Just concluded reading an article in the Guyana Chronicle about the 178th anniversary of Victoria Village.  My congrats to the villagers for their celebrations. But, the question lingers in my mind.  Back in the 70's that village was renamed Melanie Damsahila after Prime Minister Forbes Burnham Daughter Melanie and Damsahila is an Amerindian word meaning village or community.   So, have the citizens of Victoria seen the light and are they  trying to erase Forbes Legacy.  

Burnham,got to be resurrected to suit some folks agenda.

Django, rest your soul. Don't take everything as PPP political witch hunt. Reza just made an observation of what he recollected. Forbes is dead and gone but like any demagogue dictator, his name will always be associated with Guyana's dark days. Peace bro.

You hurt? I think Reza made a genuine mistake in confusing Melanie with Victoria. Fact is, both were Burnham stranglehold.

Nah bhai,

periodically Burnham comes a live, in the older folks minds.

Gilly does remember him too. One night I dreamt he was chatting with me. His hand on my shoulder. True story.

You hurt? I think Reza made a genuine mistake in confusing Melanie with Victoria. Fact is, both were Burnham stranglehold.

Nah bhai,

Gilly does remember him too. One night I dreamt he was chatting with me. His hand on my shoulder. True story.

You chatting with a DAAG, well glad was ONLY A DREAM!!!!!!!!!

Django, rest your soul. Don't take everything as PPP political witch hunt. Reza just made an observation of what he recollected. Forbes is dead and gone but like any demagogue dictator, his name will always be associated with Guyana's dark days. Peace bro.

Cool bhai,

one time i was visiting the Botanical Gardens, with the kids and we stop by his Mausoleum.

I can't declare what was in my mind,it wasn't good.

Nah bhai,

Gill,

have you met Burnham ?

Just asking.

the only time i saw him close up was when the Demerara Harbor Bridge opened we were walking from the West Bank side to East Bank,he was decked out in Military Uniform driving across the bridge in an open top car,me thinks it was a Bentley.

Nah bhai,

Gill,

have you met Burnham ?

Just asking.

the only time i saw him close up was when the Demerara Harbor Bridge opened we were walking from the West Bank side to East Bank,he was decked out in Military Uniform driving across the bridge in an open top car,me thinks it was a Bentley.

My high school headmaster was an Indo PNC, and he tried to get the whole village to convert. He got Fatboy to visit the school, and asked me to put a 'mala' around him. I refused and they got another Indo gal. 

Nah bhai,

You chatting with a DAAG, well glad was ONLY A DREAM!!!!!!!!!

Have respect for our past leaders!

Gill,

have you met Burnham ?

I never spoke to him directly though I was within a few feet away from him on many occasions. The last time I stood about 7 feet away from him on the balcony of Public Buildings, August 1, 1984. I was PPP rep on the Guyana Commemoration Commission set up to mark the 150th anniversary of the abolition of slavery. Boysie Ramkarran and I were there on behalf of the PPP. 

Gill,

have you met Burnham ?

I never spoke to him directly though I was within a few feet away from him on many occasions. The last time I stood about 7 feet away from him on the balcony of Public Buildings, August 1, 1984. I was PPP rep on the Guyana Commemoration Commission set up to mark the 150th anniversary of the abolition of slavery. Boysie Ramkarran and I were there on behalf of the PPP. 

Django I just remember that one early morning in 1983 I was walking eastbound on David Street Kitty and Forbes was approaching on horseback. I said Good Morning and he said Morning. He was sharing cassava sticks.

Gill,

have you met Burnham ?

Django I just remember that one early morning in 1983 I was walking eastbound on David Street Kitty and Forbes was approaching on horseback. I said Good Morning and he said Morning. He was sharing cassava sticks.

Gilly,

The fish oil worked,

Forbes was sharing cassava sticks to City folks for planting in their back yards,Kabaka had vision,wondering what Granger will give out.

Gilly,

The fish oil worked,

Forbes was sharing cassava sticks to City folks for planting in their back yards,Kabaka had vision,wondering what Granger will give out.

Forbes didn't give Gilly a single cassava stick. One look at me and he figured: "This Indian looks like a sweet man; I won't waste one socialist stick on him." 

Gilly,

The fish oil worked,

Forbes didn't give Gilly a single cassava stick. One look at me and he figured: "This Indian looks like a sweet man; I won't waste one socialist stick on him." 

If I recall my younger brother used to hussle Roxanne Burnham, she is one of Forbes daughter. When they rebuilt Meten-Meer- Zorg public school Burnham came to cut the ribbon, he first visited my parent's house, had a snack and a drink,my father was the president of the PTA ,he asked me about the school coop, I was a teacher at the school.  I must admit, he was a big imposing personality .

Yuh think I shouldda dream bout Viola?

Viola was a good-looking and educated woman. Don't know why she put up with Fatboy's cheating.

She probably did her own cheating too.  In fact got fabulously wealthy and powerful because of him. Even after Burnham died she was a power within the PNC until around 1989 when Hoyte was finally able to sideline her.

PNc boy had the same dream except the hand on the shoulder was just before he bent him over and gave him one of them cassava stick with fish oil as seasoning. 

Why is it that every day you salivate at the notion of some Indo man being sexually violated by a black man?  Is this your fantasy?