Gang knocks down Cane Grove man then beats him to death

January 3, 2016 | By | Filed Under News 

Police on the East Coast of Demerara are in the process of rounding up members of a gang that beat a 22-year-old Cane Grove, Mahaica labourer, so bad and left him lying on the road that he succumbed hours later at the Georgetown Public Hospital.
Deokumar Basdeo’s sister and his stepmother watched helplessly as the men first struck him down with a pick-up truck and then battered him with pieces of wood as he was making his way home on Friday night, three days after he had celebrated his 22nd birthday.

Dead: Deokumar Basdeo aka Kevin

The incident has left the entire Cane Grove community in a state of mourning, since Basdeo has left behind a young wife and a two-year-old son.
Family members have no clue about the motive of the attack but they are convinced that the main perpetrator is a man from Mon Repos, another East Coast Demerara village located several miles away.
Police in a statement yesterday said that about 21:30 hours on Friday, Basdeo called Kevin was reportedly involved in an altercation with a group of men in a motor vehicle along the roadway at Cane Grove.
“He was subsequently found on the roadway with injuries and admitted to the GPHC where he later succumbed. No arrest has been made as yet,” the statement said.
Divisional Commander, Assistant Commissioner Marlon Chapman told this newspaper that his detectives are currently looking for the man from Mon Repos who they believe could provide them with vital information on Basdeo’s death.
He said that they are questioning three persons of interest who have not yet been deemed as suspects.
The police are optimistic that they will crack the case since they have information from eyewitnesses.
Yesterday, relatives and friends of the dead man were gathered at his parents’ home consoling them and his wife, while preparing for the wake.
His sister, Amrita Doodnauth, recounted the minutes before his death. She said that she was sitting on the steps of her house while her brother who was visiting, was outside the yard.
She said that she and her stepmother went to him and urged him to go home since he already had a few “drinks”.
The woman said that her brother began walking home and all of a sudden he began running. She saw a red pick-up truck speeding behind him and there was the sound of a heavy impact.
“Me tell me stepmother run go see if ‘Buddy’ get knock down or if anybody lash he, because me pregnant and me nah able run.”
Doodnauth said that when her stepmother reached the spot, she saw some men beating Basdeo and she raised an alarm.
Doodnauth told this newspaper that she responded to her stepmother’s call but only ventured a safe distance from where her brother was being beaten.
“But me ah see everybody who ah beat me buddy. Me see how dem tek wood and ah lash am and kick am. Dem pull out he shirt, if you see wha dem ah do with me brother,” Doodnauth told Kaieteur News.
She said that at first she thought that her brother was being robbed.
“He ah holler and say, ‘Alyuh nah rob me, alyuh nah rob me, alyuh nah kill me.’ One ah dem say, ‘Yes, awe go kill you right hey,” the woman added.

Pastor Ganesh Nauth [left) of the CFCN offers a word of prayer for the dead man’s grieving wife Sherry (right) and their two-year-old son.

Pastor Ganesh Nauth (left) of the CFCN offers a word of prayer for the dead man’s grieving wife Sherry (right) and their two-year-old son.

She said that they could do nothing to save her brother, “Because is plenty ah dem and only we two women.”
Strangely, no other neighbour ventured out of their home to render assistance during the beating.
By this time, it began to rain and given her condition, she hurriedly left the scene and sought shelter.
When the rain stopped Doodnauth and her stepmother returned to the scene only to see Basdeo lying motionless on the roadway. His attackers had already fled.
They decided to contact Basdeo’s father Gopaul Seeram who had just returned home.
“When me father run go, he shout out, ‘Ow! me son gon dead, if you see blood’,” Doodnauth recalled.
Seeram said when he got home, his wife and daughter told him that some men in two vehicles had just attacked his son.
He said when he went where the attack occurred, he saw Basdeo lying on the road with his head badly battered.
He said he rushed to the nearby Cane Grove Police Station but only one rank was there and he offered no tangible assistance.
Seeram said he subsequently contacted the Corporal in charge of the station and she informed him that she was coming.
He then put his badly injured son in a car and went back to the station where he uplifted a “medical” which he was advised to take to the hospital.
“Me son was still alive but he wasn’t talking.”
It was while receiving treatment that Basdeo succumbed.
Basdeo’s wife, Rangita Baig, called Sherry, was spending some time with her parents in Berbice when she got the dreadful news that someone had beaten him.
She and her mother immediately left home and headed straight to the hospital. While on their way though, they got a message that he was already dead.
She was comforted by Pastor Ganesh Nauth, who is attached to the Cops and Faith Community Network (CFCN) and who took time to pray with the grieving family.
Pastor Nauth lamented the wanton display of bitterness which he attributed to the increasing amount of domestic type murders.
He urged that the aggrieved family members let God take control of their situation and not to be led into any form of retaliation.
No one could say what the problem was between Basdeo and the gang of men.
“If he been wrong to them or he do them anything, dey could’a lash he and bruk he hand and foot. He get a wife and pickney, who ah go support them now he dead and gone?” his sister Amrita Doodnauth said.

Welcome to AFC/PNC's racist and lawless Guyana.

Ethnic cleansing is in full force in 2016.

Deokumar-Basdeo-aka-Kevin-171x300

These AFC/PNC savages will destroy Guyana.

• Deokumar-Basdeo-aka-Kevin-171x300

These AFC/PNC savages could care less about Indo lives:

There is ZERO Protection as Indos, they are left to suffer, be raped and murdered.

Take a close look at the kid, that child's life has been destroyed by AFC/PNC savages (Welcome to Change, AFC/PNC style)

CANE-GROVE-300x268

• CANE-GROVE-300x268

I could care less about your daily nonsense.

I am speaking out against ethnic cleansing. It my right to speak out against AFC/PNC ethnic cleansing.

You have no bloody right to prevent me from speaking out, it is your right to to endorse ethnic cleansing but you are on the wrong side of history by your endorsement.

If you post as an ordinary poster, it is fair game.

Drunken coolies fighting amongst themselves and then one is murdered. Just another day in the life of an East Indian tradition. No black man was observed within any distance of the victim. So it was clearly a PPP assassination.