The report found, too, that the National Procurement and Tender Administration Board last year awarded a contract for the construction of the Science Laboratory of the Central Corentyne Secondary School. That contract was for $11M and works commenced on December 11, 2012. Between that date and the end of the month an amount of $2.2M was disbursed from the proceeds of the contract.

The completion of the project was scheduled for March 5, 2013, but at the time of the audit visit on June 26, 2013, the works were not completed and appeared to be abandoned. “In addition to the fact that liquidated damages had accrued on a daily basis at a rate of 0.1 per cent of the final contract price, but not exceeding 10 per cent of the final contract price, there were overpayments totalling $202,400, on measured works.” The report found that the Ministry has been hoarding $200M in a Bank of Guyana Account.

According to Sharma’s report, in 2011, approval was given for the establishment of a Housing Revolving Fund. He said that three cheques to the value of $200M were drawn on January 5, 2012 and deposited into a special bank account held at the Bank of Guyana. “At the time of reporting, no disbursements were made from the Account.” The Auditor General found too that with regards to the School Feeding Programme in Region Nine and in keeping with the Memorandum of Understanding for the consolidation of the School Snack Programme in that Region, two warrants amounting to $40M were issued.

This was to enable preparation and supply of schools snacks to 3,500 students across 43 Villages in that Region. According to Sharma, financial returns were not provided to account for funds expended on behalf of the Ministry. “In the circumstances, it could not be ascertained whether the amounts were expended for the purposes intended.”

Now Al Yuh see why I said GT people PRAPA STUPID!!!!

You think abee PPP get them all bassidy?  

sHEIK FROM gt, RIGHT????   HEHE Is Rass to play now.

Why was there a recent contradictory/questionable report that the PNC will not participate in the pending local Government elections?

The PNC CAN DO WHAT THEY WANT. That is no  reason for  Guyanese to  denied the right to elect their city, town  and village councilors for 20years?

What a shame, then again the PPP Gov't has none.

Now most people would say that the best way to improve G/T is to host local govt elections and allow the people to select who they wish.

But clearly the PPP has no intention of doing this so they push an UNDEMOCRATIC form of governance, pushing of course PPP cronies.

Now most people would say that the best way to improve G/T is to host local govt elections and allow the people to select who they wish.

But clearly the PPP has no intention of doing this so they push an UNDEMOCRATIC form of governance, pushing of course PPP cronies.

YUh head really HARD!!! THe PEOPLE OF GT CAN REMOVE THE MAYOR AND CITY COUNCIL AND REPLACE THEM. IT IS CALLED PEOPLE'S POWER. THEY CHOOSE NOT TO, SO LET THEM LIVE IN FILTH!!!

. . . Asked why the Government has not acted to address what Whittaker described as a “failed” City Council by establishing an Interim Management Committee (IMC), he said this move is in the hands of Georgetown’s residents.

According to him, residents as well as representatives of the private sector can forward a petition to the Ministry of Local Government, which will then launch an inquiry and have the outcomes presented at a public meeting before it can act on the recommendations of the inquiry’s report. . . .

alyuh PPP antiman think alyuh smart . . . typical brainless fellow traveling suckers servicing god-knows-what on alyuh arthritic knees

now, lessee . . . fostering, incubating, and tolerating all that suffering all these years just to come up with 'smartness' to coerce [thru pain] an UNDEMOCRATIC PPP takeover of Guyana's capital city

where is the PPP push for DEMOCRATIC gov't in Georgetown through local elections?!!

. . . EVIL, cruel and racial people in Freedom House

YUh head really HARD!!! THe PEOPLE OF GT CAN REMOVE THE MAYOR AND CITY COUNCIL AND REPLACE THEM. IT IS CALLED PEOPLE'S POWER. THEY CHOOSE NOT TO, SO LET THEM LIVE IN FILTH!!!

yOU SKONT LIKE TO COME HERE AND TALK ABOUITE VOTING AND ELECTIONS IN aMERICA BUT WHEN IT COMES TO gUYANA YOU TALKING FROM YOUR ASS.

FOOL, Elections in GUYANA are MORE HONEST and DEMOCRATIC than USA. ASk President Carter. One of these days you will get a brain transplant and start to know things.

You don't need a brain transplant to know that Jagdeo steal poor people money and took bribe to build a Mansion.

One do not need a brain transplant to know that you are speaking from both sides of your mouth when it comes to people exercising their right to choose whom they want to represent them.

One do not need a brain transplant to know that what the PPP Go'vt is the most corrupt in the history of Guyana.

One do not need a brain tansplant to know that Guyana has the most unsolved murders that all of Carricom.

I can go on and on but the PPP soup that you are drinking CAUSE your brain to freeze.

You don't need a brain transplant to know that Jagdeo steal poor people money and took bribe to build a Mansion.

One do not need a brain transplant to know that you are speaking from both sides of your mouth when it comes to people exercising their right to choose whom they want to represent them.

One do not need a brain transplant to know that what the PPP Go'vt is the most corrupt in the history of Guyana.

One do not need a brain tansplant to know that Guyana has the most unsolved murders that all of Carricom.

I can go on and on but the PPP soup that you are drinking CAUSE your brain to freeze.

aRE YOU AWARE THAT THE gOVT IS CURRENTLY resubmitting THE bILL FOR lOCAL gOVT eLECTIONS??? wHAT YOU THINK THE oPPOSITION WILL DO???? sO BEFORE YOU OPEN YOUR STUPID MOUTH , TRY TO UNDERSTAND THINGS.

You must be intoxicated still? They are NOT resubmitting the bill for local government elections. They are doing so for AML, got it? Is that clear?

The PPP soup is causing Nehru to shit through his mouth.

bANNAS, sOUP DRINKING IS FOR PEOPLE LIKE YOUAND DAT gAL jb. The Opposition can only DESTROY NOT BUILD. Dai IS a FACT!!!

ChiefY man, you gat wan A in GCE and yu ah still write bad HINGLISH.

Man dis ting "One do not" should it be "One does not"?

Should it not beJagdeo "STOLE"? exercising their right(s)?

Must be one damnBIG BRIBE.

Don't give Line Path Secondary a black eye now.

JB is a girl?

Yes I am. Why is it important to you? Hope you do not sexually molest women and sleep with prostitutes like Mr Nehru. 

Because I thought you were a man.

You making some wild  statements how do you know that Nehru molest women and sleep woith Prostituttes, were you in the same house? Just asking because you sound like you are an angry person.