Former Minister of Business Dominic Gaskin on Friday admitted he has no academic qualifications for the post to which he was appointed – Director of Manufacturing and Marketing in the Ministry of Business.

The post involves the enforcement of standards, providing assistance to small producers and access to markets, particularly Eastern Caribbean markets.

“In terms of my own qualifications, I don’t pretend to have any qualifications.

“Like some people, I’ve never been to university, I never had that privilege. I don’t have degrees before or after my name,” he said at a press conference held at the Alliance For Change (AFC) headquarters in Georgetown on Friday.

However, he noted that he has spent almost 40 years in manufacturing and understand the challenges faced by manufacturers in Guyana and what needs to be done to address some of those challenges and make the manufacturing sector more competitive.

It was pointed out that the Ministry of Business functioned without a Director of Manufacturing and Marketing for the past four years. Added to that the position was not advertised before the appointment was made, raising concerns about the need for it.

But Gaskin said he “personally believes that a position dedicated to that particular responsibility or that particular area is certainly not a frivolous appointment and it certainly has a focus and it’s certainly in an area where attention is badly needed.”

Gaskin’s appointment was also made along with that of three other Ministers who resigned in April but were all re-employed to serve within the same Ministries –also in positions which were created for them.

Defending the move, Gaskin said the President identified areas of deficiencies, one of which included manufacturing and marketing and then made the appointment. The Former Minister said he was unable to place adequate attention during his tenure.

Asked about his salary and benefits, Gaskin said: “I have no idea, we have not even had that discussion.”

However, he said he will not enjoy the same benefits as if he was Minister of Business.

“I certainly don’t think as a former Minister and accepting an appointment with less responsibilities that the compensation would or should be the same,” he said adding that “…this is not something that I need to do, not something I am looking for.

“I think there is much more opportunities in the private sector than in Government.

Following his resignation, the former Minister had said he is eager to return to the private sector. Prior to 2015, he managed Topaz Jewellery with his wife who is the daughter of President David Granger.

Gaskin said his appointment “not a long term appointment or something I am looking to make a career out of.”

With elections within a year, he said it would not have been proper for the Government to create a long term position but rather a short term appointment that can dedicate itself to improving Guyana’s manufacturing and marketing of its exports.

Gaskin says has no qualifications for new post but denies appointment ‘frivolous’

Former Minister of Business Dominic Gaskin on Friday admitted he has no academic qualifications for the post to which he was appointed – Director of Manufacturing and Marketing in the Ministry of Business.

The post involves the enforcement of standards, providing assistance to small producers and access to markets, particularly Eastern Caribbean markets.

“In terms of my own qualifications, I don’t pretend to have any qualifications.

Following his resignation, the former Minister had said he is eager to return to the private sector. Prior to 2015, he managed Topaz Jewellery with his wife who is the daughter of President David Granger.

Wha wrang wid dis guy ...

Eee gat dee highest kwalifikashun ... son-in-law ah dee president.

Calling Django for his comments...

what you think coalition minister has no academic qualifications bhai. Wicked ness or fact. 

Regardless, I like Gaskin for his honesty. 

- he resign as minister to keep his US citizenship, although he is the President son in law. 

- he was not afraid to say about his qualifications. 

A wonder how many more without academic qualification. 

But a wicked PPP wicked me tell yo. 

what you think coalition minister has no academic qualifications bhai. Wicked ness or fact. 

- he resign as minister to keep his US citizenship, although he is the President son in law. 

I am sure he will be calling the shots at the Ministry of Business and not the 'Minister' of Business so I am not buying this 'resign' BS. All of these 'resigned' coalition ministers were just given new titles as smoke screens.

Well he is honest to state he isn't a University graduate, also Dominic Gaskin was born in England to Guyanese parents.

How much of them bright bhai's in PPP graduated from University, let's do a comparison between them and people from the Coalition Government. Do you think that's a good idea ?

Well he is honest to state he isn't a University graduate, also Dominic Gaskin was born in England to Guyanese parents.

How much of them bright bhai's in PPP graduated from University, let's do a comparison between them and people from the Coalition Government. Do you think that's a good idea ?

If you choose that way, then you MUST never again comment on Irfan qualifications.. how about that. 

Weak... very ...weak.

Gaskin is honest about his qualification.. unlike...Irfaan.

A certain slop can member also don't have a degree, yet he continues to peddle pnc propaganda and speaks with "authority" over any and ever sloppy matter. Correction, dat bai got soldering certificate. 

Weak... very ...weak.

Nah bhai, you dodge the facts ... you asked for comparison with PPP ministers, but I mentioned Irfan name. No question about Gaskin honestly.. 

you now getting wicked and mischievous 

A certain slop can member also don't have a degree, yet he continues to peddle pnc propaganda and speaks with "authority" over any and ever sloppy matter. Correction, dat bai got soldering certificate. 

Who is that member ? be a man and spit it out !!!! 

there is a probability that member can prove acquiring tertiary education, and approved by the State resides in to have a Professional License.

Now, after all, Nagamoottoo and the AFC was never about change. Imagine nominating Gaskin to a key ministry only on being Granger's son-in-law. Jagan mentality carried over to the AFC-Nagamootoo and Ramjattan. 

Weak... very ...weak.

Nah bhai, you dodge the facts ... you asked for comparison with PPP ministers, but I mentioned Irfan name. No question about Gaskin honestly.. 

Naah man, let's do the comparison !!! you start first !!!

Who de cap fit let them wear it.  I gun be a man and reveal all meh certificates.  Nat ah Rass certificate was my highest achievement. 

there is a probability that member can prove acquiring tertiary education, and approved by the State resides in to have a Professional License.

Who de cap fit let them wear it.  I gun be a man and reveal all meh certificates.  Nat ah Rass certificate was my highest achievement. 

Weaklings...cops ..out !!!

Bai, me deh in de PPP. Me ah support dem.

I am sure he will be calling the shots at the Ministry of Business and not the 'Minister' of Business so I am not buying this 'resign' BS. All of these 'resigned' coalition ministers were just given new titles as smoke screens.

It,s all a promotion with higher pay plus bonus of barrels of crude oil from Harmon.

Weak... very ...weak.

Now you are the weak link 😊, you brought up comparison, why asking me to start first, what the rass is this... come on !! be a man 

Bhai, you know them bhais, inside out, that's why asked to start first.

Here is another failure, and I am disappointed with Gaskin for this. 

Gaskin say, them 5 MP who went as spectators in TT .. is petty matters... now a six minister went Bulkan. 

So, how Gaskin manage his family business with this attitude, guess the failure to get a academic education, fail him . 

Reaction to Ministers’ government-funded trip to CCJ petty – Gaskin

Dominic Gaskin, of the Alliance For Change, has said that the outcry over the use of public funds to send six ministers to Trinidad, is

[from left] Vice-President, Sydney Allicock; Minister of Public Service, Tabitha Sarrabo-Halley; Minister of Social Cohesion, Dr. George Norton; Minister of Education, Nicolette Henry; and Minister of Business Haimraj Rajkumar

petty.
This comes on the heels of criticism that government sent ministers who had no technical assistance to provide to the legal team.
Kaieteur News had reported that Attorney-at-law, Christopher Ram, criticised the government for sending them there for no apparent reason. Those ministers are Vice-President Sydney Allicock; Minister of Education, Nicolette Henry; Minister of Social Cohesion, Dr. George Norton; Minister of Public Service, Tabitha Sarrabo-Halley; and Minister of Business Haimraj Rajkumar.
But it was revealed by Joseph Harmon, Director General of the Ministry of the Presidency, that a sixth Minister, Ronald Bulkan, of the Communities Ministry, also joined the team on the second day.
During a press conference on Thursday last, Harmon also confirmed that those ministers’ trip was government-funded.
The Alliance For Change (AFC) held a press conference, during which Dominic G

Minister of Communities, Ronald Bulkan

askin was asked how a government justifies sending a team of ministers to Trinidad for no apparent reason.
He said that “if you are taking a matter to a court of such stature, then you should also take with you some sort of representation of the interested party. You don’t just send your lawyers.”
He said that it is the government that is actually involved in this matter.“I see no reason why certain representatives of the government shouldn’t attend the hearing.”
The former Business Minister said that, sometimes, “we can be very petty about things.”
He asked, “What is the total cost in the grand scheme of things?”
This matter, he noted, “has been a matter that has been at a very high level and set some precedence, and created a much clearer understanding for us as Guyanese of what certain positions of our constitution need. Isn’t that more important than the fact that we had ministers flying to Trinidad to attend court?”
At this juncture, the public awaits news of the cost of that trip.
Ram had said, “It is hoped that the AG and the Minister of Finance will give taxpayers a full account of the expenditure borne by them for the prosecution of these cases. So far, the AG has retained at least five Senior Counsel from abroad who command very high fees.”
“Responsible government requires that taxpayers’ money is properly spent and fully accounted for.” Ram said.

He has some top quality gems and a very good variety of precious metals on his website. Maybe he worked in the jewelry industry since he was a kid so he may have gained a deep working knowledge of gemstones and precious metals so he does not need to go to gem school.

That girl is an educated girl.  Prashad has a feeling if he was charcoal black or deep brown then Jranger may have chase him out with a stick when he came looking for marriage. 

the same Granger alyuh screaming is wan Black nationalist

a buncha silly, confused indoracists posting here

smfh