Four Dominican Republic citizens refused entry

August 21, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 

As the Government of Guyana begins to crack down on illegal immigration, yet another group of intended visitors has been refused entry. Five nationals of the Dominican Republic arrived in Guyana a few days ago via the Cheddi Jagan International Airport (CJIA) Timehri, and four of them were sent back to their homeland after they failed to meet the requirements for entry into the country. Deputy Chief Immigration Officer, Dale Alves, told Kaieteur News that the immigrants had arrived in Guyana and were not in possession of visas. He added that the individuals had no relatives and/or friends to receive them, and were unable to state where they were going.  Alves also stressed that they had insufficient funds. He said as a result of all of the above, they were refused entry and subsequently sent back to their country of origin. On the contrary, David Jacobis, who claimed to be a friend of the individuals, has since lambasted two immigration officers, whose names he provided, for being unethical while executing their duties. Jacobis recalled that he was waiting for about 45 minutes at the CJIA to “pick up” his friends. However his long wait was certainly in vain when he was informed that only one of them could have gained entry into the country.  He related that he became aware of this from the said individual that was allowed entry. As a result of this, Jacobis, said that he, “immediately approached the security officer and I give her my name. She then told me to go in arrival (area). I saw the four girls on the waiting bench, so I then asked (Immigration Officer) what is the problem?  Why the girls aint come through as yet? She then said they did not fulfill her requirements. “So I then asked her what is her requirement? She then said ‘I don’t have to discuss that with you.’” Jacobis said that at that point he again enquired from the officer what the requirements were, but she declined to answer him. He said that he explained to the officer that the individuals had already made reservations at a city hotel for accommodation. According to the man, his friends who were denied entry had sufficient documentation in their possession. He emphasized that the officer insisted in deporting his friends. “I was waiting in her face for her to help me out. She said they are already waiting to be deported and she can’t do anything about it, no matter who talk.” Further, the frustrated man claimed that the officer threatened to place him in custody, “she went over to the departure section, so I ask her wha really going on. And she (the officer) said ‘leh I tell you something, de next time you come in my face yuh gone see wha I gon do. I gone throw you in de (police) outpost.” Jacobis alleged that another officer (name provided) asked him if the girls are going to Bartica to “pick fare.” Within the last few months there have been several cases where foreign nationals illegally entered Guyana. Minister within the Ministry of Social Protection, Simona Broomes, found 29 foreign nationals living under suspicious circumstances from various locations, when she raided Bartica. 11 later faced charges of illegal entry and overstaying their time. Broomes remarked that there has been a trend of women being recruited from the Dominican Republic, but it had gone unnoticed by officials in the past.

Guyana Coalition Government  should request Visas for persons visiting Guyana, it is foolish for the PNC/AFC Govt custom/immigration officers to treat visitors like shit, when they arrive in Guyana. Visitors who decide to come to Guyana will obtain their Visas and then travel to Guyana.

This Govt is acting in a barbaric way when visitors come here and they are being treated by the Coalition Govt like dirt.

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Selfishness!!  Guyanese go to other countries and yet we are so selfish when others visit us.

When you give IDIOTS and House Slaves to run a Country, you MUST except disasters!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Selfishness!!  Guyanese go to other countries and yet we are so selfish when others visit us.

I feel people from the West Indies, Caribbean should be allowed to travel freely and be allowed to work and play. What is the current law?

Quote "On the contrary, David Jacobis, who claimed to be a friend of the individuals, has since lambasted two immigration officers, whose names he provided, for being unethical while executing their duties. Jacobis recalled that he was waiting for about 45 minutes at the CJIA to “pick up” his friends. However his long wait was certainly in vain when he was informed that only one of them could have gained entry into the country.  He related that he became aware of this from the said individual that was allowed entry. As a result of this, Jacobis, said that he, “immediately approached the security officer and I give her my name. She then told me to go in arrival (area). I saw the four girls on the waiting bench, so I then asked (Immigration Officer) what is the problem?  Why the girls aint come through as yet? She then said they did not fulfill her requirements. “So I then asked her what is her requirement? She then said ‘I don’t have to discuss that with you.’”

Mits many of you guys goes to India, do you think that the Indian Government would see it fit to deport you or your friends.......this is what the Guyana Govt did only recently to about  dozen Indians.

For people in the Caribbean I want to believe that Guyana do not have a visa requirement because of Caricom, So if Guyana is going to start deport Visitors from the Caribbean, then they should make known their requirement for Visas, and stop using a cavemen mentality of deporting people.

Originally Posted by asj:

Quote "On the contrary, David Jacobis, who claimed to be a friend of the individuals, has since lambasted two immigration officers, whose names he provided, for being unethical while executing their duties. Jacobis recalled that he was waiting for about 45 minutes at the CJIA to “pick up” his friends. However his long wait was certainly in vain when he was informed that only one of them could have gained entry into the country.  He related that he became aware of this from the said individual that was allowed entry. As a result of this, Jacobis, said that he, “immediately approached the security officer and I give her my name. She then told me to go in arrival (area). I saw the four girls on the waiting bench, so I then asked (Immigration Officer) what is the problem?  Why the girls aint come through as yet? She then said they did not fulfill her requirements. “So I then asked her what is her requirement? She then said ‘I don’t have to discuss that with you.’”

Mits many of you guys goes to India, do you think that the Indian Government would see it fit to deport you or your friends.......this is what the Guyana Govt did only recently to about  dozen Indians.

Visa are required for visitors to enter India.

For people in the Caribbean I want to believe that Guyana do not have a visa requirement because of Caricom, So if Guyana is going to start deport Visitors from the Caribbean, then they should make known their requirement for Visas, and stop using a cavemen mentality of deporting people.

Do you know the difference between Dominica and the Dominican Rep.  The DR is NOT in CARICOM, so their nationals aren't automatically exempt from visa requirements.

Now what is disturbing about this incident is the fact that when the host of these girls arrived and asked questions, he was threatened with arrest.  He should instead have been asked to vouch for these girls, and held liable, if indeed they were unable to support their stay.

Guyanese love to travel to other people's countries, and love to scream when treated like criminals, so ought to be very careful about how we treat visitors.

And asj these aren't the high end tourists which Guyana wants, as they would have had ample cash, credit cards, etc., to verify their stay.  DR is a strong source of sex trafficking and APNU is dead set on ending this practice.

In addition, you and the rest of your gang screamed race when the Indians were deported.  I am 90% sure that these Dominican girls look like your average person in Bartica, in other words, hard core APNU supporters.

Originally Posted by Django:

The point is that we go to other countries where Visa is required or like Trinidad or Barbados or Jamaica where visa is not required and we expect to be treated fairly, if other countries do like Guyana, and deport Guyanese left right and center, then there will be a hue and cry of unfair practices.

If you want people who visit Guyana to get Visas before entry. then they should at least be aware of it.

Don't worry, asj and the others will scream that they are back home in Mother India, and will be extremely hysterical when the immigration officials laugh at them and put them back on the plane, with their visa less selves.

The point is that we go to other countries where Visa is required or like Trinidad or Barbados or Jamaica where visa is not required and we expect to be treated fairly, if other countries do like Guyana, and deport Guyanese left right and center, then there will be a hue and cry of unfair practices.

If you want people who visit Guyana to get Visas before entry. then they should at least be aware of it.

I have entered various CARICOM nations when females from the DR and Colombia have arrived.  Putting it simply, you will be in the line for a very long time while the immigration officer makes them tumble out their purses and show every cent that they plan to use while visiting.

If nationals of a country need visas to enter another then they simply have to have them.  They cannot arrive visa less, and expect to be admitted.

Nationals of India and the DR require tourist visas to enter Guyana.

It is the responsibility of the visitor and of the airline to be aware of the entry requirements, before travel!

Every country have their requirements for entry,it's the

duty of the visitor to verify what are the requirements

before traveling to the country,if Guyana is lacking

where visitors can't access this info,it needs to be

updated.

,if Guyana is lacking

where visitors can't access this info,it needs to be

updated.

The objection should be not about Guyana requiring visas.  It should be about what does Guyana do to facilitate the acquisition of those visas, given its very limit network of consulates. 

Some countries allow tourist visas to be issued on entry, once the person proves that he isn't there to work, or do business, and that he can support himself while visiting.

When the PPP chased out some Nigerian students in Guyana asj and the other Indianists had NOTHING to say about it.  Nor should they, as the Nigerian students were victims of fraud, and so had no legitimate reason to be in Guyana.

Yes, I had to have one. It is stamped onto the Canadian Passport. I was thinking when reading the other post , whether Guyanese travelling from Guyana to India require a visa.

You bet that if you needed a visa to visit India with your Canadian passport some one with a Guyanese passport, who is not a permanent resident of the USA, Canada, or the EU, would definitely need one.

An Indian with a US passport doesn't need a visa to visit Guyana.  One with an Indian passport does.

Guyana Coalition Government  should request Visas for persons visiting Guyana, it is foolish for the PNC/AFC Govt custom/immigration officers to treat visitors like shit, when they arrive in Guyana. Visitors who decide to come to Guyana will obtain their Visas and then travel to Guyana.

This Govt is acting in a barbaric way when visitors come here and they are being treated by the Coalition Govt like dirt.

People from the DR requires a visa befor traveling to GY

Pointblank

Guyanese need a visa to travelto India and it must be obtained before traveling even if they hold an american passport

Pointblank
Originally Posted by Pointblank:

Looks like David Jacobis is a pimp

He should have obtained visas for his hoes before they set out for Guyana. They should keep a close eye on him as he may be involved in human trafficking.

"

DR is a strong source of sex trafficking and APNU is dead set on ending this practice."

This is one of the biggest jokes I've heard since May 11, 2015. Why don't they start with the Brazilian sex shops in GT if they are so serious?

Last edited by Billy Ram Balgobin