Churchill posted:

I am not a fan of the Bushes but I respect that fact that the deceased warned Desmond Hoyte in 1990 that if the elections in Guyana was  not fair that he will suspend aid to the country. This was a most welcomed statement from a sitting US president .

Now you backing the same PNC who robbed elections for decades.

Churchill posted:

I am not a fan of the Bushes but I respect that fact that the deceased warned Desmond Hoyte in 1990 that if the elections in Guyana was  not fair that he will suspend aid to the country. This was a most welcomed statement from a sitting US president .

You Tek the word outta me mouth deh.  I shook my head when I read that statement.

Churchill posted:

You Tek the word outta me mouth deh.  I shook my head when I read that statement.

What is ironic is the below this old fogy sharing the same handle with:

In a 1948 speech to the House of Commons, Winston Churchillchanged the quote slightly when he said (paraphrased), 'Those who fail to learn from history are condemned to repeat it.'

Vish M posted:

Americans always show respect for their leaders in retrospect 

They all observe the law

That's true. Bush Sr. had an illustrious career - check him out on google - Director of CIA, etc. I remember nasty things he did during his career but will keep quiet in honor of the dead. He was America's beloved President Ronnie's VP and that's how he became President. America was on a high from the Reagan years and that's why they voted for Sr.

Like George Bush, Churchill served his country with dignity and loyalty.  He would have never thrown the people of his country under the bus and watch from afar to see who is suffering more than who. 

That is what Guyana Churchill did? Lward have mercy, some of these people got no conscience.  

Three men that played important roles in the restoration of democracy in Guyana.

1. George H.W.BUSH 

2. Prince Philip who told the Guyana government that if democracy is not restored then he will use his influence to make sure that they are sanctioned.

3. Carter 

Prashad appreciate the intervention of each of these men.

Tola posted:
Vish M posted:

Americans always show respect for their leaders in retrospect 

They all observe the law

Not all. The present president will only show respect for himself and lets bury the other farts.  

Tols, he's not all that bad.  He gave us Federal Gov't Holiday on Wednesday to attend the funeral.  

Three men that played important roles in the restoration of democracy in Guyana.

1. George H.W.BUSH 

2. Prince Philip who told the Guyana government that if democracy is not restored then he will use his influence to make sure that they are sanctioned.

3. Carter 

Prash, you forget to mention the  main man. Canadian Foreign Affairs Minister Joe Clarke who spearheaded the campaign. I was there when he met with Sat. 

1. George H.W.BUSH 

3. Carter 

Prash, you forget to mention the  main man. Canadian Foreign Affairs Minister Joe Clarke who spearheaded the campaign. I was there when he met with Sat. 

Carter was offering reparation for the Jim Jones slaughtering in the land of Guyana.  They always return to the scene of the crime.