The large gathering at the No.53 celebration (Ministry of the Presidency photo

August 2 2018

Emancipation Day was celebrated in grand style yesterday at the Number 53 Village, Corentyne, where President David Granger told the gathering that the future generations must be prepared to handle the petroleum economy.

“We have to start thinking about the future, we have to start thinking about the type of education, the scientific and technical education that Guyanese students need to enable them to compete with other petroleum producing countries, “Granger highlighted during the feature address.

According to the president, Guyana’s future is bright but, “if we are not careful, we will lose the advantage that God has given us, a blessed resource.”

President David  Granger (right) distributing bikes (Ministry of Presidency photo)

He added that Guyana must ensure that it does not fall in the hands of the wrong persons, as such the country must produce “… scientifically qualified people”.

The president further noted that every child should be in school, and in order to eradicate poverty throughout Guyana, citizens must ensure that children are able to benefit from a proper education. He stated that now is not the time for children to drop out or skip school but it is the time for education to be taken more seriously in villages.

Granger challenged the audience to take risks and become entrepreneurs. He said that there should be no reason for a young person to be “liming in the street corner when we have abundant land”.

Additionally, he highlighted that when the opportunities come in the “gold industry, the petroleum industry, the bauxite industry, the timber industry, you [must] have technically qualified men and woman” who can make use of them in order to develop themselves and the country.

The president also spoke of economic emancipation and employment, pointing out that “You must seek to employ yourself in your villages, in your community, in your Region”.

Granger also announced that 22 students would each receive a bicycle to assist with their travels to school.

Meanwhile, there was also a lavish exhibition of African heritage, which included arts, crafts, food, drumming. There was also drumming and metemgee cooking competitions. 

The programme, which was organized by the Ministry of Presidency in collaboration with the Berbice Association of African Groups, had a variety of cultural items and was attended by  Minister of Public Security, Khemraj Ramjattan, Minister of Social Protection, Amna Ally, Minister of Social Cohesion, George Norton, Minster of Public Health, Volda Lawrence, Minister within the Ministry of Public Health, Karen Cummings, along with Regional Chairman of Region Six, David Armogan, Regional Executive Officer of Region Six, Kim Stephens, Regional Executive Officer of Region Five, Ovid Morrison and other officials.

Nigeria still struggles though they have the highest number of Phds in the entire world. Good attitudes doan need education, you either born wid it or yuh don't. 

Gramger's demonstration so far as a public servant shows he doan have it.

As a leader and churchman he lacks the knowledge that God sees ppl and not only blacks.  

Power gan to he head and result is bigotry.

Burnham protege.

Here is Granger running his mouth and yet he doesn't explain what this "oil economy" will be. I bet if you ask him he doesn't know, and yet he screams that 18 year olds should educate themselves for this.

1. Where will the jobs be and what kind of training is he offering.  Is he even trying to get Guyanese to get short term jobs in the T&T industry so that they can gain experience that they clearly cannot in Guyana?  Of course not.

2.  Is he ensuring that there will be value added in Guyana as well as multipliers into other sectors of the economy?  Because this is where opportunities for those non elites will be. Yes those who cannot steal as many of his cronies now do. Of course not.

What his ministers and others are doing is collecting bribes from Guyana's business oligarchs as they know that after 2020 they will likely to be no longer in gov't.  Guyana is no different from what it was during the Jagdeo era.  The same few who benefited then benefit now and the majority are locked out just as they were then.

Its an insult for him to demand of ordinary people when he himself has no answers.  He ought to tell his Ministers to stop behaving as if Jagdeo is the president. And he knows exactly who these people are.

He better hope that his base doesn't think that if the PNC/AFC are as corrupt as the PPP was that there is no need for them to vote.

And I will suggest that before he calls others lazy he needs to look at his own gov't.  These are the dumbest and most unimaginative set of geriatrics that one can find anywhere.  Not too hard working either.  What ideas have we seen from them?

Here is Granger running his mouth and yet he doesn't explain what this "oil economy" will be. I bet if you ask him he doesn't know, and yet he screams that 18 year olds should educate themselves for this.

1. Where will the jobs be and what kind of training is he offering.  Is he even trying to get Guyanese to get short term jobs in the T&T industry so that they can gain experience that they clearly cannot in Guyana?  Of course not.

2.  Is he ensuring that there will be value added in Guyana as well as multipliers into other sectors of the economy?  Because this is where opportunities for those non elites will be. Yes those who cannot steal as many of his cronies now do. Of course not.

What his ministers and others are doing is collecting bribes from Guyana's business oligarchs as they know that after 2020 they will likely to be no longer in gov't.  Guyana is no different from what it was during the Jagdeo era.  The same few who benefited then benefit now and the majority are locked out just as they were then.

Its an insult for him to demand of ordinary people when he himself has no answers.  He ought to tell his Ministers to stop behaving as if Jagdeo is the president. And he knows exactly who these people are.

He better hope that his base doesn't think that if the PNC/AFC are as corrupt as the PPP was that there is no need for them to vote.

And I will suggest that before he calls others lazy he needs to look at his own gov't.  These are the dumbest and most unimaginative set of geriatrics that one can find anywhere.  Not too hard working either.  What ideas have we seen from them?

You are correct in pointing out that Granger does not have a comprehensive economic plan to address the long term effects of the impending “economic boom”. His government seems, impotent, and content with ad how planning. For this reason also, the nation will be at a great disadvantage, leaving itself open to exploitation by the multinationals. Besides, even if education and training (we still dont know what he has in mind) can take place between now and 2020, will not be enough to prepare Guyana for these economic transformations. 

In addition, if lower level jobs are not geared towards incorporating the working class, unskilled population, there is no reason to expect a multiplier effect which will attract other workers. 

However, you are being unfair in your criticism of the Granger administration.

One, the problems associated with the 23 years (and 28 years) of rule (or misrule) cannot be solved by a new government which has only been in office only 3 years. You are expecting too much from the young government which is still finding its way and trying to undo some of the negative effects of a previous government.

Two, the developing oil economy is also a new development, coming after years in a country where the migration of skilled people has led to a chronic brain drain. There are many government institutions and agencies where many competent personnel and rank and file individuals are missing. Very often, once training is provided, Amy choose to migrate. This is a problem for a developing nation-state like Guyana. Guyana, and the Granger government is dealing with these two problems, plus a population that has not undergone a gradual economic development in stages that would be reflective of a society based on mass consumer demand and a high level of technology. It has not experience linear economic growth and development because of greedy politicians, mismanagement and misguided policies of previous government.

Three, you might be exaggerating the level of corruption that exists today, compared to the previous government. I believe Granger is a decent, fair and wants to do good for all Guyanese. After all, he is a professional guy and a historian who understands Guyanese politics well. I believe Granger, however, is caught in a rock and a hard place, both of which place limits on his ability to provide good governance. He has got elements of the PNC who are “digging in” and working to control power once he departs the scene and he is forced to rely on incompetence and geriatrics. This may explain his incomprehensible mouthing to people at the emancipation celebrations because he is not getting reliable advice.

In any case, I have more faith that this government can redeem itself and is in a better position to manage the state’s resources and patrimony.

However, you are being unfair in your criticism of the Granger administration.

One, the problems associated with the 23 years (and 28 years) of rule (or misrule) cannot be solved by a new government which has only been in office only 3 years. You are expecting too much from the young government which is still finding its way and trying to undo some of the negative effects of a previous government.

Two, the developing oil economy is also a new development, coming after years in a country where the migration of skilled people has led to a chronic brain drain. There are many government institutions and agencies where many competent personnel and rank and file individuals are missing. Very often, once training is provided, Amy choose to migrate. This is a problem for a developing nation-state like Guyana. Guyana, and the Granger government is dealing with these two problems, plus a population that has not undergone a gradual economic development in stages that would be reflective of a society based on mass consumer demand and a high level of technology. It has not experience linear economic growth and development because of greedy politicians, mismanagement and misguided policies of previous government.

Three, you might be exaggerating the level of corruption that exists today, compared to the previous government. I believe Granger is a decent, fair and wants to do good for all Guyanese. After all, he is a professional guy and a historian who understands Guyanese politics well. I believe Granger, however, is caught in a rock and a hard place, both of which place limits on his ability to provide good governance. He has got elements of the PNC who are “digging in” and working to control power once he departs the scene and he is forced to rely on incompetence and geriatrics. This may explain his incomprehensible mouthing to people at the emancipation celebrations because he is not getting reliable advice.

In any case, I have more faith that this government can redeem itself and is in a better position to manage the state’s resources and patrimony.

1.  I am not suggesting that Granger solve the problem of over 50 years of rule by corrupt and incompetent racists.  I suggest that he develop a plan to deal with the problems that this created.  This is why many of us supported them in the beginning, though I was skeptical and I remembered being attacked by the Moses Fan Club (where are they now?) for this.

2.  It is a known fact that oil in Guyana will not automatically provide benefits for most Guyanese (discussed at length in the Al Jazeera streaming on another thread).  Value added and economic multipliers and a trained labor force will only happen if the gov't has a plan and properly implements it.  How can a kid plan for the future if they have no idea what that futures is, and if there are limited means to acquire that experience remaining in Guyana?

3.  Guyana's brain drain shouldn't be any worse than the rest of the CARICOM.  That it is occurs because we have a double brain drain.  Guyanese migrate to North America as do other Caribbean people.  Because Guyana offers a more backward existence than other Caribbean countries, many Guyanese also migrate to these places.  It is to be noted that even in distant Tortola Guyanese are the LARGEST migrant group to that island.  And I can name almost any Caribbean island and if we aren't the largest then we come right behind.

4.  I made note not to imply that Granger is corrupt.  However I hear the same names coming up all of the time.  Sometimes even mentioned in the media so its clear that this "decent" Granger seems more intent on letting loose his frustration on poor Guyanese youth than in reigning and and replacing those whose corruption and incompetence are legendary.  I am not going to name names as I don't wish to expose this site to libel.

The fact remains is that Granger is lazy, tired, and lacking in imagination. He is passive aggressive and vindictive towards those who he thinks are more innovative than he is.  He asks Guyanese in the diaspora to help, and when hey do his boredom is very apparent.  At least Jagdeo's boys feigned boredom in order to extract a bribe.  He does simply because he cannot be bothered.

The fact remains is that Granger is lazy, tired, and lacking in imagination. He is passive aggressive and vindictive towards those who he thinks are more innovative than he is. 

Dating from around the latter part of the 1960's.

Future generations must be prepared for petroleum economy – Granger

August 2 2018,  Source

According to the president, Guyana’s future is bright but, “if we are not careful, we will lose the advantage that God has given us, a blessed resource.”

Granger, an extremely careful and astute individual ???   

Definitely NOT.

Quote:

"The programme, which was organized by the Ministry of Presidency in collaboration with the Berbice Association of African Groups, had a variety of cultural items and was attended by  Minister of Public Security, Khemraj Ramjattan, Minister of Social Protection, Amna Ally, Minister of Social Cohesion, George Norton, Minster of Public Health, Volda Lawrence, Minister within the Ministry of Public Health, Karen Cummings, along with Regional Chairman of Region Six, David Armogan, Regional Executive Officer of Region Six, Kim Stephens, Regional Executive Officer of Region Five, Ovid Morrison and other officials."

End of Quote.

Ramjattan is from a nearby village.

Yuji was born and raised in that region too.

Good to see Granger visiting Black Neighbourhoods for emancipation. Sets the tone for a nice local election and upcoming General election in 2020.

Carib highlighted one of Granger's weakness, the assumption that Amerindians will get him back in power. He is truly mistaken if he thinks so. Granger needs to stick to his base and he made a strategic error by lambasting blacks during a recent emancipation speech.

APNU is treating blacks in the same manner the the Democrats treated blacks in the U.S. That backfired on the Democrats, will it repeat again in Guyana ?

We are gearing for an exciting 2020 election and I hope that it is free and fair since I  like a good clean political fight.

AFC has NOTHING to offer APNU, what will Ganger do about this ?