“From a Garden City to a Garbage City” – citizens

Withdrawal of garbage service

…as unemptied bins left on city streets

Residential and commercial areas across the capital city have been piled high with garbage, creating a disturbing scene, just days after City Hall’s two major solid waste collectors withdrew their services.
A check by Guyana Times around Georgetown revealed bags of garbage at the corners of the roadway next to stacked bins and boxes, awaiting removal.
In Alexander Village, residents decried that their garbage bins were not emptied since the two collectors – Puran Brothers Disposal Services and Cevons Waste Management – pulled their services last Monday. At present, they are asking when will the refuse be removed, as it is distasteful to look at. Furthermore, they have nowhere else to place to bags but to leave them on the corner of the streets.

Piles of garbage bags in Alexander Village

Shanaz Ally told this publication, “We were waiting for them to come since the beginning of this week. As you saw, the bins running over and we have to put the garbage in bags now and line them up until they come.”
Ally explained that since her community is on the outskirts of Georgetown, they have been neglected by the Council when it comes to the provision of garbage disposal services.
Additionally, in Central Georgetown, key enterprises and prominent locations also faced the brunt of City Hall’s incapability to meet these demands. Water Street was lined with black garbage bags filled with unwanted waste at almost every business.
With the obvious possibility of rodents and vermin being attracted by the garbage pile up, customers also found it difficult to conduct their transactions, as they were forced to manoeuvre between the bags to access the stores during the busy Christmas season. Many persons with large shopping bags complained about this build-up of waste.

This was waiting to be collected on Water Street, Georgetown

At Orange Walk and Bourda – streets within the capital city – a similar scenario was observed where one consumer said, “We moving from a Garden City to a Garbage City. The garbage piling up, we have no garbage trucks to pick it up and it growing more and more.”
Guyana Times was informed by the Solid Waste Management Director of City Hall, Walter Narine that small contractors would take up the mantle of the routine collection. For this, many have voiced their concerns that maybe this process is not moving effectively to eradicate waste from Georgetown.
Earlier this week, vendors at Bourda also complained about a slow collection process, as they are forced to wait prolonged intervals before the garbage is removed from their immediate surroundings.
While speaking to this publication on Wednesday, cries were heard about the time which they have to wait before the refuse is being removed from the Orange Walk, Bourda, dumping area.
“In this rain we got garbage piling up and nobody to pick it up. It frustrating cause the thing creating a scene and going over to the roadside,” said Shelley (only name provided).
It was indicated that the slow garbage collection has left a stench in the area which is even worse during the rainy days. Later on Wednesday, some of the garbage was placed in large disposal bins but the vendors are contending that there will be no collection for several days.
“They just collect it today cause we keep raising the issue so like we got to keep doing this until they come. I live in Georgetown and they supposed to collect garbage but some days I got to bring it here in garbage bags for them cause they don’t even come to my house.”
Last Monday, both collectors withdrew their services after being owed over $160 million. City Hall had assured that garbage collection services would be provided by five smaller agencies; namely Granderson, Trash Tech, Tri Star, C&S Services and Garbage Eaters.
In a statement last week, City Hall officials admitted that they remain cash-strapped and therefore cannot dispense the money owed to the garbage collectors. (Rupadai Seenaraine)

https://guyanatimesgy.com/from...rbage-city-citizens/

Residential and commercial areas across the capital city have been piled high with garbage, creating a disturbing scene, just days after City Hall’s two major solid waste collectors withdrew their services.
A check by Guyana Times around Georgetown revealed bags of garbage at the corners of the roadway next to stacked bins and boxes, awaiting removal.
In Alexander Village, residents decried that their garbage bins were not emptied since the two collectors – Puran Brothers Disposal Services and Cevons Waste Management – pulled their services last Monday. At present, they are asking when will the refuse be removed, as it is distasteful to look at. Furthermore, they have nowhere else to place to bags but to leave them on the corner of the streets.

Shanaz Ally told this publication, “We were waiting for them to come since the beginning of this week. As you saw, the bins running over and we have to put the garbage in bags now and line them up until they come.”
Ally explained that since her community is on the outskirts of Georgetown, they have been neglected by the Council when it comes to the provision of garbage disposal services.
Additionally, in Central Georgetown, key enterprises and prominent locations also faced the brunt of City Hall’s incapability to meet these demands. Water Street was lined with black garbage bags filled with unwanted waste at almost every business.
With the obvious possibility of rodents and vermin being attracted by the garbage pile up, customers also found it difficult to conduct their transactions, as they were forced to manoeuvre between the bags to access the stores during the busy Christmas season. Many persons with large shopping bags complained about this build-up of waste.

At Orange Walk and Bourda – streets within the capital city – a similar scenario was observed where one consumer said, “We moving from a Garden City to a Garbage City. The garbage piling up, we have no garbage trucks to pick it up and it growing more and more.”
Guyana Times was informed by the Solid Waste Management Director of City Hall, Walter Narine that small contractors would take up the mantle of the routine collection. For this, many have voiced their concerns that maybe this process is not moving effectively to eradicate waste from Georgetown.
Earlier this week, vendors at Bourda also complained about a slow collection process, as they are forced to wait prolonged intervals before the garbage is removed from their immediate surroundings.
While speaking to this publication on Wednesday, cries were heard about the time which they have to wait before the refuse is being removed from the Orange Walk, Bourda, dumping area.
“In this rain we got garbage piling up and nobody to pick it up. It frustrating cause the thing creating a scene and going over to the roadside,” said Shelley (only name provided).
It was indicated that the slow garbage collection has left a stench in the area which is even worse during the rainy days. Later on Wednesday, some of the garbage was placed in large disposal bins but the vendors are contending that there will be no collection for several days.
“They just collect it today cause we keep raising the issue so like we got to keep doing this until they come. I live in Georgetown and they supposed to collect garbage but some days I got to bring it here in garbage bags for them cause they don’t even come to my house.”
Last Monday, both collectors withdrew their services after being owed over $160 million. City Hall had assured that garbage collection services would be provided by five smaller agencies; namely Granderson, Trash Tech, Tri Star, C&S Services and Garbage Eaters.
In a statement last week, City Hall officials admitted that they remain cash-strapped and therefore cannot dispense the money owed to the garbage collectors. (Rupadai Seenaraine)

Give him a chance...he aint in office yet...lets see if he is a gamechanger or if someone pulling his strings.

He is a Puppet. GT is a pile of garbage. Nothing will change. This is his welcome honeymoon. GT residents got what they voted for.

I predict that the Puppet Mayor will be known as the Stinky Mayor. 

If there are no funds to pay the haulers, what you want the man to do? The haulers are not doing community service. "They need to feed their families too you know".

If he is a "pandit"...maybe he can work some miracles...you never know...

No miracle can save GT from the Filth. It is now the Stinky Capital of the world. The people have to change and they keep electing the same bunch of corrupt PNC politicians. The Pandit is just a window dresser. It will get stinkier.

If there are no funds to pay the haulers, what you want the man to do? The haulers are not doing community service. "They need to feed their families too you know".

Exactly, the current crop of PNC councillors thief and sport out the money. GT residents got what they voted for. It's so stinky.

He is the Mayor and needs to take responsibility. The buck stops at his desk. Taking Criticism make anyone a better person and a better leader. He needs to roll up his sleeves and get the job done.

Who cares about Mumbai ? GT is the new stinky capital of the world. This is a proud PNC led city council achievement. 

The AFC PNC promised to clean it up. Is this pile of filth their standard for cleanliness ?

Is defence of filth the new PNC standard ?

Dis lil punk ass bytch claim that GT is the Stinky Capital of the World. Now confronted that he hometown in Mumbai is one of de nastiest, far wuss dan GT which was just as nasty under the PPP fuh 23 years, suddenly it doan matter. LOL.

(Rupadai Seenaraine)

Give him a chance...he aint in office yet...lets see if he is a gamechanger or if someone pulling his strings.

Focused new and improved services offered by the new/former Mayor..

Dem PNC beat dem chest that they will clean up the city. PNC supporters showed up to help clean and turned their backs when the PNC fat cats took a massive pay increase and left their supporters cleaning filth in the trenches.

Guyanese People na stupid. Dem ketch sense. 

You get a stinky city with you elect and re-elect a bunch of stinky PNC corrupt politicians. Is PNC running the Stinky City. 

Dem PNC beat dem chest that they will clean up the city. PNC supporters showed up to help clean and turned their backs when thePNC fat cats took a massive pay increase and left their supporters cleaning filth in the trenches.

Also the Opposition Parliamentarians enjoying the massive pay increase.

Looks like you forget or conveniently not mentioned ?

The city's finances are trouble if they can't pay to pick up garbage.   They are spending millions on the former mayor's birthday yet they don't have money to pay sanitation workers.  These people's priorities are screwed up.  This is one of the reasons I am against the PNC.  It's not about being Indian or black or being racist. It's about a party that failed Guyana for 28 years and made us the poorest in the hemisphere.

The slopsters recently posted video of a tv program claiming that pnc clean up gt since 2015 and that it was the PPP who were responsible for the negligence at townhall prior to 2015. Now we see the negligence is still there, they cannot blame ppp now as Blacks are fully in charge wif the pandit puppet now at the helm to take the blame.

This is one of the reasons I am against the PNC. It's about a party that failed Guyana for 28 years and made us the poorest in the hemisphere.

That's a blanketed statement, was the entire 28 yrs bad ? hint: after 1964 massive infrastructure work was done on the major roadways, new airport,etc. From 1985 the country changed course to open free market economy.There were plans to divest the Nationalized Companies, some was divested, the rest was waiting for investors,also the Sugar Industry was on the list, course was changed when the PPP got into office in 1992.

The AFC PNC promised to clean it up. Is this pile of filth their standard for cleanliness ?

Is defence of filth the new PNC standard ?

Seems to be the new and improved focused vision/focus.

The slopsters recently posted video of a tv program claiming that pnc clean up gt since 2015 and that it was the PPP who were responsible for the negligence at townhall prior to 2015. Now we see the negligence is still there, they cannot blame ppp now as Blacks are fully in charge wif the pandit puppet now at the helm to take the blame.

Pandit is the token one with the former Mayor controlling his decisions.Image result for Puppet Pandit, cartoon

No miracle can save GT from the Filth. It is now the Stinky Capital of the world.

...ahmmmmm....Mumbai far wuss. LOL

https://www.forbes.com/2008/02...rtycities_slide.html

Sorry to say, the majority of the bad cities on your list are occupied by Blacks.