His advocacy was service beyond Guyana

It was service to a much wider world
…Sir Shridath Ramphal on President Bharrat Jagdeo

FORMER Commonwealth Secretary General, Sir Shridath Ramphal, has lauded President Bharrat Jagdeo’s tenureship, as he paid tribute to His Excellency, during the President’s Appreciation celebration day, on Friday, at the National Stadium, Providence.
Sir Shridath joined many who took the opportunity to express appreciation and gratitude for President Jagdeo’s astute leadership over the past 12 years, noting the tremendous development the country has witnessed during this period.
The Guyana-born Sir Shridath especially paid tribute to the president’s respect for the constitutional norms in relinquishing office as the Constitution of the republic required.
“To respect the Constitution is of course the norm; to do so with dignity and without hesitancy is deserving of tribute, and I pay that tribute with great admiration,” he said.
He noted too that President Jagdeo has demonstrated both the understanding and the aptitude, at many levels, of global encounters, such as international summits and meetings of Commonwealth Heads of Government.
This ability, he noted, is important in these days of globalization, where national and international matters are closely intertwined and all aspects of the president’s international work have had national implications, with much of it being driven in pursuit of the interests of Guyana and its people.
According to Sir Shridath, President Jagdeo has shown those qualities too in more specialised forums, like meetings of the World Bank and the International Monetary Fund (where he was once Chairman of the Board of Governors) and high level environmental, climate change and forestry bodies.
He said, “Not surprisingly, his attendance was marked out and specifically sought. A voice from the developing world, from a small country, an authentic voice speaking with intelligence of the issues and with passion on them. The international community acknowledged President Jagdeo’s special qualities, and singled out his contributions.
A perfect example of this acknowledgement, he said, was the invitation from the UK Prime Minister Gordon Brown, to join the small group of Commonwealth Heads that produced the 2008 Marlborough House Statement on Reform of International Institutions.
“It was a call for change in the architecture of global institutions, subsequently endorsed by all Commonwealth Heads of Government, and one that has seen many of its recommendations implemented by the international community. Importantly, it is beginning to make a difference to how developing countries are treated. Not as great a difference as President Jagdeo would like, but he has helped to cast a pebble into what was an indifferent sea, and the ripples it created are slowly becoming irresistible waves,” Sir Ramphal noted.
Sir Shridath explained that the linkage between local and global policies has not been better exemplified than in President Jadgeo’s “enlightened” Low Carbon Development Strategy (LCDS) and the Guyana - Norway Partnership Agreement, which is recognized as the world’s second largest forest service climate.
This agreement melds the vision and integrity of Guyana’s LCDS and Norway’s enlightened environmental policies, he acknowledged.
As to the importance of the Head of State’s drive to promote the LCDS, Ramphal said, “Many years ago, I was a member of the International Commission on Environment and Development chaired by a former prime minister of Norway, Gro Harlem Bruntdland. The report we produced, ‘Our Common Future’, first developed the concept of sustainable development. Therefore, it is special to me that over two decades later, President Jagdeo should be so splendidly fulfilling for Guyana the promise of sustainable development – and with Norway’s help.”
In recent years, he continued, President Jagdeo has spoken out internationally of the need for solutions to avert the worst extremes of climate change globally, and with special emphasis on its catastrophic consequences for developing countries.
In 2009, he did so with notable effect at the prestigious World Economic Forum at Davos, Switzerland.
“His advocacy was service beyond Guyana: it was service to a much wider world,” the former Commonwealth Secretary General explained.

And all that is besides his acknowledged regional leadership - leadership in CARICOM - nowhere better exemplified than in his opposition to the Economic partnership Agreement ( EPA) with the European Union.
President Jagdeo, he stated, was convinced that what was being concluded was bad for the region: a conviction in which he was to be proven right even before the ink of signature was dry. He gave leadership too in the Union of South American Nations (UNASUR) of which he was an early chairman – constituting Guyana as a bridge between the Caribbean and South America, and thereby enhancing our country’s importance to both.
The president’s internationalism has earned more than acknowledgement of the contributions he can make at the global level; it has won him honour for his special capacities, competencies and achievements.
“In 2008, both Time magazine and CNN named Bharrat Jagdeo as one of their ‘Heroes of the Environment’. In 2010, at the level of the United Nations, he was named a Champion of the Earth, an award which, in the words of the United Nations Envivonment Programme,
“recognises individuals who embody commitment and vision towards environmental leadership through their action and their influence”. This award spoke eloquently to the president’s internationalism, and brought glory to him and to all Guyana,” Sir Ramphal declared. According to him, this was no small honour; as it is the UN’s highest award for environmental leadership, it was and is a badge of international excellence.
He highlighted too, that in direct reference to President Jagdeo, UNEP’s Head described him as a
“powerful advocate of the need to conserve and more intelligently manage the planet’s natural and nature based assets”. That within recent months he has been invited to serve on the Board of the internationally respected Global Green Growth Institute, pledged to the integration of economic growth and environmental sustainability, and to be an ‘ ambassador’ to forest basins by the leaders of countries in the Amazon, Congo and Borneo- Mekong, are indications that the global community wishes to continue to draw on Bharrat Jagdeo’s talents as the world struggles to come to grips with the urgent problems of climate change.
In closing, Sir Ramphal stated, “As he leaves the presidency of Guyana, Bharrat Jagdeo can be proud that he has made a difference to the standing of developing countries in the global community, and the quality of his advocacy has redounded to the credit of our country and our people.
“May he long continue to contribute to the welfare of his fellow citizens of the Earth,” Sir Shridat concluded.

“As he leaves the presidency of Guyana, Bharrat Jagdeo can be proud that he has made a difference to the standing of developing countries in the global community, and the quality of his advocacy has redounded to the credit of our country and our people.”

“In 2010, at the level of the United Nations, he was named a Champion of the Earth, an award which, in the words of the United Nations Envivonment Programme,
‘recognises individuals who embody commitment and vision towards environmental leadership through their action and their influence’. This award spoke eloquently to the president’s internationalism, and brought glory to him and to all Guyana”

Now I am really confuse. From the daily blog here, one would get he impression that Bharrat Jagdeo is the worst President Guyana ever had. Now we have a former PNC Attorney General and Common Wealth Secretary General, Shridat Ramphal singing the man's praise. Personally I have not been back home for over 7 years, although members of my household, other family members and friends have returned with tales of general economic & infrastructural improvement. So who is right and who is sour graping?

As to the importance of the Head of State’s drive to promote the LCDS, Ramphal said, “Many years ago, I was a member of the International Commission on Environment and Development chaired by a former prime minister of Norway, Gro Harlem Bruntdland. The report we produced, ‘Our Common Future’, first developed the concept of sustainable development. Therefore, it is special to me that over two decades later, President Jagdeo should be so splendidly fulfilling for Guyana the promise of sustainable development – and with Norway’s help.”

Gro Harlem Bruntdland ( Mrs. ) articulated sustainable development concepts and President Bharrat Jagdeo advanced them specifically for Guyana's development.

Excellent views expressed by Sir Shridath Ramphal.
Sir Shridath explained that the linkage between local and global policies has not been better exemplified than in President Jadgeo’s “enlightened” Low Carbon Development Strategy (LCDS) and the Guyana - Norway Partnership Agreement, which is recognized as the world’s second largest forest service climate.
This agreement melds the vision and integrity of Guyana’s LCDS and Norway’s enlightened environmental policies, he acknowledged.

The LCDS projected that they (the PPP) will receive US$580 mill each year as an annuity payout into the future for not cutting the forest. Norway offered US$40 per year for five years. The WB is insisting on strict accountability for the monies to be released. The LCDS cannot point to a single new/greenfield investment into Guyana the size of Banks DIH or DDL.
Now I am really confuse. From the daily blog here, one would get he impression that Bharrat Jagdeo is the worst President Guyana ever had.

Guyana is a dangerous place in which to live with the contract killers. I say he is way up there with Forbes Burnham as the worst Presidents Guyana ever saw.
Originally posted by TK_REDUX:
The flagship project of the LCDS is the hydro and they were supposed to build a road to the site. Could Shridat Ramphal tell us what is the status of that road? Thak you.

Is SS Ramphal involved in Guyana in any way? I have not heard about him for the longest while while, thought he was out of business.
Now I am really confuse. From the daily blog here, one would get he impression that Bharrat Jagdeo is the worst President Guyana ever had.

Guyana is a dangerous place in which to live with the contract killers. I say he is way up there with Forbes Burnham as the worst Presidents Guyana ever saw.

This coming from a person who don't even live in Guyana, hahahahha

If you involve in criminal activities such as drug business or otherwise, yes indeed it is a dangerous place. But even in the US we have contract killers and drug crimes on a daily basis. I suppose we now know who the sour grapers are.
Originally posted by baseman:
The flagship project of the LCDS is the hydro and they were supposed to build a road to the site. Could Shridat Ramphal tell us what is the status of that road? Thak you.

Is SS Ramphal involved in Guyana in any way? I have not heard about him for the longest while while, thought he was out of business.

Baseman,

We must be grateful for Sir Shridat for helping us to win the border dispute with Suriname. He was paid a hefty fee and they won. It is Jagdeo's single most important achievement. However, Ramphal chose to settle in Barbados and not Jagdeo's paradise of the past 12 years. Interesting...similar to the Lunchman going to TT for medical treatment while the masses get treatment from the Cubans at public hospitals.
Originally posted by baseman:

Baseman,

We must be grateful for Sir Shridat for helping us to win the border dispute with Suriname. He was paid a hefty fee and they won. It is Jagdeo's single most important achievement. However, Ramphal chose to settle in Barbados and not Jagdeo's paradise of the past 12 years. Interesting...similar to the Lunchman going to TT for medical treatment while the masses get treatment from the Cubans at public hospitals.

Thanks for the info.
Thanks for posting this report, Mara.
Even a blind man can see that Bharrat Jagdeo has uplifted Guyana inside and outside during his tour of duty as chief executive.
Regardless of Sir Shridath Ramphal's past PNC association, no one has certified him as senile or insane presently. All his marbles are in place.
His positive assessment of President Jagdeo's performance is based on decades of experience observing and mingling with other Caribbean and world leaders. Sir Shridath can expertly distinguish fakes from the genuine article. Bharrat Jagdeo is genuine.
B
Originally posted by Bookman:
Even a blind man can see that Bharrat Jagdeo has uplifted Guyana inside and outside during his tour of duty as chief executive.
Regardless of Sir Shridath Ramphal's past PNC association, no one has certified him as senile or insane presently. All his marbles are in place.
His positive assessment of President Jagdeo's performance is based on decades of experience observing and mingling with other Caribbean and world leaders. Sir Shridath can expertly distinguish fakes from the genuine article. Bharrat Jagdeo is genuine.

Bookman, enlighten us with your assessment(s) of Shridath Ramphal (on GNI & elsewhere) prior to his genuflection to Jagdeo.

Do you Comrade Bookman approve of the ETHICS, MORALITY and INTEGRITY demonstrated by Bharrat Jagdeo?

Thank you in advance for your prompt response.
Originally posted by Rahmah bin Jabr:
Do you Comrade Bookman approve of the ETHICS, MORALITY and INTEGRITY demonstrated by Bharrat Jagdeo?

Brudda Jabr, I regret I cannot approve of what is non-existent.
Politics has no place for ethics, morality and integrity. All politicians throughout history have had shortcomings in each category. I don't want to be hypocritical.
Mr Jagdeo is geniune as politicians go because he is leaving office with tangible accomplishments in the management of the national economy. I will not regurgitate the list.
B
BOOKMAN: Mr Jagdeo is geniune as politicians go because he is leaving office with tangible accomplishments in the management of the national economy. I will not regurgitate the list.

What tangible achievements?
Originally posted by Rahmah bin Jabr:

Brudda Jabr, I regret I cannot approve of what is non-existent.
Politics has no place for ethics, morality and integrity. All politicians throughout history have had shortcomings in each category. I don't want to be hypocritical.
Mr Jagdeo is geniune as politicians go because he is leaving office with tangible accomplishments in the management of the national economy. I will not regurgitate the list.

Come on Bookman. Politics is ruthless, but to say no ethics, morality and integrity, is this how you see it, is this your baseline assessment?? Then no wonder you find the PPP appealing. I would assume, you also found the PNC appealing and maybe that's why you support a PPP who has become like the PNC.
RThat is an Uneducated, Illiterate and Ignorant comment but then again why should we be surprise.
Ramphal gave Burnham similar glowing praise. Where is Guyana today?
Originally posted by Nehru:
RThat is an Uneducated, Illiterate and Ignorant comment but then again why should we be surprise.

Bai...show we lil educatun nuh? How teaching going today at Laguardia Community College? Remember how Ramphal and Burhman used to wuk closely?
Look Banna do you know the difference between being obligated by FEAR to comment and commenting FREELY?

Bai...show we lil educatun nuh? How teaching going today at Laguardia Community College? Remember how Ramphal and Burhman used to wuk closely?
Look Banna do you know the difference between being obligated by FEAR to comment and commenting FREELY?

Hehe...Pavi...good one bai...Laguardia bringing FEAR on yuh? Funny bai. Smile

Many of these so called men of character are really rotten ropes.

Don't get me wrong, Sir Shridat is a gentleman but he needs the pay check from his excellency so he will say whatever he has to say to keep the soup coming.
J

I dont think anyone can just outright dismiss the work his excellency has done but i do think much much more could have been done especially as it comes to security, corruption and good governance. These are the weakest areas of Guyana right now that the next govt needs to focus on full time for the foreseeable future.
J
young taps i am upset with you i have not gotten my one chicken per family you know. What up wid dat?

How about sugar its scarce now are we gonna get a one pound of sugar per family program going?
J