Ganga Persaud lambasts "sex" reports

• Tuesday, 28 January 2014 07:26
Ganga Persaud [GINA photo)
Ganga Persaud (GINA photo)

Outgoing Minister of Local Government and Regional Development, Ganga Persaud has slammed suggestions in sections of the media that he has quit the job over alleged sexual relations with a minor.

“I wish to make it abundantly and unequivocally clear that I have had no sexual relations with any minor as is alleged or at all,” he said in a statement late Monday night.

He denied that such an allegation was raised or discussed with him by President Donald Ramotar.

He said those seriously libellous allegations were “causing me and my family severe public humiliation, embarrassment and trauma.”           

He expressed deep shock at reports circulating particularly in the social media that tend to suggest and in some instances allege, expressly or by implication, that he had sexual intercourse of some sort with a minor.    

Persaud, who resigned on January 23, threatened to take legal action against those circulating those false, malicious and libellous matters of and concerning me, cease forthwith.  

“I have instructed my lawyers to proceed with litigation against every person, entity or company who continue to publish, or repeat the publication of these baseless, malicious and libellous allegations,” he said.

Persaud’s denial came several hours after General Secretary of the governing Peoples Progressive Party (PPP), Clement Rohee admitted that he was treading carefully on questions that were posed by the media about the outgoing minister’s alleged relations  with a young female.

“Whatever position the government took, Office of the President in this particular case, took in the matter and once we were involved in the consultative process, I have absolutely no difficulty with the decision of the President to sever the Comrade’s relationship with the Cabinet,” Rohee told a news conference. “If there was an act of indiscretion, if there was an act of dishonesty, whatever the act may have been that would have led the Office of the President taking that decision, the party goes along with it,” Rohee said.

Rohee declined to say whether that was the reason for the minister’s resignation. He, however, conceded that the presidency influenced Persaud to quit the post. When asked repeatedly at a news conference held on January 24 if he had asked Persaud to do so, President Ramotar only said “I accepted his resignation”. The Guyanese leader denied that there had been differences between Persaud and senior members of the PPP.

From all accounts, Persaud would remain a senior PPP member and could play a key role in any upcoming elections.

Dat Banna don't look like he can bang anything. BUT I am willing to wait for the TRUTH.  On the other hand, why would he leave such a prestigious job?  I hope we will get clear answers to these questions.

Why is he running away from the PPP soup?

Dat is what we all want to know. His answer about personal matters will not cut it now that this allegation surface.

It's now fashionable in Guyana for men to have a wife and several other sweet homan.

Some men are born with a knack Fuh women but you have to exercise and have proper diet, Viagra can also be useful.  Not that anything is wrong with having Nuff woman, The Koran says you can have 7 BUT you must be financially able to treat all equally.

And a woman should be able to do like wise. No?

And a woman should be able to do like wise. No?A

Absolutely no. IS A GOOD CUT RASS DEM GUN LOOK FOR. Well, that is how it is in my world, I cant speak for others. To each his own.

Originally Posted by ball:

So yo is seyin them gaumont gyals does only have you alone

I understand that is what your brain allows you to understand. It is not your fault that you were born that way.

Banga gone international

Guyana minister denies allegations of sexual misconduct

Tuesday, January 28, 2014

GEORGETOWN, Guyana (CMC) – Outgoing Local Government and Regional Development Minister Ganga Persaud has denied media reports that he tendered his resignation from the Guyana government because of allegations of sexual misconduct.

“I wish to make it abundantly and unequivocally clear that I have had no sexual relations with any minor as is alleged or at all. Neither was such an allegation raised or discussed with me by His Excellency, President Donald Ramotar,” Persaud said in a statement.

Ganga Persaud
 1/1 

When he announced his resignation earlier this month, Persaud said it was due to “personal issues presently engaging my attention as well as some additional responsibilities to which I am committed”.

But there have been various online news reports concerning the sexual misconduct allegations and Persaud in his statement said he had had become aware of  “reports circulating particularly in the social media which tend to suggest and in some instances allege, expressly or by implication, that I had sexual intercourse of some sort with a minor”.

Persaud, who demits office on January 31, said the allegations were seriously libellous and causing him and his family severe public humiliation, embarrassment and trauma.

“I hereby request that those circulating these false, malicious and libellous matters of and concerning me, cease forthwith.  I have instructed my lawyers to proceed with litigation against every person, entity or company who continue to publish, or repeat the publication of these baseless, malicious and libellous allegations,” the statement added.

Meanwhile, general secretary of the ruling People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) Clement Rohee has told a news conference that Persaud was basically fired as a minister.

Rohee told reporters on Monday that while Persaud remains a member of the party’s central committee, the Donald Ramotar administration has severed ties with him as a minister of government.

“While his relation as a minister has been severed, his relation with the party remains intact, until he chooses otherwise,” Rohee added.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com...onduct#ixzz2rhx3kBaT