@Django posted:

Put Liens on their properties ,publish their names for public to see.

He can't do that.  Their properties are owned by foreign countries. Those people have diplomatic immunities. 

The first step was the right one. i.e sending them notices to pay their taxes. The Next step is to levy interests on money owed to the city council.

@Ramakant-P posted:

He can't do that.  Their properties are owned by foreign countries. Those people have diplomatic immunities.

The first step was the right one. i.e sending them notices to pay their taxes. The Next step is to levy interests on money owed to the city council.

This is nonsense--you either didn't read the letter or read it and didn't understand it.  In either case, what you wrote is not what is conveyed in the Mayor's letter.

@Ramakant-P posted:

That's nonsense. Show us the law that exempt them from paying their taxes.

The City should place a lean and offer the properties for sale to recover the amounts owed.

How can they be allowed to owe for decades?

The letter from the Mayor is informing of the delinquent property tax payers in the city and that the Embassies and Diplomatic Corps warn their countries investors doing business with Guyana businessmen ,whom are mostly defaulters.

No where in the letter it said the Embassies and Diplomatic Corps are defaulters and should pay up.

@cain posted:

Totaram, explain what you got out of the mayor's letter because I read it the same way as Rama, taxes are owed, pay up.

The letter is asking the Embassies to advise companies/investors from their home countries about paying taxes and about buying properties that owe taxes to the City of Georgetown.  It is not asking the Embassies to pay taxes.

@Totaram posted:

The letter is asking the Embassies to advise companies/investors from their home countries about paying taxes and about buying properties that owe taxes to the City of Georgetown.  It is not asking the Embassies to pay taxes.

Cockroach eat out Rama's comprehension.

Gross disrespect by Mr Beepat to the Mayor

November 28 ,2020

Dear Editor,

It has come to my attention that Mr. Roy Beepat, proprietor of Giftland, in dealing with the claim by the Mayor and City Council (M&CC) that he owes the city substantial sums, referred to his Worship the Mayor Mr Ubraj Narine as “A stupid little boy who doesn’t understand politics”.

Here I’m not concerned with either the contention by the M&CC or Beepat’s contention related to sums he and his company are alleged to owe the Council. Neither will I address the modalities nor accuracy of previous exchanges between the two entities. My great concern is the gross disrespect and disdain contained in Beepat’s reference to the Mayor of the capital city of the Cooperative Republic of Guyana.

The foundation upon which every civilized society is built, is civility and a regard for functional authority and due respect for those who hold high office. I have known the Beepats and have had exchanges with the father of the Beepat brothers Mr. Madhoo Beepat and his older son Dennis Beepat, and both engaged in businesses which required contact with the municipalities and high government officials.

From my personal knowledge they have always observed protocol even on matters where there existed differences of views and interests.

What therefore allows Roy Beepat such arrogance to describe the Mayor of the city in such unflattering and unacceptable terms. His description of the Mayor in a public statement shows both disdain and disrespect for the chief citizen of Georgetown, the city where his business is located.

Taking into account the extant social, political and economic environment, this matter must not be seen as trivial. The old folks say “You can’t see something in the day and take fire stick to look for it at might.” In Guyana today there is a noticeable tendency to be disrespectful by some of the wealthy and the nouveau riche.

If we are to advance safely and solidly, we must nip this crassness in the bud. I therefore call upon those who administer government, I call on the private sector commission and I call on citizens irrespective of colour, race, creed or political persuasion to speak up and demand a public apology from Mr. Roy Beepat.

The private sector commission ought not to be selective in their criticisms on matters of general concern. At this crucial moment Guyana can ill afford any matter which can rend the already fragile fabric of our beloved country.

The likes of Roy Beepat must know that when we show disregard for authority it is like a boomerang. He must remember that he and his ilk have persons working under them.

Let us not be guilty even as I remind my friends of the words of the late celebrated Abraham  Lincoln the 16th U.S.A . President “To sin by silence when they should protest makes cowards of men.”

Yours faithfully,

Hamilton Green

How these stupid azz PPPites running around hollering about INvestments coming to Guyana. The country doan provide infrastructures for that.

Idiots galore. And when you spend your money, expect NICIL to reposses. The investors from Wales muss be finding out bout Marcia's vendetta.

@seignet posted:

How these stupid azz PPPites running around hollering about INvestments coming to Guyana. The country doan provide infrastructures for that.

Idiots galore. And when you spend your money, expect NICIL to reposses. The investors from Wales muss be finding out bout Marcia's vendetta.

This is irrelevant to the topic. What are you confused about? Investments are coming to Guyana.  They will help build the infrastructure which will create lots of opportunities for businesses. If you follow Mitwah, Tota, and Tola, you will become what they have become and that is Nemakarams.

@Totaram posted:

@Mitwah posted:

Cockroach eat out Rama's comprehension.

The letters states, "legal action will commence to recover unpaid taxes plus interest." I still see nothing that Ramaski said was incorrect except possibly the first part of his post.

@Ramakant-P posted:

This is irrelevant to the topic. What are you confused about? Investments are coming to Guyana.  They will help build the infrastructure which will create lots of opportunities for businesses. If you follow Mitwah, Tota, and Tola, you will become what they have become and that is Nemakarams.

Yuh hear Roy Beepat said he had build the sewage system. Investors expect that to be provided by the state and they pay a fee to be hooked up.