Former leader’s daughter is TUF’s PM candidate

November 11, 2011 | By KNews | Filed Under News
Source - Kaieteur News

TUF’s Prime Ministerial Candidate Marissa Nadir and Presidential Candidate Peter Persaud

The United Force (TUF) has announced that it will be contesting the national and regional elections, and has appointed as its Prime Ministerial Candidate, Marissa Nadir, the 29-year-old daughter of the party’s former leader, Manzoor Nadir.

This was revealed at a press conference at the party’s headquarters (Unity House) on Shiv Chanderpaul Drive yesterday.

Presidential Candidate Peter Persaud, while revealing the development, also detailed the party’s more significant plans including those for the economic sector such as reviewing VAT and the existing programmes with a view to ensuring that the benefits reach the masses.

Persaud said the TUF will provide developmental training to produce more entrepreneurs with the pro-capitalist ideology.

“We will also review investments in the sugar industry to ensure the livelihoods of sugar workers are sustained. The bauxite industry… that is a source of concern and will be a focus for us, with a task force assigned with a mandate to increase production and ensure that life in the community of Linden can see a measure of improvement.”

Adding that he has been consulting with Guyanese in putting together a plan that would propel the country forward, Persaud said the plan would be unveiled shortly.

Noting that the title of the manifesto is “Agenda of Guyana’s development,” the TUF presidential candidate promised that the electorate will have an opportunity to contribute to their future development.

He said if the TUF is elected to Government, within the first 100 days the tax systems will be reviewed, with the objective of easing the tax burden.

“A United Force government will be a responsible government, will be an honest government, will be an objective government….we can probably eliminate some of the taxes, reduce some of them in terms of the P.A.Y.E system and reduce the 33.3% to 25%,” Persaud said. “We don’t want to promise the Guyanese people things that we would not be able to fulfill.”

He said that the party will seek to attract foreign investments to provide the necessary jobs for the jobless.

“What we will do is talk to vulnerable groups in our country from regions one to ten by way of micro project programmes.”

Following Persaud’s presentation, Marissa Nadir stated that she is honoured to be the Prime Ministerial candidate of the party and expressed the hope, in particular, that Guyanese in the Diaspora would return to their homeland. This, she said, would be possible if there is an entrepreneurial system which entails revising the requirements of setting up organisations as well as politics in Guyana.

“My political exposure and experience, coupled with my youth, makes me an asset not only to my party but also to the country and the youths, as I can be the real voice of change. The United Force and I will campaign on issues and topics close to our heart such as domestic violence, primarily against women and children. Throughout my travels and employment I have been privy to some heart-wrenching cases and women need help. It is devastating to note that some of the youths of today seem not to care about the social and moral decline in society and this is a cause I’d like to champion to highlight not only as a Prime Ministerial Candidate, but even after elections,” Ms Nadir said.

Marissa Nadir was born in 1982, the last of three children to Manzoor and Maria Nadir. She began her education in St. Lucia at the Carmen Rene Memorial School and then moved here to Stella Maris Primary.

Upon successful completion of the Secondary Schools Entrance Examination (S.S.E.E.) as it was then called, she attended Queen’s College, where she attained ten subjects at the CXC exams. Ms. Nadir pursued her Tertiary Education at the University of Guyana, graduating in 2005 with a Bachelor’s Degree in Law (L.L.B.).

Peter Persaud joined The United Force in 1985, he has held the position as General Secretary of TUF, a position to which he was re-elected in 1995.

On March 2, 1993, his concern for his fellow Amerindians inspired him to form The Amerindian Action Movement of Guyana (TAAMOG), to protect and defend the rights of the indigenous communities and peoples. He is also the representative of TAAMOG on the Multi Stakeholders Steering Committee for Guyana’s Low Carbon Development Strategy and was part of Guyana’s delegation that went to Copenhagen, Denmark in 2009 to the International Conference on Climate Change.

“My political exposure and experience, coupled with my youth, makes me an asset not only to my party but also to the country and the youths, as I can be the real voice of change.

The United Force and I will campaign on issues and topics close to our heart such as domestic violence, primarily against women and children.

Throughout my travels and employment I have been privy to some heart-wrenching cases and women need help.

It is devastating to note that some of the youths of today seem not to care about the social and moral decline in society and this is a cause I’d like to champion to highlight not only as a Prime Ministerial Candidate, but even after elections,” Ms Nadir said.

Originally posted by raymond:
bogus party with bogus soup drinking Nadir...they have learned well from the corrupt PPP...family gets the perks!

Fuh sure now, I know that Guyana has fools for politicians.

These ppl have gone mad. They no longer consider the masses as having any ability to think-complete disregarded.

I suppose, the likes of such fools believe that the masses have no other choices.
Daughter in TUF; father in PPP. She will challenge her father's incumbent party in the elections. Every one of these TUF and PPP impostors should be tried for fooling the nation. They are a pack of liars and thieves.
Originally posted by Spice Girl:
Daughter in TUF; father in PPP. She will challenge her father's incumbent party in the elections. Every one of these TUF and PPP impostors should be tried for fooling the nation. They are a pack of liars and thieves.
The PPP is trying to water down the amerind Votes in case their bead trading did not serve to quell the hemorrhage of votes. He has no bloody shame or ethical standards.
Originally posted by TI:
The girl is no fool. She is educated and can speak. Soon both AFC and PPP will be wooing her.
I wish her success.
She is practicing gravy train politics. It is in line with the culture of impunity where politicians can do anything inclusive of this cravenly nepotistic politics and still think they are above condemnation. This would be met with contempt anyplace, her intellect and great vision possibilities notwithstanding.
Originally posted by D2:

It is in line with the culture of impunity where politicians can do anything inclusive of this cravenly nepotistic politics and still think they are above condemnation.

Applicable also for those in and who have just joined the AFC?
Originally posted by TI:
The girl is no fool. She is educated and can speak. Soon both AFC and PPP will be wooing her.
I wish her success.

Indeed..she is a smart young girl...good luck Mari wavey
Originally posted by Demerara_Guy:
Originally posted by D2:

It is in line with the culture of impunity where politicians can do anything inclusive of this cravenly nepotistic politics and still think they are above condemnation.

How is Nagas joining the AFC nepotistic?
Originally posted by Demerara_Guy:
Originally posted by D2:

How?